wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

151 Pages«<2526272829>»
Law Capping interest rates
Ericsson
#521 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:32:35 PM

And my fixed depsit account must earn me minimum 7%pa (70% x 10.5)
The bar to earn that interest will be raised to even ksh.100mn minimum.
Anything below that uko pekee yako.
But then why did KCB share price rally today
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#522 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:32:57 PM

Thank goodness I disposed of my bank stocks. Shocking move indeed
Ericsson
#523 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:35:14 PM

The other headache is the implementation timeline and who will it affect.
I foresee a situation where it will be for only new applicants and the old/existing applicants wakufee pekee yao.
James Mwangi must be very furious now
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#524 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:35:53 PM

If the bank are going to lend at 14.5%(on reducing balance), then saccos should lend at 5%(on principal) for sacco borrowing/lending to make any economic sense.

And my fixed depsit account must earn me minimum 7%pa (70% x 10.5)

The Kenyan banks have found themselves between a rock and a hard-hot place.

If they cant lend me at 14% then they must pay at rate that is half the bank rate...7%.

what has been the rate paid by your bank on your fixed deposit account? If you are not getting 10%, there must be something fundamentally wrong with you.
Fyatu
#525 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:36:54 PM

Users browsing this topic

Angelica _ann, ARAP CHARLES, Ericsson, Fyatu, Gatheuzi, Guest (53), KulaRaha, Lek, marko, Matoe, moneydust, Much Know, penkon, Pure millioneare(PM), researchfirst, Shak, Swenani
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Jon Jones
#526 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:37:32 PM

This is how I expect the situation to unfold.
1. Equity, Family Bank, Co-op etc, who largely cater for Wanjiku will be the worst affected because they are technically in a riskier business. The quality of their customers is very bad i.e largely Wanjiku.
2. KCB, I&M, DTB etc that cater for the upper middle class and the affluent (for KCB it is institutions), they will be better positioned because their customers have a higher value and less risk.
Assuming two banks lend at 14.5%, Equity and I & M, I & M will have less to worry about considering the nature of its customers. This bill is a kick in the nuts of James Mwangi and Gideon Muriuki
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
enyands
#527 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:40:35 PM

Wapi MaichBlack?
Spikes
#528 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:41:10 PM

muganda wrote:

@David Ndii na hizo pessimism zake hazituletee!

This afternoon most of us are feeling high after hallucinations of interest caps.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
moneydust
#529 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:41:20 PM

Godspeed Mr Kibaki we shall truly remember your reign,when the NSE churned out millionaires,nowadays its just poverty and doom that reigns.

It is now worse than a fish market..kila siku ni chini kwa chini aaargh..
#530 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:45:49 PM

moneydust wrote:
Godspeed Mr Kibaki we shall truly remember your reign,when the NSE churned out millionaires,nowadays its just poverty and doom that reigns.

How are you Mr. James Mwangi?
#531 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:46:11 PM

Assenting to the Banking (Amendment) Bill, 2015 at State House.

Jon Jones
#532 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:46:33 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Which counter is shafting you??
moneydust wrote:

Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
Spikes
#533 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:46:39 PM

Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:

@David Ndii na hizo pessimism zake hazituletee!

This afternoon most of us are feeling high after hallucinations of interest caps.

Long live PORK.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#534 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:46:47 PM

Bankers here are scaremongering.I want to get that 7% on my deposit.the banks won't refuse to take my cash deposits by setting unreasonable rules, the ceo of the bank will be Put inside for going against the law

They are really terrified. See some numbers below.

Should the bill become law, this is the change in interest expense for the top five.

KCB rise from 17bn to 29bn
Equity rise from 6.8b to 21b
Co-op from 12.1b to 18.5b
Barclays from 4.2b to 11.4b
Stanchart from 3.9b to 12b.

Co-op with an average deposit rate of 5.5% would be the least hit. But I saw something in their books that must be terrifying them.

You have heard that threat about not lending to high risk borrowers like unsecured personal loans. Their loan book is composed of 35% unsecured personal loans. It earns them the highest interest income. Should they even slow down lending to that category, let alone stop, they would be in loss making territory right away.

For equity bank, let's just say James Mwangi and co. would no longer be billionaires.

Some guys woke up as billionaires and they will be going back to bed as millionaires. JM, Gideon Muriuki.
sitaki.kujulikana
#535 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:47:03 PM

moneydust wrote:

learn to adapt smile all reigns churn out millionaires
Liv
#536 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:48:04 PM

moneydust wrote:

Hahahaha..... Na mambo bado
#537 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:49:25 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
moneydust wrote:

learn to adapt smile all reigns churn out millionaires

Word
#538 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:51:31 PM

Bankers here are scaremongering.I want to get that 7% on my deposit.the banks won't refuse to take my cash deposits by setting unreasonable rules, the ceo of the bank will be Put inside for going against the law

They are really terrified. See some numbers below.

Should the bill become law, this is the change in interest expense for the top five.

KCB rise from 17bn to 29bn
Equity rise from 6.8b to 21b
Co-op from 12.1b to 18.5b
Barclays from 4.2b to 11.4b
Stanchart from 3.9b to 12b.

Co-op with an average deposit rate of 5.5% would be the least hit. But I saw something in their books that must be terrifying them.

You have heard that threat about not lending to high risk borrowers like unsecured personal loans. Their loan book is composed of 35% unsecured personal loans. It earns them the highest interest income. Should they even slow down lending to that category, let alone stop, they would be in loss making territory right away.

For equity bank, let's just say James Mwangi and co. would no longer be billionaires.

Some guys woke up as billionaires and they will be going back to bed as millionaires. JM, Gideon Muriuki.

What do you mean if that is the deposit rate. What is being capped is the lending rate right?
Fyatu
#539 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:51:41 PM

mkate_nusu wrote:
moneydust wrote:
wukan wrote:
I kept wondering what would trigger the NSE-20 to complete wave C to sub 3000 levels. Enjoy the wild ride down

KIMEUMANA SASA....MR BEAR FEEL FREE AT HOME.
VAPORIZE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PATH DONT SPARE NOTHING..

Wacha nijishikie tupopcorns sasa..

The BEAR loves such news to propel it further into the woods. Sit tight folks

BLOOD....MORE BLOOD....Drool Drool Drool
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#540 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 4:51:43 PM