Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,095 Location: Nairobi
One of the things I like about David Ohana at KK is his measured approach to expansion. Slow but sure. He got rid of under-performing assets including Tanzania and I hope he does the same for Ethiopia. Ethiopia isn't loss-making but I'd rather have the cash from its sale. Ohana doesn't want to double his sales for the sake of it but he wants to increase PROFITABLE sales. KK has deliberately stopped/reduced supplying poor payers eg KQ. KK is increasing its higher margin retail stations and LPG sales. In addition, plans to open a new lubricant blending plant are in place for the production of high margin lubes. Another CEO, Nick Hutchinson, is expanding Unga's capacity slowly but surely. During the AGM, he said Unga will invest in a new Wheat Plant in phases over 3 years so as to manage the debt load prudently i.e. he wants Unga's cashflow (not just borrowings) to pay for the expansion. I expect a cap on dividends from Unga for 3 years but that is a-OK in my books as it obviates the need for a Rights Issue. Unga has beefed up its Ugandan subsidiary and Kenyan units with "managers" to push development & sales of new products before the new mill is installed. Unga has also reduced its exposure to slow-paying customers/distributors including two (unnamed) supermarket chains. What Naikuni did was believe his own bull***t. They bought too many planes for markets/routes that were not developed. Furthermore, the hedges that Mbugua, who I believe is a crook, entered into were suspect and saddled KQ with huge bills to pay. If KQ had gone with a slow replacement policy of the 767s with the 787s then KQ might have been OK. Good luck to KQ but for "investment" purposes I shall stick to Unga and KK. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 5/29/2016 Posts: 898 Location: Nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:maka wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:maka wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:muandiwambeu wrote:[quote=obiero][quote=Ebenyo][quote=VituVingiSana][quote=obiero]Ngunze we will never forget the good things you have done at KQ http://www.businessdaily...80430-x9c4sd/index.html[/quote] Has MJ cancelled your freebies? Pole sana. Ulijaribu to earn every mile you flew. Operation costs will increase following mgt commitment to increase engineers pay.Guys should be prepared for a wider loss again next year.I advise those holding kq to take advantage of the current price to sell. Shindwe Weeee. Unashiriki kanisa gani? You will never be forgotten. Ngunze our hero.. A well written piece http://www.businessdaily...7854-12tcthv/index.html[/quote] Good manager tackling bad business. Which good manager? You cannot teach an old dog new tricks. At 45 without solid senior management experience you think you can learn aviation fundamentals even if you listen to middle level managers? Let him go to hell. Quote in Full- "When a management with a reputation for brilliance tackles a business with a reputation for bad economics, it is the reputation of the business that remains intact." ~ Warren Buffet Ngunze is destined for better things.. Hii KQ wacha ibaki na vinyangarika wa kuiba perfumes na cologne Very interesting seeing you bashing your own pet project. Michael Joseph is surely a credible guy.He is the sole reason why the share price is 6.00 And some of us might buy kq because of him.If the company will get a good CEO like Bob Collymore or James Mwangi,i will definetly believe in the kq turnaround. KQ as a business is sound. The problem is the employees who thieve and plunder at every opportunity.. Employees who strike incessantly and yet they work very little. Obviously not all, but the culture there is rotten Pewa mbili hapo ulipo. I don't agree with this... What don't you agree with elder?[the /quote] Full year may very well be a profit.. We never gave him enough time.. Look at what Ngunze has now achieved for KQ http://www.businessdaily...0884-lix9ywz/index.html[/quote] No full year profit at sight. It is a sigh of relief for some of us that a man who orchestrated plunder after plunder is finally departing forever. Because I know how many of the workers toil and sweat for this company yet they have shitty compensation/remuneration ...We can blame the workers all we want but the real culprit is TN and his gang if he had listened the airline would have been still profitable till now and probably the share price would be at its 100s Nothing wrong with expansion under TN. The underlying issue is corruption and mismanagement. Every move taken was laced with corruption. @ArrestedDev You have to be kidding me! The zeal to expand at a lightning pace has hobbled KQ. A slow but measured expansion would have not given employees [yes, I know you are one] such a hold over KQ. As I have stated before EVERYONE [incl employees] but shareholders made money off KQ. TN and the board went crazy over the rapid expansion thus incurred a massive UNSUSTAINABLE debt load and systems failures. Nothing wrong with expansion. Corruption and mismanagement is what brought KQ to its current status. There is nothing else. Mismanagement meant lack of controls. Do you know how much was lost? Single sourcing loans meant corruption. ET has carried out expansion without corruption. It is even not well managed. It is just average kind of management and it is doing very well. Just mix corruption in Kenya with a high cost operating environment and the results are toxic.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,497 Location: nairobi
Still at KES 6..The bargain of 2016.. Can't wait to see FY results.. The only way for KQ is upwards HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:Still at KES 6..The bargain of 2016.. Can't wait to see FY results.. The only way for KQ is upwards All talk. No action. If what you say is true... why don't you put 50% of your wealth into KQ? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Still at KES 6..The bargain of 2016.. Can't wait to see FY results.. The only way for KQ is upwards All talk. No action. If what you say is true... why don't you put 50% of your wealth into KQ? I just might bro, but only upon seeing the full year results HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:Still at KES 6..The bargain of 2016.. Can't wait to see FY results.. The only way for KQ is upwards All talk. No action. If what you say is true... why don't you put 50% of your wealth into KQ? I just might bro, but only upon seeing the full year results Good Luck. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Kenya Airways Investors you can console yourselves the stock gained 20% this year.lol. from its low of 4.93.This is one pain n the butt stock.
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:Kenya Airways Investors you can console yourselves the stock gained 20% this year.lol. from its low of 4.93.This is one pain n the butt stock. Wait for February 2017 HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,671 Location: NAIROBI
The year is not yet over.The remaining three days can make a difference. After closing prices on Friday the yearly gains and losses can be computed Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:The year is not yet over.The remaining three days can make a difference. After closing prices on Friday the yearly gains and losses can be computed True. But one thing remains certain, KQ shall rally upon Ngunze successor announcement HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
USD 4billion is a lot of cash http://www.ibtimes.com/d...erited-northwest-2466305 HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Delta, unlike you know who, is very sensible about aircraft purchases. They also purchased "old" 757s at a low price, refurbished them and made tons of money. An unnamed airline bought NEW 777s and 787s then started selling/leasing them at less than what it costs the airline. http://www.briansumers.c...elta-air-lines-plane-is
http://onemileatatime.bo...about-to-get-much-older/Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
[quote=VituVingiSana]Delta, unlike you know who, is very sensible about aircraft purchases. They also purchased "old" 757s at a low price, refurbished them and made tons of money. An unnamed airline bought NEW 777s and 787s then started selling/leasing them at less than what it costs the airline. http://www.briansumers.c...elta-air-lines-plane-is
http://onemileatatime.bo...bout-to-get-much-older/[/quote] We thank our lucky stars that KQ is now up and running.. The move to bring in the 787 to cater for Mombasa upsurge during this holiday season shows that Ngunze and Joseph are not joking HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Such a bold move by the pride of Africa. May not be wise, but it is bold HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:Such a bold move by the pride of Africa. May not be wise, but it is bold Kuongea ni bure. [Of course, KQ staff are earning stipends for working on the bid] Even the Malagasy know better than to pick KQ. Question: How's PW doing? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Eyeing = kukula kwa macho aka kumeza mate Life is short. Live passionately.
HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:ProverB wrote: For the year ended 31st March 2010, Kenya Airways Ltd recorded Total revenue of Kshs 70,743,000,000.00, and the company’s Operating Profit amounted to Kshs 1,839,000,000.00 Operating margin = (Operating Profit /Revenues) x 100. = (1,839,000,000.00 / 70,743,000,000.00) x 100 = 2.6% Out of every Kshs1.00 Kenya Airways collected as revenue in the year, it retained only Kshs 0.03, as operating profit after paying for the operational expenses incurred in getting that Kshs 1.00 It is out of that 3Cents that Kenya Airways is to pay out financial costs as well as taxes and the balance retained as profits for share holders. Should we choose to focus only on the company’s core business operations, Kenya Airways operational performance for the just ended period is rather dismal compared to the previous periods For 2010, Kenya Airways had an operating margin of 2.6% For 2009, the operating margin was 5.6% For 2008, the operating margin was 11.6% For 2007, the operating margin was 13.1% Declining operating margins over time should be a warning sign to any investor. On average, out of every kshs1 in revenues that Kenya Airways collects annually, it has overtime paid more and more in operational costs. It could imply that the c ompany is having difficulty in bringing in revenues considering that it registered slightly declined revenues compared to the previous year, or that the management is facing increasing challenges in improving the company’s Operational Efficiency. The 54.5% decline in Operating Profits might explain why despite reporting 148% improvement in earnings, the share registered a 8% decline in trading price as soon as results were published. A lot is learnt by observing Operating profits trend over time, but it should not be the only factor one considers when planning whether or not the Kenya Airways shares are a viable investment. Ceteris paribus. Kenya Airways operating margin 2016 -3.5 2015 -14.8 2014 -2.2 2013 -9.11 .. 2010 2.6% 2009 5.6% 2008 11.6% 2007 13.1% Just received some additional critical data. Take off was already confirmed, and boarding call issued to all and sundry; but exact moment of lift off was not disclosed. Wait for February.. HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
KK's estimated PROFIT AFTER TAX [excluding the KPRL provisions] will be KES 3bn. Now this is a well-run firm. Meanwhile at KQ http://www.businessdaily...1164-vbo2qtz/index.html More passengers are getting screwed over. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways...why ignore..