wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Joe Kadenge
Alba
#21 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:00:42 AM

Joe Kadenge was no ordinary footballer. He was well compensated am speaking from knowledge not just hearsay. From product endorsements to hefty sums by baba moi, dont forget he was in those football bodies till 2002. The average civil servant would tell you they havent come into contact with the sums he received. Even for one to live in Mariakani those days, you had to be well moneyed. Anyway, as earlier mentioned, I hope Wanyama and Oliech dont follow this route 20yrs down the line .

Murchr
Nobody makes money in Kenya football except through corruption. You say he was in football bodies until 2002? I wonder if you realize that most Kenyan coaches and team managers are not even paid the full amount they are owed. Ask any local coach who has coached harambee stars and they will tell you KFF owes them money.

And why would baba Moi pay Kadenge anything? Kadenge retired at least 10 years before moi became president.

Politicians and officials only care about players when the players are active. Once the player retires, nobody cares. For example, Motego was paid Ksh 15,000 per month to basically do nothing at Kenya Breweries. But once he left football, he was retrenched from his job. And most football careers last less than 10 years. It is impossible for a footballer in Kenya to save enough for retirement.

With regard to product endorsements, believe it or not, up until the 1980s, KFF used to demand and get a cut of every endorsement that players get. Mahmoud Abbas was one of the 1st players to fight and break this mold.

It is not reasonable to expect a Kenyan player to have his life set because of football. Kenyan footballers make peanuts including the best ones. And they are often fleeced by officials. Only the ones who are lucky to go play in Europe can reasonably expect to have their life set after football.

Even to this day NOCK officials like Kipchoge Keino are lining their pockets with money that is supposed to go to athletes.
Alba
#22 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:04:06 AM

Buster wrote:
He he he Ati Kadenge was paid well. He is a family friend. My Dad played with him in both Abaluhya fc and Harambee stars. I can tell you for a fact the guys were paid next to zero! That Peugeot was acquired looong after he retired and was his only means of income.

Did your dad tell you Joe was a civil servant Naks in the 50s and 60s and later Kakamega? Did you live in Mariakani SB. Kadenge was not just a footballer. Like many footballers then and I guess even now, football was his part time. He worked for Coke, UBF, 680 Hotel....

As I said above, players are often given nice jobs when they are playing. But once they stop playing football, they are retrenched from these jobs and opportunities evaporate.

As far as I know, Joe Kadenge has been a taxi driver from as far back as the 1980s.
#23 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 4:39:10 AM

Alba wrote:
Buster wrote:
He he he Ati Kadenge was paid well. He is a family friend. My Dad played with him in both Abaluhya fc and Harambee stars. I can tell you for a fact the guys were paid next to zero! That Peugeot was acquired looong after he retired and was his only means of income.

Did your dad tell you Joe was a civil servant Naks in the 50s and 60s and later Kakamega? Did you live in Mariakani SB. Kadenge was not just a footballer. Like many footballers then and I guess even now, football was his part time. He worked for Coke, UBF, 680 Hotel....

As I said above, players are often given nice jobs when they are playing. But once they stop playing football, they are retrenched from these jobs and opportunities evaporate.

As far as I know, Joe Kadenge has been a taxi driver from as far back as the 1980s.

BIG LIE
Buster
#24 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 8:42:09 AM

Still no videos of his glory days?!

No. Next to impossible. We can't even get 80s videos of our footballers and Kadenge wss prime in the 50s anc 60s.
chemirocha
#25 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 8:50:51 AM

Buster wrote:

No. Next to impossible. We can't even get 80s videos of our footballers and Kadenge wss prime in the 50s anc 60s.

I'm sure the video archives at KBC has a lot of content from that era.
#26 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 11:13:14 AM

Buster wrote:

Most likely apart from the taxi biz he had other investments which didn't workout I doubt he just the whole day reminiscing about the good old days.That the most logical conclusion given his current predicament
#27 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 11:16:56 AM

chemirocha wrote:
Buster wrote:

I'm sure the video archives at KBC has a lot of content from that era.

True.I have seen video clips dating back to colonial days including those of incarceration of Mau Mau fighters and Kimathi's arrest so there must videos in their archives.
#28 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 11:46:32 AM

I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important

Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines.

Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties.

The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone.

The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc
#29 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 12:08:46 PM

Fortune is a matter of probabilities, and it's not a must that if you 'jipanga' in your youth you'll necessarily die without begging.

So it doesn't matter what K earned or didn't earn. What matters is the surrounding probabilities of his lifetime have met and or conflicted. And about this, we can't comment.

Thankfully his wish has been granted. It was nice for the President to go to Kadenge's house. Or rather, I'm begining to be so fooled with this story.

Ric dees
#30 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 12:11:31 PM

@ Obi add Dennis Oliech to that list. I bumped into Oliech and some chics in one of the joints during this festive season - they were seated next to us and Oliech went to the loo and both of his chics made a pass at me (true story) and in their own words (hana kitu huyu). As my good pal constantly says "Hii ni town"

Their is a documentary I saw sometime back about depression among retired the sports stars, quite revealing. I attended a talk by David James (England Goalkeeper during 2010 world cup)and he said "Once you get the call (to retire) you are on your own" powerful message. Dude is now bankrupt.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#31 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 1:59:41 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important

Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines.

Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties.

The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone.

The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc

yeah... it's a fact... i tell people sports are risky careers hawasikii... first for every maradona and pele there are millions of corpses that litter the road to success. For each Wanyama there are thousands of players who didn't make it. I played rugby and was very deliberate not to go play "pro" as some of my colleagues did huko Singapore, sijui Canada, Sri Lanka. Why? in sports you are a diminishing asset - great to have when young and almost useless when old and injured! unlike sports other careers people can waste our meagre salaries in the 20s eating all the chicken in Nairobi and drinking all that can be drunk but our value does not decrease - it increases with time. Sasa Obi Mikel at 29 is heading towards china aka retirement home.
#32 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:49:41 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

If we are being hypocritical because of calling for financial literacy and responsibilities then well and good. But the truth must be told. The athletes shelf life is very low, so when they have their windfall, they need to be wise early and invest. There are other retired athletes around the world doing well, borrow a leaf.
#33 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 4:07:12 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

If we are being hypocritical because of calling for financial literacy and responsibilities then well and good. But the truth must be told. The athletes shelf life is very low, so when they have their windfall, they need to be wise early and invest. There are other retired athletes around the world doing well, borrow a leaf.

I meant hypocrisy in expecting a 20 year old sports person to behave any differently from other 20 year-olds.

Expecting a 20 year old who wakes up with untold riches as a result of a new contract to start thinking about his retirement is a pipe dream.

They may look in control and assured playing whichever sport but take away the controls in place by professional sports organizations such as limitation on alcohol consumption and public behavior and many of these kids would struggle to sustain their careers for more than 12 months.
sitaki.kujulikana
#34 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 4:11:41 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

yeah... it's a fact... i tell people sports are risky careers hawasikii... first for every maradona and pele there are millions of corpses that litter the road to success. For each Wanyama there are thousands of players who didn't make it. I played rugby and was very deliberate not to go play "pro" as some of my colleagues did huko Singapore, sijui Canada, Sri Lanka. Why? in sports you are a diminishing asset - great to have when young and almost useless when old and injured! unlike sports other careers people can waste our meagre salaries in the 20s eating all the chicken in Nairobi and drinking all that can be drunk but our value does not decrease - it increases with time. Sasa Obi Mikel at 29 is heading towards china aka retirement home.

Kuna rugby Singapore na Srilanka ? smile
#35 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 7:00:39 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I meant hypocrisy in expecting a 20 year old sports person to behave any differently from other 20 year-olds.

Expecting a 20 year old who wakes up with untold riches as a result of a new contract to start thinking about his retirement is a pipe dream.

They may look in control and assured playing whichever sport but take away the controls in place by professional sports organizations such as limitation on alcohol consumption and public behavior and many of these kids would struggle to sustain their careers for more than 12 months.

Did you eat everything you earned in your 20s?
#36 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 7:11:43 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Did you eat everything you earned in your 20s?

Laughing out loudly Surely, since sports is unlike other jobs, it then should be automatic that if you're a sportsman, you'll worry about your future in your 20s!

If guys in 'normal' employment are buying plots and starting successful businesses, why shouldn't that athlete?
#37 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 8:04:06 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Kuna rugby Singapore na Srilanka ? smile

maze.... wanyax wa nax would get random countries to go play. yes hizo mbili took some of our players in the early 2000s.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 12:32:56 PM

Meanwhile...