wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

5 Pages«<2345>
KQ Shuttle Service
sitaki.kujulikana
#31 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2016 11:33:32 PM

don't mistake criticism with being negative, I think its good to look at the cons, otherwise one risks being mediocre, I mean this must be a first for an airway company to go the groundway.
The best way would have been for them to push for good standards for any bus that operates that route, reminds me of posta launching their bus service
#32 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 8:33:29 AM

Hmmmmm I'm not sure this is a better alternative. Better would be a shuttle that charges 400 to town, will def help with traffic reduction.

As for this idea, I wonder how much the "consultant" was paid for coming up with the idea...saw somewhere on Twitter it was 30M.

The gravy train continues...

There are many people who would want to drop their travelling friends and relatives in town to catch the KQ bus instead of driving them all the way to the airport with maddening traffic and security checks. Same when the travelers return, they can be conveniently picked in town and not the airport. Hotels may also prefer not to take or pick their guests all the way at the airport. Foreign travelers may also find it cumbersome to download uber upon landing not to mention loading mpesa, giving credit card details etc so as to use service.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly enyewe, pretending to be knowledgable is chore.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 9:40:16 AM

The worrying this is, with all the troubles the airlines is facing, the very highly honchos in a strategy meeting decides one way out is to get into matatus business.

Cost sensitive travellers have cheaper travel option to and from the airport- from City Hopas and other buses that ply the route. Business and corporate travellers on the other hand will either have their Cos pick them up or some would be too embarrassed to line up for the shuttle.

The best they would have done it to have a courtesy shuttle from Airport to City Centre for any interested travelers.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:28:35 AM

Gathige wrote:
The worrying this is, with all the troubles the airlines is facing, the very highly honchos in a strategy meeting decides one way out is to get into matatus business.

Cost sensitive travellers have cheaper travel option to and from the airport- from City Hopas and other buses that ply the route. Business and corporate travellers on the other hand will either have their Cos pick them up or some would be too embarrassed to line up for the shuttle.

The best they would have done it to have a courtesy shuttle from Airport to City Centre for any interested travelers.

Spot on...
#35 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:32:21 AM

Gathige wrote:

Hehe. Eti too embarassed to use the KQ shuttle. Hii maringo is what is killing mwafrika. In developed countries even ceos use buses, trains, etc. Some even use bicycles to go to work.
kayhara
#36 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:45:03 AM

Just saying Uber will pick me up from Thome-JKIA for ksh 1,300, why would I use the shuttle, The Jambojet buses in Mombasa stopped working, will Kq ones work, the frequency of the trips are not convenient even for most domestic KQ flights, Double M is 60 bob.
so you take the shuttle from JKIA to Loita, then drag your luggage to your estate stage or take a taxi to your final destination? but let them try it might help the night time guys since public buses don't go to the airport past 7pm.
To Each His Own
Liv
#37 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 11:35:34 AM

Gathige wrote:

Spot on @Gathige.
What is disturbing is that the leadership of KQ came up with a decision like that. As a shareholder I start wondering how they will turn around the company if they are thinking at that level.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 12:34:29 PM

kayhara wrote:

Just saying Uber will pick me up from Thome-JKIA for ksh 1,300, why would I use the shuttle, The Jambojet buses in Mombasa stopped working, will Kq ones work, the frequency of the trips are not convenient even for most domestic KQ flights, Double M is 60 bob.
so you take the shuttle from JKIA to Loita, then drag your luggage to your estate stage or take a taxi to your final destination? but let them try it might help the night time guys since public buses don't go to the airport past 7pm.

I think they are targeting the tourist and "busynessmen" who stay in CBD hotels kama serena, Hilton, Intercon etc
#39 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 12:46:49 PM

If I was KQ i would make the service an Uber extension. KQ picks you from your house and takes you back. If you have frequent flier miles.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 2:05:29 PM

kayhara wrote:

I think they are targeting the tourist and "busynessmen" who stay in CBD hotels kama serena, Hilton, Intercon etc

Such travelers prefer hotel transfers, which generally come as a package.
5 Pages«<2345>