United States of Africa
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
I came across this comment/post from a republican. Quote:I lean very much to the right and my voting record over the last 50 years shows it. However, I can not support Trump. My impression is he tends to shoot from the hip. As president I believe he would tend to take action before carefully thinking through the consequences. Also, if you look at his campaign, beyond very general slogans, we have no idea what he intends to do beyond being combative. I also get the distinct impression he has not thought it through either. What Trump has managed to do is tap into anger and frustration of the American population. This motivates on a visceral, rather than intellectual level. When this happens, people will tend to accept the package without closely examining the contents. This can be highly unpredictable and lead to undesirable consequences. Trump's campaign reminds me very much of another politician who was swept into power in 1933 Germany. I am not comparing Trump to this person. There is no comparison. While times and situations are very different; the strategies both used/is using to get elected are very much the same. Appeal on an emotional level while not offering any concrete direction. This I find very dangerous. This German gentleman also once said something to the effect, "What luck it is for governments that men do not think.". I do believe if Trump is elected he will manage to alienate our allies, infuriate our enemies, while being ineffective at home. Congress will try to keep him in check. Of course Trump will use strong arm tactics that will end up in massive gridlock. At the same time I can not support Hillary either. We know all to well what she will do. She will try to make the American people more dependent that ever on the government. The cost of doing this will lead to a more massive debt that is already beyond control. A population dependent on a government is controlled by that government. This leads to a loss of self determination and freedom. A situation I find immoral. What makes Hillary so dangerous is she has the knowledge, the strings to pull, favors to call in, and possibly enough dirt on people to make it happen. Its damned if we do, damned if we don't. What this means is that in the eyes of republicans with a bit of grey matter between their ears - this is tough call. But they have an option... one they know will not win but this option will be seen as a protest vote. The libertarians. I have always felt the libertarians were a misunderstood lot. I know for a fact that a mzungu friend of mine, a high ranking republican official in D.C. Will not be voting for Trump. He was a delegate at the RNC and was among the people that walked out of that circus. He is voting for Gary Johnson the libertarian. Libertarians may have a strong showing this time around simply by riding on protest votes from the Republican camp. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. Putting the gimmicks aside, Trump is as pro-establishment as Clinton.
chemirocha wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. Putting the gimmicks aside, Trump is as pro-establishment as Clinton. Evidence suggests otherwise. They say, as well rehashed by their so-inclined MSM sources, that he is 'dangerous'. A fib told a thousand times becomes a truth to the average American, like clock work always.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Anti_Burglar wrote:chemirocha wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. Putting the gimmicks aside, Trump is as pro-establishment as Clinton. Evidence suggests otherwise. They say, as well rehashed by their so-inclined MSM sources, that he is 'dangerous'. A fib told a thousand times becomes a truth to the average American, like clock work always. Americans need to vote for change and Hillary DOES NOT represent change, rather voting for her will mean continuing with the status quo. Infact it will even be worse since Bill Clinton will be ruling from the bedroom.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
Anti_Burglar wrote:chemirocha wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. Putting the gimmicks aside, Trump is as pro-establishment as Clinton. Evidence suggests otherwise. They say, as well rehashed by their so-inclined MSM sources, that he is 'dangerous'. A fib told a thousand times becomes a truth to the average American, like clock work always. What evidence? Trump's proposed policies on healthcare, tax reform and global trade are pro-elite.
Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. What does "establishment" mean in this context. Should I assume its the governing rules? It therefore implies that every politician who wants to rule is pro establishment, the wiser one's figure this out faster than the dumb one's who think they can move bureaucracy faster than it has been made to move "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. What does "establishment" mean in this context. Should I assume its the governing rules? It therefore implies that every politician who wants to rule is pro establishment, the wiser one's figure this out faster than the dumb one's who think they can move bureaucracy faster than it has been made to move Yes. I take it to mean for example yaani, wenyewe. The owners. They could be generations or decades into politics for example. Those who believe power inherently belongs to them by some 'right' that the plebeian has not earned. Plebians can become part of the establishment if they agree to be titular, like Obama. The establishment, like the house, always win.
hardwood wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:chemirocha wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:Red or Blue makes no difference so long as it is the establishment that continues. Therefore, because Trump is not from the establishment, the establishment is ganging up against him to support their own. This American elections have always been a charade and this one will be no exception. Putting the gimmicks aside, Trump is as pro-establishment as Clinton. Evidence suggests otherwise. They say, as well rehashed by their so-inclined MSM sources, that he is 'dangerous'. A fib told a thousand times becomes a truth to the average American, like clock work always. Americans need to vote for change and Hillary DOES NOT represent change, rather voting for her will mean continuing with the status quo. Infact it will even be worse since Bill Clinton will be ruling from the bedroom. Yes, We can! Change We Can Believe In! Even a Nobel Peace Prize was awarded in anticipation of the promised change. The status quo was well grounded and the previous red administration policy of wars were continued in the blue administration and will continue regardless. Trump just might break this if he succeeds and provided he does not sell out when he does succeed.
United States of Africa