wazua Thu, Apr 18, 2024

18 Pages«<1213141516>»
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
bird_man
#261 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 2:46:35 PM

tnai9 wrote:

what do you mean net of 300K and struggling?

After paying rent, assuming a family of 4(Husband, wife and two kids) an income of 240K should be enough including taking the kids to LIALA SPLINGS and be able to still save upwards of 100K p.m. Ama, how do people spend their money? I could be missing out on life unless people are drowning in debts!

https://www.olx.co.ke/ad...D15Osp4.html#26032e72dc

Assume ksh 300K net salary:
Monthly expenses
Rent 95K
Food 30K(Very very conservative)
Shopping 20K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Fees 30K (per term 60K per child,120K per term(2kids)/4 months=30K)
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

235K. Now you have 65K left.

This is a must every month

Contingencies?? Sacco?? Relatives?? Savings???

In my opinion, 300K net can only afford you fitting life in Kile/Kilimani if you live in your own house. Otherwise you will need to change lanes and do with langatas/South B/C/Ruakas/Burus etc

300K gross peeps living in Kile,Kilimani will really struggle and wont save or repay loans. Unless you and wife earn that much ie 600K combined.Else, move to Syokimau,SouthC,LA,Rongai etc.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#262 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 3:01:25 PM

tnai9 wrote:

After paying rent, assuming a family of 4(Husband, wife and two kids) an income of 240K should be enough including taking the kids to LIALA SPLINGS and be able to still save upwards of 100K p.m. Ama, how do people spend their money? I could be missing out on life unless people are drowning in debts!

Monthly expenses
Rent 95K
Shopping 20K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

In my opinion, 300K net can only afford you fitting life in Kile/Kilimani if you live in your own house. Otherwise you will need to change lanes and do with langatas/South B/C/Ruakas/Burus etc

what are the 5 people eating in the house that costs 50K every month(shopping+food)?Some of the items are not bought on a monthly basis. School fees in LIALA including transport per term comes to around 85K(lower primary) so 43K per month for 12 months for the two kids should be enough to cover for the whole year.As for the rent, you can also get a 3 bedroom for less than 60K.

https://www.olx.co.ke/ad...D15Kb6F.html#18f9064c16

So reworking your projections

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Food 30K(Very extravagant)
Shopping 20K(extravagant)
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Fees 510K per year for two kids (=510/12=42.5K)
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

207.5K. Now you have 92.5K left.

if you remove 32.5K for mzee's co-curricula activities (landing once per week, funerals, drinks etc), you still have 60K which is a decent percentage of 20% of your net

tnai9
#263 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 3:12:34 PM

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

A 3br aprt. at 65K p.m in Kilimani will be on 7th floor. There is living the real and comfortable life of kilimani/kile and there is the trying to fit, where if there is an emergency - medical or otherwise requiring significant amounts(self/nuclear family) or a job loss you cannot survive there for another two months. I love keeping to my lane..and being very realistic..
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#264 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 3:20:48 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

A 3br aprt. at 65K p.m in Kilimani will be on 7th floor. There is living the real and comfortable life of kilimani/kile and there is the trying to fit, where if there is an emergency - medical or otherwise requiring significant amounts(self/nuclear family) or a job loss you cannot survive there for another two months. I love keeping to my lane..and being very realistic..

Wapi holidays, keeping fit, monthly bashes, club members etc Vehicles are minimum 3. smile
#265 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 3:26:11 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

Wapi holidays, keeping fit, monthly bashes, club members etc Vehicles are minimum 3. smile

Seems 300k net is too little to live on. 500k net might be the minimum for a decent life in the city.
#266 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 3:43:58 PM

So 423311 haitoshi kuishi Nyrobee?

This Nyrobee is not my home
tnai9
#267 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 3:55:34 PM

what are the 5 people eating in the house that costs 50K every month(shopping+food)?Some of the items are not bought on a monthly basis. School fees in LIALA including transport per term comes to around 85K(lower primary) so 43K per month for 12 months for the two kids should be enough to cover for the whole year.As for the rent, you can also get a 3 bedroom for less than 60K.

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

if you remove 32.5K for mzee's co-curricula activities (landing once per week, funerals, drinks etc), you still have 60K which is a decent percentage of 20% of your net

And I didn't factor in middle class problems of Nairobians
- Car(s) may be be on loan plus their servicing
- There are the education policies running
- Bank loans for a mugunda in Ngong etc
- Gym

300k net huwesmake
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9
#268 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 4:01:00 PM

Hii net ni sawasawa sana..Kile/kilimani you will be very comfortable in an apartment.
But many main houses in these areas huwesmake.

#269 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 4:18:45 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

So how much should one earn to live and not survive in Nairobi?

If earning a net of 300K is survivng in Nbi, I'll relocate to Turkana, maybe I can live on a mere net income of 500K
tnai9
#270 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 4:33:56 PM

So how much should one earn to live and not survive in Nairobi?
If earning a net of 300K is survivng in Nbi, I'll relocate to Turkana, maybe I can live on a mere net income of 500K

The caveat here is where you want to stay and where you want to take your kids to school. In some estates, with 300K pm, you will be the king, but in others, that will be somebody's rent. Reason in wazua lingo, there is the story of lanes...lanes my friend smile
#271 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 4:53:24 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Hii net ni sawasawa sana..Kile/kilimani you will be very comfortable in an apartment.

If the middle class professionals like doctors, engineers, university lecturers etc can never afford to live in houses in the city, and can only afford apartments, then who lives in the houses? In many other countries such professionals would be living in stand alone houses in very nice suburbs.
#272 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 4:58:28 PM

tnai9 wrote:

If the middle class professionals like doctors, engineers, university lecturers etc can never afford to live in houses in the city, and can only afford apartments, then who lives in the houses? In many other countries such professionals would be living in stand alone houses in very nice suburbs.

Tenderprenuers, pharmacists, expatriates, padlockogists/#viro etc
watesh
#273 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 6:31:02 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Monthly expenses
Rent 95K
Shopping 20K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

Water and stima 10k? OMG kwani ni heaters are being run daily every night? I barely spend more than 3k on power (5 screens on majority of the day and night, fridge on, and lights on at night for 7 hrs a night)
#274 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 7:10:53 PM

watesh wrote:
tnai9 wrote:

Monthly expenses
Rent 95K
Shopping 20K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

Water and stima 10k? OMG kwani ni heaters are being run daily every night? I barely spend more than 3k on power (5 screens on majority of the day and night, fridge on, and lights on at night for 7 hrs a night)

watu huku Nairobi boil stima for Breakfast and deep fry it for lunch...Kwanza inakaa hujaona hio ya 50K for shopping and food every month? On top of the boiled and fried stima
Kenyan Oracle
#275 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 7:20:54 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Tenderprenuers, pharmacists, expatriates, padlockogists/#viro etc

Interest explanation there. Laughing out loudly

You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#276 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 7:20:58 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Monthly expenses
Rent 95K
Shopping 20K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

Monthly expenses
Rent 65K
Fuel(Assume 2 cars) 20K
Water+ stima 10K
Entertainment 20K

Also add house girl, medical for yourself and kids, vehicle repairs, tv subscriptions, entertainment, clothing for self and kids, salon and barber, etc.
githundi
#277 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 8:52:58 PM

Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. .
Mimi sijafika huko. ..
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#278 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 9:11:29 PM

githundi wrote:
Just wondering. ..how many earn above 450 k gross here. ..let us be real. .
Mimi sijafika huko. ..

Hii wazua sio ya watu wanaoishi huko Yols, ask admin to start a forum for "your kind" of people earning peanuts or you join me in relocating to Todonyang
#279 Posted : Friday, December 09, 2016 9:29:09 PM

Am sticking to my lane. Kinoo -Rengen all the way!
#280 Posted : Saturday, December 10, 2016 8:57:52 AM

Salary wise very very few people earn more than 100K gross. Kenyan road are still jammed with cars and not all these car owners have known businesses. So If you are earning over 100K count yourself lucky . Live your life within the 100k limit don't live other people's life. You will only lose it if you want to live a celebrity life