wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

151 Pages«<2728293031>»
Law Capping interest rates
#561 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 5:51:50 PM

moneydust wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:
This is how I expect the situation to unfold.
1. Equity, Family Bank, Co-op etc, who largely cater for Wanjiku will be the worst affected because they are technically in a riskier business. The quality of their customers is very bad i.e largely Wanjiku.
2. KCB, I&M, DTB etc that cater for the upper middle class and the affluent (for KCB it is institutions), they will be better positioned because their customers have a higher value and less risk.
Assuming two banks lend at 14.5%, Equity and I & M, I & M will have less to worry about considering the nature of its customers. This bill is a kick in the nuts of James Mwangi and Gideon Muriuki

I beg to differ,banks that have a wide footprint and bank the ordinary mwananchi will have access to deposits at almost zero cost since they will be paying nothing for the small deposits in their customer accounts. Infact the banks that will have the lowest cost on their deposits will win the coming war.
With the capping it means the battle for quality clients is on,it will all be about who can offer the lowest of the lowest interest rate to that bluechip customer.

what are you saying? The Act stipulates that banks should pay atleast 70% of the CBR rate to customer deposits, How then will the small banks access deposits at zero cost?
moneydust
#562 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:04:42 PM

moneydust wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:
1. Equity, Family Bank, Co-op etc, who largely cater for Wanjiku will be the worst affected because they are technically in a riskier business. The quality of their customers is very bad i.e largely Wanjiku.
2. KCB, I&M, DTB etc that cater for the upper middle class and the affluent (for KCB it is institutions), they will be better positioned because their customers have a higher value and less risk.
Assuming two banks lend at 14.5%, Equity and I & M, I & M will have less to worry about considering the nature of its customers. This bill is a kick in the nuts of James Mwangi and Gideon Muriuki

I beg to differ,banks that have a wide footprint and bank the ordinary mwananchi will have access to deposits at almost zero cost since they will be paying nothing for the small deposits in their customer accounts. Infact the banks that will have the lowest cost on their deposits will win the coming war.
With the capping it means the battle for quality clients is on,it will all be about who can offer the lowest of the lowest interest rate to that bluechip customer.

what are you saying? The Act stipulates that banks should pay atleast 70% of the CBR rate to customer deposits, How then will the small banks access deposits at zero cost?

You must differentiate between current account deposits and fixed /savings account deposits.It will be ridiculous to expect a bank to pay you interest on deposits you will be withdrawing tomorrow without notice.You can also expect the banks to raise the the threshold for interest bearing deposits.
kawi254
#563 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:06:10 PM

Does this also affect mobile banking loans e.g Equitel (24%p.a), M-shwari and such?
#564 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:07:51 PM

moneydust wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

Its only fixed accounts which should enjoy the 70% of the CBR rate...what banks will do is simply to raise the minimum balance to open a saving account to be something like Kes.1,000,000...anything less will be taken to the current account, which will be charged exhobitant ledger fees.

tom_boy
#565 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:07:56 PM

moneydust wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

This whole hullabaloo about risk of the customer is just theories created by banks to keep rates high. If I can lend to you 100k at 24%, why should I not lend it to you at 14%. Are you more likely to default at 24% or at 14%. Its all nonsense ceated by the banking industry. They will lend to Wanjiku at 14% as long as Wanjiku has not defaulted on a previous loan. Banks will just have to work harder at vetting the borrowers, to seperate the grain from the chaff.

Like I said before, it will be a dance between banks and Government. Too much money chasing govt paper and the rate will come down. Banks will be forced to create a balance between lending to govt or lending to Wanjiku. Banks cannot afford to be awash with cash. Thats a fact. Watch this space. In fact , if you are employed, earning good money in a stable job, get ready to start getting spammed by these banks.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#566 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:14:36 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Does this also affect mobile banking loans e.g Equitel (24%p.a), M-shwari and such?

M-suruari is 90%pa...7.5&% pm.

#567 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:26:24 PM

kawi254 wrote:

No
#568 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:39:23 PM

kawi254 wrote:

No

How much it is?
Thats the rate I have known when they first set shop.

#569 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:44:41 PM

kawi254 wrote:

No

How much it is?
Thats the rate I have known when they first set shop.

I think thats about correct...
safariant
#570 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:56:26 PM

Kabando wa Kabando bill should also be effected asap to make TB available/accessible to the masses.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
tom_boy
#571 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:03:59 PM

kawi254 wrote:

No

@muchr, please clarify. Does the new act differentiate between normal loan and mobile loan.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Gadaffi
#572 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:19:32 PM

Interest rates have been capped but financial institutions will have a free hand in composing APR which will be definitely above 20%.
#573 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:21:28 PM

tom_boy wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

No

@muchr, please clarify. Does the new act differentiate between normal loan and mobile loan.

Refer to post #466
#574 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:22:49 PM

tom_boy wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

No

Refer to post #466

Murchr aka Finance CSsmile Jibu wafuasi...
#575 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:24:50 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
Interest rates have been capped but financial institutions will have a free hand in composing APR which will be definitely above 20%.

Hii huitwa porojo

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#576 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:38:08 PM

Look at this;

This month the Central Bank of Kenya offered a 10 year Treasury Bond for a total amount of up to Kshs 25 Billion. The total number of bids received was 795 amounting to Kshs 26.31 Billion. The Weighted average rate for successful bids was 15.039%

Coupon 15.039% crazy...even after WHT its good cash
#577 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:45:30 PM

Look at this;

This month the Central Bank of Kenya offered a 10 year Treasury Bond for a total amount of up to Kshs 25 Billion. The total number of bids received was 795 amounting to Kshs 26.31 Billion. The Weighted average rate for successful bids was 15.039%

Coupon 15.039% crazy...even after WHT its good cash

I spoke to the president and his take was that the government shall pull down borrowing rates for itself, which is a good thing.. Expect government to obtain cheap credit. Watch the tbill rate slide down in coming months. We live in good times

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
githundi
#578 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:56:29 PM

Tick. .tick. ..
Let us watch the movie
Democracy does not belong to the dead
Pesa Nane
#579 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:59:03 PM

tom_boy wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

No

The bill addressed BANKS and FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS only. If the loan is from a BANK expect it to be capped. Your accessing the money through mobile, TT, Cheque, SWIFT, cash, etc should be immaterial.
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Gadaffi
#580 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 7:59:35 PM

Gadaffi wrote:

Hii huitwa porojo

Have u ever borrowed and if so, do u know ur APR..