wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

14 Pages«<23456>»
2016 Rio Olympics Thread
Jump-steady
#61 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 2:57:12 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
Belgian Judo Bronze medalist was robbed as he was celebrating his win at the beach.

Thug punches Belgium’s ‘Bear from Brecht’ judo medalist in face on Copacabana, steals phone

These Rio thugs are quite a menaceSad
#62 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 3:11:21 PM

Munalianga racism day in day out but look at your tabias?

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqxvqlDXc7I/youtube]

I was surprised that Brazil has 70m million blacks and is the second country in the world with highest black population after Nigeria.

@Harrydre, what has that got to do with being black. I see thieves who happen to be black, brown and even white even on that clip.

Keep your insecurities to yourself, for us no excuses, hatutaki racism.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 3:26:41 PM

Kenya should be participating in more games, not just athletics. That way we can greatly increase our medal count.

#64 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 3:35:34 PM

Mmecheki the Brazilian volleyball team...woii
Alba
#65 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 3:39:12 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
Anti_Burglar wrote:
Belgian Judo Bronze medalist was robbed as he was celebrating his win at the beach.

Thug punches Belgium’s ‘Bear from Brecht’ judo medalist in face on Copacabana, steals phone

Brazilian criminals are not patriotic. You will recall that when South Africa hosted the world cup, there were fears about South Africa's high crime rate. Yet the criminals heeded the government request to spare world cup visitors from muggings and carjackings for the sake of the country's reputation.
#66 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 4:47:50 PM

[quote=hardwood]Kenya should be participating in more games, not just athletics. That way we can greatly increase our medal count.

So far Africa has 2 silvers from swimming and by the end of the games 50% of all medals from africa will be from kenya and ethiopia.Another thing you just dont show up at the olympics qualifying rounds and times is a major hinderance when it comes to africas sporting teams.
#67 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 5:12:39 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
Anti_Burglar wrote:

What we are seeing is an influx of thugs from other towns to Rio to cash in on the games. A life time sort of thing or just like it hapens when a liner with tourists land Mambasani. On a good day, other than for the Favelas, Rio Centro, Ipanema and Copa Cabana are fairly safe.
#68 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 5:49:03 PM

Kenya should be participating in more games, not just athletics. That way we can greatly increase our medal count.

You need to care about sports to begin with! In order to make it as a general sporting nation you need to have facilities and a culture of children - lots of children playing these sports from a young age! Technically these sports do add anything substantial as compared to the amount of effort put in them! In country where this is a normality - we are climbing the tree from the top.

I dare say that we are actually punching way beyond our weight in sports right now... way beyond! If countries like Portugal have been in the games since 1912 and have a total haul of 4 gold medals in all those years - with a GDP 5 times our size. some sports are a product of a prosperous economy. India with it's 1 billion people and an economy the size of africa has a total of 9 medals in all olympic games where 8 were hockey and 1 is shooting. So let's climb hii kitu pole pole.
#69 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 5:51:08 PM

Alba wrote:
Peter Mungai who got a bye in the 1st round won his 2nd round bout jana. One more win and he assured of at least a bronze. Kenya has not won a boxing medal tangu 1988.

Applause Applause

He will face Argilagos of Cuba. Hapa maombi tuuPray Wish him the best though.

Bad news...Kenya's Peter Mungai beaten 3-0 pts by Cuba's Joahnys Argilagos in a light fly bout in Rio.
Alba
#70 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 6:19:07 PM

Most Olympic sports like archery and equestrian are bogus and not worthwhile.

Given the high youth unemployment rate, Kenya should invest in sports that can provide a livelihood. There is good money to be made in amateur boxing, athletics and football. Sports like basketball and volleyball can earn players scholarships to the US and other countries and even professional contracts overseas. Field events and the sprints can also make a person good money.
#71 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 6:28:29 PM

Japan twangad us proper 31-7.Tulienda tour....
#72 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 6:40:30 PM

Alba wrote:

Most Olympic sports like archery and equestrian are bogus and not worthwhile.

Given the high youth unemployment rate, Kenya should invest in sports that can provide a livelihood. There is good money to be made in amateur boxing, athletics and football. Sports like basketball and volleyball can earn players scholarships to the US and other countries and even professional contracts overseas. Field events and the sprints can also make a person good money.

Ata ile ye Fencing inasaidia aje sasa?

#73 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 10:40:16 PM

in many many ways Olympic games are pissing contests... Nations showing each other whose boss!
#74 Posted : Wednesday, August 10, 2016 11:51:36 PM

in many many ways Olympic games are pissing contests... Nations showing each other whose boss!

I am really enjoying hii compe ya farasi kurukaruka and kudance dance with swag and madoido, equestrian. Just wondering - did the competitors ship their horses to Brazil, coz that must be damn expensive.
#75 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 9:00:58 AM

[quote=hardwood]Kenya should be participating in more games, not just athletics. That way we can greatly increase our medal count.

You need to care about sports to begin with! In order to make it as a general sporting nation you need to have facilities and a culture of children - lots of children playing these sports from a young age! Technically these sports do add anything substantial as compared to the amount of effort put in them! In country where this is a normality - we are climbing the tree from the top.

I dare say that we are actually punching way beyond our weight in sports right now... way beyond! If countries like Portugal have been in the games since 1912 and have a total haul of 4 gold medals in all those years - with a GDP 5 times our size. some sports are a product of a prosperous economy. India with it's 1 billion people and an economy the size of africa has a total of 9 medals in all olympic games where 8 were hockey and 1 is shooting. So let's climb hii kitu pole pole.

Michael Phelps has single handedly won more gold medals than 91 countries
#76 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 12:28:10 PM

#77 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 1:23:49 PM

Spain 14 Kenya 12 (placing 9-12).
#78 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 1:38:28 PM

I am really enjoying hii compe ya farasi kurukaruka and kudance dance with swag and madoido, equestrian. Just wondering - did the competitors ship their horses to Brazil, coz that must be damn expensive.

Oh yes... it's your horse. I have seen them being trained for that dance... sio mchezo!! dancing hiyo kitu sio mchezo. By the way US may hit their 1,000 Gold medal in Rio... I think they are at 988 now and sisi tuko mahali at 25!!
#79 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:47:02 PM

Alba
#80 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 3:48:07 PM

Yaani that Belgian judoka took his bronze medal to a crime prone area. What was he expecting?
And where were his judo skills when he needed them most? smile smile