Of govt lies and fishy statistics
KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032.
FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. Maybe he meant sh1B not 1Bkg. Anyway, I again ask, since agriculture was devolved to county governments, what are those 5 governors in counties surrounding L. Victoria doing about the said decline of production, when the demand is increasing, as per KNBS? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. does it mean someone can not import something if the same is found locally, I would have an issue if the importers are evading tax or something, but if they are doing it in the right way then its down to competition, wacha customer achague what they want. what I find odd is that the imports might be cheaper than even the equal quality local equivalent
Jus Blazin wrote:FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. Maybe he meant sh1B not 1Bkg. Anyway, I again ask, since agriculture was devolved to county governments, what are those 5 governors in counties surrounding L. Victoria doing about the said decline of production, when the demand is increasing, as per KNBS? He has been very categorical. That we have a deficit of 800,000 tonnes. But we now know ODM would be a worse alternative than the thieving duo. I imagine they are smiling quietly, the poorer your voters are the more subservient they become.
FRM2011 wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. Maybe he meant sh1B not 1Bkg. Anyway, I again ask, since agriculture was devolved to county governments, what are those 5 governors in counties surrounding L. Victoria doing about the said decline of production, when the demand is increasing, as per KNBS? He has been very categorical. That we have a deficit of 800,000 tonnes. But we now know ODM would be a worse alternative than the thieving duo. I imagine they are smiling quietly, the poorer your voters are the more subservient they become. You are still skirting around my question. What are the five gavanas of Migori, HomaBay, Siaya, Busia and Kisumu doing about this issue of dwindling production against cheaper competition? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Jus Blazin wrote:FRM2011 wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. Maybe he meant sh1B not 1Bkg. Anyway, I again ask, since agriculture was devolved to county governments, what are those 5 governors in counties surrounding L. Victoria doing about the said decline of production, when the demand is increasing, as per KNBS? He has been very categorical. That we have a deficit of 800,000 tonnes. But we now know ODM would be a worse alternative than the thieving duo. I imagine they are smiling quietly, the poorer your voters are the more subservient they become. You are still skirting around my question. What are the five gavanas of Migori, HomaBay, Siaya, Busia and Kisumu doing about this issue of dwindling production against cheaper competition? The chinese imports (assuming they are hygienic) are actually good for everyone. They will reduce over fishing which in turn will allow the lake fish stocks to replenish its stocks, and at the same time people will buy fish at 20% the current prices. There is no rule which says that Kenyans must eat fish from lake victoria "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Contrary to what many here assume, the people of Nyanza do not rely on fishing. I don't think the fishing industry even makes up 20% of the regions economy. Secondly the areas directly touching on the lake shores are the poorest in Nyanza. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. does it mean someone can not import something if the same is found locally, I would have an issue if the importers are evading tax or something, but if they are doing it in the right way then its down to competition, wacha customer achague what they want. what I find odd is that the imports might be cheaper than even the equal quality local equivalent Eich boss ! No you cannot. That's why there is a regulator. You only allow imports when there is a deficit. Same for sugar, dairy and many other products.
Good point @Obi. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Contrary to what many here assume, the people of Nyanza do not rely on fishing. I don't think the fishing industry even makes up 20% of the regions economy. Secondly the areas directly touching on the lake shores are the poorest in Nyanza. Great perspective here bro. Could you be kind enough to shed light on the highlighted.
FRM2011 wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Contrary to what many here assume, the people of Nyanza do not rely on fishing. I don't think the fishing industry even makes up 20% of the regions economy. Secondly the areas directly touching on the lake shores are the poorest in Nyanza. Great perspective here bro. Could you be kind enough to shed light on the highlighted. Nothing I can place a finger on but I think; - fish catch is extremely unreliable (like hunting) - it requires alot of effort, you literally spend the night in the lake,it seriously affects education of the communities around the lake as children are often involved - poor facilities, like old sail boats etc. - over-fishing, remember the wahindi companies that moved to Tanzania initially set base in Kenya, they over-fished the area then moved out "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. does it mean someone can not import something if the same is found locally, I would have an issue if the importers are evading tax or something, but if they are doing it in the right way then its down to competition, wacha customer achague what they want. what I find odd is that the imports might be cheaper than even the equal quality local equivalent Eich boss ! No you cannot. That's why there is a regulator. You only allow imports when there is a deficit. Same for sugar, dairy and many other products. did not know that, I learn something every other day, hapo sawa boss, stupid me I thought sisi ni ka free market where it's the market forces that determine stuff, for sugar nilikuwa nimesikia there was that ka window period that the country was given, as in the country had to like seek for that exemption. so is there like a list of things one can not import if there are locally available alternatives.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:
Eich boss ! No you cannot. That's why there is a regulator. You only allow imports when there is a deficit.
Same for sugar, dairy and many other products.
did not know that, I learn something every other day, hapo sawa boss, stupid me I thought sisi ni ka free market where it's the market forces that determine stuff, for sugar nilikuwa nimesikia there was that ka window period that the country was given, as in the country had to like seek for that exemption. so is there like a list of things one can not import if there are locally available alternatives. I'm not sure if you are being serious or sarcastic 
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:KNBS says our consumption per capita is 7kgs annually. The fisheries PS jerks up the figure to 20kgs to justify allowing the imports. But if ODM leaders cannot take up such a straight forward matter that affects their people so directly, may be Jubilee should rule up to 2032. does it mean someone can not import something if the same is found locally, I would have an issue if the importers are evading tax or something, but if they are doing it in the right way then its down to competition, wacha customer achague what they want. what I find odd is that the imports might be cheaper than even the equal quality local equivalent Eich boss ! No you cannot. That's why there is a regulator. You only allow imports when there is a deficit. Same for sugar, dairy and many other products. did not know that, I learn something every other day, hapo sawa boss, stupid me I thought sisi ni ka free market where it's the market forces that determine stuff, for sugar nilikuwa nimesikia there was that ka window period that the country was given, as in the country had to like seek for that exemption. so is there like a list of things one can not import if there are locally available alternatives. Methinks where the Govt sees the need to protect the local production, it imposes higher duty to make the imports much more expensive compared to local equivalent. Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
Of govt lies and fishy statistics