wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

77 Pages«<2728293031>»
US Elections, Hillary or Trump?
Alba
#561 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 7:31:50 PM

Having listened to Trump, I don't think he is particularly racist towards blacks. The problem is the deplorable people around him akina David Duke, Giuliani na wengineo
#562 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 7:46:59 PM

Alba wrote:
Having listened to Trump, I don't think he is particularly racist towards blacks. The problem is the deplorable people around him akina David Duke, Giuliani na wengineo

Maybe the term racism needs to be changed to fit your criteria.

ION

Is Donald Trump Racist? Here's What the Record Shows

Here Are 13 Examples Of Donald Trump Being Racist

Is Donald Trump a Racist?

A former building superintendent working for the Trumps explained that he was told to code any application by a black person with the letter C, for colored, apparently so the office would know to reject it. A Trump rental agent said the Trumps wanted to rent only to “Jews and executives,” and discouraged renting to blacks

#563 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 8:07:58 PM

Kratos wrote:
Alba wrote:

Maybe the term racism needs to be changed to fit your criteria.

ION

Is Donald Trump Racist? Here's What the Record Shows

Here Are 13 Examples Of Donald Trump Being Racist

Is Donald Trump a Racist?

A former building superintendent working for the Trumps explained that he was told to code any application by a black person with the letter C, for colored, apparently so the office would know to reject it. A Trump rental agent said the Trumps wanted to rent only to “Jews and executives,” and discouraged renting to blacks

enyewe, by his own admission he is basing his opinion on only listening to him, not a very competent way to judge people. i hope that alba's general judgement is not guided by such insufficient measures.
Ngalaka
#564 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 9:07:18 PM

Alba wrote:

There are many instances that are tell tale;

Discrimination on who not to lease his apartments to.

There was a black model who witnessed him sneering at another black model.

Even more recently, his initial stance towards the 'black lives matter' movement.

His utterances during the primaries pointed in this direction. Infact that is what endeared him to the crazies aka deplorables
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
Ash Ock
#565 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 9:11:10 PM

Alba wrote:

Trump speaks in code, what is called "Dog Whistling".

Donald Trump chooses language that gets his supporters scared about crime.
Hillary Clinton wants the political left to know she "gets it."

To get these message across, the candidates use a linguistic strategy sometimes called a "dog whistle."

Consider the examples below as subtle but effective ways Trump and Clinton have tried to rally, wink, or tug at the emotions of their supporters when they talk about race and ethnicity.

"Inner City"
(Decoded: Blacks and Hispanics live in dangerous, poor, crime ridden cities.)

In the first presidential debate, one of Donald Trump's most memorable comments about communities of color was when he said "African-Americans, Hispanics are living in hell because it's so dangerous."

Hell, it appears, is also synonymous with the "inner city" that Trump invokes when speaking about black and brown Americans, an equivalency that paints a dismal economic and social environment filled with crime and danger.

"It makes no sense to use a phrase such as 'inner city' as a stand in for the complexity and variety of people of color in the United States," said Ian Haney-Lopez, a law professor at the University of California at Berkeley and the author of the book, Dog Whistle Politics: How Coded Racial Appeals Have Reinvented Racism and Wrecked the Middle Class.

Phrases like "inner city" are used in this context "as a proxy for language meant to trigger negative images of people of color."

Ryan Lauth, a communications professor at Northwestern University, said "inner city" invokes images of "white flight" when whites were escaping decaying urban areas in favor of what they considered safer suburbs. The term is used to invoke fear in rural and suburban voters who want to elect someone who will stop crime from spreading, Lauth said.

Heather Mac Donald, a fellow at The Manhattan Institute, says those who criticize Trump for using these phrases are missing the point. "It means that you can't talk about crime without being called a racist?" Mac Donald said. "He's not assuming that all blacks and Hispanics live in inner cities, he's saying in urban areas crime is extremely high."

"Law and order"
(Decoded: People of color -- and liberals -- are lawless.)

Trump has also repeated the phrase "law and order" when describing his campaign's focus - a phrase that harkens back to Richard Nixon who ran part of his 1968 presidential campaign on the same premise in an attempt to sway Southern conservative whites.
To help control what's happening in the "inner cities" (see above), Trump uses this phrase regularly. "We need law and order. And we need law and order in the inner cities, because the people that are most affected by what's happening are African-American and Hispanic people," he said in the first debate.

In that same debate, while Clinton jabbed Trump because "he paints such a dire negative picture of the black community," she too struggled. She framed her answer to the question on healing the racial divide through the lens of gun control, an issue that affects all Americans, not just people of color.

Clinton also called for a plan that would deal with policies like mandatory minimum sentences "which have put too many people away for too long for doing too little."

Many of those policies, however, were implemented and enforced by earlier administrations, including her husband's, and led to the mass incarceration of many black and Latino Americans in the 1980s and 1990s.

"Criminal illegal aliens"
(Decoded: Scary and dangerous undocumented brown people.)

During the vice presidential debate, Mike Pence repeatedly used the term "criminal aliens" to describe undocumented Mexican immigrants who commit crimes.

During the second presidential debate, Trump expanded the term to include the word "illegal."
Said Trump: "We have many criminal illegal aliens. When we want to send them back to their country, their country says we don't want them. In some cases, they're murderers, drug lords, drug problems."

For Haney-Lopez, this language represents "the boogey man of 2016" and casts undocumented immigrants as "inherently criminal" and as "dark skinned Latinos without documents preying on good decent hardworking white Americans."

The term helps Trump "justify his comments about Mexican immigrants being rapists and murderers," said Lauth, by making en emotional appeal to Americans who are frustrated with Mexican immigrants "taking our jobs."

"Implicit bias"
(Decoded: "I get it -- racism is real.")

In debates and speeches, Clinton has taken to using terms like "systemic racism" and "implicit bias" that were once favored by academics and are now slowly making their way into the mainstream.

Haney-Lopez said Clinton was employing a more subtle form of dog whistling, a secret handshake if you will, that won't register with everyone.

In addition, using the phrase "implicit bias" helps Clinton talk about racism in a way that may be easier for more conservative voters to accept, said Lauth, since it stems from subconscious prejudices that people are unaware they have.

"The term implicit bias will satisfy a lot of people that are looking for a very explicit answer to the problem of police brutality," Lauth said. "It also helps her in walking that line between Blue Lives Matter and Black Lives Matter."

Some of the evolution of Clinton's language around race can be linked to her bumpy relationship with activists of color who have criticized the candidate for, among other things, calling some young criminals "super predators" when her husband was president.
Many interpreted that phrase as being a code for young black men. (Trump didn't miss the opportunity to dredge up the phrase during the first debate calling it "a terrible thing to say.")

Clinton also fumbled with wide swaths of working class white voters when she called a segment of Trump supporters "a basket of deplorables." That term, Lauth said, "makes people feel irredeemable, people that are so bad they can never come back."

Haney-Lopez agreed. Trump supporters say ''I know in my heart I'm not a racist. That's an attack of me as a white person.'"

Source: http://money.cnn.com/201...ink&linkId=30146462

There're more than enough examples of what Trump is really saying i.e. Donald Trump’s 7 Meanest Dog Whistles, Ranked From Worst to Not Quite So Bad
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#566 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 9:31:54 PM

has anyone ever seen Trump smile? has anyone ever seen Hitler smile? as @Ash Ock noted - Trump exceedingly uses Dog whistling. if you want to know listen to his rabid following. Check out how you handle a rabid group
Dahatre
#567 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 10:09:07 PM

Applause You said it better than me lol! but I am the queen of brevity no?
Dahatre wrote:
Oy us Africans tuko na mambo!
Eti we are here odhomineming each other over two colonial, imperialists who stand ready to destabilize our world further? If you have doubts, listen to Trump, and look at Libya and Syria for what Hillary is capable of.

Neither gives a f*** about us!

I refer you to these posts

Dahatre
#568 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 10:18:43 PM

Ummm...Noooo.

Trump was sued by the US justice department for denying Black people housing

More examples here:

mkenyan wrote:

enyewe, by his own admission he is basing his opinion on only listening to him, not a very competent way to judge people. i hope that alba's general judgement is not guided by such insufficient measures.

Dahatre
#569 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2016 10:22:36 PM

deleted..
#570 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 12:59:38 AM

Trump powers ahead. The masses are for Trump. #DrainTheSwamp

#571 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:24:22 AM

-
#572 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:50:04 AM

Numbers don't lie. Trump vs Hillary rallies...

#573 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 4:11:28 AM

mouraythee wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you A little homework...in all those states, google the average turn out during campaigns for both candidates (both numbers and images) and keep on yapping what the CNN polls tell you. I could have told you to check independent polls but Masukuma will come here with his warped arguments to the contrary. And FYI, electoral fraud is real in America. Google/youtube project veritas voter fraud.

Chief - you need to understand how polls work - this explains why Trump is always winning in LA Times/USC Tracking and Rasmussen ! it all has to do with how they treat 'likely voters' and what to what extent they sway the poll. ati "independent polls". Even Fox has polls that say Clinton is wiping the floor with your candidate. FYI.... Trump's lead in Texas and Arizona is in the margin of error (I am not expecting it lakini). Wewe na hiyo fraud yenu - poleni!

FYI: comparing primaries and the election is like comparing apples to oranges. FYI... Trump's problem is not that he does not have a vibrant and charged base... it's that the base is not increasing. Fewer new registrations on his 'strong hold'.

The tide has changed in yesterday's and today's poll

http://www.realclearpoli.../latest_polls/president/
#574 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:17:17 AM

#575 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:19:35 AM

Trump powers ahead of JOHNSON!
#576 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 7:38:38 AM

mouraythee wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you A little homework...in all those states, google the average turn out during campaigns for both candidates (both numbers and images) and keep on yapping what the CNN polls tell you. I could have told you to check independent polls but Masukuma will come here with his warped arguments to the contrary. And FYI, electoral fraud is real in America. Google/youtube project veritas voter fraud.

Chief - you need to understand how polls work - this explains why Trump is always winning in LA Times/USC Tracking and Rasmussen ! it all has to do with how they treat 'likely voters' and what to what extent they sway the poll. ati "independent polls". Even Fox has polls that say Clinton is wiping the floor with your candidate. FYI.... Trump's lead in Texas and Arizona is in the margin of error (I am not expecting it lakini). Wewe na hiyo fraud yenu - poleni!

FYI: comparing primaries and the election is like comparing apples to oranges. FYI... Trump's problem is not that he does not have a vibrant and charged base... it's that the base is not increasing. Fewer new registrations on his 'strong hold'.

The tide has changed in yesterday's and today's poll

http://www.realclearpoli...latest_polls/president/

maybe that Black guy is not polling or changed Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Ash Ock
#577 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 8:32:34 AM

If you're in the States better keep this number handy:

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
Call 1-800-273-8255
Available 24 hours everyday
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#578 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 8:47:17 AM

Ash Ock wrote:

Call 1-800-273-8255

#579 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 9:20:41 AM

Ash Ock wrote:

Call 1-800-273-8255

Also ask loved ones to hang around you during the night of the November 8th election. put paramedics on speed dial!
#580 Posted : Tuesday, October 25, 2016 9:24:32 AM