wazua Tue, Dec 30, 2025

The Makonde
#1 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:48:50 AM

Its a shame that these people have been kept stateless for so long.

Qsn.
1. Why were they previously denied Kenyan Citizenship?

2. Does the presidents pronunciation (which by the way I support) automatically grant them Citizenship

3. What does the law say regarding a case like the Makonde community's

4. Why did an entire community not use the law/judiciary to demand their rights
Wamunyota
#2 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 11:02:14 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Its a shame that these people have been kept stateless for so long.

Qsn.
1. Why were they previously denied Kenyan Citizenship?

2. Does the presidents pronunciation (which by the way I support) automatically grant them Citizenship

3. What does the law say regarding a case like the Makonde community's

4. Why did an entire community not use the law/judiciary to demand their rights

I thought it is the story about John Makonde.Anyway karibu sana the 44th Tribe.
Hutia Mundu!!
Nandwa
#3 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 11:49:50 AM

I dont understand, largely the population in Kenya today would be 2nd, 3rd generation, most born here.

I thought when you are born here you automatically get citizenship!
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#4 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 12:19:41 PM

Chapter 3 of kenya constitution describes how one becomes a citizen ie by birth if one parent is Kenyan or registration. The Makonde migrated from Mozambique prior to 1963 and don't have any enforceable claim to citizenship anywhere. Section 15 and 16 of kenya citizenship and immigration Act spell out how they maybe registered as citizens.

All else is hogwash noise.
#5 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 12:43:33 PM

They are also to be issued with title deeds for "their" land.
#6 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 12:49:25 PM

Are these @Makondes the same with the old one whom we were taught in lower primary that he was born on a Monday, wed on Tue and died on Wednesday?
He was actually called @Simon Makonde and he hailed from Uganda.

#7 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 1:17:48 PM

Are these @Makondes the same with the old one whom we were taught in lower primary that he was born on a Monday, wed on Tue and died on Wednesday?

Kumbe wewe rika ya guka?
#8 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 1:46:30 PM

Kumbe wewe rika ya guka?

I tell you, wacha tu!

Good days are gone.

Fullykenyan
#9 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 5:03:56 PM

Kumbe wewe rika ya guka?

hahahaha,
i also thought the same Laughing out loudly
#10 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 5:23:07 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:

Kumbe wewe rika ya guka?

hahahaha,
i also thought the same Laughing out loudly

Mimi iko kubwa men!