wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

Mayday...Mayday...Mayday...Landing age is now 16!!!!!!!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 12:35:30 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause

Thanks Kenya.

I always asked myself, if in the mighty US its 16, why not us? Who set it at 18 in .ke?

The boy shaod is greatly disadvantaged in Kenya, this a historic legislation being made.

Thanks.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 12:38:10 PM

Thanks Kenya.

I always asked myself, if in the mighty US its 16, why not us? Who set it at 18 in .ke?

The boy shaod is greatly disadvantaged in Kenya, this a historic legislation being made.

Thanks.

Parliament? Passed today?

#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 12:47:44 PM

@impunity, every country has its own law. For example some countries say that when a girl reaches the age of 18, they can marry (Kenya, India). Some say age of 16 (US). So if a couple get married in US at age 16, it's legal. But in Kenya it's illegal.

So why has Kenya chosen 18 and US 16, you don't know. And there is state called Texas, where it's common to marry early. So in Texas alone, even if the girl or boy is age 14, they can marry and it's legal.

China is 20 for women and 22 for men... (or something like that... I forget the exact age)

So you realize that everyone has his own criteria. Traditionally, age limit is at puberty i.e. when girl become a woman.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 1:17:00 PM

Thanks Kenya.

Thanks.

Current opened for public participation before being presented for debate...of course it shall pass more so its a woman who is fronting it.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 1:18:30 PM

@impunity, every country has its own law. For example some countries say that when a girl reaches the age of 18, they can marry (Kenya, India). Some say age of 16 (US). So if a couple get married in US at age 16, it's legal. But in Kenya it's illegal.

So why has Kenya chosen 18 and US 16, you don't know. And there is state called Texas, where it's common to marry early. So in Texas alone, even if the girl or boy is age 14, they can marry and it's legal.

China is 20 for women and 22 for men... (or something like that... I forget the exact age)

So you realize that everyone has his own criteria. Traditionally, age limit is at puberty i.e. when girl become a woman.

Maasais and Turgens do it at 9.

#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 4:31:40 PM

Thanks Kenya.

Thanks.

Current opened for public participation before being presented for debate...of course it shall pass more so its a woman who is fronting it.

Who is this (mad) woman ?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 5:58:05 PM

Japan is 14. We just got a victorian mindset and enforced it till today. do you know the 'teenager' is a concept less than 100 years old? people used to get to adolescence wanaozwa! i do agree from a perspective that the longer women stay away from hiyo kitu and marriage the more they develop themselves but we should not be too victorian...
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 21, 2016 10:01:31 PM

Thanks Kenya.

Thanks.

Who is this (mad) woman ?

http://www.the-star.co.k...-from-18-to-16_c1476072

Federation of Women Lawyers chairperson Josephine Mong’are told the Star that the amendment seeks to protect the boy child.

“The boy child has become the unintended victim of the Sexual Offences Act. A lot of teenagers are in relationships without their parents knowledge.

If the girl’s mother does not like the fact that you have a boyfriend, they go to the police station and claim rape or defilement.” Monga’re told the Star on phone.

#9 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 7:41:14 AM

I wonder if some wazuans have daughters 🌙 *
☁☁ 🌟
🌟 👋🎅
🚶🎄 🏡 ⛪🏫🎄
🎁Merry Christmas💝
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 8:18:50 AM

Coolio wrote:
☁☁ 🌟
🌟 👋🎅
🚶🎄 🏡 ⛪🏫🎄
🎁Merry Christmas💝

Bwana, can you imagine somebody's father entertaining the thought of sleeping with a 16 yer old?....sick world we are leaving in
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 11:30:10 AM

Japan is 14. We just got a victorian mindset and enforced it till today. do you know the 'teenager' is a concept less than 100 years old? people used to get to adolescence wanaozwa! i do agree from a perspective that the longer women stay away from hiyo kitu and marriage the more they develop themselves but we should not be too victorian...

Also, we should not be too emotional... Sometimes people get emotional over something they have never thought about it... Root cause is ignorance or lack of exposure.

Are guys going to be emotional when the limit will be pushed to 24 years old? What about 30 years old in another future?

A girl becomes a women at puberty. That is science, that is biology. The rest is just our own human made number adjustment...
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 11:34:22 AM

All communities used to do it at that age... betrothed even at birth, then marriage immediately at puberty, just when she receives her first period... Why coz there was nothing else to wait for. There was no further education... there was no career. Life was simple.
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 11:48:44 AM

All communities used to do it at that age... betrothed even at birth, then marriage immediately at puberty, just when she receives her first period... Why coz there was nothing else to wait for. There was no further education... there was no career. Life was simple.

Sasa 9? How do u even try to do it?

#14 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 12:00:15 PM

Maasais and Turgens do it at 9 Sad

Sasa 9? How do u even try to do it? Sad
How do the Masais and Tugen do it? NOTE, the rate of sexual maturity or puberty is determinate of genes and environment.
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 7:17:48 PM

Coolio wrote:
☁☁ 🌟
🌟 👋🎅
🚶🎄 🏡 ⛪🏫🎄
🎁Merry Christmas💝

Bwana, can you imagine somebody's father entertaining the thought of sleeping with a 16 yer old?....sick world we are leaving in

I remember going for a wedding and the parents of the girl said something powerful... WE GAVE OUR DAUGHTER EVERYTHING WE COULD... BUT THE ONE THING WE COULDN'T GIVE HER IS A HUSBAND. you as a parent can only give your child so much. I have 2 daughters just incase you but I don't want to impose on people my values on others.
#16 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 7:48:43 PM

Coolio wrote:
☁☁ 🌟
🌟 👋🎅
🚶🎄 🏡 ⛪🏫🎄
🎁Merry Christmas💝

Your question may be misunderstood Shame on you
Dahatre
#17 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 8:37:25 PM

Probably not very well. A girl having periods =/= to physical maturity. Not sure the statistics among the Maa and Tugen, but early marriage/pregnancy/childbirth is the number one cause of:
1. Obstetrical Fistulas (kuraruka during birth so that waste products leak into the vagina:
2. Maternal death
3. premature babies
4. Low birth weight babies
etc...

That said, I think the law is meant to decriminalize sex among teenagers. Not to allow grown men access to girl children.

How do the Masais and Tugen do it? NOTE, the rate of sexual maturity or puberty is determinate of genes and environment.
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 9:13:28 PM

Dahatre wrote:
Probably not very well. A girl having periods =/= to physical maturity. Not sure the statistics among the Maa and Tugen, but early marriage/pregnancy/childbirth is the number one cause of:
1. Obstetrical Fistulas (kuraruka during birth so that waste products leak into the vagina:
2. Maternal death
3. premature babies
etc...

That said, I think the law is meant to decriminalize sex among teenagers. Not to allow grown men access to girl children.

Outside morals for a moment etc, let us look at science and biology...

For those who learnt Biology or have read medical science, it says a lady reaches maturity i.e. adulthood at average age of 12-15. But it can start at 9 year old.

Also, science says the age factor of puberty changes depending upon the atmosphere, surrounding, climate, or diet. It says that closer to the equator, the age of puberty is earlier. And changes in factors like atmosphere, surrounding or diet, there are cases in which girls at the age of 9 they reach puberty. We saw one who gave birth few years ago.

Also medical science tell us that if any lady starts mensuration cycle at the age of 10, there is nothing wrong, and nothing unique. It is quite common. Even 9, there is nothing to be alarmed of. However, they say if the mensuration is below the age of 9, then there is a concern.

So based on these scientific facts that we have come to learn in the 20th century, according to the African traditions, when a lady reaches puberty and a man reaches puberty, they could marry.
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 9:37:58 PM

16yr olds are in form 2. Seriously how do you seduce a girl who did her Kcpe just 2 yrs ago and appeared on national TV then saying that she wants be a neurosurgeon? Wacha amalize form 4 ie afike 18 and becomes an adult and can engage in "michezo ya watu wazima". Anyone nyemelealing an under 18 should be in jail. #paedophile
Dahatre
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 22, 2016 9:54:24 PM

Dahatre wrote:
2. Maternal death
3. premature babies
etc...

Outside morals for a moment etc, let us look at science and biology...

For those who learnt Biology or have read medical science, it says a lady reaches maturity i.e. adulthood at average age of 12-15. But it can start at 9 year old.

Also, science says the age factor of puberty changes depending upon the atmosphere, surrounding, climate, or diet. It says that closer to the equator, the age of puberty is earlier. And changes in factors like atmosphere, surrounding or diet, there are cases in which girls at the age of 9 they reach puberty. We saw one who gave birth few years ago.

Also medical science tell us that if any lady starts mensuration cycle at the age of 10, there is nothing wrong, and nothing unique. It is quite common. Even 9, there is nothing to be alarmed of. However, they say if the mensuration is below the age of 9, then there is a concern.

So based on these scientific facts that we have come to learn in the 20th century, according to the African traditions, when a lady reaches puberty and a man reaches puberty, they could marry.

Here is the science/biology of having babies too close to puberty:

Pregnancy and childbirth outcomes among adolescent mothers: a World Health Organization multicountry study

Results:
A total of 124 446 mothers aged ≤24 years and their infants were analysed. Compared with mothers aged 20–24 years, adolescent mothers aged 10–19 years had higher risks of eclampsia, puerperal endometritis, systemic infections, low birthweight, preterm delivery and severe neonatal conditions. The increased risk of intra-hospital early neonatal death among infants born to adolescent mothers was reduced and statistically insignificant after adjustment for gestational age and birthweight, in addition to maternal characteristics, mode of delivery and congenital malformation. The coverage of prophylactic uterotonics, prophylactic antibiotics for caesarean section and antenatal corticosteroids for preterm delivery at 26–34 weeks was significantly lower among adolescent mothers.

Conclusions: Adolescent pregnancy was associated with higher risks of adverse pregnancy outcomes. Pregnancy prevention strategies and the improvement of healthcare interventions are crucial to reduce adverse pregnancy outcomes among adolescent women in low- and middle-income countries.