wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

MVISA: dead on arrival?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 11:51:32 AM

So Visa launch M visa today....its just mpesa but on the visa platform.

I don't see the point...it may help them remain relevant but why would anyone another want another mobile wallet?

http://www.bloomberg.com...rival-safaricom-s-m-pesa
KondooEconomist
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:39:55 PM

I dont see it making inroads
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:44:54 PM

So Visa launch M visa today....its just mpesa but on the visa platform.

I don't see the point...it may help them remain relevant but why would anyone another want another mobile wallet?

http://www.bloomberg.com...ival-safaricom-s-m-pesa

Mpesa failed in South Africa because it is a card intensive financial market yet it thrived in Kenya for the reverse reason.

Many of those who make payments via card would be glad to continue swipping rather than go the complicated way of linking it to a mobile carrier
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:55:55 PM

And what happens when you travel overseas and use a diff sim card?

Most of us need our credit cards when travelling to book hotels, cars etc.

kayhara
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 1:18:35 PM

Not interested, but following on progress of the M-pesa card, if Safcom link it to visa then the banks will be left with their mVISA
To Each His Own
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 1:38:44 PM

kayhara wrote:
Not interested, but following on progress of the M-pesa card, if Safcom link it to visa then the banks will be left with their mVISA

It depends on operationalization

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 5:41:28 PM

kayhara wrote:

Does this MVisa use NFC technology? If it does, I am interested.
instinct
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 10:38:30 PM

kayhara wrote:

what keeps mpesa strong is the widespread agency network..how will mvisa succeed where airtel money and the rest has failed?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 11:58:36 PM

kayhara wrote:

depends on implementation. would try it even if it doesn't do nfs as long as it gives a good user experience. and i don't think i am the only one who find it tedious to remove the phone and go to settings, phone, sim applications, mpesa, lipa na mpesa, buy goods and services, till number, enter amount, pin to enable purchase.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2016 7:38:41 AM

NFC is used for small value purchases, so I doubt it will employ that.

Probably will have a procedure similar to mpesa. Pointless.