wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

151 Pages«<4344454647>»
Law Capping interest rates
#881 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2016 10:33:51 PM

[quote=Angelica _ann][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=KulaRaha][quote=mwenza][quote=Ericsson]@newfarer

Wait... Umeniita darling??

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....I think we should cap other INTERESTs toosmile

#882 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 11:49:53 AM

Hawkers!!

Further to the new developments in our lending framework, we can now confirm that you can get an unsecured facility with us ( Barclays Bank of Kenya) for 14.5% interest on reducing balance and interest on savings account of 7.3% p.a. Should you wish to take advantage of this window of opportunity, ( based on fluidity and credit risk, it may move to secured propositions and collateral secured lending) to access affordable funding for your projects.
#883 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 12:02:35 PM

Hawkers!!

Further to the new developments in our lending framework, we can now confirm that you can get an unsecured facility with us ( Barclays Bank of Kenya) for 14.5% interest on reducing balance and interest on savings account of 7.3% p.a. Should you wish to take advantage of this window of opportunity, ( based on fluidity and credit risk, it may move to secured propositions and collateral secured lending) to access affordable funding for your projects.

If they offer loan at reducing balances,it's only fair to offer the 7.36% savings account on a compound interest compounded daily.

streetwise
#884 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 12:55:35 PM

Kwani you want to kill them
#885 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 1:31:18 PM

streetwise wrote:
Kwani you want to kill them

It's our time to eat.

HaMaina
#886 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 1:48:23 PM

Is it true that CBK has issued notice giving banks & mortgage companies until September 14th to fully implement the Banking Act 2016.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#887 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 2:20:16 PM

HaMaina wrote:
Is it true that CBK has issued notice giving banks & mortgage companies until September 14th to fully implement the Banking Act 2016.

http://www.businessdaily...365534-lkln7n/index.html

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#888 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 2:57:00 PM

HaMaina wrote:

http://www.businessdaily...65534-lkln7n/index.html

Kameumana sasa.

#889 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:12:56 PM

HaMaina wrote:

http://www.businessdaily...65534-lkln7n/index.html

Kameumana sasa.

Negwo mani.. Kumethoka

karete
#890 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 3:47:43 PM

[quote=HaMaina]Is it true that CBK has issued notice giving banks & mortgage companies until September 14th to fully implement the Banking Act 2016.

http://www.businessdaily...65534-lkln7n/index.html[/quote]

Did they have to wait for this?
penkon
#891 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 4:34:39 PM

karete wrote:
[quote=HaMaina]Is it true that CBK has issued notice giving banks & mortgage companies until September 14th to fully implement the Banking Act 2016.

streetwise
#892 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 4:53:50 PM

There is no need for notice when one bank is already advertising that they can buy other banks loans. Fall in line is the word
#893 Posted : Thursday, September 01, 2016 5:10:32 PM

karete wrote:

Dkt Mwangi shall be jailed http://www.businessdaily...item-1-o2ftg7/index.html

instinct
#894 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2016 10:16:45 PM

karete wrote:
[quote=obiero][quote=HaMaina]Is it true that CBK has issued notice giving banks & mortgage companies until September 14th to fully implement the Banking Act 2016.

Dkt Mwangi shall be jailed http://www.businessdaily...tem-1-o2ftg7/index.html[/quote]

bado hajaamini
#895 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 8:26:03 AM

CBK giving zero direction in this matter.

How can a 1 year loan and a 7 year loan both cost 14.5%?

Also, what is the formula to calculate CBR or is it an arbitrary rate?
#896 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 8:33:20 AM

The 14.5 percent is per annum.. Nothing confused about CBK on the matter

#897 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 8:35:14 AM

#898 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 8:36:54 AM

#899 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 8:40:23 AM

So yield curve is flat regardless of tenor?
#900 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 9:02:19 AM

So yield curve is flat regardless of tenor?

Yes. It is, though on reducing balance. Ideally longer tenors should have higher rates but this shall be where banks will punish consumers by maxing all product lines at the very top. Plus the CBR is subject to fluctuations. So in year 1 one may pay 14.5 but in year 2 the same could change to 23 percent. It's now in the hands of government