wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

15 Pages«<1011121314>»
Apostle William Samoei Ruto
#221 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 12:32:35 AM

Mambo ya JJ na Tax returns inagusaniana wapi niulize?
Wa_ithaka
#222 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 4:08:37 AM

Some might be a bit slow. Ruta says Mwangi defamed him. All Mwangi has to prove is that there is no way he can call a pig a dog. Looks like one, smells like one, must be one...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#223 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 4:27:10 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Some might be a bit slow. Ruta says Mwangi defamed him. All Mwangi has to prove is that there is no way he can call a pig a dog. Looks like one, smells like one, must be one...

The law does not work like that my friend. We may not be lawyers but what is happening here is a choice of battles. Mwangi has no license to defame Ruto just because someone else said the same thing without substantiating the claims. What is happening is mudslinging now the onus remains with the judge to choose if he will be party to it.

This is what Ahmednasir thinks
#224 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 6:38:14 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:

The law does not work like that my friend. We may not be lawyers but what is happening here is a choice of battles. Mwangi has no license to defame Ruto just because someone else said the same thing without substantiating the claims. What is happening is mudslinging now the onus remains with the judge to choose if he will be party to it.

Please understand bwana murchr that you suggesting that Gitobu is doing this for x or Y reason is also subject to a defamation case.

This is not a criminal proceeding but a civil suit

The plaintiff MUST prove his case which includes the FAME he claims

That is why good lawyers many a times advise their clients not to sue in many situations. Ask Trump and trying to sue the New York Times.

In many of these cases, the very reason for the suit never shows up in court.

Yes its mudslinging and if Ruto was advised otherwise, he should get other lawyers.

The best advise for Ruto would have been to ignore a noisemaker as they call him to continue tweeting. The very imagining that Boni is going to play Mr. Nice Guy in this one is a joke.

He shall and his lawyers will bring all the mud to prove that Ruto's fame is negative not as positive as he may want wazuans to think.

Maybe the lawyers here shall confirm or deny

Task 1 is to prove that Ruto has any fame. Saying he's DP isn't enough. He must have some fame to defend. So he must prove that he's as good as he claims he is.

Task 2. There shall be an award. It's up to the defence to ensure that even if they lose the case, the award is minimal

So don't be surprised if Ruto wins the case but gets $1 as award. After all, Boni may show that his fame is so bad its only worth cents. So every piece of mud they can get on him is fair play.

Grab some popcorn.

#225 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:10:48 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:

Please understand bwana murchr that you suggesting that Gitobu is doing this for x or Y reason is also subject to a defamation case.

That is why good lawyers many a times advise their clients not to sue in many situations. Ask Trump and trying to sue the New York Times.

Yes its mudslinging and if Ruto was advised otherwise, he should get other lawyers.

The best advise for Ruto would have been to ignore a noisemaker as they call him to continue tweeting. The very imagining that Boni is going to play Mr. Nice Guy in this one is a joke.

He shall and his lawyers will bring all the mud to prove that Ruto's fame is negative not as positive as he may want wazuans to think.

Task 1 is to prove that Ruto has any fame. Saying he's DP isn't enough. He must have some fame to defend. So he must prove that he's as good as he claims he is.

Task 2. There shall be an award. It's up to the defence to ensure that even if they lose the case, the award is minimal

So don't be surprised if Ruto wins the case but gets $1 as award. After all, Boni may show that his fame is so bad its only worth cents. So every piece of mud they can get on him is fair play.

Grab some popcorn.

Stop getting complicated. This is no rocket science.
There are so many cases in court about these people you can read so go online and search, this behaviour of bloggers assasinating other peoples character or lynching them online so that they can build their own profile need to be curtailed.

Nyakundi vs Safaricom
Nation Media
Nyakundi vs National Bank
Mutunga vs Standard
Alai vs Safcom
Alai vs Alfie when he was the spokesman - How did that one go?

All in all, lawyers are here to eat, ndovu zishindane ku---you know

Na kathalika
#226 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:12:29 AM

I am not a lawyer nor do I have compelling points for or against this case.

However I am sure this is not the way to earn a slot in the Mashujaa list.
Somebody needs to advise him to stop before its too late.🙏🙏

With the tax returns demand,its no longer about JJ murder......

Meanwhile now that we have mentioned JJ,did the touch go off or it running on energizer that goes on and on and on....
#227 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:28:04 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:

Grab some popcorn.

There are so many cases in court about these people you can read so go online and search, this behaviour of bloggers assasinating other peoples character or lynching them online so that they can build their own profile need to be curtailed.

Nyakundi vs Safaricom
Nation Media
Mutunga vs Standard
Alai vs Safcom

Na kathalika

Thank God that law about assassinating someone's character is forgotten.

That is what politicians used to use to take people to Nyayo house.

Then the same politicians tried that one about "using communication gadgets". We know what happened to that one too.

Please advise wazuans which of those cases you just mentioned ended up with anyone going to jail.

Infact from what I've seen, those "bloggers" bought cars. None of them are in jail. That includes Itumbi.

The lawyers who ate are the ones who advised their companies and clients to take the cases to court. From what I've seen Boni is the only one with a lawyer.

The rest even their families ignored them but still those corporates have not won a damn thing. And that's a criminal case.

Now civil...you are joking.

Yes, Boni has every right to call upon everything about the character of DP Ruto. Ruto must prove he has a character that needs protecting.

That is what its all about.

We of course on chocho mendia have the right to tell Boni he's fighting with an elephant. Boni has the right to disagree.

Or are you afraid that he may have a point?

#228 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:29:57 AM

On the current happenings I think BM is trying the impossible. Let us wait and see.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#229 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:36:17 AM

huyu mjamaa anatafuta nini kisii!!!!!!!
#230 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:57:39 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:

Grab some popcorn.

Nyakundi vs Safaricom
Nation Media
Mutunga vs Standard
Alai vs Safcom

Na kathalika

Thank God that law about assassinating someone's character is forgotten.

That is what politicians used to use to take people to Nyayo house.

Then the same politicians tried that one about "using communication gadgets". We know what happened to that one too.

Please advise wazuans which of those cases you just mentioned ended up with anyone going to jail.

Infact from what I've seen, those "bloggers" bought cars. None of them are in jail. That includes Itumbi.

The lawyers who ate are the ones who advised their companies and clients to take the cases to court. From what I've seen Boni is the only one with a lawyer.

The rest even their families ignored them but still those corporates have not won a damn thing. And that's a criminal case.

Now civil...you are joking.

Yes, Boni has every right to call upon everything about the character of DP Ruto. Ruto must prove he has a character that needs protecting.

That is what its all about.

We of course on chocho mendia have the right to tell Boni he's fighting with an elephant. Boni has the right to disagree.

Or are you afraid that he may have a point?

Hahaha...Stop foaming on the mouth.

1. Ruto is the VP of Kenya with intentions of being President.

2. Ruto has NOT been convicted of killing JJ or anyone else...so bringing up PEV is non-consequential. So Ruto has not committed the felony of Murder.

3. The other allegations have BM has to prove that WSR has been convicted in a court of law.

Again, google this is another case

In an action for defamation, the claimant must establish three things. Firstly, that the words complained of are defamatory, that is, they tend to lower the claimant’s reputation in the estimation of right thinking members of society; secondly, that the words refer to the Claimant and finally, that the words are malicious. It is not in dispute that the words complained of referred to the Plaintiff. The issue is whether those words were defamatory. The words complained of alleged lack of integrity on the part of the Plaintiff’

On malice, Odunga J held in Phineas Nyagah Vs Gitobu Imanyara (2013) eKLR that:-
“Evidence of malice may be found in the publication itself if the language used is utterly beyond or disproportionate to the facts. That may lead to an inference of malice. ........ Malice may also be inferred from the relations between the parties.......

The failure to inquire in the facts is a fact from which inference of malice may properly be drawn.”

From the evidence on record, it is clear that upon receiving the article from anonymous sources, the Defendant did not seek to verify the authenticity of the contents thereof before republication. When asked to remove the same, the Defendant declined and further published to what it called “the regulatory authorities”....

It is also not in dispute that the Defendant then posted it to its website http://www.cofek.co.ke, Facebook and Twitter Accounts. It is further not disputed that the Defendant has followers on its Website, Facebook and Twitter accounts. In my view, by posting the offending article on its Website, Facebook and Twitter accounts, the Defendant had published the article.

Gatley on Libel and Slander 9th Edition Sweet & Maxwell 1998 at pages 150 – 152 have observed that:-
“At common law every republication of a libel is a new libel and, if committed by different persons, each one is liable as if the defamatory statement had originated with him.................

To say that a person who repeats a defamatory allegation originated by another is liable is not to say that nature and extent of his liability is the same as that of the originator. “The nature and quality of the defamatory publication may vary, dependent upon whether it is a report of what another has said and whether it is adopted, repudiated or discounted. The purpose of the republication will also have a significant bearing. ...... When a defamatory publication purports to repeat or report the defamatory statement of another it is an essentially different libel from one where the same imputation is conveyed directly. It may require to be charged or defended differently..... it may also be relevant on damages.”

thuks
#231 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:59:58 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

yupi?
I care!
#232 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 8:04:12 AM

thuks wrote:
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

yupi?

Votes 2022, kwani Kisii sio Kenya.
#233 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 8:31:38 AM

Murchr, unlike you I support no one.

That is why quoting court cases to a person who's not in the legal profession like me is just a useless endevour. You can quote hundreds. I'm sure we shall see hundreds more quoted in the court room.

My personal view is that the DP could have handled it differently without the spectacle of a public case.

Now that its public please understand that there are two dimensions here.

1. The legal case
2. Public opinion

I'm sure the Imanyara led team understands the legal implications and still went ahead with it. The question you have to ask yourself is who stands to gain with all these stories?

There's an election in 2017 and another coming in 2022. Boni is not Alai or Nyakundi so expecting this to be a non-issue in the front page won't happen.

All I can do is wait for the thread on Boni vs Ruto and wonder if it shall have more views than the Funny Pictures you came across. Or if Nation and Standard shall be able to sell more papers during the 2-3 years of the civil case.

As for the merits, I'll leave that to the legal fraternity.

Mimi I'll just buy popcorn.

#234 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 10:03:57 AM

Murchr, unlike you I support no one.

That is why quoting court cases to a person who's not in the legal profession like me is just a useless endevour. You can quote hundreds. I'm sure we shall see hundreds more quoted in the court room.

My personal view is that the DP could have handled it differently without the spectacle of a public case.

Now that its public please understand that there are two dimensions here.

1. The legal case
2. Public opinion

I'm sure the Imanyara led team understands the legal implications and still went ahead with it. The question you have to ask yourself is who stands to gain with all these stories?

There's an election in 2017 and another coming in 2022. Boni is not Alai or Nyakundi so expecting this to be a non-issue in the front page won't happen.

All I can do is wait for the thread on Boni vs Ruto and wonder if it shall have more views than the Funny Pictures you came across. Or if Nation and Standard shall be able to sell more papers during the 2-3 years of the civil case.

As for the merits, I'll leave that to the legal fraternity.

Mimi I'll just buy popcorn.

and important not to lose focus on what mwangi wants. the bigger picture according to him. it is clear from some comments here that they have not thought about that. that is why you find random comments like 'what do tax returns/icc etc have to do with jacob juma.' from his lawyer's response to this letter on tax returns, people need to get a hint. at stop arguing about 'oh the law' and quoting some rather irrelevant passages from judgements/rulings. ruto may yet win the battle only to find he has lost the war.

an aside: now given the filing of the suits in this matter - the papers may report all that mwangi is saying (in the pleadings) and what he is being sued for without being liable for libel.
Mtublack
#235 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 10:54:03 AM

And who told people Ruto potential voters give a hoot what Mwangi and co say in the courts, its a win win situation Mwangi get more funding from wherever he sources his funding Ruto has a rallying call on 2022 against the kikuyu if need be and if the case last that long. Newspaper sell more so get on with your lives
Some you win some you lose
#236 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 11:08:58 AM

Mtublack wrote:
And who told people Ruto potential voters give a hoot what Mwangi and co say in the courts, its a win win situation Mwangi get more funding from wherever he sources his funding Ruto has a rallying call on 2022 against the kikuyu if need be and if the case last that long. Newspaper sell more so get on with your lives

He closed that door himself. Wsr took the bait from Bonnie. Sadly, he had already burnt key bridges. The most "inheritable" vote block in kenya belongs to baba. It will be a cold day in hell before they can look at wsr.

Mt. Kenya votes were always out of reach for wsr.

Am no prophet but note these two words somewhere. Madvd-PK. That's the future.
#237 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 11:51:54 AM

Mtublack wrote:

So, would you advice the blue section guys to buy shares in NMG and standard group?
#238 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:16:23 PM

But I'd love to see that tax return.....
githundi
#239 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:35:44 PM

But I'd love to see that tax return.....

The tax returns for politicians must be interesting. ..Pray Pray
Anyway, I think BM has punched more than his weight. ..calling someone a thief without any court conviction amounts to defamation
Democracy does not belong to the dead
Mtublack
#240 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 2:03:43 PM

Mtublack wrote:

So, would you advice the blue section guys to buy shares in NMG and standard group?

Nobody in his right mind in blue section would take advice from the charlatans in green section seriously so I will keep my advice to myself Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Ruto has never bothered to market himself as mr clean he know its has no impact on kenyan politics and as much as I dont like he is right, so mara tax returns mara mutesh its neither here nor there. I dont know what his gameplan in sueing Mwangi is, neither what the end result of the whole drama will be but its not likely to affect Ruto as brand to his supporters, so .....
Some you win some you lose