11 Pages«<891011>
Apology
sitaki.kujulikana
#181 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 12:37:53 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
not sure how to describe it but there is a lie some people tell themselves about consumption... it's like a license of sorts. a cure for inferiority complex! WHAT?... HATA MIMI NAWEZA NUNUA!! NDIO MJUE MIMI PIA NI MTU KARI KEE?

@Masukuma, times have changed, consumption is the new production, check with the Khatrasians sic Khardasian clan. The new generation is all about consumption and show off. Donald Kipkorir gets it.

it's quite interesting that we know DK because of his consumption not his law firm. No one talks about the brilliant legal work he has done for his clients. Heck - Professionally akina chris ombeta are know better for THEIR JOB than him! All these fellows who are put on TV and are asked questions - legal questions on matters of the day. the Khatrasians make money from their theatrics - it's daft but they make money from it. Kanye is very creative... very very creative. He 'builds stuff'. I am wondering... is a potential client somewhere thinking - I want DK to represent me... he has a RR 2016 and goes to akina Kiashland! for consumption to be the new production - it actually has to produce more than twitter followers. The tragedy with most of us is that we knows what we does not need, and we need what we don't know. We encourage production of what we don't consume (Quail eggs) and consume what we don't produce! Look at all our music videos - (same with those of our brothers in the US). it's consumption, fast cars, light skinned girls. So some reason - a cultural one, We see ourselves as humans because we can pay for stuff! We see ourselves as being at their equal if we can be seen to be 'sleeping' with their daughters.

but to be the best you have to be known first, the others use the muthaiga and the karen clubs for their show, let our D use the twitter and facebook clubs.
But look at it, that consumption you seem to be against is what has gotten us this far, otherwise we would still be covering ourselves with hides and tapping termites for our nutritious needs.
#182 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 12:55:14 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
but to be the best you have to be known first, the others use the muthaiga and the karen clubs for their show, let our D use the twitter and facebook clubs.
But look at it, that consumption you seem to be against is what has gotten us this far, otherwise we would still be covering ourselves with hides and tapping termites for our nutritious needs.

to be the best at what you are you need to be known first? we all know vera sidika as a socialite... would you trust her as a tinker or a tailor or a soldier or sailor? just bcause 'she is known'. traditionally people were known for their 'doings' heck even our names came from these. I am not against consumption per se- we are all consumers...it's consumption as an achievement mindset. that we have succeded because we consumed someone else's produce. the notion that "we are somehow 'human' because we 'consume'" is broken. Human beings have always been different from all other creatures - we produce (not just reproduce). we are tool makers, homo sapien means 'wise man'. we think - we build. stuff. that differciates us from the animals... the other consumers.
#183 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 1:09:22 PM

Jameni, now this muhindi @sunnybindra wants us to start producing/making range rovers and subarus? What is he smoking?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly he sensed you would get lost and has clarified some stuff.
there is nothing wrong in consuming great products. The mistake is in thinking of their consumption as your achievement rather than that of the producer.

The fact that you are driving a RR 2016 is not YOUR achievement but rather the achievement of Land Rover! I HOPE BADO HUJAPOTEA!
#184 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 1:10:56 PM

Seems everyone is happy with my subaru since no lectures are coming my way. Kumbe shida is the RR.
#185 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 1:15:05 PM

Seems everyone is happy with my subaru since no lectures are coming my way. Kumbe shida is the RR.

A subaru does not "announce" your "arrival". Actually you could be going. Why should we comment about your journey to nowhere?Shame on you
#186 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 1:42:18 PM

Jameni, now this muhindi @sunnybindra wants us to start producing/making range rovers and subarus? What is he smoking?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly he sensed you would get lost and has clarified some stuff.
there is nothing wrong in consuming great products. The mistake is in thinking of their consumption as your achievement rather than that of the producer.

The fact that you are driving a RR 2016 is not YOUR achievement but rather the achievement of Land Rover! I HOPE BADO HUJAPOTEA!

The muhindi is very confused. Why write an article and then go apologizing profusely for what you wrote and begging for forgiveness? At least @Njoki Chege has balls unlike this coward.

http://www.sunwords.com/...s-not-your-achievement/

UPDATE (Monday 15 August):

Since this article was published yesterday it has received a great deal of attention, for many reasons. Some clarifications are necessary.

First, it became linked to individuals on social media as though it were written about them. This was never my intention. My writing tries to address themes and patterns rather than target individuals. It is not a productive form of debate to attack people rather than issues. I am sorry if anyone has had their feelings hurt or felt victimised.

Second, some folks have pointed out that I myself am guilty of part of the behaviour I decried – of posting examples of meals, holidays, etc on social media. I have reflected on this and would like to hold my hands up and say I can see how this would look like sheer hypocrisy. In my own eyes, I was always highlighting the excellence of the product rather than the fact that I was consuming it – I take no pride in the consumption. However, I can see how that sends out a mixed message, and equally that I should allow others the same nuance. I am sorry if I come across as hypocritical in this matter. I will learn from it. We are all flawed by nature, and can only improve by learning from experiences.

The bigger point of my article, however, was to highlight the need to focus society on the primacy of production over consumption. I hope most readers focused on that message. As the article pointed out, there is nothing wrong in consuming great products. The mistake is in thinking of their consumption as your achievement rather than that of the producer. I stand by that point unreservedly and continue to push it in all my work.

#187 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 1:46:26 PM

The muhindi is very confused. Why write an article and then go apologizing profusely for what you wrote and begging for forgiveness? At least @Njoki Chege has balls unlike this coward.

http://www.sunwords.com/...s-not-your-achievement/

UPDATE (Monday 15 August):

Since this article was published yesterday it has received a great deal of attention, for many reasons. Some clarifications are necessary.

First, it became linked to individuals on social media as though it were written about them. This was never my intention. My writing tries to address themes and patterns rather than target individuals. It is not a productive form of debate to attack people rather than issues. I am sorry if anyone has had their feelings hurt or felt victimised.

Second, some folks have pointed out that I myself am guilty of part of the behaviour I decried – of posting examples of meals, holidays, etc on social media. I have reflected on this and would like to hold my hands up and say I can see how this would look like sheer hypocrisy. In my own eyes, I was always highlighting the excellence of the product rather than the fact that I was consuming it – I take no pride in the consumption. However, I can see how that sends out a mixed message, and equally that I should allow others the same nuance. I am sorry if I come across as hypocritical in this matter. I will learn from it. We are all flawed by nature, and can only improve by learning from experiences.

The bigger point of my article, however, was to highlight the need to focus society on the primacy of production over consumption. I hope most readers focused on that message. As the article pointed out, there is nothing wrong in consuming great products. The mistake is in thinking of their consumption as your achievement rather than that of the producer. I stand by that point unreservedly and continue to push it in all my work.

unajua kusoma kweli? no wonder!!
#188 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 2:01:31 PM

A subaru does not "announce" your "arrival". Actually you could be going. Why should we comment about your journey to nowhere?Shame on you

Kuwa mpole.
#189 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 2:12:42 PM

[quote=hardwood]

Kuwa mpole.

POLE....!!..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
sitaki.kujulikana
#190 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 3:49:46 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

to be the best at what you are you need to be known first? we all know vera sidika as a socialite... would you trust her as a tinker or a tailor or a soldier or sailor? just bcause 'she is known'. traditionally people were known for their 'doings' heck even our names came from these. I am not against consumption per se- we are all consumers...it's consumption as an achievement mindset. that we have succeded because we consumed someone else's produce. the notion that "we are somehow 'human' because we 'consume'" is broken. Human beings have always been different from all other creatures - we produce (not just reproduce). we are tool makers, homo sapien means 'wise man'. we think - we build. stuff. that differciates us from the animals... the other consumers.

consumption as an achievement mindset, hapo sawa, nimecheki that angle, but still both forms are vital and in my opinion hold equal weight, its an achievement to produce a luxuriant product and its also an achievement to consume that product since not many can produce or consume the same.

your example of vera is not appropriate since you are juxtaposing her with skills or areas of expertise which she does not identify with, but she is known and people trust her for her expertise, thats why she is invited to interviews, invited to take part in tv shows e.t.c, first you buld your kujulikana then people will notice you and then you can prove your 'best-ess'
#191 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 4:05:32 PM

City Girl, Sunny Bindra and Donald Kipkorir are all cut from the same cloth. They all seem to affirm that it is important "kujulikana". Their only difference is that they think you should be known for different things;

City girl - you should be known for being rich and quiet
Sunny Bindra - You should be known for being a producer
Donald Kipkorir - You should be known for your Italy holidays, famous friends, expensive lunches and Range Rovers

#192 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 4:21:09 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

consumption as an achievement mindset, hapo sawa, nimecheki that angle, but still both forms are vital and in my opinion hold equal weight, its an achievement to produce a luxuriant product and its also an achievement to consume that product since not many can produce or consume the same.

your example of vera is not appropriate since you are juxtaposing her with skills or areas of expertise which she does not identify with, but she is known and people trust her for her expertise, thats why she is invited to interviews, invited to take part in tv shows e.t.c, first you buld your kujulikana then people will notice you and then you can prove your 'best-ess'

I think you are deriving....
its also an achievement to consume that product since not many can produce or consume the same

is it an achievement for a kid born with a silver spoon to buy a RR or yacht? What achievement is it for Bill Gates's daughter to have a personal jet off a cheque written by the dad? There is no achievement - lets face it achievement cannot be bought or inherited. it's easy to see why people confuse consumption as being an achievement - it's because we assume it's clean. There is a crown prince somewhere driving a bugatti... it's fair but not an achievement. If someone can draw a line between DK's exceptional legal service and advise and the toys he has. we would be impressed. Think of Karim Ahmad Khan and his claim... HE NEVER LOST A CASE!!
For vera - maybe it was a stretch... a cook perhaps? Her expertise (if you can call it that) is what makes her get invited to all those shows and is also what makes people wait for her "for roundabout oh!"

that is not disputed....
#193 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 4:55:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

its also an achievement to consume that product since not many can produce or consume the same

is it an achievement for a kid born with a silver spoon to buy a RR or yacht? What achievement is it for Bill Gates's daughter to have a personal jet off a cheque written by the dad? There is no achievement - lets face it achievement cannot be bought or inherited. it's easy to see why people confuse consumption as being an achievement - it's because we assume it's clean. There is a crown prince somewhere driving a bugatti... it's fair but not an achievement. If someone can draw a line between DK's exceptional legal service and advise and the toys he has.we would be impressed . Think of Karim Ahmad Khan and his claim... HE NEVER LOST A CASE!!
For vera - maybe it was a stretch... a cook perhaps? Her expertise (if you can call it that) is what makes her get invited to all those shows and is also what makes people wait for her "for roundabout oh!"

that is not disputed....

DBK clearly explained how he has consistently worked hard to make his money, rising from the very bottom to the top. He must be offering "exceptional service" that is why he has managed to get those clients. He is a good lawyer. And as he puts it, money is merely a by-product of hard work.

I want to credit my success to my first and last employer: Senator Moses Wetang’ula. I met Moses in April 1994 and I told him that I wanted to join his law firm. In the 1990s, he was one of the biggest and most influential lawyers in this country. He was nominated as an MP and had very big clients. He hired me.

I think Moses has a gift which people don’t know, an intuition. Kenyans are obsessed with interviews, checking papers and all those things. But Moses gave me a lesson which I’ve followed until now, that you act on intuition and on instinct. He gave me a chance and because he was so busy sitting in Parliament, he allowed me to handle some important clients even though I was a rookie.

One day a client walked into the office. Gulamhussein Sheikh wanted to sue Akasha for a debt worth $3 million. Akasha was represented by Satish Gautama, Aurelio Rebelo and OP Nagpal, then Kenya’s biggest lawyers. Mr Wetang’ula asked me to handle the matter, a rookie. In fact, my first day in court I remember Mr Gautama asked me how long I’d practised. I told him about three or four months. He told me, “Young man, I’ve practised today for 53 years, 11 months…’’

Yeah. I was in my 20s and he really intimidated me. I won that case. From there I built my profile till 1997/1998 when I set up my law firm. I decided I would be doing corporate commercial practice. I don’t encourage walk-in clients. I represent private companies, multinationals and State corporations which of course is the most exciting area in practice.

Also, what people don’t know is that, when Safaricom was listed in 2006, I was the government legal adviser for the IPO [initial public offering]. That also gave me an advantage when it comes to corporate practice.

People think that I made money because I’m Kalenjin in Moi’s time or that I’ve made money because I’m connected to the system. All these are wrong perceptions because there are many Kalenjin lawyers. There are many people who knew the Moi family, or the Kibaki family or the Kenyatta family, but it doesn’t give you success. Success is individual effort and basically hard work.

I’m not a slave to money, and I keep telling my friends all the time. I never make money for the sake of making money. Money is a by-product of working hard and I’m not materialistic. If I were to lose money, I wouldn’t lose my soul.
#194 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 6:26:18 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

is it an achievement for a kid born with a silver spoon to buy a RR or yacht? What achievement is it for Bill Gates's daughter to have a personal jet off a cheque written by the dad? There is no achievement - lets face it achievement cannot be bought or inherited. it's easy to see why people confuse consumption as being an achievement - it's because we assume it's clean. There is a crown prince somewhere driving a bugatti... it's fair but not an achievement. If someone can draw a line between DK's exceptional legal service and advise and the toys he has.we would be impressed . Think of Karim Ahmad Khan and his claim... HE NEVER LOST A CASE!!

that is not disputed....

DBK clearly explained how he has consistently worked hard to make his money, rising from the very bottom to the top. He must be offering "exceptional service" that is why he has managed to get those clients. He is a good lawyer. And as he puts it, money is merely a by-product of hard work.

I want to credit my success to my first and last employer: Senator Moses Wetang’ula. I met Moses in April 1994 and I told him that I wanted to join his law firm. In the 1990s, he was one of the biggest and most influential lawyers in this country. He was nominated as an MP and had very big clients. He hired me.

I think Moses has a gift which people don’t know, an intuition. Kenyans are obsessed with interviews, checking papers and all those things. But Moses gave me a lesson which I’ve followed until now, that you act on intuition and on instinct. He gave me a chance and because he was so busy sitting in Parliament, he allowed me to handle some important clients even though I was a rookie.

One day a client walked into the office. Gulamhussein Sheikh wanted to sue Akasha for a debt worth $3 million. Akasha was represented by Satish Gautama, Aurelio Rebelo and OP Nagpal, then Kenya’s biggest lawyers. Mr Wetang’ula asked me to handle the matter, a rookie. In fact, my first day in court I remember Mr Gautama asked me how long I’d practised. I told him about three or four months. He told me, “Young man, I’ve practised today for 53 years, 11 months…’’

Yeah. I was in my 20s and he really intimidated me. I won that case. From there I built my profile till 1997/1998 when I set up my law firm. I decided I would be doing corporate commercial practice. I don’t encourage walk-in clients. I represent private companies, multinationals and State corporations which of course is the most exciting area in practice.

Also, what people don’t know is that, when Safaricom was listed in 2006, I was the government legal adviser for the IPO [initial public offering]. That also gave me an advantage when it comes to corporate practice.

People think that I made money because I’m Kalenjin in Moi’s time or that I’ve made money because I’m connected to the system. All these are wrong perceptions because there are many Kalenjin lawyers. There are many people who knew the Moi family, or the Kibaki family or the Kenyatta family, but it doesn’t give you success. Success is individual effort and basically hard work.

I’m not a slave to money, and I keep telling my friends all the time. I never make money for the sake of making money. Money is a by-product of working hard and I’m not materialistic. If I were to lose money, I wouldn’t lose my soul.

a tiger does not proclaim its tigritude bwana....
#195 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 6:59:17 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

that is not disputed....

About this article the truth is out there...

This guy did not make his money now...He made it kitambo kiasi...This is what happens we have several firms all qualified and sit on the panel of various state corporations...So say Hardwood and Hardwood/Masukuma and Masukuma are all in the same panel but get tu small jobs the likes of DBK get the plum jobs because they are "well connected"...lets say its a Judicial Review H&H or M&M would bill the state corporation 1M but would never get the job...DBK on the other hand gets the job bills the corporation like 10 mio ,the MD gets a kick back and life continues...was the work done...yes it was though the 10 mio is the upper limit the same job could have been done by another qualified firm at way less...

What the state loses is the benefit of getting work done by a similarly qualified firm for much less.Is that stealing?Jijazie

Anyway thats how business is done in Kenya.
#196 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 7:08:03 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

that is not disputed....

You are also a lawyer, so toboa.
#197 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 8:24:46 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

that is not disputed....

a tiger does not proclaim its tigritude bwana....

consider the deposit paid...the further amount demanded...the client (a parastatal)...what the court held ought to have been paid...think about...
http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/14103
http://kenyalaw.org/caselaw/cases/view/11853
#198 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 8:34:00 PM

Post #195
sitaki.kujulikana
#199 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2016 11:36:56 AM

This guy did not make his money now...He made it kitambo kiasi...This is what happens we have several firms all qualified and sit on the panel of various state corporations...So say Hardwood and Hardwood/Masukuma and Masukuma are all in the same panel but get tu small jobs the likes of DBK get the plum jobs because they are "well connected"...lets say its a Judicial Review H&H or M&M would bill the state corporation 1M but would never get the job...DBK on the other hand gets the job bills the corporation like 10 mio ,the MD gets a kick back and life continues...was the work done...yes it was though the 10 mio is the upper limit the same job could have been done by another qualified firm at way less...

What the state loses is the benefit of getting work done by a similarly qualified firm for much less.Is that stealing?Jijazie

as some guy who quotes some other guy on wikipedia puts it
'politics is about battling over scarce governmental resources', if that is stealing then I would suggest an employee who gets paid higher than what someone else would accept as pay is also stealing. (@masukuma usisema ati na derive mambo) smile
#200 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2016 2:38:51 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

as some guy who quotes some other guy on wikipedia puts it
'politics is about battling over scarce governmental resources', if that is stealing then I would suggest an employee who gets paid higher than what someone else would accept as pay is also stealing. (@masukuma usisema ati na derive mambo) smile

Good lawyers, just like good doctors, architects etc do not come cheap. However if all you want is just a laywer there are many who can charge a fraction of the fee. Hata "professionals" like malaya, some charge 200bob while others will charge 20,000 per night, and I can bet that a client hiring the high-end one at 20k, is happier with the service than 200 bob one, despite paying 100 times more.