Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates
I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23%
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 969 Location: Kenya
cnn wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23% So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks. This will be interesting to watch
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,684 Location: NAIROBI
@Watesh; Hii maneno yote unaona ni PR. Just read and ignore Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
watesh wrote:cnn wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23% So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks. This will be interesting to watch Actually, CBA holds the mpesa cash. What the other banks do is to wire hundreds of millions every morning to CBA to get e-value(float). Otherwise for every mpesa balance in someone's line, CBA holds the cash equivalent.
CBK has declared CBR as the base rate.... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,503 Location: nairobi
Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:Plimsoul wrote:Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.
Interesting times ahead.
But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit? Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
watesh wrote:cnn wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23% So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks. This will be interesting to watch Nothing in law prevents them from giving 8% interest on deposit taking accounts...but everything stops them from charging more than 14.5% on loans! Tafakari ya @RAO (aka babu) Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:watesh wrote:cnn wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23% So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks. This will be interesting to watch Nothing in law prevents them from giving 8% interest on deposit taking accounts...but everything stops them from charging more than 14.5% on loans! Tafakari ya @RAO (aka babu) These people should not play with fire... Banks collapse in such ways HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. Its CBR Dr.has clarified
penkon wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. Its CBR Dr.has clarified In which case now the KBRR "rule" is null and void and should be deleted from the servers of CBK, only 2 years since it was launched. Wah! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
obiero wrote:Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:Plimsoul wrote:Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.
Interesting times ahead.
But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit? Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:obiero wrote:Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:Plimsoul wrote:Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.
Interesting times ahead.
But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit? Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget. So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....07/feb/16/kenya.citynews HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Member Joined: 5/6/2014 Posts: 268 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
obiero wrote:Xymalos wrote:Any news from Equity Bank and Housing Finance as to when they will implenent the new lending rates? If so, what rates are they quoting? Finally the end outrageous lending rates!! The bill has not been gazetted so the two can milk this to the last cent.. It is a gamble but it may pay off After the hullabaloo it's back to business. Banks competing how lower their rates could get. CBA
obiero wrote:Impunity wrote:obiero wrote:Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:[quote=Plimsoul]Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.
Interesting times ahead.
But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit? Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget. So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....7/feb/16/kenya.citynews[/quote] What is the relationship between the CBA ceo with your pal and to some extension your pearl stock? Now if you say CBA gets some illegit funds what can we say about your type of pals? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Akenyan2014 wrote:obiero wrote:Xymalos wrote:Any news from Equity Bank and Housing Finance as to when they will implenent the new lending rates? If so, what rates are they quoting? Finally the end outrageous lending rates!! The bill has not been gazetted so the two can milk this to the last cent.. It is a gamble but it may pay off After the hullabaloo it's back to business. Banks competing how lower their rates could get. CBA Ok so CBA issued a bond at 13% to lend at 12.9% isorait
Impunity wrote:obiero wrote:Impunity wrote:obiero wrote:Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:[quote=Plimsoul]Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.
Interesting times ahead.
But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit? Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget. So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....7/feb/16/kenya.citynews[/quote] What is the relationship between the CBA ceo with your pal and to some extension your pearl stock? Now if you say CBA gets some illegit funds what can we say about your type of pals? Jeremy and his brother are honest men working for twisted employers/circumstances HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:Impunity wrote:obiero wrote:Impunity wrote:obiero wrote:Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:[quote=Plimsoul]Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.
Interesting times ahead.
But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit? Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget. So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....7/feb/16/kenya.citynews[/quote] What is the relationship between the CBA ceo with your pal and to some extension your pearl stock? Now if you say CBA gets some illegit funds what can we say about your type of pals? Jeremy and his brother are honest men working for twisted employers/circumstances Ooooh! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 969 Location: Kenya
Impunity wrote:watesh wrote:cnn wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see. CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23% So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks. This will be interesting to watch Nothing in law prevents them from giving 8% interest on deposit taking accounts...but everything stops them from charging more than 14.5% on loans! Tafakari ya @RAO (aka babu) Then unless they have decided to change their business model into a small margin, mass market type of business. Or they have other higher charges outside the interest charge
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates