wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

151 Pages«<5051525354>»
Law Capping interest rates
#1021 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 10:24:03 AM

I think KBRR is the base...lets wait and see.
cnn
#1022 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 10:37:48 AM

CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23%
watesh
#1023 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 11:39:17 AM

cnn wrote:

CBA have put an ad in today's Nation from tomorrow they will base the interest on ALL loans at KBRR currently at 8.9%,so at a maximum of 12.9% and pay fixed account deposits at 6.23%

So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks.
This will be interesting to watch
Ericsson
#1024 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 11:41:37 AM

@Watesh;
Hii maneno yote unaona ni PR.
Just read and ignore
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#1025 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:05:45 PM

watesh wrote:
cnn wrote:

So how will CBA attract funding if its fixed deposits rate is lower than the industry? People would rather take it to a bank giving higher rates. We cant say funding from mpesa cash because that money is shared by almost all banks.

Actually, CBA holds the mpesa cash. What the other banks do is to wire hundreds of millions every morning to CBA to get e-value(float). Otherwise for every mpesa balance in someone's line, CBA holds the cash equivalent.
#1026 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:39:13 PM

CBK has declared CBR as the base rate....
#1027 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:43:53 PM

Plimsoul wrote:
Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.

Interesting times ahead.

But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand

What do you mean their source of funds maybe illegit?

Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1028 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:49:57 PM

watesh wrote:
cnn wrote:

Nothing in law prevents them from giving 8% interest on deposit taking accounts...but everything stops them from charging more than 14.5% on loans!

Tafakari ya @RAO (aka babu)

#1029 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:51:54 PM

watesh wrote:
cnn wrote:

Nothing in law prevents them from giving 8% interest on deposit taking accounts...but everything stops them from charging more than 14.5% on loans!

These people should not play with fire... Banks collapse in such ways

penkon
#1030 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 12:57:36 PM

Its CBR Dr.has clarified
#1031 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 1:01:30 PM

penkon wrote:

Its CBR Dr.has clarified

In which case now the KBRR "rule" is null and void and should be deleted from the servers of CBK, only 2 years since it was launched.
Wah!
d'oh! d'oh!

#1032 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 1:04:27 PM

Plimsoul wrote:
Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.

Interesting times ahead.

But KBRR is extra low considering free deposits from majority of the transactional accounts.. CBA did no one a favor, including themselves.. But their source of funds may be illegit so we understand

Do you know Jeremy Ngunze, Safaricom, mshwari and mobitelea.. Please try avoid obvious questions

hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget.
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#1033 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 1:06:47 PM

Plimsoul wrote:

Interesting times ahead.

hehe, I dont want to hurt you @obiero but please tread carefully, internet doesnt forget.

So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....07/feb/16/kenya.citynews

Akenyan2014
#1034 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:06:49 PM

Xymalos wrote:
Any news from Equity Bank and Housing Finance as to when they will implenent the new lending rates? If so, what rates are they quoting? Finally the end outrageous lending rates!!

The bill has not been gazetted so the two can milk this to the last cent.. It is a gamble but it may pay off

After the hullabaloo it's back to business. Banks competing how lower their rates could get.
CBA
#1035 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:40:39 PM

[quote=Plimsoul]Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.

Interesting times ahead.

So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....7/feb/16/kenya.citynews[/quote]

What is the relationship between the CBA ceo with your pal and to some extension your pearl stock?
Now if you say CBA gets some illegit funds what can we say about your type of pals?

wukan
#1036 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:44:14 PM

Akenyan2014 wrote:
Xymalos wrote:
Any news from Equity Bank and Housing Finance as to when they will implenent the new lending rates? If so, what rates are they quoting? Finally the end outrageous lending rates!!

The bill has not been gazetted so the two can milk this to the last cent.. It is a gamble but it may pay off

After the hullabaloo it's back to business. Banks competing how lower their rates could get.
CBA

Ok so CBA issued a bond at 13% to lend at 12.9%d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
isorait
#1037 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:47:42 PM

[quote=Plimsoul]Irony of using KBRR is that because it's lower, banks move to lending to govt. So tbills drop, and because tbills make up KBRR, KBRR drops further. CBK wont even have to change CBR.

Interesting times ahead.

So what have I mentioned.. Don't threaten idly here.. Bure kabisa! Its clear that CBA gets cheaper funding.. Hio hata @spikes haezi pinga https://www.theguardian....7/feb/16/kenya.citynews[/quote]

What is the relationship between the CBA ceo with your pal and to some extension your pearl stock?
Now if you say CBA gets some illegit funds what can we say about your type of pals?

Jeremy and his brother are honest men working for twisted employers/circumstances

#1038 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:51:27 PM

Interesting times ahead.

Jeremy and his brother are honest men working for twisted employers/circumstances

Ooooh!

watesh
#1039 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:54:22 PM

watesh wrote:
cnn wrote:

Then unless they have decided to change their business model into a small margin, mass market type of business. Or they have other higher charges outside the interest charge
HaMaina
#1040 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2016 2:58:48 PM

“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham