Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,220 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
News just in indicate it has just been signed. someone please confirm #Banking stocks be damned @SufficientlyP
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:News just in indicate it has just been signed. someone please confirm #Banking stocks be damned thats really killing the banking sector. Towards the goal of financial freedom
I see this bill also killing credit to the retail space... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 969 Location: Kenya
There goes a chunk of my net worth in banking stocks. I pity the small banks coz their interest margins just got reduced in a big way.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,220 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Wallace Kantai on twirra saying he's just got off the phone with some source/guy at statehouse who says it hasnt been signed. Looks like a hoax. @SufficientlyP
Why are people panicking surely... possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:Why are people panicking surely... quot; :d/
maka wrote:Why are people panicking surely... Big time shareholders
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,502 Location: nairobi
I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. Hold your horse Obi. Hii ni hoax per excellence!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! 7,200 Coop shares and 2,300 HF is big?? I sold 19,600 KCB a few months back at KES 60 per share. That is what I consider big HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. ,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
muandiwambeu wrote:Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:muandiwambeu wrote:Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:obiero wrote:muandiwambeu wrote:Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016 HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 969 Location: Kenya
maka wrote:Why are people panicking surely... Am already 200k in the red with Equity stock, another blow will be too much negatives in my account
maka wrote:Why are people panicking surely... I like the extreme pessimistic atmosphere the banking stocks are getting sledge hammered with. This extreme fear will be very rewarding in future against the crowd's expectations. The last such episode was mpesa bank IPO crash during GFC shock and the infamous price war, which crashed its price again. Then it shot up to the moon. Banks will reinvent themselves.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:obiero wrote:muandiwambeu wrote:Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016 The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:obiero wrote:muandiwambeu wrote:Ebenyo wrote:obiero wrote:I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016 The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten. This one is not in control of the CBK, KBA, the banks or even HE the president.. Wananchi power will drive this one home. Eyes of deprived citizens have lit up on the thought of cheaper rates. This one is a monster that has taken a life of its own. Its delay or death will cause significant ramifications. Especially a delay.. Since the public will hold on with anticipation for lower rates in the near future. Either way, signed or not; its a dramatic loss and big hit for Kenyan banks HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates