wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

24 Pages«<1314151617>»
Rais Magufuli
#281 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:00:59 PM

smile smile smile
#282 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2016 12:45:27 PM

Kwani is this guy crazy, smile d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

I have an MBA and I can tell you that this is very poor management skill exhibited by this Makufuli fellow. He has absolutely no respect for the chain of command or organisational structure. Management 101 says that if you are head of eg Barclays Bank, you don't go to a branch eg Homa Bay and start harassing tellers, rather you talk to the regional or branch managers and demand to know what is happening in their areas of jurisdiction. I should school this Makufuli on management.

This makufuli will bankruppt TZ.Surely why is he blaming such a junior civil servant when he is always chairing the cabinet?

He's practicing the worst form of management, what we call MBWA, i.e. Management By Wandering About.

The people given the job are not doing their job, what do you want him to do? Sit back and say yeah as long I gave them the job, they should do it...
#283 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2016 4:47:33 AM

Even a company cant be run this way. These workers must be so tense. If the machines are not working he needs to ask the minister.

This one shows the whole confusion.

I don't think kuna shida hapa - he is a noob. He comes na mioto mob and he thinks the way he would do things is the way they are done! aketi afunzwe! ni kurukia vitu! the reason he left is because he realized that there is a standard operating procedure - everyone has work to be done and it's a system. just because you have a computer does not mean that you work miracles.
#284 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2016 4:39:39 PM

Even a company cant be run this way. These workers must be so tense. If the machines are not working he needs to ask the minister.

I don't think kuna shida hapa - he is a noob. He comes na mioto mob and he thinks the way he would do things is the way they are done! aketi afunzwe! ni kurukia vitu! the reason he left is because he realized that there is a standard operating procedure - everyone has work to be done and it's a system. just because you have a computer does not mean that you work miracles.

The irony, given that he was the Transport Minister before his presidency.

Update on the airport saga, he passed by there and found the scanning machines working. Then he asked about the lady who "lied" to him, he was told that she was transferred to another department. He asked the manager to fire her.
#285 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2016 8:51:06 PM

Even in your own home you don't ambush your house girl in the kitchen demanding answers. Rather you give her space to carry out her work and address any issues via mama watoto. Can you imagine the man of the house storming the kitchen and harrasing and firing the house girl over some appliance e.g. electric kettle that's not working or some overcooked ugali? #StupidMan
#286 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2016 9:01:18 PM

The irony, given that he was the Transport Minister before his presidency.

Update on the airport saga, he passed by there and found the scanning machines working. Then he asked about the lady who "lied" to him, he was told that she was transferred to another department. He asked the manager to fire her.

So the poor lady is now fired and her kids have to suffer just because this Makufuli fellow didn't give her the tools to do her job or rather failed to maintain the equipment? If anyone is to go home it must be Makufuli, not the spanner boys/girls whose tools the boss neglected and they fell into disrepair.
Pesa Nane
#287 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2016 9:57:03 PM

don't treat me like a what??
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#288 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 12:09:04 PM

I have an MBA and I can tell you that this is very poor management skill exhibited by this Makufuli fellow. He has absolutely no respect for the chain of command or organisational structure. Management 101 says that if you are head of eg Barclays Bank, you don't go to a branch eg Homa Bay and start harassing tellers, rather you talk to the regional or branch managers and demand to know what is happening in their areas of jurisdiction. I should school this Makufuli on management.

MBA ya Trump universityLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I actually think this chap is doing a great job. He knows there are no systems in place, systems take time to implement, such spot checks are what will keep his people honest as he sets up proper systems.

He may be a tard aggressive but in my opinion he is doing well to check on exactly what everyone is doing, if you are employed to man that scanner and you draw a salary, then you should be able to expalin why/what/when/how that go with your JD to anyone.

And by the way, this is the correct style of management, organisations are becoming flat and the CEO does not need to wait for information to be passed through 7 sieves before he can get the same.

Find out from Safcom how Bob runs the business, he will pop in at a presentation unannounced and sit at the back to observe. He directly calls distributors whenever he senses a need to intervene.
Uram
#289 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 12:49:41 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I actually think this chap is doing a great job. He knows there are no systems in place, systems take time to implement, such spot checks are what will keep his people honest as he sets up proper systems.

He may be a tard aggressive but in my opinion he is doing well to check on exactly what everyone is doing, if you are employed to man that scanner and you draw a salary, then you should be able to expalin why/what/when/how that go with your JD to anyone.

And by the way, this is the correct style of management, organisations are becoming flat and the CEO does not need to wait for information to be passed through 7 sieves before he can get the same.

Find out from Safcom how Bob runs the business, he will pop in at a presentation unannounced and sit at the back to observe. He directly calls distributors whenever he senses a need to intervene.

ditto
chemirocha
#290 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 2:42:56 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

In which world is micromanagement the gold standard for running a country? Magufuli is a joke of a president masquerading as a high school discipline master.
#291 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 2:58:07 PM

chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

In which world is micromanagement the gold standard for running a country? Magufuli is a joke of a president masquerading as a high school discipline master.

This would qualify as micro management if he was dealing with his Ministers i.e direct reports. However what he is doing is simply cutting through the fat or red tape to get to see whats happening vs whats supposed to happen. Isn't it obvious?
#292 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 3:06:15 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
don't treat me like a what??

like a TABULA RASA.
but really... the one for the airport I agree with! he asked people to scan stuff that came in. There were machines and they tried to lie to him. plus the assumption that stuff is scanned elsewhere is broken and i believe he rightly pointed it out. Hii ya "database" alikataa kuelezewa HOW THINGS WORK... yeye alikuja na how he thinks things should be done. Just because you are the President does not mean you know how everything works or is supposed to work... tulia ufunzwe!!
chemirocha
#293 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 3:51:33 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

This would qualify as micro management if he was dealing with his Ministers i.e direct reports. However what he is doing is simply cutting through the fat or red tape to get to see whats happening vs whats supposed to happen. Isn't it obvious?

Are you sure about this statement? Your man is undermining his cabinet by harassing juniour government officials. It is infact the very definition of micromanagement.
sitaki.kujulikana
#294 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 4:03:25 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

what!!! (wacha niweke quotes za @McRa)
so is he pico or nano managing ? smile
#295 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 4:25:51 PM

chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Are you sure about this statement? Your man is undermining his cabinet by harassing juniour government officials. It is infact the very definition of micromanagement.

As I stated up there, he is aggressive and does come out as a bully, but he is not micromanaging anything, to me, he is spot checking or fact checking things that he may have more info than is disclosed in those clips.

As I said, if he did his ministers work or even the PS's (or their Tz equivalent) then that would qualify for micromanaging, but c'mon, the guy is checking on the work of some clerk who is probably on the take
chemirocha
#296 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 5:13:26 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

As I stated up there, he is aggressive and does come out as a bully, but he is not micromanaging anything, to me, he is spot checking or fact checking things that he may have more info than is disclosed in those clips.

As I said, if he did his ministers work or even the PS's (or their Tz equivalent) then that would qualify for micromanaging, but c'mon, the guy is checking on the work of some clerk who is probably on the take

Clearly you do not understand the meaning of micromanagement. If a function of government is broken then the buck eventually stops at the cabinet level.

Anyway as head of state he surely should have more important things to do than making noise at clerks and machine operators.
#297 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 5:41:54 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Sitting on a presentation is not the same as showing up and insisting to know infra red bla bla
Fyatu
#298 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 10:57:18 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I agree with you...what we have seen in this video is a government officer not able to answer a simple yes/no question.

H.E. Pombe is asking the TRA guy at the back-office whether or not he would know if a vehicle passed the scanner without any scanning taking place only for the guy to fidget like someone sitting on a needle instead of saying NO there is no way of knowing...

I hope H.E. Pombe follows up on this weaknesses and provides solution otherwise he might end up looking like a clown
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#299 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 11:23:49 AM

There was someone on this forum who said the majority of wazua users are employees. This thread is proof of that.

Maghafuli is the CEO of the country and he was elected with the mandate of changing how things are done. He also declared if anything goes wrong, its his fault.

Now imagine the owner of a business, the telephone farmer who doesn't go to his farm because ati he's got his farm manager taking care of things. When he goes to the farm, he finds that the cow is sick. He then decides that since he has "checks and balances", he'll leave the sick cow to the manager. With a written warning since he has to follow another "procedure".

Who owns a business here and pretends that they don't care about what's going on?

Yes, on my chicken farm, I tend to know when gumboro is supposed to be administered and even do it together with the farm hands when I can. That is not micro management, that is good management.

There is a problem with Tanzania and he's trying to fix it.

His record is clear for everyone to see.

Just take a trip between Nairobi and Arusha.

Compare the road from Kitengela to Namamga and the road from Namanga to Arusha...Look at the roads he did when he was minister. Not a single pot hole. He used to go the roads with a stake then order the constructor to redo a huge section at their expense.

You will keep quiet and let the guy do what he thinks is best.

You should be busy deciding whom between Kidero and Sonko you should elect. That's the best we can do here. Wachaneni na wao na micro management.

I wonder what this MBA is worth anymore in this country. It seems as long as you can pay the fees, you get the piece of paper.

#300 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 12:01:37 PM

@alma has said it all. You see Kenyans are doomed. They focus outside even when their own house is in a mess to a point where people like Sonko stand on public address speak whatever they want about Presidency... and they brush it off saying: "It was just a huge dose of comic relief.."