wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

7 Pages«<4567>
Is it true about SUPKEM and DSTV
Fundaah
#101 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 10:24:11 AM

Ngalaka wrote:

And for heavens sake, the COE, the mother act, and even the amendment to section 47 of the constitution to smooth the process of bringing forth this draft was all done by the current Parliament.

I therefore dont get it when we are now adopting an hollier than thou attitude and demonising the MPs who brought us this far.

Ngalaka.... these guys were given 30days to ammend the COE draft .....they couldn't agree on any of the 150 ammendments .... give them 20years more what makes you think they will agree?
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Sigiriri
#102 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 11:39:19 AM

@Ngalaka, this is why I said that the more significant change we can make in Kenya is a leadership change - by more than 80%. The new leaders will hopefully be more sober minded and if we can do the constitution before they get their heads corrupted by power, Kenya can do a really nice constitution for all Kenyans, without any suspicion.

Some dude is implying am smoking something - hehehhe!! This is an open forum and we are all sharing opinions. If u wish to muzzle me, tukutane uwanjo, hapo huruma johnsaga....if u beat me, nitakupeleka kiamaich u eat ur fill of mbuzi, if I beat u, u apologize here!! hehehe! Woie..
#103 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 12:17:36 PM

@wendz, what is easier? amending the review act 2008 now (or even asking parliament to amend it) then make the change or going for the referendum, getting our NO! and maybe surviving.
Later mobilize 1 million signatures, push them to IIEC, taking it to the counties assemblies waiting for them to agree then to parliament then to a referendum.
Choose the simpler option -
@Fundaa, the comments of "they couldn't agree on any of the 150 amendments...give them 20 years more what makes you think they will agree?" are exaggerated, 30 days is nowhere close to 20 years (240 months or 7300 days) i wonder how u managed to extrapolate that from a mere 30 days that they did not even exhaust.
#104 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 12:48:45 PM

Just wondering Masukuma, how long do you think 'a little more" should be? One day, two days, one year, 20 years? Be specific please.

Or is it until the clergy ( note I did not say christians) decide?

There is a law right now. It says, time to talk is up. It is time to go vote. Are you telling me that the clergy wants us to be criminals by breaking the law?

Let us be very honest with ourselves here.

You want no Kadhis court. Others want it. Others don't care.

That is why we have a referendum. A referendum is not a consensus document. It is used when people cannot agree. It is obvious Kenyans don't agree. Then let the referendum decide.

Let the People, not the clergy, not the Mp's, not you masukuma, not me.

Let Kenyans decide what they want. Stop threatening, scaring, spreading untruths and basically being obnoxious and instead go educate the masses.

The time to negotiate, bribe and even threaten Kenyans with hell in nigeria is up. Let the people vote. It is their turn to eat.
#105 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 4:09:56 PM

@alma,
The people are not some amorphous group of people, they are you and me ,the Muslims ,the clergy , e.t.c. and the people will decide.
please listen and listen good - WE ARE NOT ASKING YOU TO BREAK THE LAW! WE ARE ASKING FOR THE LAW TO BE CHANGED! In Kenya if you don't like the law - you change it or ask for it to be changed.
p.s. the law did not say time to talk is up - time to talk will be UP THE NIGHT BEFORE THE REFERENDUM!! This is actually TALK TIME!! Campaigns and Complains e.t.c.
Obviously you (and 80% of Kenyans) have not read the draft! The provisions that give existence to the Kadhi's courts are not REFERENDUM provisions. I suggest you go read the document before purporting to GIVE INSIGHT! How can you know we are spreading untruths and obviously you have not read the paper?
I will be as firm as i can on this matter and that will sometimes be a thorn in the flesh of some like you but i will not be deterred.
#106 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 4:23:14 PM

@masukuma

I understand that you really want to have this process stopped.

I also understand that you would like Kenyans to read this thing.

Those two things are not going to happen. So instead of fighting an emotional game, put on your politicians hat before it is too late.

The only way to change the laws of this country is not by making noise on TV or going on the streets. It is making 144 Mps to change the law....You do that you have your wish.

Going to Kibaki and Raila is a waste of time as the clergy found out.

This draft was in the newspapers free. Most of it is now being used to wrap chips. you know Kenyans don't read a book, what makes you think they will read 200 pages of lawyer speak?

It is politics Masukuma.

You have two arguments

1. Kadhis court,
2. Abortion

The politicians have 200 other arguments and they will beat you with them over and over again. Read my other post on the numbers.

You are so busy trying to convert people on wazua you forget to go to the numbers.

I have serious misgivings about a lot more issues than what you have. However, I am realistic and realise that for you to beat Raila and Kibaki together, you really need a miracle.

On one side you have the two people who got 100% of the votes the last time and beat Uhuru together like a child in 2002.

On the other side you have some clergy people I have never heard of and the one famous Arap Moi and Ruto. Some would argue the people who caused this mess anyway.

so instead of thinking that I am the enemy, get to work now and start getting the numbers because you have a very long 90 days coming.

Someone on this forum has stated time and again that he won't vote. He's making a lot more sense. I would suggest you watch labour day tommorow. Cotu and Raila are in Uhuru park. You can then judge for yourself exactly what mountain you have to climb.
kijana1984
#107 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 5:10:32 PM

90% good is definitely a good return from anything, how can you say 90% is good then still reject it on the basis of the mythical 10% thats bad.
[/quote]

each part of the constitution is significant by itself .... therefore the 10% bad is as significant as 90% "Good",

Analogy : if you ate ugali with a lethal poison conc of 1/1000 will you live because the good outweighed the bad by a factor of 999 to 1 or will you die because the 1/1000 part poison cannot be neutralized by the good maize?
AmHere
#108 Posted : Friday, April 30, 2010 5:22:40 PM

The discussion is good. Isn't that what an online forum like wazua is for? Let each person present their argument here freely then everyone can vote as they please.
#109 Posted : Saturday, May 01, 2010 7:10:06 AM

@alma, I now understand you. But i would wish to say that the clergy has time and time again said its not a popularity contest and it has never been - Akina Ruto maybe trying to do politics but NOT the Church. The YES team seem to be having the numbers but our conviction is similar to that of Shadrack, Meshack and Abednego who said
"O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up."

#110 Posted : Saturday, May 01, 2010 8:41:47 AM

@masukuma I am glad that you see I am not for or against your arguments.

However, the clergy has set itself up for a serious loss in credibility. Whether Yes or No wins.

Constitution making is a popularity contest and an ugly political game. You are talking about people's lives here.

That is why Isaac Ruto wanted Njue to lead the No campaign. That is why you now see Moi courting the church again.

Ruto and Moi will use the clergy every step of the way. The clergy will forever be linked with Moi and that is very sad indeed.

Kalembe Ndile has started and songs against Moi reminiscent of 2002 have already started being sung.

Those are the facts Masukuma and I find it hard to believe that the church believes that people vote with a conscience.

The moment they started asking for tithe to beat the competition, they lost credibility for ages to come. Whether Yes or No wins.

They should have done as the sikhs did or what they did in 2002.

Expressed serious misgivings they had and even preached against it. But adviced people to vote their will.

Not coming up with a slogan and a logo ( red card).

What a pity.
#111 Posted : Saturday, May 01, 2010 3:45:41 PM

As a nation, we cannot depend on the church or the leaders of any religion on that matter. They clearly picked sides during the election drama.
On another point, the coastal strip was part of Zanzibar, but Kenyatta negotiated for it with the Sultan in 1963. It was agreed that The coastal strip would be given to Kenya but that The Kadhi's Court must be enshrined in the new(1963/4?) Constitution so as to cater to the Coastal Peoples needs.
So if we want to remove The Kadhis Courts, then the pact will be broken and we should return the coastal strip to Zanzibar. That will also mean losing all the tourism that the coast comes with. Halafu kenya itabaki maskini .
Hivyo ndio unataka masukuma?
#112 Posted : Saturday, May 01, 2010 5:43:03 PM

@youcantstopeusnow,
hakuna kitu kama hiyo. The worst that can happen is asking for it to be limited to the 10 mile strip as was in the current draft.
@alma, The Kingdom of God has suffered violence!! Credibility of the Church is based on God's word and NOT POPULAR OPINION!! even if everyone on the planet decides to ditch it. IT REMAINS TRUE. Its not A DEMOCRACY!!! The Pew-warmers are not asked if the wish to downgrade fornication from sin to a nice thing to have. We have an authority we follow and the authority does not follow us.
YES may win and pews will be warmed the following Sunday!! the problem is not with the Clergy its with the PEW WARMERS! they have EARS but don't listen, they have EYES but don't SEE. they wish to have people who tickle their ears as clergy.
#113 Posted : Saturday, May 01, 2010 7:26:59 PM

@ masukuma,where do you go to church?
#114 Posted : Sunday, May 02, 2010 7:43:25 PM

@famooz, why?
#115 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 6:25:48 AM

Because you have Preached to her in a language she understands perfectly. She would like to visit and hear you on the Pulpit.

You do do the Pulpit stuff don't you?

Pew Warmers. Damn that is good.
#116 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 6:34:29 AM

@aemathenge, Actually i have never stood at the pulpit in a long time. But i go to NPC woodley.
#117 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 6:55:01 AM

@ masukuma, because you sound like you got sound teaching.

However,hi katiba watu wameamua wanaitaka bila kusoma au kuelewa the implications.......i have not read it but i have followed the contentious issues.
#118 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 7:12:42 AM

@famooz, I hope "why do i vote YES" topic maybe used to educate people on the good and bad of the draft constitution. I am open to engage on the articles on the Draft but not broad arguments such as the paper is 90% good. I wish we could do a clause by clause breakdown. i mean its only 262 articles smile
#119 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 7:22:06 AM

@ masukuma, yeah they are only:) 262 articles.........fervency!!!
Brewer
#120 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 7:28:33 AM

@alma, The Kingdom of God has suffered violence!! Credibility of the Church is based on God's word and NOT POPULAR OPINION!! even if everyone on the planet decides to ditch it. IT REMAINS TRUE. Its not A DEMOCRACY!!! The Pew-warmers are not asked if the wish to downgrade fornication from sin to a nice thing to have. We have an authority we follow and the authority does not follow us.
YES may win and pews will be warmed the following Sunday!! the problem is not with the Clergy its with the PEW WARMERS! they have EARS but don't listen, they have EYES but don't SEE. they wish to have people who tickle their ears as clergy.

Good. Very good!