KNH is not for the faint hearted
#61 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 9:34:53 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
Kaiganjio you story just brings bad memories at that place and doctors in general in this country.

I believe my present attitude towards Kenyan gov't is shaped by what I went through and saw.

My wife got very sick at work and was rushed to Avenue Hospital.

Hupati pole kwangu. I wish she ....

What the hell?Sad Sad

internet iko na wachawi, saddest comment I have seen in a while

Wazua has all manner of characters

You just read keep quiet and move on...
Anti_Burglar
#62 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 1:46:04 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
Kaiganjio you story just brings bad memories at that place and doctors in general in this country.

I believe my present attitude towards Kenyan gov't is shaped by what I went through and saw.

What the hell?Sad Sad

Oh, c'mon guys! I was still new and was fighting off who I thought was a bully like it was, say, first grade. You are going to hold that against me till now?
#63 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 1:48:13 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

What the hell?Sad Sad

Oh, c'mon guys! I was still new and was fighting off who I thought was a bully like it was, say, first grade. You are going to hold that against me till now?

#64 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 2:39:02 PM

Jacy26 wrote:
tmatekwa wrote:
ByKenyatta
Kaigangio wrote:
@baratang...here we go,

[b wrote:
Episode 1[/b]

...It was around 10:00AM when I was leaving the opd (the outpatient department) after the brief altercation with the patients appointments booking man and headed towards the KNH KBS station. I took a KBS and alighted at the ambassadaur hotel, crossed over to Kencom where there used to be alot of telephone boothes.
It was very hot and I could feel that for every step i made my body was weakening at a rate never felt before.
I called my friend on her land line (there were no mobile phones then, and whoever had them, they were buying them at close to kshs 500,000 per hand set). Luckily enough, I managed to get the friend and I explained to her my situation. We agreed that she meet me at the kencom bus station inside the sitting area. Half an hour later she found me dozing at the seat. She immediately called her orthopaedic surgeon brother who agreed to see me in KNH. We got inside the KBS and off we went to KNH. We went straight to the room where the surgeon was stationed when he was being consulted in KNH. The lady friend at this juncture had to leave, but I instructed her to call my guardian whom I was staying with in dandora. It was around 1.30PM.
The surgeon examined me and and recommended that I be admitted immediately. I was sent to casualty to begin the process of admission. I was further examined by the doctor on duty after waiting for close to 3 hours. This is when the doctor dropped the atom bomb...that i was suffering from one of the 260 known kidney diseases and i had to be examined further through lab tests in order to know exactly which one to treat...I started making some calculations in my head, really weird calculations...if it took say 4 days for one test to be done and results released, then for 260 tests it would take 1040 days and that is almost 3 years. I was figuring here that I would be dead before they were able to determine which disease they would be treating! But that was the least of my concerns at the time.
A renal ultra sound was recommended but the doctor informed me that the institutes only machine had packed up and as such I would have to have it done in town. Next he wanted a complete haemogram (blood tests) done. Also a complete urinalysis tests were required. I just asked the doctor if he really expected me to do all that in my situation noting that even walking was a problem. He suggested that he would admit me, but before I was put onto any treatment, all those tests would have to be done.
It was around 7:00PM and my guardian had just arrived from work. The consultant gave us the lab requisitions and he told us that the haemogram and urinalysis could be undertaken in KNH labs, he directed us where to go, in addition to telling me to report to ward no. 46 after these tests.
We went to the main lab and gave out the requisitions only to be told that there were no reagents. There were 3 men in that lab. It was getting to around 9:00PM and as we sat on one of the benches along the corridor near the lab wondering what to do next, we saw one of the men who was in that lab. He was coming towards us. We stopped him and literally begged him to help us...his suggestion, toeni kitu! We parted with some money and at around midnight the haemogram and urinalysis tests samples were collected and we were adviced to pick them in the morning the following day.
After the lab, we went to ward no 46 on the 7th floor of the main block. Just before we entered the main door we could see that there was a lot of activities along the ward corridor. once inside I almost fainted on seeing the number of people who had been admitted that night...it was well over 50. At the nurse call desk, I was informed that my file had not been brought from casualty, so I was told to wait. All the benches and seats in the ward were all occupied by patients who were waiting to be assigned a space to sleep. We went down to the opd where there is quite a lot of seats and sat there for the rest of the early morning till around 5:00AM in the morning. I did not sleep and neither my guardian. We went back to the ward where my guardian left me to go and prepare to report to work.
At around 7:00AM in the morning I was assigned a space where I was going to be receiving my treatment from...the beds were full to capacity, each 3ft by 6 ft bed being shared by 4 patients. The spaces between the beds where matrices had been laid on the floor were also full (each matrice had 4 patients), but luckily enough I got a space in one of the matrices on the floor. One patient did not make it to the morning and I doubt if the other 3 patients knew that one of them had died. That is how the space became available. As I sat on that floor matrice feeling exhausted and worse off than I was the previous day, I just looked at the the three half dead patients whom I was to share the matrice with and I could not help imagining that I had voluntarily prepared my path to the KNH morgue! I walked to the window and looked at the ground below, the industrial area and Nairobi National Nark and asked myself, "Hey kaigangio, which is better, home or here?". The answer came after three months!!
Thats it folks...episode 2 to follow.

Pole sana. An accurately told story from the perspective of the patient.

Ward 46, I think, is now ward 7A.

Ward 46 has never existed in Kenyatta National hospital. The last ward was no 36 located on 10th floor

@Kaigangio Pole sana. Was there a part 2 of this story?

@kaigangio has close to 4 stories pending completion here on wazua

...and when he was once challenged to complete the stories, he quipped:- "Do you people know how long it takes to construct a proper sentence?".... Still waiting for the last episode of that NYS story...
#65 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2016 4:37:49 PM

Cancer has eaten even the hospital itself

#66 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2016 4:40:29 PM

this piece was sickening ===> We need to talk Cancer

kayhara
#67 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 11:05:31 AM

Siringi wrote:

And they increased the fee for cancer treatment, and situation is the same waiting period, breaking machines...
Kwani how many billion dollars is one cancer machine? How many can Uhuru catering budget buy?
Also our billionaires yani not one of them can build hostels around or close to the hospital to accommodate waiting patients? It would help out and make him or her some cash.
To Each His Own
#68 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 11:15:29 AM

kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

And they increased the fee for cancer treatment, and situation is the same waiting period, breaking machines...
Kwani how many billion dollars is one cancer machine? How many can Uhuru catering budget buy?
Also our billionaires yani not one of them can build hostels around or close to the hospital to accommodate waiting patients? It would help out and make him or her some cash.

Why do you want someone to use his or her personal money to build what the government can?It's sickening the kind of cash wasted for bogus stuff...anyway what do I know.
#69 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 11:36:36 AM

kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Why do you want someone to use his or her personal money to build what the government can?It's sickening the kind of cash wasted for bogus stuff...anyway what do I know.

I feel like I want to go there and build some preferb accommodation there...surely...I am sad!

And buy them a simple dinner to enable them tale medication regularly.

#70 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 11:41:44 AM

kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

I feel like I want to go there and build some preferb accommodation there...surely...I am sad!

my uncle is undergoing chemo in Kenyatta hospital... it's not a place to write home about. these people are also rather callous.... tafuteni pesa ndio mkipata shida kama hii - you have choices.
#71 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 12:18:53 PM

kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

my uncle is undergoing chemo in Kenyatta hospital... it's not a place to write home about. these people are also rather callous.... tafuteni pesa ndio mkipata shida kama hii - you have choices.

You can never have enough cash in the event of serious sickness like cancer. mostly, KNH si a last resort after all the cash is gone while seeking treatment.

The status of KNH clearly indicates how the consciousness of the nation is long gone. When you hear a former head of state has jetted out of the country for treatment, it gets clear what a failed state means.
#72 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 12:37:34 PM

Impunity wrote: I feel like I want to go there and build some preferb accommodation there...surely...I am sad!

Word !

Infact considering the number of dollar millionaires we have in Kenya such an initiative won't dent their networth...

I saw a feature of certain lady who has done some prefabs in Kikuyu Constituency where she is running a self-help group of cancer survivors ... with that kind of spirit this war can be won

Shame on Sirkal especially the technocrats thieving and pocketing taxes while poor Kenyan are suffering ...
#73 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 12:56:42 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

You can never have enough cash in the event of serious sickness like cancer. mostly, KNH si a last resort after all the cash is gone while seeking treatment.

The status of KNH clearly indicates how the consciousness of the nation is long gone. When you hear a former head of state has jetted out of the country for treatment, it gets clear what a failed state means.

@Masukuma your last comment is reckless bwana Sad
kayhara
#74 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 1:09:42 PM

kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Nope I am saying though it sad it's also a business opportunity for anyone with cash to provide shelter to those waiting, many sleep in corridors because the cheapest accommodation they can get in Nairobi is too far and add to that transport, just like we have private hospitals, schools and college hostels, if we wait for the government then we have situations like our universities where admissions are pegged on how many guys the school can accommodate
In Japan they have those cubicles small 6by6 where business people spend a night just enough decent space to lay ones head.
To Each His Own
sitaki.kujulikana
#75 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 2:05:31 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

ukweli, unless we are talking of those with old money, I have a neighbor who has cancer, he has exhausted all his cash after several trips to india.
while I don't think we are a failed state, but the level of selfishness is astonishing, I mean been listening to those parliamentary committee trying to follow pesa yetu and I am sure even if we are shouting sirkal hapa we are the beneficiaries of the loot either directly or through the companies we work for. From the audit companies we work for, to the pr firms that have employed us, to the banks, to the media organization that's where most of us work and that's where the loot goes.
#76 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 2:37:13 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Sure!

#77 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 2:41:52 PM

Siringi wrote:

Impunity wrote: I feel like I want to go there and build some preferb accommodation there...surely...I am sad!

Word !

Infact considering the number of dollar millionaires we have in Kenya such an initiative won't dent their networth...

I saw a feature of certain lady who has done some prefabs in Kikuyu Constituency where she is running a self-help group of cancer survivors ... with that kind of spirit this war can be won

Shame on Sirkal especially the technocrats thieving and pocketing taxes while poor Kenyan are suffering ...

Can we initiate a wazua special group to at least pay the patients a visit?
I am ready to lead.

#78 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 2:48:43 PM

here is what i think.... do your best to give yourself options.... this whole business of expecting benevolence from others is not a strategy.... hope is not a strategy... prayer is not a strategy.... it's wonderful when it works but it's not a strategy bwana.... afadhali you stack some cash...burn up your cash getting treatment then land in KNH mwishowe last resort badala ya kuLand KNH from the get go....
#79 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2016 10:15:02 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Steve Jobs had all the money in the world and still died...plus many others....ups not a money thing...we have a government that doesn't care about such things for the ordinary mwananchi.
#80 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2016 11:28:08 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Steve Jobs had all the money in the world and still died...plus many others....ups not a money thing...we have a government that doesn't care about such things for the ordinary mwananchi.

at least he didn't go to KNH type places.... I am not saying money will save you... just saying it gives you chances/options you don't have when you don't have it. For Jobs he died from Cancer not from mismanagement and poverty - he took a stab at it and his best efforts failed.... even the most organized country on the planet has deaths from cancer.... just try and give yourself options...