wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

AK Boss on his way out?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 5:59:11 AM

C&P:

Isaiah Kiplagat has stepped aside as Athletics Kenya president to concentrate on his campaign for vice presidency of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

Kiplagat said he will be out of office for three months from May 1 pending the outcome of the elections that will take place after the World Championships due August 22 to 30 in Beijing, China.

One of the AK deputy presidents, Jackson Tuwei will move in as the acting president. Paul Mutwii, who is also one of the vice presidents will now be a senior deputy president.

The move by the AK executive committee after meeting yesterday to appoint Mutwii is likely to ease long running wrangles that have rocked the federation.

David Okeyo and Fatuma Awale will remain deputy presidents alongside Jinaro Kibet, who has been elevated from a co-opted member.

South Rift’s John Kimetto, who was team manager of Kenya for the World Cross Country Championships in Guiyang, China, takes over Kibet’s position.

The changes were effected at an AK executive meeting at Riadha House on Monday.

Kiplagat’s days as AK chairman before the change of constitution that saw him become president in 2013, could as well be over with his speech at the hushed and well-attended press conference hinting the same.

“After the executive committee meeting today, I want a bit of time to reflect on my campaign,” Kiplagat said. “I have spoken to members of the executive over my decision to step aside.”

“From May 1 you won’t see me transacting anything here in the office apart from my IAAF campaign,” said Kiplagat. “I want to launch my manifesto soon.”

RINK
callaspade
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 8:17:40 AM

.....good riddance and i hope he misses that vp post too
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 9:26:32 AM

Now waiting for CAF dinosaur Issa Hayatou to call it a day. They might just tempt Robert Gabriel to retire.

#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 9:32:38 AM

callaspade wrote:
.....good riddance and i hope he misses that vp post too

He has only stepped aside for 3 months pending the outcome of the election, if he misses it, he will be back
derick
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 9:33:02 AM

Finally . those are the kind of people we dont need likes of sam nyamwea should be shown the door.
Your income is directly related to your philosophy, Not the economy.-Jim Rohn
Jump-steady
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 11:28:36 AM

derick wrote:
Finally . those are the kind of people we dont need likes of sam nyamwea should be shown the door.

That one makes me Sickamp; Sickamp; Sickamp;
Alba
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 6:43:09 PM

Kiplagat is certainly not the worst sports chairman in Kenya. In fact he may be one of the better ones. In fact most are far worse than Kiplagat. The leaders of basketball, cricket, boxing etc are much worse. They just escape scrutiny because not enough people care. As proof, during the last Commonwealth games, virtually all the medals Kenya won came from athletics. The only exception was a bronze in weightlifting and a bronze in boxing.

This is a stark contrast from the 1970s and 1980s when Kenya was not only Africa boxing champion but also Commonwealth games boxing champion. Even as recently as 1990 and 1994, Kenya garnered commonwealth games boxing gold medals from the likes of Akhasamba, "Foreman" Onyango and Ahmed Omar "Kassongo" who used to frequent Brilliant reggae club.

Now think about cricket. Gone are the days when Kenya beat the likes of West Indies, Sri lanka and India. While Bangladesh were Kenya's regular clients.

Rugby is falling apart as sponsors like Safaricom withdraw and Kenya has gone from regularly competing for plate, to battling for shield. At least during the Bill Githinji days, they used to battle for bowl.

In basketball also the mens team has not been at the continental event since 1994. 20 years ! And the management is to put it simply, mediocre

I dare not touch football which has been one cluster-blank after another since the 1980s.

#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 10:08:54 PM

Alba wrote:
Kiplagat is certainly not the worst sports chairman in Kenya. In fact he may be one of the better ones. In fact most are far worse than Kiplagat. The leaders of basketball, cricket, boxing etc are much worse. They just escape scrutiny because not enough people care. As proof, during the last Commonwealth games, virtually all the medals Kenya won came from athletics. The only exception was a bronze in weightlifting and a bronze in boxing.

This is a stark contrast from the 1970s and 1980s when Kenya was not only Africa boxing champion but also Commonwealth games boxing champion. Even as recently as 1990 and 1994, Kenya garnered commonwealth games boxing gold medals from the likes of Akhasamba, "Foreman" Onyango and Ahmed Omar "Kassongo" who used to frequent Brilliant reggae club.

Now think about cricket. Gone are the days when Kenya beat the likes of West Indies, Sri lanka and India. While Bangladesh were Kenya's regular clients.

Rugby is falling apart as sponsors like Safaricom withdraw and Kenya has gone from regularly competing for plate, to battling for shield. At least during the Bill Githinji days, they used to battle for bowl.

In basketball also the mens team has not been at the continental event since 1994. 20 years ! And the management is to put it simply, mediocre

I dare not touch football which has been one cluster-blank after another since the 1980s.

Sasa tuko karne nyingine smile
Alba
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 11:27:06 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Alba wrote:

Sasa tuko karne nyingine smile

Viongozi wa karne hii ni wahalifu, wafisadi ,hawajimudu na hawajali masilahi ya wanaspoti
kimanimsc
#10 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 12:19:23 PM

Isaiah Kiplagat. RIP
#11 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 12:22:28 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
Isaiah Kiplagat. RIP

Barely a year after stepping down from a looong career.

RIP mzee.

#12 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 12:26:32 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
Isaiah Kiplagat. RIP

Barely a year after stepping down from a looong career.

RIP mzee.

Pole sana Moses & siblings. RIP mzee Sad

Alba
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 12:01:14 AM

By Kenyan standards, Kiplagat was actually a good administrator. Thats why AK was often voted federation of the year several times.

RIP
D32
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 7:53:28 AM

MHSRIP
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.