wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

24 Pages«<1415161718>»
Rais Magufuli
sitaki.kujulikana
#301 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 1:31:00 PM

There was someone on this forum who said the majority of wazua users are employees. This thread is proof of that.

Maghafuli is the CEO of the country and he was elected with the mandate of changing how things are done. He also declared if anything goes wrong, its his fault.

Now imagine the owner of a business, the telephone farmer who doesn't go to his farm because ati he's got his farm manager taking care of things. When he goes to the farm, he finds that the cow is sick. He then decides that since he has "checks and balances", he'll leave the sick cow to the manager. With a written warning since he has to follow another "procedure".

Who owns a business here and pretends that they don't care about what's going on?

Yes, on my chicken farm, I tend to know when gumboro is supposed to be administered and even do it together with the farm hands when I can. That is not micro management, that is good management.

There is a problem with Tanzania and he's trying to fix it.

His record is clear for everyone to see.

Just take a trip between Nairobi and Arusha.

Compare the road from Kitengela to Namamga and the road from Namanga to Arusha...Look at the roads he did when he was minister. Not a single pot hole. He used to go the roads with a stake then order the constructor to redo a huge section at their expense.

You will keep quiet and let the guy do what he thinks is best.

You should be busy deciding whom between Kidero and Sonko you should elect. That's the best we can do here. Wachaneni na wao na micro management.

I wonder what this MBA is worth anymore in this country. It seems as long as you can pay the fees, you get the piece of paper.

Its good as a business owner to follow up stuff, but I think if you have employed people to take care of certain aspects of your business, it becomes absurd when you go around doing what you employed them to do, imagine Atul Shah going around the cashier counters at nakumatt confirming the collections, checking if all the products are being scanned and stuff, I mean you have a branch manager to do that, give them targets and let them give you reports which you act on.

In this case a report showing how many cars go through, the number scanned, the time frames involved, e.t.c would be a better indicator of efficiency, discuss the same at cabinet level, task the minister and his technocrats to do what they are employed to do, not going to scare junior employees, I mean for those employees, just talking to the head of state is a big occasion, now add to it that they have to explain some processes that were put in place by the minister and the technocrats and it becomes a daunting task.

Just imagine (steve jobs) going to foxconn, and on the production line asking some ka hungry guy why the production line is moving in an anti-clockwise direction and not in a clockwise direction.
#302 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 1:37:25 PM

@alma has said it all. You see Kenyans are doomed. They focus outside even when their own house is in a mess to a point where people like Sonko stand on public address speak whatever they want about Presidency... and they brush it off saying: "It was just a huge dose of comic relief.."

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ni wewe wa kuTake offence ama ni Uhuru?
#303 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 1:48:26 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
There was someone on this forum who said the majority of wazua users are employees. This thread is proof of that.

Maghafuli is the CEO of the country and he was elected with the mandate of changing how things are done. He also declared if anything goes wrong, its his fault.

Now imagine the owner of a business, the telephone farmer who doesn't go to his farm because ati he's got his farm manager taking care of things. When he goes to the farm, he finds that the cow is sick. He then decides that since he has "checks and balances", he'll leave the sick cow to the manager. With a written warning since he has to follow another "procedure".

Who owns a business here and pretends that they don't care about what's going on?

Yes, on my chicken farm, I tend to know when gumboro is supposed to be administered and even do it together with the farm hands when I can. That is not micro management, that is good management.

Compare the road from Kitengela to Namamga and the road from Namanga to Arusha...Look at the roads he did when he was minister. Not a single pot hole. He used to go the roads with a stake then order the constructor to redo a huge section at their expense.

You should be busy deciding whom between Kidero and Sonko you should elect. That's the best we can do here. Wachaneni na wao na micro management.

I wonder what this MBA is worth anymore in this country. It seems as long as you can pay the fees, you get the piece of paper.

Its good as a business owner to follow up stuff, but I think if you have employed people to take care of certain aspects of your business, it becomes absurd when you go around doing what you employed them to do, imagine Atul Shah going around the cashier counters at nakumatt confirming the collections, checking if all the products are being scanned and stuff, I mean you have a branch manager to do that, give them targets and let them give you reports which you act on.

In this case a report showing how many cars go through, the number scanned, the time frames involved, e.t.c would be a better indicator of efficiency, discuss the same at cabinet level, task the minister and his technocrats to do what they are employed to do, not going to scare junior employees, I mean for those employees, just talking to the head of state is a big occasion, now add to it that they have to explain some processes that were put in place by the minister and the technocrats and it becomes a daunting task.

Just imagine (steve jobs) going to foxconn, and on the production line asking some ka hungry guy why the production line is moving in an anti-clockwise direction and not in a clockwise direction.

Good argument Sitaki but you are making an assumption here that is invalid.

That Kenyan gov't or Tanzanian gov't is run like Apple. It isn't the case and everyone knows it. In fact, that is the reason he was elected. Because Tanzania gov't is not run efficiently.

I know for a fact that Steve Jobs would fire you if he found you not working on a project.

Please read his autobiographies and if you can't read, watch the movie Jobs.

Yes, he was right in the middle of creating code and fighting with his employees.

I know Kenyan MBA's are taught that their work is to get a car loan, sit in the office and read papers. but I've worked for fortune 500 companies and dare you not work on your turf when the CEO is passing by.

You are given armed escort out of the office hapo hapo.

Are you suggesting that if Uhuru when doing one of his tours in these projects should just shut up when he sees a glaring ommision in the running of the system?

Maybe he should write a letter, call the CS and have the CS write another letter confirming that what he saw was really not what he saw.

Maybe he should leave his annoyance to the 2pm gang. Let Itumbi issue another pastors moment and blame Raila for it.

No.

In my view, as he was doing his national duty as president, he discovered a glaring anomaly. Instead of waiting for a report, he decided to deal with it insitu.

Try running those bureaucratic processes you love so much in Kenya at an American company. Utashangaa.

The problem in TZ is right there for you to see. Even when the President is taking a walk, these fellows can't even hide that they aren't doing their work.

What do you want him to do? Shut up and go back to state house? That's not management, that's Kenyan MBA stuff.

sitaki.kujulikana
#304 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 2:00:51 PM

@alma no prob the president doing his rounds but his confrontational nature especially towards junior staff is unnerving, I mean hata jobs used to shika his engineers hard, but as the example I gave he would not go to the guys implementing the designs at say foxconn and start arguing with production line employees, because if issues are at the implementation part then the design level is kaput.

Hata our uk if he went on his sgr tour and then started arguing with the welders on why they have to wait sijui for the cylinders to pass through sikui where, I would find that absurd.

I think there are levels he should address this, and the pros for doing that would be that the process would be sorted for good, I mean if goes around patting his minister and cs backs while firing guys who are just implementing what his cabinet has put in place, then that is crazy management.

I mean this president is literary arguing with employees very low on the hierarchical order, and on tv, and the worst thing is that this has happened before and I believe within the same ministry and the minister is still around, thats crazy management at least the way I see it.

Of course as a leader it is always prudent to keep your ears on the ground, because even your senior employees can take you for a ride, but I think processes and order are vital in any organization, especially for continuity.
#305 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 2:17:41 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
@alma no prob the president doing his rounds but his confrontational nature especially towards junior staff is unnerving, I mean hata jobs used to shika his engineers hard, but as the example I gave he would not go to the guys implementing the designs at say foxconn and start arguing with production line employees, because if issues are at the implementation part then the design level is kaput.

Hata our uk if he went on his sgr tour and then started arguing with the welders on why they have to wait sijui for the cylinders to pass through sikui where, I would find that absurd.

I think there are levels he should address this, and the pros for doing that would be that the process would be sorted for good, I mean if goes around patting his minister and cs backs while firing guys who are just implementing what his cabinet has put in place, then that is crazy management.

I mean this president is literary arguing with employees very low on the hierarchical order, and on tv, and the worst thing is that this has happened before and I believe within the same ministry and the minister is still around, thats crazy management at least the way I see it.

Of course as a leader it is always prudent to keep your ears on the ground, because even your senior employees can take you for a ride, but I think processes and order are vital in any organization, especially for continuity.

We shall agree to disagree.

There are different types of management. Ask Safcom employees about Michael Joseph.

If there is a crisis, getting a nice guy just won't work.

There was a crisis in TZ. Right now, the only people who are complaining in TZ are

1. Former crooks in that former president's regime
2. Lazy gov't officials
3. Kenyans

There was a time in TZ where a few Kenyan shillings in hongo would get you very far. Please try any hongo in a gov't office in TZ right now. Jaribu tu.

Hapa Kenya we are still making speeches and retweeting Maghufuli movies.

That is why he was elected. Rid gov't offices of corruption and lazy officers.

If that means there's collateral damage to junior welders who are feeling wamedharualiwa, so be it.

You need to understand why you are hiring a CEO. He was hired precisely because Tanzanians were tired of corruption. That was the campaign theme and its still the campaign theme. Hapa Kazi Tu.

Now look at yourself and ask why you hired Uhuru to be president. That is his JD.

I know some hired him to get rid of Raila, so they are happy.
Some hired him to not to to the Hague, so they are happy.

Those that hired him to get rid of corruption, well, let them tell you how they feel.

Hapa TZ we are happy. Everyone is paying taxes. Everyone..No hongo in Gov't and that annoying bureaucracy that was a Tanzanian gov't office is slowly disappearing.

He's doing the job he was elected to do.

Sasa, kazi ya Sonko ama Kidero, ilikuwa nini ama ni nini?

#306 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 3:12:15 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

We shall agree to disagree.

There are different types of management. Ask Safcom employees about Michael Joseph.

If there is a crisis, getting a nice guy just won't work.

There was a crisis in TZ. Right now, the only people who are complaining in TZ are

1. Former crooks in that former president's regime
2. Lazy gov't officials
3. Kenyans

There was a time in TZ where a few Kenyan shillings in hongo would get you very far. Please try any hongo in a gov't office in TZ right now. Jaribu tu.

Hapa Kenya we are still making speeches and retweeting Maghufuli movies.

That is why he was elected. Rid gov't offices of corruption and lazy officers.

If that means there's collateral damage to junior welders who are feeling wamedharualiwa, so be it.

You need to understand why you are hiring a CEO. He was hired precisely because Tanzanians were tired of corruption. That was the campaign theme and its still the campaign theme. Hapa Kazi Tu.

Now look at yourself and ask why you hired Uhuru to be president. That is his JD.

I know some hired him to get rid of Raila, so they are happy.
Some hired him to not to to the Hague, so they are happy.

Those that hired him to get rid of corruption, well, let them tell you how they feel.

Hapa TZ we are happy. Everyone is paying taxes. Everyone..No hongo in Gov't and that annoying bureaucracy that was a Tanzanian gov't office is slowly disappearing.

He's doing the job he was elected to do.

Sasa, kazi ya Sonko ama Kidero, ilikuwa nini ama ni nini?

Boss. Don't presume things or just pass hearsay on;
I am familiar with the workings of MJ (and Collymore, as someone had also intimated earlier). Michael Joseph is tough but his style is not similar to Magufuli's show of berating junior employees. He would on occasion walk to sites in crisis but he always sought to understand the root cause, and the person accountable. Important difference. Some choice words might be thrown in, but it was always Heads of Departments who got a kick in the nuts. And while MJ would show flashes of anger in public at incompetence, BC is as cool as a mountain stream, until the incompetent party is shown into the inner sanctum; Then the knives come out. Senior Managers let go from Safaricom will tell you that Collymore's manner of speaking calmly doesn't mean you are off the hook.
#307 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 3:14:18 PM

I've a TZ friend. He says "everything is under control my friend... no deal at all... you have to work so as to get money... no shortcut at all! And we love it as wananchi. Sijui kwanini watu wa nchi zingine wanalalamika na hapa tunaona mabadiliko mazuri kwa huduma za serikali..."

He tells me the prezo is leading by example!
#308 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 3:38:32 PM

I've a TZ friend. He says "everything is under control my friend... no deal at all... you have to work so as to get money... no shortcut at all! And we love it as wananchi. Sijui kwanini watu wa nchi zingine wanalalamika na hapa tunaona mabadiliko mazuri kwa huduma za serikali..."

He tells me the prezo is leading by example!

I speak from experience. I wonder what these fellows who don't know where namanga is located are smoking.

Just because he doesn't see eye to eye with beloved President Uhuru does not mean that he's taking his people to hell.

I'm there right now as we speak.

I've just shown the Kenyans and Tanzanians on the table here the topic. Everyone is laughing.

Ati Maghufuli management style. Goddamit this is the only country in East Africa where corrupt officials are in jail. Not running to be governor.

I can only hope that next time he carries a bakora in these corrupt offices. If any still remain.

As I drink my konyagi I hope that another video is released where he abuses some other corrupt fellow on YouTube. We love it here.

Nyinyi kaeni huko with people can call themselves presidents at a funeral and corruption kings running for elective posts. Don't forget to wake up at 4am to vote for them too.

Hapa Kazi Tu.

wukan
#309 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 3:59:51 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Steve Jobs was one maniacal micromanager and a dictator he only reformed in last years. Please check online on how steve Jobs was running meetings and you will think Magafuli is an angel. Jobs went into his research lab shutting down the AppleII until he found the guy working on the Mackintosh.

Steve Jobs and the "No Asshole Rule: Be a jerk"
#310 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 4:13:13 PM

wukan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Steve Jobs was one maniacal micromanager and a dictator he only reformed in last years. Please check online on how steve Jobs was running meetings and you will think Magafuli is an angel. Jobs went into his research lab shutting down the AppleII until he found the guy working on the Mackintosh.

Now we are getting there, its not only Steve Jobs, all successful managers are generally hands on maniacs who will ride your arse if you are not performing.

If you want CEO's who follow protocal, look no further than the Mbuzi Ngunze's of this world
sitaki.kujulikana
#311 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 4:33:45 PM

@alma hapo sawa, I understand the political angle and all the mess that comes with it, tz also have had a certain tradition of doing things.

@AlphDoti most of us here are not tanzanians, we are not discussing this as a means of changing whatever they are doing huko, its just a discussion on the leadership style and management of one Magufuli.

@wukan and @Obi look objectively at this scenario, a president going into a government office and start to cause hell for guys whose work is to look at computer screens, thats the equivalent of say steve jobs going to foxconn and causing hell to the production line workers.

In ever system there is always an aspect of designing and implementing, there is no way say steve jobs or even akina bob or mj would go to an implementing guy huko kwa last part of the chain and start arguing with them about processes, thats not in their jd, and even if they seem not to be performing arguing with the on tv does not aurgur well will the rest of the command chain.

My question is, in the two popular instances where he has gone on to argue with employees on tv, both of those happen to fall under the docket of a certain ministry, and both instances happen to be mostly to do with processes, its not like he went and found only a court on a chair or found a guy deep in sleep, these are guys who are just doing what they are told, following a process that he is supposed to be helping formulate.
sitaki.kujulikana
#312 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 4:42:55 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Now we are getting there, its not only Steve Jobs, all successful managers are generally hands on maniacs who will ride your arse if you are not performing.

If you want CEO's who follow protocal, look no further than the Mbuzi Ngunze's of this world

i think we are seeing different things, I mean its ok if say steve jobs called his designers into his office and proceeded to toa the hair dryer, but do you see a scenario where he went say into an apple shop and then went on to argue with the cashier why the barcode scanner was not working, or why the cashier was sitting behind desk and not being able to see what customers were walking out with, there is hands on lakini hiyo ya ceo ku argue na cashier about a barcode scanner is just a complete breakdown of processes.
#313 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 4:50:52 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

i think we are seeing different things, I mean its ok if say steve jobs called his designers into his office and proceeded to toa the hair dryer, but do you see a scenario where he went say into an apple shop and then went on to argue with the cashier why the barcode scanner was not working, or why the cashier was sitting behind desk and not being able to see what customers were walking out with, there is hands on lakini hiyo ya ceo ku argue na cashier about a barcode scanner is just a complete breakdown of processes.

Has it ever occurred you that he is trying to communicate something to Tanzanians and government employees.

He wants to stamp out corruption, laziness and non performance, what better way to make every Tanzanian govt employee think that it may be them tomorrow.

His berating of incompetent low cadre staff is probably a better mode of communication than reading some inspiring speech during mashujaa day (as I expect we will soon have)

Remember again that Magufuli probably has more leeway than a manager in the private sector in regards to how he deals with employees. Offcourse managers are restrained by culture and legal consequences on how far he can berate employees.

Tafakari hayo
jmbada
#314 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 1:55:43 PM

Any management style that does not focus on getting the right people in the right jobs and then letting them get on with their jobs is bound to fail! Ma-padlock has his heart in the right place, but he is yelling at people to get their act together, yet they don't even know what the "Act" is. i.e. what they are supposed to be doing. Recession is guaranteed IMHO.
#315 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2016 11:43:15 AM

Muheani
#316 Posted : Thursday, October 27, 2016 2:16:58 PM

wa..Ukweli, basi tusemeje..Hayo ndio mapenzi!

Fyatu
#317 Posted : Sunday, October 30, 2016 7:17:16 PM

H.E. Pombe will be in town tomorrow for two day state visit. The government of Kenya calls on all citizens to be in their best behavior and be well groomed. How i wish this man will address the nation
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
thuks
#318 Posted : Sunday, October 30, 2016 7:33:25 PM

Fyatu wrote:
H.E. Pombe will be in town tomorrow for two day state visit. The government of Kenya calls on all citizens to be in their best behavior and be well groomed. How i wish this man will address the nation

We shall dutifully listen to him, then critique HIM according to OUR various tints and shades of gogos. Akule nyama halafu aende zake.
I care!
#319 Posted : Monday, October 31, 2016 11:54:02 AM

thuks wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

We shall dutifully listen to him, then critique HIM according to OUR various tints and shades of gogos. Akule nyama halafu aende zake.

Someone should alert him akae randa akikutana na hawa wazee. Otherwise simu na wallet atabaki na viulizo ??????
Fyatu
#320 Posted : Monday, October 31, 2016 12:14:39 PM

H.E. Pombe has borded a matatu from somewhere in TZ to Nairobi. He is expected to a light in river road mida ya saa nane

RINK

this man!
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money