11 Pages«<34567>»
Apology
#81 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 6:27:53 PM

enyands wrote:
there is that powerful clip by Umar Johnson talking about black people and wealth/riches

our problem is not.that we splurging but every time we splurge we are stealing from our future generations

does it make sense?

It is nonsense. You can't talk about about inter-generational wealth and not talk about history. He should look at the history of wealth in America, and realize that the system was always rigged against blacks. Blacks were supposed to be slaves and weren't allowed to own any land or property. And land holdings comprise some of the most important of the inter-generational wealth. So the slaves were freed but remained as tenants on their masters farms or left to cities to look for work, while the white man continued holding his property portfolio, utilizing it productively, and passing it to his descendants. Meanwhile, black land and property ownership was deliberately sabotaged, and even those blacks who acquired land faced alot of difficulties with some being chased out by their white neighbours and ended up loosing their land. Many black land owners couldn't get loans to develop the land and lost the land.

But the future looks bright since the modern economy has diverse asset classes eg stocks, homes, businesses, real estate etc which do not discriminate against blacks and therefore blacks will be passing more wealth to their descendants. Blacks are also more enlightened to make long term financial decisions.

http://www.huffingtonpos...early-14_b_8395448.html

The day we start to recognize that we are black and regarded as less in race hierarchy to the eyes of non blacks even if we arent is the day a third eye will open thus forget superiority syndrome,embracing the idea that we are blacks and not whites in black man's skin.

Did he even listen to the clip?

Forgive him, the clip is very clear and it clearly shows why most of my relatives are poor compared to @masukuma's. Great thinking!!!
Taurrus
#82 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 7:23:39 PM

enyands wrote:
there is that powerful clip by Umar Johnson talking about black people and wealth/riches

our problem is not.that we splurging but every time we splurge we are stealing from our future generations

does it make sense?

It is nonsense. You can't talk about about inter-generational wealth and not talk about history. He should look at the history of wealth in America, and realize that the system was always rigged against blacks. Blacks were supposed to be slaves and weren't allowed to own any land or property. And land holdings comprise some of the most important of the inter-generational wealth. So the slaves were freed but remained as tenants on their masters farms or left to cities to look for work, while the white man continued holding his property portfolio, utilizing it productively, and passing it to his descendants. Meanwhile, black land and property ownership was deliberately sabotaged, and even those blacks who acquired land faced alot of difficulties with some being chased out by their white neighbours and ended up loosing their land. Many black land owners couldn't get loans to develop the land and lost the land.

But the future looks bright since the modern economy has diverse asset classes eg stocks, homes, businesses, real estate etc which do not discriminate against blacks and therefore blacks will be passing more wealth to their descendants. Blacks are also more enlightened to make long term financial decisions.

The day we start to recognize that we are black and regarded as less in race hierarchy to the eyes of non blacks even if we arent is the day a third eye will open thus forget superiority syndrome,embracing the idea that we are blacks and not whites in black man's skin.

Forgive him, the clip is very clear and it clearly shows why most of my relatives are poor compared to @masukuma's. Great thinking!!!

Wahindis in USA are very successful but you dont see them buy big cars and naughty videos downgrading their sisters and daughters,they build schools,supermarkets,hospitals etc and religion centres where the community is key unlike a personality.
#83 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 7:32:07 PM

Taurrus wrote:
enyands wrote:

does it make sense?

Wahindis in USA are very successful but you dont see them buy big cars and naughty videos downgrading their sisters and daughters,they build schools,supermarkets,hospitals etc and religion centres where the community is key unlike a personality.

So it's a sin buying a big car?
#84 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 8:14:10 PM

Taurrus wrote:
enyands wrote:

does it make sense?

of course not! the whole debate is an outsiders debate on how to keep wealth! What I have noticed is that communities and cultures that grow wealthy have intergenerational wealth being passed down and also have a culture of not splurging. pick a community that is doing well several generations down the line have one thing in common - they try to keep the money in the family and don't show off. just observations lakini. is splurging a characteristic of the nouveau riche! No one says it's wrong but rather a characteristic of new money http://www.therichest.co...quickly-after-making-it/
#85 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 9:32:05 PM

Taurrus wrote:
enyands wrote:
[quote=masukuma]there is that powerful clip by Umar Johnson talking about black people and wealth/riches

does it make sense?

of course not! the whole debate is an outsiders debate on how to keep wealth! What I have noticed is that communities and cultures that grow wealthy have intergenerational wealth being passed down and also have a culture of not splurging. pick a community that is doing well several generations down the line have one thing in common - they try to keep the money in the family and don't show off. just observations lakini. is splurging a characteristic of the nouveau riche! No one says it's wrong but rather a characteristic of new money http://www.therichest.co...uickly-after-making-it/[/quote]

Can you provide us with "data" for this statement that you've just made:

"pick a community that is doing well several generations down the line have one thing in common - they try to keep the money in the family and don't show off. "
#86 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 9:56:33 PM

Taurrus wrote:
enyands wrote:
[quote=masukuma]there is that powerful clip by Umar Johnson talking about black people and wealth/riches

does it make sense?

of course not! the whole debate is an outsiders debate on how to keep wealth! What I have noticed is that communities and cultures that grow wealthy have intergenerational wealth being passed down and also have a culture of not splurging. pick a community that is doing well several generations down the line have one thing in common - they try to keep the money in the family and don't show off. just observations lakini. is splurging a characteristic of the nouveau riche! No one says it's wrong but rather a characteristic of new money http://www.therichest.co...uickly-after-making-it/[/quote]

Can you provide us with "data" and examples for this statement that you've just made:

"pick a community that is doing well several generations down the line have one thing in common - they try to keep the money in the family and don't show off. "

I asked you to pick a community!! smile so wewe tafuta data!
anyway - there are three types of "money" i.e. "old money", "new money" and "no money" ! most of us are in the "no money" corner discussing the characteristics of "old money" vs "new money"! It's likely that I would do some "new money" things if I got a stash that large. I would beat myself up later but would still splurge it... just a bit like for a night... or two!
Taurrus
#87 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 10:13:07 PM

Just take the kenyan muhindi community, they control this economy in a big way! just the other day ndio tumejua kariobangi light industries,unfortunately our middle crass still dismiss the products from that quarter,still believing in imports.
Taurrus
#88 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 10:16:16 PM

to add,they are not a fun of second hand imports...cars and mitumba!
#89 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 10:35:42 PM

Taurrus wrote:
to add,they are not a fun of second hand imports...cars and mitumba!

Kenya must be the only country in the world where middle class professionals (doctors, lawyers, engineers, professors etc) can't afford to walk into a showroom and buy a new car. They can only afford mitumba. Something must be seriously wrong with this country. At least "our Donald" is giving us hope that a professional can afford a new car. That you don't have to be a "Ndegwa" or politician to walk into a showroom and buy yourself a new car.
#90 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 5:29:13 AM

does it make sense?

Nyeuthi has actually done well in land ownership in US compared to the other races (excluding whites). Hispanics who are 18% of population own much less compared to Nyeuthi who are only 12%. Infact they are yet to produce a president!!

That said, Nyeuthi needs to shift focus and think about the future generations. Most of the wealth for the jews remain with the jews, indians, asians etc. Hapa Africa, you get kidogo cash, all you think is spending it mayuu..range rovers, clothes etc. we dont think in terms of need but the status, show off, nimefika..bure kabisa.

24M range rover those are 24 Mobius trucks. made right here home. invest that money with a local company, more R & D and in 10 years, Mobius would probably produce a car same level as Range Rover, but try explain that to a 'lawyer'

bure kabisa!
#91 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 8:56:17 AM

By the way, while at it, what is the cap of the value of the car that should be uploaded on social media without causing a hullabaloo? I have noted so many guys complaining about this Donald guy yet they usually upload their blue subarus, Toyos, and such others while at drinking sprees around Isinya and rugby tournaments.
#92 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 9:16:18 AM

does it make sense?

Nyeuthi has actually done well in land ownership in US compared to the other races (excluding whites). Hispanics who are 18% of population own much less compared to Nyeuthi who are only 12%. Infact they are yet to produce a president!!

That said, Nyeuthi needs to shift focus and think about the future generations. Most of the wealth for the jews remain with the jews, indians, asians etc. Hapa Africa, you get kidogo cash, all you think is spending it mayuu..range rovers, clothes etc. we dont think in terms of need but the status, show off, nimefika..bure kabisa.

24M range rover those are 24 Mobius trucks.
made right here home. invest that money with a local company, more R & D and in 10 years, Mobius would probably produce a car same level as Range Rover, but try explain that to a 'lawyer'

bure kabisa!

This DBK chap has done his bit, thats why he is buying the RR, would it make any difference if he didn't splash it on Social media.

He probably already has a successful law firm employing many kenyans as lawyers and parralegals, is that not enough? He must have even employed locals to construct that house in his shags.

And why do you want him to buy Mobius, what is he supposed to do with such trucks
#93 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 9:20:43 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

does it make sense?

24M range rover those are 24 Mobius trucks.
made right here home. invest that money with a local company, more R & D and in 10 years, Mobius would probably produce a car same level as Range Rover, but try explain that to a 'lawyer'

bure kabisa!

This DBK chap has done his bit, thats why he is buying the RR, would it make any difference if he didn't splash it on Social media.

He probably already has a successful law firm employing many kenyans as lawyers and parralegals, is that not enough? He must have even employed locals to construct that house in his shags.

And why do you want him to buy Mobius, what is he supposed to do with such trucks

post them on facebook...
#94 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 9:53:12 AM

I tend to think that money (and power) magnifies attributes of an individual. if you are arrogant - Money shows it, if you are generous - money shows it. if you are imprudent - we shall know when you come across a large stash of cash. if you are showy - that as well. But that's my opinion. But let's discuss the facts
these are the facts:
1) Pesa ni ya DBK - sio yetu. we are observers with opinions
2) Most of us don't know how it is having that kind of cash
3) We can only give opinions, it does not mean these opinions are wrong or right! We are making observations based on what we have seen
4) At the end of the day pesa ni ya DBK and he will need to live with his choices na sio sisi
#95 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 10:18:07 AM

By the way, while at it, what is the cap of the value of the car that should be uploaded on social media without causing a hullabaloo? I have noted so many guys complaining about this Donald guy yet they usually upload their blue subarus, Toyos, and such others while at drinking sprees around Isinya and rugby tournaments.

wako na kiwaru, sio?
#96 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 10:22:34 AM

The problem with many people is WIVU, KIWARU, just because the Donald is doing better than them. They are happy to upload their mitumbas, but when the Donald uploads his car, they become mad. Some can't even get sleep due to that RR.
#97 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 10:22:52 AM

24M range rover those are 24 Mobius trucks. made right here home. invest that money with a local company, more R & D and in 10 years, Mobius would probably produce a car same level as Range Rover, but try explain that to a 'lawyer'

bure kabisa!

surely? Then what will the point be in DBK cannot 'thank himself'?
#98 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 11:12:50 AM

bure kabisa!

As long as he can prove that the money is CLEAN, KOT will have no kworol with him.

#99 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 11:26:19 AM

bure kabisa!

By bragging to the world? He is just like Donald Trumpamba. Real successful people do things that will change the world and will be remembered for generations to come. Anyway how you behave when you get lots of cash says a lot about you as an individual.
#100 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 11:30:31 AM

Personally I don't think there is anything wrong with this debate. my analysis is that we have 3 types of camps here
1) Camp 1 - that does not see anything wrong with - kufuta jasho after a hard day of work. they ask - nani alikuwa anatafutiwa anyway? Kujilipa
2) Camp 2 - that has book knowledge of how to spend money... large amounts of money wisely. discussing how to spend money here are actually regurgitating principles they have learnt but not tested.
3) Camp 3 - a subset of Camp 1 that think everyone in Camp 2 is a hater! has Kiwaru! A school of thought where they are an important part of the universe and there are roving green eyes looking at their every move. Most of them being imaginary. Sorry, you are not that important.

I personally think I am in Camp 2 - one that believes in delaying gratification and getting pushing the celebration of their success perpetually into the future. But i think I am also not fooled into thinking it's easy! coming across cash will test you proper! just because you know it's supposed to be done does not make it easy to do! SIMPLE things are not to be confused with EASY! that is where culture comes in. what is your social currency? - what is valued by yourself and your circle of friends. <-- culture plays a big role in defining this. That is why I asked you to examine the communities who do well. As part of their culture they sort this out. They build character in the midst of wealth. Most (not I said Most not All) sports people come from poor backgrounds and their talent puts them where their character cannot uphold them. Sometimes you have really wealthy people who seem to have it honed. Akina steve jobs - they were net successful but grew up poor(ish). Utaona private jet or yule jamaa wa Oracle! if you look at the jewish lot. Akina Zuckerberg, Larry Page e.t.c. they are happy to ride economy. Gates used to do coach as well. Mimi? hehehe... sitaRide coach nikipata nafasi.
It's true that old money does not do these things unless they want to impress their friends who are not in old money circles. I guess it depends on what your social currency is it's possible that people who have grown without worries don't feel obliged to spend especially if they are surrounded by people who also grew up in those circles. if they are striving to impress (social currency as well) everyone - they put up photos of their toys on social networks. It's the same for people who put their clothes they have, cars they have, food they are eating, places they have eaten been to, every seemingly clever/witty/hiraous thing that comes to mind , people who feel obliged to tell us where they have traveled to (duniani) e.t.c. No one is perfect ( think i am in the last two)
But hey - these are just my opinions. but i think money (and power) magnifies attributes of an individual.