wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Uwanja wa Bomett
Alba
#1 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 1:33:45 AM

Does anyone know what happened to the much vaunted Bomett stadium?

It peaked my interest when I saw a news report suggesting that Bomett was building a 37,000 capacity stadium which would be the 2nd largest in Kenya. The completion date was supposed to be December 2015.

Then what happened?
Alba
#2 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 1:35:31 AM

chemirocha
#3 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 8:16:26 AM

The football pitch is usable although the running track and stands remain incomplete. The project itself has had many controversies and remains far from complete.

These are photos from last weekend.

kayhara
#4 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 8:44:17 AM

chemirocha wrote:
The football pitch is usable although the running track and stands remain incomplete. The project itself has had many controversies and remains far from complete.

These are photos from last weekend.

Are the stands concrete or wood, not visible in the pics..

To Each His Own
Boris Boyka
#5 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 8:45:33 AM

Alba wrote:
Does anyone know what happened to the much vaunted Bomett stadium?

It peaked my interest when I saw a news report suggesting that Bomett was building a 37,000 capacity stadium which would be the 2nd largest in Kenya. The completion date was supposed to be December 2015.

Then what happened?

The locale call it Pomee! @Chemirocha what was the role of the Verbose Governor Ruto in the stadium thing?
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
chemirocha
#6 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 9:00:51 AM

It's a project of the county government and the stands are concrete.

Here's another link Bomet Stadium
#7 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 10:36:16 AM

The workmanship looks very poor.
chemirocha
#8 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 1:59:55 PM

This project has had so much controversy from the start. Its up to the people of Bomet County to ask for accountability of their 200 million shilling stadium.
#9 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 2:35:51 PM

The workmanship looks better than these fire machines.

sitaki.kujulikana
#10 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 3:30:47 PM

At least whoever is doing that has tried to put up something, thats an okay start, but to aki na @impunity and the engineers, whats so complex in putting up a decent structure, at least concrete steps that are presentable, at least compact clay for the running track, kidogo nice paintwork just to make the thing presentable.
Alba
#11 Posted : Monday, August 01, 2016 4:22:50 PM

Thanks for the update @Chemirocha

I am impressed. That stadium is much better than the Machakos one. And it was completed much quicker than the Kisumu one which took 6 years just to make minor improvements and is still not complete. Its not perfect but its a start.

Secondly I am impressed by the size of that crowd for a football much. Any idea who was playing?
If I were to estimate I would say the seating capacity is about 20,000. That is still impressive and makes it the 3rd largest stadium in Kenya.

TSi
#12 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 4:45:56 PM

Na ile ya Ngong ilienda aje?
#13 Posted : Friday, August 05, 2016 10:55:00 PM

I am really impressed regardless of the esthetics of the stadium. For as long as it is not structurally unsound it does not have to have many madoidos to look like Emirates ama Old Trafford. Bora wananchi wanajienjoy ndani.

The usefulness of these mashinani projects are twofold. I would say 40% is the finished product but 60% is how it is done; all the young guys who work there and get money to go and build their small vibandas at home or buy a cow...... all the supplies that are sourced from local hardwares, all the mama mbogas, mama chapatis who sell to the mjengo guys. Keep money flowing mashinani.
#14 Posted : Saturday, August 06, 2016 10:52:35 AM

I am really impressed regardless of the esthetics of the stadium. For as long as it is not structurally unsound it does not have to have many madoidos to look like Emirates ama Old Trafford. Bora wananchi wanajienjoy ndani.

[color=red]The usefulness of these mashinani projects are twofold. I would say 40% is the finished product but 60% is how it is done; all the young guys who work there and get money to go and build their small vibandas at home or buy a cow...... all the supplies that are sourced from local hardwares, all the mama mbogas, mama chapatis who sell to the mjengo guys. Keep money flowing mashinani.

[/color

]

Very true. With all its challenges, devolution has had an impact on the local economy. The " It is our turn to eat" has been decentralized and eating is now done locally and all the "eaters" seems happy. In the county where i live, all the local foot paths have been graded and from the murram trucks and heavy graders i see, a lot of locals seems to be making cash.
sitaki.kujulikana
#15 Posted : Saturday, August 06, 2016 11:16:45 AM

Gathige wrote:

[color=red]The usefulness of these mashinani projects are twofold. I would say 40% is the finished product but 60% is how it is done; all the young guys who work there and get money to go and build their small vibandas at home or buy a cow...... all the supplies that are sourced from local hardwares, all the mama mbogas, mama chapatis who sell to the mjengo guys. Keep money flowing mashinani.

[/color

]

Very true. With all its challenges, devolution has had an impact on the local economy. The " It is our turn to eat" has been decentralized and eating is now done locally and all the "eaters" seems happy. In the county where i live, all the local foot paths have been graded and from the murram trucks and heavy graders i see, a lot of locals seems to be making cash.

thats what the first government used to dupe kenyans, ati as long as something is on the ground you should be happy with it, actually they made kenyans think that its a favor they were doing the citizens when they initiated any project. the people from boms should be asking why the running track has not been laid considering most of their sons and daughters excel at athletics, they should be questioning why they are sitting in a half done stadium with dirt everywhere, they should be questioning if its the cash that was not enough and if so why they started on a project only to leave it half way.
wacheni kuwa mediocre, the romans were building better looking stadiums way back before the birth of christ. we should aim at devolution being about service provision, better health facilities, piped water, well paved roads not dirt tracks, then we will start seeing a change in the lives of majority of kenyans, not 200 bob hand outs to locals to build a dirt track. we would better if the guys from china build better roads without the locals getting the small handout but have a better road that will enable the locals to better transport their produce and stuff.
chemirocha
#16 Posted : Saturday, August 06, 2016 12:18:58 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

thats what the first government used to dupe kenyans, ati as long as something is on the ground you should be happy with it, actually they made kenyans think that its a favor they were doing the citizens when they initiated any project. the people from boms should be asking why the running track has not been laid considering most of their sons and daughters excel at athletics, they should be questioning why they are sitting in a half done stadium with dirt everywhere, they should be questioning if its the cash that was not enough and if so why they started on a project only to leave it half way.
wacheni kuwa mediocre, the romans were building better looking stadiums way back before the birth of christ. we should aim at devolution being about service provision, better health facilities, piped water, well paved roads not dirt tracks, then we will start seeing a change in the lives of majority of kenyans, not 200 bob hand outs to locals to build a dirt track. we would better if the guys from china build better roads without the locals getting the small handout but have a better road that will enable the locals to better transport their produce and stuff.

Probably the best post I've seen on this forum Applause