Sports
2016 Rio Olympics Thread
hardwood wrote:Kenya should be participating in more games, not just athletics. That way we can greatly increase our medal count. you will be surprised to know we have almost all sports offices and are allocated money just that they don't do anything and only salaries are paid to ghosts, I know of chess,darts,horse-riding, netball,hockey, highjump,tripple jumps, they pretend to work by sending an official to school games just for show but this is kenya. for example do you know we have a TSETSE FLY ERADICATION AUTHORITY? Uhuru gazetted the appointment of the chair not long ago. To Each His Own
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
I was elated to see Fiji put on such a masterclass in destroying GB in the sevens final. It was a clinic. The ball handling, the tackling, the breakdowns, migration defence. All fantastic.
I hope Benja and the rest of the Kenya brass are learning here. Hiyo yao ilikuwa mzaha.
Alba wrote:Yaani that Belgian judoka took his bronze medal to a crime prone area. What was he expecting? And where were his judo skills when he needed them most? @ Alba judoka is a competition governed by rules and showmanship...while street fight is flight for survival!The thugs will always take u out in a street fight coz what you do in a judoka class is a simulation situation, NOT REALITY!!!!! I found meaningful work🤓
@Mseto calm down and learn to read emojis. I put those smiley faces there because I was just joking. Yes I know that when you are sucker punched, you don't have time to react
Riadha yaanza leo. Almaz Ayana is gonna finish 50 metres ahead of the field in the 10K. Kenya gets silver and bronze.
#Rudisha and #Fergerson Rotich qualify, Alfred next. Finally the games have kicked on. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
Alba wrote:Riadha yaanza leo. Almaz Ayana is gonna finish 50 metres ahead of the field in the 10K. Kenya gets silver and bronze. Ayana is the one to watch dibaba is a bit rusty but still....and burka kick is a bit wanting .The kenyans should not let Ayana out of their sights once she is gone....she is gone.
Nigel Amos is out of 800M, gold now very likely. That guy had made Rudisha his bitch for the longest time. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
This Ethiopia Ayana has taken 10km kabisa In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
madollar wrote:Alba wrote:Riadha yaanza leo. Almaz Ayana is gonna finish 50 metres ahead of the field in the 10K. Kenya gets silver and bronze. Ayana is the one to watch dibaba is a bit rusty but still....and burka kick is a bit wanting .The kenyans should not let Ayana out of their sights once she is gone....she is gone. Ayana is astonishing ! Breaking the world record by sijui 17 seconds and then lapping almost the whole field. I knew she was gonna win by far but this is ridiculous
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
madollar wrote:[quote=masukuma]Women 800m? Sioni!! Women 5k-10k pocket rocket tu ndio anaweza saidia. 5K No their is a lady from ethiopia called ayana moto wakuotea mbali she might even break the world record.If she doubles and goes for the 10K then kenyans will be left doing the chasing kama kawa. For team kenya among women hakuna clear favourite maybe steeplechase but kuna a tunisian who may spoil the party and the marathon which is usually very open when it comes to the olympics. Ayana moto wa kuotea mbali with a new world record.
madollar wrote:madollar wrote:[quote=masukuma]Women 800m? Sioni!! Women 5k-10k pocket rocket tu ndio anaweza saidia. 5K No their is a lady from ethiopia called ayana moto wakuotea mbali she might even break the world record.If she doubles and goes for the 10K then kenyans will be left doing the chasing kama kawa. For team kenya among women hakuna clear favourite maybe steeplechase but kuna a tunisian who may spoil the party and the marathon which is usually very open when it comes to the olympics. Ayana moto wa kuotea mbali with a new world record. Forget the Tunisian. The winner of the 3000m steeplechase will be Ruth Jebet who has defected to BahrainAgain its possible no Kenyan woman will strike gold. Maybe marathon and maybe 1500m
10,000M silver is great. The winner broke the WR "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Alba wrote:madollar wrote:Alba wrote:Riadha yaanza leo. Almaz Ayana is gonna finish 50 metres ahead of the field in the 10K. Kenya gets silver and bronze. Ayana is the one to watch dibaba is a bit rusty but still....and burka kick is a bit wanting .The kenyans should not let Ayana out of their sights once she is gone....she is gone. Ayana is astonishing ! Breaking the world record by sijui 17 seconds and then lapping almost the whole field. I knew she was gonna win by far but this is ridiculous She is out of this world,once she lined up for this i knew the gold was hers,but the way she did it was breathtaking.Kudos to Vivian for the silver she was just up against a much better athlete today despite running the third fastest time in history .Even for 5000m the battle is for other medals,the gold has its owner just waiting for the hour.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:10,000M silver is great. The winner broke the WR It is great Ayana has broken a record from the dope using chinise women from the early 90s.The lady athletes now have to target Joyner's 100m and 200m records as well as the 400m and 800m ones held by east Europeans from the 80s all very suspect.I believed Pamela Jelimo had the 800m one within her reach before she faded away.
I see Nijel Amos is out in the heats of 800m for men,but still a few tough guys for Kenyans to face in the semis.
cnn wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:10,000M silver is great. The winner broke the WR It is great Ayana has broken a record from the dope using chinise women from the early 90s.The lady athletes now have to target Joyner's 100m and 200m records as well as the 400m and 800m ones held by east Europeans from the 80s all very suspect.I believed Pamela Jelimo had the 800m one within her reach before she faded away. I have become so jaded that I am not inclined to give anyone benefit of doubt when it comes to doping. So when a person wins a medal, even if Kenyan, I have to consider the possibility that they are doping. When a person breaks a record by 17 seconds you really have to wonder. Just this year, Jama Aden who coaches Genzebe and Mo Farah was busted with viles of EPO
Alba wrote:cnn wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:10,000M silver is great. The winner broke the WR It is great Ayana has broken a record from the dope using chinise women from the early 90s.The lady athletes now have to target Joyner's 100m and 200m records as well as the 400m and 800m ones held by east Europeans from the 80s all very suspect.I believed Pamela Jelimo had the 800m one within her reach before she faded away. I have become so jaded that I am not inclined to give anyone benefit of doubt when it comes to doping. So when a person wins a medal, even if Kenyan, I have to consider the possibility that they are doping. When a person breaks a record by 17 seconds you really have to wonder. Just this year, Jama Aden who coaches Genzebe and Mo Farah was busted with viles of EPO And where has she been this year? I will give Ayana the benefit of doubt,looking at today's race even a younger Vivian would have probably run that well.Is there a low altitude factor in today's fast times...four ladies ran in under 30 minutes.
Genzebe has not been running much probably because of the fiasco with her coach being busted for EPO. I am fairly certain that Genzebe Dibaba is a doper as is Mo Farah.
In any case most countries including Ethiopia and Kenya do not have an off season dope testing program. Remember that doping is most effective when you are doing your pre-season running. Athletes build up their endurance during the months of January to March and thats when they dope. So testing during the Olympics is almost useless.
Without an effective off-season testing program in each country, its difficult to believe any result.
Just too many swimming events. But the best today is the one Schooling beat Phelps and Le Clos...Classic! the nemesis tied with a Hungarian for the Silver medal One gold, 3 silvers, first Singapore gold medal...history was made. This boy beat that man.... ofcourse after growing up "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Sports
2016 Rio Olympics Thread