Of govt lies and fishy statistics
The fisheries PS, prof. Ntiba has told us there is a shortage of 800,000 tonnes of fish per year. Our annual consumption is 1 billion kgs of fish per year. That is why we need to import 800,000 tonnes per year. He knew Kenyans aren't very sharp and our idiot journalists will be quoting the figure over and over. Until one sharp Kenyan PhD holder interrogated the figure in this article below. http://www.nation.co.ke/...372-l4xkl4z/index.html.
BTW, this prof.ntiba was chief academic officer at puea where students graduated even though all the lecturers withheld the marks to protest delayed salaries. Back to the fish story, we are five in my household including the housegal. So we are supposed to be eating 1kg of fish meat every three days.
Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
with that I was expecting some graphs and numbers from the population census, number of boats that go out fishing and the average daily catch, number of fishermen in the country and stuff, I was expecting some heavy number crunching from the experimental scientist, then he goes ahead and compares figures quoted in a newspaper in 2012. then for an experimental scientist to conclude Quote: Add to this the fact that most of the fish is harvested in the western and coastal regions, historically opposition strongholds, and you will see why this could be construed as punishment through calculated sabotage.
FRM2011 wrote:The fisheries PS, prof. Ntiba has told us there is a shortage of 800,000 tonnes of fish per year. Our annual consumption is 1 billion kgs of fish per year. That is why we need to import 800,000 tonnes per year. He knew Kenyans aren't very sharp and our idiot journalists will be quoting the figure over and over. Until one sharp Kenyan PhD holder interrogated the figure in this article below. http://www.nation.co.ke/...372-l4xkl4z/index.html.
BTW, this prof.ntiba was chief academic officer at puea where students graduated even though all the lecturers withheld the marks to protest delayed salaries. Back to the fish story, we are five in my household including the housegal. So we are supposed to be eating 1kg of fish meat every three days. 1 birrion kgs? That losely translates to 25kgs per year for the 40 mirrion kenyan!!!!!.....posibble If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
I have always bought fish fillet at the supermarket and was never reading the finer details on the label until that issue of fish from china came up and I started looking at the country of origin. What shocked me is that all the fish fillet being sold in our supermarkets is from china.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
with that I was expecting some graphs and numbers from the population census, number of boats that go out fishing and the average daily catch, number of fishermen in the country and stuff, I was expecting some heavy number crunching from the experimental scientist, then he goes ahead and compares figures quoted in a newspaper in 2012. then for an experimental scientist to conclude Quote: Add to this the fact that most of the fish is harvested in the western and coastal regions, historically opposition strongholds, and you will see why this could be construed as punishment through calculated sabotage.
It's simple. The lie is so outrageous a nursery school kid can see through it. I made a simple demonstration. Every middle class family and above in central kenya, needs to be eating fish daily to compensate the lower classes who can't afford their 10kg per month.
FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
It's simple. The lie is so outrageous a nursery school kid can see through it. I made a simple demonstration. Every middle class family and above in central kenya, needs to be eating fish daily to compensate the lower classes who can't afford their 10kg per month. I don't have the data on this, but just for the sake of enlightenment, I think lower classes eat more fish (disregarding the type) than the middle class, plus I usually see guys coming from those sides za nyeri hanging fish on the side mirrors, though I have never understood why, but that shows there is a big demand for the same. plus look at nairobi and everywhere you go from kibra to westlands and there are eateries which sell fish.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
It's simple. The lie is so outrageous a nursery school kid can see through it. I made a simple demonstration. Every middle class family and above in central kenya, needs to be eating fish daily to compensate the lower classes who can't afford their 10kg per month. I don't have the data on this, but just for the sake of enlightenment, I think lower classes eat more fish (disregarding the type) than the middle class, plus I usually see guys coming from those sides za nyeri hanging fish on the side mirrors, though I have never understood why, but that shows there is a big demand for the same. plus look at nairobi and everywhere you go from kibra to westlands and there are eateries which sell fish. Fish in Kenya is very expensive. I would like to eat more fish but cant afford it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
majimaji wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
It's simple. The lie is so outrageous a nursery school kid can see through it. I made a simple demonstration. Every middle class family and above in central kenya, needs to be eating fish daily to compensate the lower classes who can't afford their 10kg per month. I don't have the data on this, but just for the sake of enlightenment, I think lower classes eat more fish (disregarding the type) than the middle class, plus I usually see guys coming from those sides za nyeri hanging fish on the side mirrors, though I have never understood why, but that shows there is a big demand for the same. plus look at nairobi and everywhere you go from kibra to westlands and there are eateries which sell fish. Fish in Kenya is very expensive. I would like to eat more fish but cant afford it. @majimaji, it is funny, isn't? I went to some restaurant and paid sh500 for fish ugali. Are these guys telling us that I'm spending sh15k (500x30) per month? Yaani, 15,000 for fish only in the monthly budget? Multiply that with 5 people in @FRM2011 household and you are talking of 75K ONLY on fish per month! Even if we say the price of fish is sh250. That means 7,500 per person per month! Which is sh37500 in @FRM2011 household!
@alphadoti, that's why am saying the lie is so outrageous to imagine but prof. Ntiba is capable of anything.
At PUEA, he mismanaged the place so badly, it's the only private university facing risk of bankruptcy. Yaani lecturers refused to submit student scores but all the students graduated.
Am from nyeri and I saw what happened when Moi deliberately set out to kill coffee and tea sectors for political reasons.
Jubilee want to kill the fishing industry for political reasons. It's sad and very few Kenyans are smart enough to see a lie hidden in statistics.
Swenani has accurate fish statistics Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
AlphDoti wrote:majimaji wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
It's simple. The lie is so outrageous a nursery school kid can see through it. I made a simple demonstration. Every middle class family and above in central kenya, needs to be eating fish daily to compensate the lower classes who can't afford their 10kg per month. I don't have the data on this, but just for the sake of enlightenment, I think lower classes eat more fish ( disregarding the type) than the middle class, plus I usually see guys coming from those sides za nyeri hanging fish on the side mirrors, though I have never understood why, but that shows there is a big demand for the same. plus look at nairobi and everywhere you go from kibra to westlands and there are eateries which sell fish. Fish in Kenya is very expensive. I would like to eat more fish but cant afford it. @majimaji, it is funny, isn't? I went to some restaurant and paid sh500 for fish ugali. Are these guys telling us that I'm spending sh15k (500x30) per month? Yaani, 15,000 for fish only in the monthly budget? Multiply that with 5 people in @FRM2011 household and you are talking of 75K ONLY on fish per month! Even if we say the price of fish is sh250. That means 7,500 per person per month! Which is sh37500 in @FRM2011 household! I thought dried 'ombambla' is cheap.
KulaRaha wrote:Swenani has accurate fish statistics  no one is believing him, he wants to import fish from china watu wanasema ati ni corruption anataka, ati what is available locally is enough, hawajui china fish comes from huko open seas.
FRM2011 wrote:@alphadoti, that's why am saying the lie is so outrageous to imagine but prof. Ntiba is capable of anything.
At PUEA, he mismanaged the place so badly, it's the only private university facing risk of bankruptcy. Yaani lecturers refused to submit student scores but all the students graduated.
Am from nyeri and I saw what happened when Moi deliberately set out to kill coffee and tea sectors for political reasons.
Jubilee want to kill the fishing industry for political reasons. It's sad and very few Kenyans are smart enough to see a lie hidden in statistics. Really!!! Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
majimaji wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:FRM2011 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Quote: Now as an experimental scientist, I interrogate, with the same fascination and curiosity, the numbers (data) that I generate, not only with respect to expected trends, but to tease out any “quacks” beyond the initial experimental hypotheses.
It's simple. The lie is so outrageous a nursery school kid can see through it. I made a simple demonstration. Every middle class family and above in central kenya, needs to be eating fish daily to compensate the lower classes who can't afford their 10kg per month. I don't have the data on this, but just for the sake of enlightenment, I think lower classes eat more fish (disregarding the type) than the middle class, plus I usually see guys coming from those sides za nyeri hanging fish on the side mirrors, though I have never understood why, but that shows there is a big demand for the same. plus look at nairobi and everywhere you go from kibra to westlands and there are eateries which sell fish. Fish in Kenya is very expensive. I would like to eat more fish but cant afford it. The fish is SJ is relatively cheap, you can infac be eating twice per day with a budget of 400 bob If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Member Joined: 11/10/2010 Posts: 281 Location: Nairobi
I still don't understand why Baba isn't running with this. The CORD PR machine is so poor! we might as well consider the opposition dead.
There are five counties surrounding L. Victoria. What are the governors of Migori, HomaBay, Busia, Kisumu and Siaya counties doing to address the said competition? What industries are being set up? What fishing policies are in place to encourage production of more fish? Why do you have people washing cars in the lake? Is the hyacinth issue being addressed? Or we will just make fishy statements like Jubilee is killing the fishing industry? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Ngalaka wrote:FRM2011 wrote:@alphadoti, that's why am saying the lie is so outrageous to imagine but prof. Ntiba is capable of anything.
Jubilee want to kill the fishing industry for political reasons. It's sad and very few Kenyans are smart enough to see a lie hidden in statistics. Really!!! Now that @FRM2011 is one hell of a big fat lie!! ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Is Kenyan fish production only concentrated on Lake Victoria? Any other viable sources? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Angelica _ann wrote:Is Kenyan fish production only concentrated on Lake Victoria? Any other viable sources? http://www.fao.org/fishery/facp/KEN/en
C&PKenya’s fisheries and aquaculture sector contributes approximately 0.54 percent to the country’s GDP (2013). Fish consumption has been declining from a modest 6.0 kg/caput in 2000 to 4.5 kg/caput in 2011. The value of fish exports was about USD 62.9 million in 2012, or about 5 times greater than the USD 12.3 million in fish imports. In 2013, around 129 300 people derived their livelihood from fishing and fish farming activities (including 48 300 in inland waters, 13 100 in coastal waters fishing and around 67 900 in fish farming). Total fishery and aquaculture production in 2013 amounted to 186 700 tonnes, with 83 percent coming from inland capture fisheries (of which Lake Victoria contributed about 90 percent). Catches of Nile perch - the most sought and mainly exported fish species – seriously declined due to overfishing after the 2000 peak at 110 000 tonnes but since 2007 stabilized around an average of 45 000 tonnes per year. Marine capture fisheries produce less than 9 000 tonnes per year, comparatively much less than neighboring countries. Freshwater aquaculture development in Kenya in the new millennium is remarkable, especially in 2009¬2010, making Kenya one of the fast growing major producers in Sub-Saharan Africa. From the annual production of about 1 000 tonnes in 2001–2006, the harvest of farmed fish leaped to over 4 000 tonnes in 2007–2009. In a nationwide fish farming mass campaign launched by government in 2009, the total area of fish ponds was increased from 220 ha to 468 ha by building 7 760 new fish ponds. Together with the improved seed supply and supports covering other aspects, it lead to a hike in farmed fish production reaching 23 501 tonnes in 2013, more than four times of the production in 2009. The main species produced in 2013 was Nile tilapia (75 percent), followed by African catfish, common carp and rainbow trout. Mariculture is not yet practiced commercially, despite its potential demonstrated by trials. The Government is looking into ways of promoting aquaculture and using cured fish products for food relief programs in order to enhance national food security. The main issue in the capture fisheries sector is one of overcapacity in Lake Victoria and the symptoms of overexploitation (increasing conflict, overfishing, and falling incomes) that accompany it.
Kaigangio wrote:Ngalaka wrote:FRM2011 wrote:@alphadoti, that's why am saying the lie is so outrageous to imagine but prof. Ntiba is capable of anything.
Jubilee want to kill the fishing industry for political reasons. It's sad and very few Kenyans are smart enough to see a lie hidden in statistics. Really!!! Now that @FRM2011 is one hell of a big fat lie!! That statement was deliberately put there without supporting evidence to ignite debate. But cordiots are very useless as an opposition. That's why I admire and hate urp guys at the same time. Remember how they pushed the mau agenda ? It was wrong and selfish but they pushed it until kibaki had to accept their demands.
Of govt lies and fishy statistics