wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

32 Pages«<45678>»
#lipakamatender
#101 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:29:29 PM

In my view the 200k offered by govt is ok for a junior doctor. BTW that amount is nearly the junior doctor's professor at medical school is earning.

They go on strike, the professors, on Monday, I gather.

You should hand in your quotation to Itumbi for handling that strike too immediately.
#102 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:37:30 PM

aemathenge wrote:
In my view the 200k offered by govt is ok for a junior doctor. BTW that amount is nearly the junior doctor's professor at medical school is earning.

They go on strike, the professors, on Monday, I gather.

You should hand in your quotation to Itumbi for handling that strike too immediately.

Given all the crises GoK is causing/handling, Hardwood should also ask for a pay-hike or go on strike too.

sitaki.kujulikana
#103 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:14:10 PM

muganda wrote:

No. I am suggesting that wanjiko who lives on a-dollar-a-day amechoka and all salaries should be reasonable, even hiyo ya mpigs should be reduced.

In my view,1million and 150K for doctors and politicians respectively are reasonable pay

@Swenani, you're onto something. In Kenya, MCA's (let alone MPs) earn more than doctors. A few examples elsewhere...

USA approx average yearly pay
Family Doctor: $195,000
Representative lower/upper: $174,000
Teacher: $57,000

Switzerland approx average annual pay
Family doctor: $121,000
MP: $64,000
Teacher: $68,000

in kenya the politicians are highly paid, but on average docs are paid 2 or 3 times a teacher, in kenya teachers are paid on average around 40-50k so a doctor being paid 150-200k is even better than the European doctors and just about the same as the doc wa akina kiash
#104 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:39:15 PM

How much is hardwood paid? More or less than a Doctor? Is he paid from tax money?

In my view the 200k offered by govt is ok for a junior doctor. BTW that amount is nearly what the junior doctor's professor at medical school is earning.

An administration which has looted 5 billion cannot turn around and say it does not have money to and expect the populace to side with it. 5 Billion! Into the pockets of may be 6 or 7 jamaas ....if the doctors asked 5 million per month it would still look reasonable against the backdrop of this massive theft. Unbelievable. The nerve of this Uhuru Kenyatta guy.... Wakae ngumu.
#105 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:43:40 PM

quicksand wrote:
How much is hardwood paid? More or less than a Doctor? Is he paid from tax money?

In my view the 200k offered by govt is ok for a junior doctor. BTW that amount is nearly what the junior doctor's professor at medical school is earning.

An administration which has looted 5 billion cannot turn around and say it does not have money to and expect the populace to side with it. 5 Billion! Into the pockets of may be 6 or 7 jamaas ....if the doctors asked 5 million per month it would still look reasonable against the backdrop of this massive theft. Unbelievable. The nerve of this Uhuru Kenyatta guy.... Wakae ngumu.

You cannot just give in to Doctors because you have 5billion. You must look at the ripple effect that will do the economy including demands from other sectors, sustainability in the long run and also factor in future increments and awards plus how the current award will impact employing more Doctors!!!!!
#106 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 5:02:46 PM

quicksand wrote:

You cannot just give in to Doctors because you have 5billion. You must look at the ripple effect that will do the economy including demands from other sectors, sustainability in the long run and also factor in future increments and awards plus how the current award will impact employing more Doctors!!!!!

Agreed @Angelica_ann - but the RIPPLE effect does not begin with doctors. The easiest way to control the doctors (and other civil servants) may be by regulating the pay of best paid classes in Kenya:
1. Looters including land grabbers
2. Tenderprenuers
3. MPs
#107 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 5:21:31 PM

muganda wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Agreed @Angelica_ann - but the RIPPLE effect does not begin with doctors. The easiest way to control the doctors (and other civil servants) may be by regulating the pay of best paid classes in Kenya:
1. Looters including land grabbers
2. Tenderprenuers
3. MPs

The 200K offered is high enough

We must not mix up issues. Kafura looting and other JUbilee thugs has no bearing on doctors' pay

Because if the only reason salaries should be raised is corruption in public sector, should we say doctors should not get raises when there's no graft?
#108 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 5:27:27 PM

quicksand wrote:

It all boils down to that tired cliche.

"Choices have consequences."

In an ideal situation, every aspect of salaries and remunerations for anyone paid by Wanjiku should be negotiated and agreed upon by The Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

This commission, as you so rightly aver, should among other things, "look at the ripple effect that will do the economy including demands from other sectors, sustainability in the long run and also factor in future increments and awards plus how the current award will impact employing more Doctors." and award salaries and wages accordingly.

However, State House has on a number of occasions influenced the ignorance and over-ruling of this Commission and dealt directly with concerned unions and employee cadres, coming up with Collective Bargaining Agreements.

The result is that yesterday, it was the Teachers,(?) who Dr. Matiang'i (Bless his Soul) has proved are not teaching but ........ Today, it is the Doctors, and tomorrow, it will be the University Professors.

The day after tomorrow, it will be the (God forbid), Police, GSU (Because The Right Honorable Prime Minister promises a very busy year for them) and the men and women who wear the uniform of our Defense Forces.

This "choice" we made has ignored other sound forms of advice ventured by the requisite professionals.

Examples include the signing of the Njomo Bill capping interest rates and most recently the Independent(?) Erections and Boundaries Bill.

The way I see it, Kenia One will influence the Docs huge pay rise because Wanjiku, who made her choice, is suffering due to poor/non-existent health care.

It is what my Economics tutor used to call a vicious circle in the late Eighties.
#109 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 5:38:10 PM

aemathenge wrote:
quicksand wrote:

It all boils down to that tired cliche.

"Choices have consequences."

In an ideal situation, every aspect of salaries and remunerations for anyone paid by Wanjiku should be negotiated and agreed upon by The Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

This commission, as you so rightly aver, should among other things, "look at the ripple effect that will do the economy including demands from other sectors, sustainability in the long run and also factor in future increments and awards plus how the current award will impact employing more Doctors." and award salaries and wages accordingly.

However, State House has on a number of occasions influenced the ignorance and over-ruling of this Commission and dealt directly with concerned unions and employee cadres, coming up with Collective Bargaining Agreements.

The result is that yesterday, it was the Teachers,(?) who Dr. Matiang'i (Bless his Soul) has proved are not teaching but ........ Today, it is the Doctors, and tomorrow, it will be the University Professors.

The day after tomorrow, it will be the (God forbid), Police, GSU (Because The Right Honorable Prime Minister promises a very busy year for them) and the men and women who wear the uniform of our Defense Forces.

This "choice" we made has ignored other sound forms of advice ventured by the requisite professionals.

Examples include the signing of the Njomo Bill capping interest rates and most recently the Independent(?) Erections and Boundaries Bill.

The way I see it, Kenia One will influence the Docs huge pay rise because Wanjiku, who made her choice, is suffering due to poor/non-existent health care.

It is what my Economics tutor used to call a vicious circle in the late Eighties.

A ripple effect is not confined to cash payments.

The gov't thus far has done a good and superb job to paint the doctors as only looking for a pay rise.

That is not true.

The main contention is that the gov't HAS DECIDED TO IGNORE, the other aspects of the CRB...For example, when you go to any hospital, there are no gloves, no meds, not enough doctors etc...

So as much as Jubilee fellas would like to stick to the money narrative, the fact is the doctors are actually trying to save your life by insisting that hospitals be properly equipped.

The ripple effect is more than the money.

This gov't has formed a habit of reneging on any agreement it has signed. All strikes in this regime have started because the gov't decided not to do what it has sworn it would do.

It's like the laptop thing.

They say, they never deliver.

So right now we are talking about gov't contracts where the gov't is refusing to perform their part of the bargain..

You should be worried especially when you are buying gov't bonds. Who knows, maybe next year they shall say even your contract is null and void.

That's the ripple effect. A total lack of trust of anything this particular gov't says or does.

#110 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 9:21:29 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
muganda wrote:

No. I am suggesting that wanjiko who lives on a-dollar-a-day amechoka and all salaries should be reasonable, even hiyo ya mpigs should be reduced.

In my view,1million and 150K for doctors and politicians respectively are reasonable pay

@Swenani, you're onto something. In Kenya, MCA's (let alone MPs) earn more than doctors. A few examples elsewhere...

USA approx average yearly pay
Family Doctor: $195,000
Representative lower/upper: $174,000
Teacher: $57,000

Switzerland approx average annual pay
Family doctor: $121,000
MP: $64,000
Teacher: $68,000

in kenya the politicians are highly paid, but on average docs are paid 2 or 3 times a teacher, in kenya teachers are paid on average around 40-50k so a doctor being paid 150-200k is even better than the European doctors and just about the same as the doc wa akina kiash

Which Kenya are you referring to?
urstill1
#111 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 5:09:04 AM

Let those doctors who dont want to work for govt quit. Let them go into private practice and earn that 1m they are demanding. A starting salary of about 200k offered by govt is good by any standard, now that many docs work in smaller towns where the cost of living is low.

N abado watakua wana-whatsapp while doing ward rounds. Doctors should give us reason(s) for their demands. As things stand, they've just zero-ed in on the salaries. They don't care about the quality of equipment in the facilities. They steal them. On average, a Kenyan doctor who practices in a public facility has performed poorly in his/her practice. That's my opinion and it is from experience. They can blame the equipment/facilities all they want but aren't the same facilities used to train them? Whenever, a new medical equipment/supplies are brought in, they either run them down within a very short time or steal them for their private practice.

Lastly, I strongly oppose the idea of govt doctors working privately. That said, madaktari hawafai kuongezwa mishahara. Tupunguze mishahara na marupurupu ya wanasiasa na commissioners of all those useless commissions.
#112 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 6:34:49 AM

Just that this is an election year otherwise

1. Docs should not be employed as "permanent" employees. They should be on contractual terms. Such that a doc can choose to work in whatever hospital at agreed times and terms for whatever duration. This way they can have work in their clinics and private practices and make that million.

2. Supplies should be managed through a supplies management system. Where contracts prices and markups are locked. Privatize KEMSA or allow competition. The fact that some counties destroy medication, while others run out and later go broke is a sign of poor supply chain management.

3. There's no way all the hospitals can be on the same level, and doctors should not be paid the same anyway.
#113 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 7:51:52 AM

There is a thread right here on wazua where users have explained clearly what they have to go through the health care system.

When I see some comments over here I really do understand why we have such bad voters.

The reason you have a union is so that you as a member of the union agitate for your OWN PERSONAL rights. Not the rights of the majority.

So in this case, the doctors have said, that their terms and conditions are terrible. They want better terms.

If that means 300% pay increase or 1% pay increase, that's what it means.

Now we as users of these terrible health care facilities can complain as much as we wish about doctors asking for better terms of service. But we are not union members to to be honest, its none of our business.

We as users of these terrible health care facilities should be on strike asking for better hospitals. But we are not. We are here complaining that our neighbour is getting a bigger pay check than me. That's what we call wivu. A deadly sin in the catholic church.

Wewe ulipo. If you think your salary is ok and you feel very gracious to the country, stick with your terms and conditions and be happy. But stop complaining when someone else wants better pay and is insisting on it.

If you feel that doctors are paid great wages, then take the Jubilee and governors call and please apply for those doctor's jobs. I'm sure you shall be happy.

For me as a user and having gone through this so called public health care system, all I can do is vote in the person who's going to make sure that health care works in this country.

For the union leaders and members, their concern is their children. And that's just how life is. For the politician, their concern is losing votes and adding an extra imprest item to their pay.

Doctors are just making people realise that the system is dead. The populace doesn't care about their own needs. So why should they care about your needs. Let them tetea themselves.

Dahatre
#114 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 8:29:39 AM

We are witnessing the last stages of killing the public health care system in favor of privatizing healthcare (along with education, agriculture, prisons etc). It is part of what we negotiated to access the foreign debt we as a country have taken on.

So we best shut-up and be the good capitalists we were always meant to be. In other words, take the stories of misery at public hospitals you have heard and multiply them by 100. Our people who cannot afford to pay for care or health insurance (majority) will suffer.

The doctors will be alright. They will be absorbed in the new system, or go elsewhere.

#115 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 10:42:48 AM

#Borrowed from Ouma Oluga, KPMDU Secretary General
We have been told by government that implementing the CBA will cost 12B but WE have done our Mathematics and WE know for sure it'll cost 8.1B per financial year, ONLY. But giving them the benefit of doubt and assuming that it'll cost 12B, it's informative to let you and Kenyans know that every financial year, Kenya pays India 10B through the NHIF and out of the ultimate pooled 51B we as Kenyan citizens remit to NHIF as social health insurance, 33B goes to private hospitals! Private hospitals treat a paltry 1% of the population. Therefore WE as doctors are saying that the GoK needs to take a measly 12B (in their figures) to treat the 99% of Kenyans. At this point Kenyans, realise that this is your war and we're only leading the warfronts, the lines of fire!
The total public health expenditure vote now stands at 150B, the amount that currently goes to Doctors' remuneration is 3.6B that's less than 2.5% of it all. Using their figures, we painfully realise on behalf of the 99% of Kenyans that they're being denied such quality healthcare which if the CBA is implemented at their 12B figure translates to only less than 5% of the whole public health expenditure budget!
#116 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 10:48:25 AM

We have been told by government that implementing the CBA will cost 12B but WE have done our Mathematics and WE know for sure it'll cost 8.1B per financial year, ONLY. But giving them the benefit of doubt and assuming that it'll cost 12B, it's informative to let you and Kenyans know that every financial year, Kenya pays India 10B through the NHIF and out of the ultimate pooled 51B we as Kenyan citizens remit to NHIF as social health insurance, 33B goes to private hospitals! Private hospitals treat a paltry 1% of the population. Therefore WE as doctors are saying that the GoK needs to take a measly 12B (in their figures) to treat the 99% of Kenyans. At this point Kenyans, realise that this is your war and we're only leading the warfronts, the lines of fire!
The total public health expenditure vote now stands at 150B, the amount that currently goes to Doctors' remuneration is 3.6B that's less than 2.5% of it all. Using their figures, we painfully realise on behalf of the 99% of Kenyans that they're being denied such quality healthcare which if the CBA is implemented at their 12B figure translates to only less than 5% of the whole public health expenditure budget!

This makes a lot of sense.
#117 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 11:11:37 AM

It doesn't make sense at all. If you are running a matatu that brings in 10k per day the driver cant wake up one day and demand that you pay him 5k per day coz you are making 10k.

Also when the doctors say that 33B goes to private hospitals, what they are not telling us is that they are the same ones who consult in those private hospitals and eat the 33B.

Also when they say that 10B goes to India how come our doctors can't treat the cases referred to India. Kwani our doctors walisomea kwa dirisha when their indian counterparts were concentrating, or our medical curriculum is different? Wasn't there a scandal recently where it was revealed that indian hospitals pay our doctors kickbacks of upto 100,000 per patient to refer patients to india for treatment that could be done locally? <<RINK>>

When they talk of working conditions, hasnt govt provided the latest machines and equipment that are even better than those in some top private hospitals? Aren't these the same doctors who spend only 40% of their time at public hospitals while 60% is spent in their private clinics or consulting at private hospitals?

Surely wanjiko cant be surviving on 1 dollar a day and then forced to pay doctors 1m each pm.
#118 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 12:21:09 PM

It doesn't make sense at all. If you are running a matatu that brings in 10k per day the driver cant wake up one day and demand that you pay him 5k per day coz you are making 10k.

Also when the doctors say that 33B goes to private hospitals, what they are not telling us is that they are the same ones who consult in those private hospitals and eat the 33B.

Also when they say that 10B goes to India how come our doctors can't treat the cases referred to India. Kwani our doctors walisomea kwa dirisha when their indian counterparts were concentrating, or our medical curriculum is different? Wasn't there a scandal recently where it was revealed that indian hospitals pay our doctors kickbacks of upto 100,000 per patient to refer patients to india for treatment that could be done locally? <<RINK>>

When they talk of working conditions, hasnt govt provided the latest machines and equipment that are even better than those in some top private hospitals? Aren't these the same doctors who spend only 40% of their time at public hospitals while 60% is spent in their private clinics or consulting at private hospitals?

Surely wanjiko cant be surviving on 1 dollar a day and then forced to pay doctors 1m each pm.

Hapa tuko pamoja.

For some reason our doctors think they are a special lot.They forget that people have different talents/interests/abilities etc. Not everyone who got a pre Matiang'i A was interested in medicine.

I agree they deserve better but Kes 936,000/= is a No No.
They also have an option of quitting from government and we follow them to their private clinics.

BTW how much are Drs employed by say Aga Khan paid by the hospital?
Ngalaka
#119 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 12:42:29 PM

Hapa tuko pamoja.

For some reason our doctors think they are a special lot.They forget that people have different talents/interests/abilities etc. Not everyone who got a pre Matiang'i A was interested in medicine.

I agree they deserve better but Kes 936,000/= is a No No.
They also have an option of quitting from government and we follow them to their private clinics.

BTW how much are Drs employed by say Aga Khan paid by the hospital?

At least you have the luxury of that choice!
How many Kenyans enjoy that luxury!

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#120 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 12:44:46 PM

How much do we pay Mpigs a month?
How much do we pay MCAs a month?
How much do we pay Senators a month?
How much do we pay YOU a month?