151 Pages«<5657585960>»
Law Capping interest rates
tom_boy
#1141 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2016 7:13:47 PM

penkon wrote:
wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Where are those doomsayers, eti oooh, banks will not lend, oooooh , the end of kenyan economy, oooh sme will suffer from lack of credit. Wako wapi wajitokeze. In the history of Kenyan banks, no bank has ever collapsed because they lent to Wanjiku and that is a FACT.

Be patient it's early dayssmile smile . Time for reckoning will come. I'm sure you don't know Rural Urban creidt, Jimba credit, kenya savings & mortgages, Union bank of kenya etc

nowadays its saccos, i believe its hard. those where politically fueled credit shops to fleece your village

Exactly. Please give examples of banks that collapsed because they lent too much to common mwananchi. All banks that have collapsed to date was due to illegal insider lending or politically connected lending. Even the so called small banks will survive as long as they do prudent business. Downsize your staff, find a niche to lend to and do clean business. Even with as little as 1b to lend, a spread of 6% gives you 60m in gross income a year. Pretty decent cash. Just downsize and do clean business and leverage on technology. For once, the bank owners will have to use their money to make money. No more making outrageous profit from other peoples money. I repeat, no bank that does clean business will collapse. Banks that are already doing shady deals will collapse because the tap has been switched off.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy
#1142 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2016 10:10:55 PM

One way that banks have found to go around the rate cap regulation is to play around with tenor of a loan. Some have capped unsecured loan at 3yrs only and some at 1yr. This will accommodate the so called " high risk borrower" without punishing the good risk ones by having differing tenor for different risk categories. I think we needed this bill to stimulate innovative thinking in our bankers.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Horton
#1143 Posted : Friday, September 16, 2016 11:11:51 PM

Banks that impose unnecessarily strict regimes of lending will suffer. This is an opportunity for a new "equity" to be born.

Banks that are overly strict will end up seeing the doldrums while those that adapt will see customer base grow.

In my laymans opinion, it may be positive for the exonomy as a whole
Ericsson
#1144 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2016 7:05:07 AM

GOK will borrow cheaply for its officials to steal
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#1145 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2016 7:38:54 AM

Ericsson wrote:
GOK will borrow cheaply for its officials to steal

That is as simple as it can be said

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
streetwise
#1146 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2016 10:34:53 AM

It's better when cheap money is stolen
#1147 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2016 10:45:16 AM

streetwise wrote:
It's better when cheap money is stolen

Quantity shall be larger.. Think about it. We shall not lie low like an envelope. Soon and very soon we shall rise against the high priests in a fight to claim ethical leaders

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1148 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2016 7:02:04 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Gonna let this topic simmer for a year, then I will re-visit it and start crowing to akina @Maichblack and his doomsayer band.

Will keep doing that on the anniversary of signing this law until the economic Armageddon that they predicted comes to pass. smile smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly The sky will have fallen by then
#1149 Posted : Saturday, September 17, 2016 10:34:59 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Gonna let this topic simmer for a year, then I will re-visit it and start crowing to akina @Maichblack and his doomsayer band.

Will keep doing that on the anniversary of signing this law until the economic Armageddon that they predicted comes to pass. smile smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly The sky will have fallen by then

Why are you gonna wait for an year when things are already unfolding

Ref to post #1122 and 1128 and Kastone gave the explanation
#1150 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2016 11:58:12 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

One wonders @murchr! Why is @Obi "waiting" for things that are ALREADY happening???

Is it Barclays or which bank that sent messages to loan holders informing them of the reduction in interest rates on existing loans but they will have to be "collateralized"?
#1151 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2016 12:00:02 PM

Deleted.
#1152 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2016 12:09:27 PM

Deleted. Wazua's multiple posting malaria!!!
#1153 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2016 6:44:00 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

One wonders @murchr! Why is @Obi "waiting" for things that are ALREADY happening???

Is it Barclays or which bank that sent messages to loan holders informing them of the reduction in interest rates on existing loans but they will have to be "collateralized"?

That has not happened for Barclay,no collateralization. I know someone with a salary based unsecured loan Barclays
target1360
#1154 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2016 11:18:23 PM

has any bank reduced rates on credit cards to 14.5%.Am tired of being milked dry by barclaycard.
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
#1155 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 6:02:05 AM

target1360 wrote:
has any bank reduced rates on credit cards to 14.5%.Am tired of being milked dry by barclaycard.

Uwongo the only charge you get from barclaycard if you pay your bills in time is the annual fees, classic card is 3000 pa. I have had it for the Last 9 years
#1156 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:10:57 AM

This guys at CBA sijui M-suari will not know what hits them when they will be awake!

M-Shwari loan charge not interest, CBA tells customers

Look at this:

I get a loan from Member at 1.2% pm with zero "charge".

I get a free loan from CBA at a charge of 7.5% pm.

Where do you think I will head to get some money?

No brainer argument from this CBA.

jerry
#1157 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:19:39 AM

target1360 wrote:

Uwongo the only charge you get from barclaycard if you pay your bills in time is the annual fees, classic card is 3000 pa. I have had it for the Last 9 years

You can also get cash directly from ATM at 6% pm fee/interest. Are you forgetting that?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#1158 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:22:23 AM

target1360 wrote:

With Member giving me Ezzy loan at 1.2% pm for Max. Kes. 150,100, do I really need a credit card?

Why should I give someone kes. 3,000 pa for holding a plastic card?
Really!

#1159 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:23:56 AM

jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:

You can also get cash directly from ATM at 6% pm fee/interest. Are you forgetting that?

Member gets me kes.150,000 pm on the same damn ATM, but at 1.2%!

#1160 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:24:28 AM

jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:

This is a no no to me, better just shop for merchandise with the card and sell to friends if I need cash