wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

32 Pages«<56789>»
#lipakamatender
#121 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:13:59 PM

This is what the doctors want to be implemented.

Not and they have said it again...Not the pay rise.

I'm sure gov't fellas would like to preach this all the time but it ain't so.

For those of us who've had the displeasure of going to these public hospitals, we salute you doctors.

Yes I don't want my doctor working more than 40 hours a day

I do expect hospitals to be equipped with the proper tools. I remember once I had to take a friend at midnight and we were forced to wait until 8am in the morning just to get an xray. Only to be told the xray machine wasn't working

There is nothing more foolish than NHIF paying private hospitals 30% of NHIF contributions and 10% to Indian hospitals while only giving public hospitals 1%. That is madness

NHIF funds should also go into funding of research. Unless the gov't is telling us that our doctors are half baked Matiangi D's

These issues are more than just the money.

I support the doctors because I know they saved my life once. All I know about gov't officials is that they take money from banks in gunias.

#122 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:26:36 PM

Are clinical officers also on strike? I understand that most of those who treat patients in hospitals are clinical officers (KMTC diploma graduates) and that some hospitals and many health centers don't have doctors (with bachelors degree). Does the doctors union, the KMPDU, also include clinical officers?
#123 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:32:27 PM

Are clinical officers also on strike? I understand that most of those who treat patients in hospitals are clinical officers (KMTC diploma graduates) and that some hospitals and many health centers don't have doctors (with bachelors degree). Does the doctors union, the KMPDU, also include clinical officers?

Do you see something strange in your assertion?

Who wants to be treated by a clinical officer? I know in jubilee blogger circles being a clinical officer qualifies one to be a doctor. Just like that Mugo wa Wairimu character.

Let's be serious here for a bit.

In my time when I was young, the clinical officer just used to implement treatments approved by the doctor.

Now the health system is so bad, clinical officers walk around wards calling themselves Daktari...

Let this gov't get serious. The assertion by Daharte may be real..

Why not implement the CBA. At least it will mean that the thousands of Matiangi D's can now get jobs in our undermanned hospitals as clinical officers, nurses, technicians etc. The number of jobs going to be created are going to be way more than the millions they pay MCA's and Mpigs.

Lipakamatender

sitaki.kujulikana
#124 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:32:33 PM

is it that there is a media blackout or the doctors strike is not affecting people, heck I see greater outrage when matatus strike, could it be that doctors in public hospitals don't play a big role, justasking.
sitaki.kujulikana
#125 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 1:41:23 PM

smile reminds me of some incidences between degree doctors and the other 'doctors', hawa wa degree ni vichwa ngumu, most have egos bigger than the sgr, but thats an issue for another thread.

I think there are some procedures where only doctors are allowed to perform, but majority, of health centers and dispensaries are run by nurses, not even clinical officers.
#126 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 2:04:16 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
is it that there is a media blackout or the doctors strike is not affecting people, heck I see greater outrage when matatus strike, could it be that doctors in public hospitals don't play a big role, justasking.

I think that with every shopping centre in rural and urban areas having a private clinic and a "doctor", and a "chemist" people are still being attended to. There are even private funeral homes. Also people don't need to see a doctor each day and some may require the service maybe once in a year. Also the middle class and politicians who could have made "alot of noise" go to private hospitals and clinics. Even baba is quiet.

For a matatu strike it immediately affects the functioning of society - movement, trade, running of offices, factories, schools etc etc. Even a teachers strike affects all kenyans since even the rich have kids in govt schools such as national schools and therefore when kids are not learning it becomes a big issue.

#127 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 9:36:55 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
#Borrowed from Ouma Oluga, KPMDU Secretary General
We have been told by government that implementing the CBA will cost 12B but WE have done our Mathematics and WE know for sure it'll cost 8.1B per financial year, ONLY. But giving them the benefit of doubt and assuming that it'll cost 12B, it's informative to let you and Kenyans know that every financial year, Kenya pays India 10B through the NHIF and out of the ultimate pooled 51B we as Kenyan citizens remit to NHIF as social health insurance, 33B goes to private hospitals! Private hospitals treat a paltry 1% of the population. Therefore WE as doctors are saying that the GoK needs to take a measly 12B (in their figures) to treat the 99% of Kenyans. At this point Kenyans, realise that this is your war and we're only leading the warfronts, the lines of fire!
The total public health expenditure vote now stands at 150B, the amount that currently goes to Doctors' remuneration is 3.6B that's less than 2.5% of it all. Using their figures, we painfully realise on behalf of the 99% of Kenyans that they're being denied such quality healthcare which if the CBA is implemented at their 12B figure translates to only less than 5% of the whole public health expenditure budget!

This makes a lot of sense.

It doesn't make sense at all. If you are running a matatu that brings in 10k per day the driver cant wake up one day and demand that you pay him 5k per day coz you are making 10k.

Also when the doctors say that 33B goes to private hospitals, what they are not telling us is that they are the same ones who consult in those private hospitals and eat the 33B.

Also when they say that 10B goes to India how come our doctors can't treat the cases referred to India. Kwani our doctors walisomea kwa dirisha when their indian counterparts were concentrating, or our medical curriculum is different? Wasn't there a scandal recently where it was revealed that indian hospitals pay our doctors kickbacks of upto 100,000 per patient to refer patients to india for treatment that could be done locally? <<RINK>>

When they talk of working conditions, hasnt govt provided the latest machines and equipment that are even better than those in some top private hospitals? Aren't these the same doctors who spend only 40% of their time at public hospitals while 60% is spent in their private clinics or consulting at private hospitals?

Surely wanjiko cant be surviving on 1 dollar a day and then forced to pay doctors 1m each pm.

Hapa tuko pamoja.

For some reason our doctors think they are a special lot.They forget that people have different talents/interests/abilities etc. Not everyone who got a pre Matiang'i A was interested in medicine.

I agree they deserve better but Kes 936,000/= is a No No.
They also have an option of quitting from government and we follow them to their private clinics.

BTW how much are Drs employed by say Aga Khan paid by the hospital?

At least you have the luxury of that choice!
How many Kenyans enjoy that luxury!

Not many, but doctors have the option they can take advantage of it.

We all know these doctors dont work, they hang their coats and run to their clinics. They are the same people thieving in our hospitals.
Pesa Nane
#128 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 10:54:11 AM

guilty as charged
1 month in jail (suspended for 2weeks to call off the strike)
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#129 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 11:39:45 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

Some Kenyan court rulings are very odd....
#130 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 11:46:10 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

strange

#131 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 11:49:04 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

Just as odd as proposal to Modi

Ngalaka
#132 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 11:49:27 AM

If you find yourself in court, then you take the rules of procedure for granted, stuff happens to you. It doesn't matter if overall your case is strong or otherwise.

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#133 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 12:32:32 PM

With the suspension of the jail term, shows clearly Judiciary is sleeping with ...... ruling - call off the strike!!!! Reforms, hakuna Executive still has their way!!!!!
#134 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 1:15:20 PM

muganda wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

Just as odd as proposal to Modi

Sad Sad Sad Sad
#135 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 1:15:34 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

strange

It's encouraging to see that our courts are working. You ignore court orders at your own peril. Kudos to the judge.
#136 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 1:32:36 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

strange

It's encouraging to see that our courts are working. You ignore court orders at your own peril. Kudos to the judge.

Not really ...not as advertised anyway. I am in the doctor's corner, but the union leaders should have been jailed outright in normal application of the law in such a case...but nope, the judge has used discretion, coming up with a middling ruling that is meant to apply pressure to make the strike disappear.
To the court, 2 issues are clear:
1) The court held that there is no CBA
2) ...ergo the strike has no legal cover
3) There was contempt of court.
Clear as day.
This is judicial interference .. pure and simple. The govt doesn't have the cojones to jail the leaders then find out what the consequences of that action will be.

githundi
#137 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 2:03:58 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
guilty as charged

strange

On the contrary, I beg to differ. ..The main reason the courts are ignored is because of such sentences.
Why not sentence them for six months on the spot and after that it is very likely that there won't be any union official who will disobey a court order again.
Unfortunately in Kenya, there's is always selective application of the law by the judges.
If it was a chicken thief, angekuwa ala maharagwe kitambo. ....
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#138 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 7:06:27 PM

Did Kibicho ever appear in court?
#139 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 12:13:36 AM

Did Kibicho ever appear in court?

Uterus
#140 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 6:29:53 AM