wazua Sat, Jun 28, 2025

778 Pages«<256257258259260>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#5141 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 4:31:12 PM

@arresteddev I empathise with what is happening at your firm and I understand that its not easy to handle some of the decisions being made. However, I beg to ask just three questions. 1. Was the decision to launch Capetown recently a good one 2. Would operating the Boeing 777 in its current form be cheaper than running the 787 3. Will stopping of the hedging policy impact the H1 results for 2016-2017 in any way

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 544,100 ABP 7.15; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
ArrestedDev
#5142 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 5:03:32 PM

@arresteddev I empathise with what is happening at your firm and I understand that its not easy to handle some of the decisions being made. However, I beg to ask just three questions. 1. Was the decision to launch Capetown recently a good one 2. Would operating the Boeing 777 in its current form be cheaper than running the 787 3. Will stopping of the hedging policy impact the H1 results for 2016-2017 in any way

Stop the sideshows and look at the pertinent issues raised by KALPA and all the analysts who have expressed their sentiments on the management performance of KQ. CPT was long overdue and it only materialized when Yves became the COO, Ngunze was in that position and never saw the opportunity. There is serious lack of cargo capacity in KQ now, Dick Murianki while releasing the results on the 21st observed that bigger Cargo bags cannot be shipped by KQ anymore due to the cargo space constraints arising from the operation of lower capacity planes including the B787. The B777 aircrafts can fit into the operations of KQ in the near future instead of disposing at below market prices as opined by KALPA. It is evident that no one in KQ is knowledgeable enough to manage fuel price volatility through hedging. It is only prudent that KQ stop entering into any further hedging contracts taking into consideration the magnitude of the hedging losses so far recorded. Ngunze reported that they have entered into further hedging contracts during the release of the results.
#5143 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 5:55:50 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:

Stop the sideshows and look at the pertinent issues raised by KALPA and all the analysts who have expressed their sentiments on the management performance of KQ. CPT was long overdue and it only materialized when Yves became the COO, Ngunze was in that position and never saw the opportunity. There is serious lack of cargo capacity in KQ now, Dick Murianki while releasing the results on the 21st observed that bigger Cargo bags cannot be shipped by KQ anymore due to the cargo space constraints arising from the operation of lower capacity planes including the B787. The B777 aircrafts can fit into the operations of KQ in the near future instead of disposing at below market prices as opined by KALPA. It is evident that no one in KQ is knowledgeable enough to manage fuel price volatility through hedging. It is only prudent that KQ stop entering into any further hedging contracts taking into consideration the magnitude of the hedging losses so far recorded. Ngunze reported that they have entered into further hedging contracts during the release of the results.

Aki hapo line ya mwisho umedanganya peupe!!! There are no new hedges. Weka link bro

Spikes
#5144 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 6:06:39 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:

New hedges???? @Obiero hata kama umelipwa kudanganya eti KQ will surprise many wewe kwisha!!!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#5145 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2016 10:45:36 PM

Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

New hedges???? @Obiero hata kama umelipwa kudanganya eti KQ will surprise many wewe kwisha!!!

At the exchange bar nikikata.. Just been informed son to former Tigania East MP Arnold Karauri is none other than Ronald Karauri a former Kenya Airways pilot and past chairman at KALPA, who holds 6% of Sportpesa with an estimated 'personal fortune' of KES 450M.. It's the cartels at KALPA that are feeding the frenzy on Ngunze

ArrestedDev
#5146 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 4:01:58 PM

Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

At the exchange bar nikikata.. Just been informed son to former Tigania East MP Arnold Karauri is none other than Ronald Karauri a former Kenya Airways pilot and past chairman at KALPA, who holds 6% of Sportpesa with an estimated 'personal fortune' of KES 450M.. It's the cartels at KALPA that are feeding the frenzy on Ngunze

Why do you bring in Ronald Karauri into this? He is neither the Secretary General of KALPA nor a pilot with KQ anymore. Leave the brilliant chap to make his money. His stake in Sportpesa should not pain you - where do you think this guy took his million plus salary every month. KQ have entered into new hedges. The below article spells out clearly what Ngunze said at the Pride centre. Even if the earlier expensive hedges ends by March 2017, the new hedges entered into will result in further hedging losses.The sugar coating that you always see in his language is just hogwash. What flexibility is there in a contract that has just been entered? They should not have entered into further hedging contracts. Ngunze is indefensible and should leave.

This has been largely due to the flexibility of the new hedging plans we have entered into that have also seen their timelines reduced to between 12 and 24 months,” Mr Ngunze said, adding that the airline is expecting its expensive hedging contracts to end by March next year, allowing it to fully utilise the benefits of the low oil prices.

This article was posted here.

http://www.theeastafrica...tem-1-yuqnnn/index.html

#5147 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 4:50:54 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

Why do you bring in Ronald Karauri into this? He is neither the Secretary General of KALPA nor a pilot with KQ anymore. Leave the brilliant chap to make his money. His stake in Sportpesa should not pain you - where do you think this guy took his million plus salary every month. KQ have entered into new hedges. The below article spells out clearly what Ngunze said at the Pride centre. Even if the earlier expensive hedges ends by March 2017, the new hedges entered into will result in further hedging losses.The sugar coating that you always see in his language is just hogwash. What flexibility is there in a contract that has just been entered? They should not have entered into further hedging contracts. Ngunze is indefensible and should leave.

This has been largely due to the flexibility of the new hedging plans we have entered into that have also seen their timelines reduced to between 12 and 24 months,” Mr Ngunze said, adding that the airline is expecting its expensive hedging contracts to end by March next year, allowing it to fully utilise the benefits of the low oil prices.

There are no new hedges. What was mentioned in that excerpt is that they have renogiated the previous tenors and brought them down to shorter spans, which is an excellent thing

ArrestedDev
#5148 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 5:41:36 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

There are no new hedges. What was mentioned in that excerpt is that they have renogiated the previous tenors and brought them down to shorter spans, which is an excellent thing

No!!! Tell that to the birds. Read the excerpt very well. KQ has since entered into new hedging plans with timelines of between 12 and 24 months. None of the old hedges have been renegotiated since the rules does not allow and they are still in effect up to March 2017.
Spikes
#5149 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 6:30:09 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

No!!! Tell that to the birds. Read the excerpt very well. KQ has since entered into new hedging plans with timelines of between 12 and 24 months. None of the old hedges have been renegotiated since the rules does not allow and they are still in effect up to March 2017.

Just like @obiero, these KQ clowns have eaten kickbacks again!
ArrestedDev
#5150 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 7:09:38 PM

Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:

Just like @obiero, these KQ clowns have eaten kickbacks again!

Yeah, corruption is going on. This is the reason why Ngunze does not want to resign at all yet he is a very clueless individual. The swift right of reply from the board chair? They do not care about the future of the airline but they are concern about their own welfare. How will KQ compete going forward without a clear strategic plan? The pilots union is right. The forensic audit will be an exercise in futility if Ngunze is in the office.

Even the politicians know, how can a guy who let the planning slip out his hand steer the airline back to profitability? Watch the below...

alotoftalk
#5151 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 8:48:47 PM

KQ should be sold to the highest bidder, same with Mumias, Uchumi etc. When the GoK bails an inefficient business with taxes instead of creating a good business environment where these companies can thrive we can only wait for the cycle to repeat.

The policy of GoK holding stakes in companies need to be revisited. The idea that these are of national importance doesn't hold. They can be sold through the stock exchange without changing the "national importance" narrative.

The government should sell its stake in all matured companies including KQ, Uchumi, EAPPC, Safaricom etc and hold that money through a fund that invests in infrastructure like SGR, Konza, light railways in cities, waste management etc...
Investment philosophy development in progress...
#5152 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2016 9:13:00 PM

alotoftalk wrote:
KQ should be sold to the highest bidder, same with Mumias, Uchumi etc. When the GoK bails an inefficient business with taxes instead of creating a good business environment where these companies can thrive we can only wait for the cycle to repeat.

The policy of GoK holding stakes in companies need to be revisited. The idea that these are of national importance doesn't hold. They can be sold through the stock exchange without changing the "national importance" narrative.

The government should sell its stake in all matured companies including KQ, Uchumi, EAPPC, Safaricom etc and hold that money through a fund that invests in infrastructure like SGR, Konza, light railways in cities, waste management etc...

Wisdom shines in this chap @alotoftalk reminds me of @gatheuzi @stocksmaster @guru254 @minto @muganda @young.. the golden age of wazua

#5153 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 7:49:09 AM

Nope to 20/-... coz at that price I will pull all stops out to buy!
KQ has 6 billion+ in cash (14/- in cash)... So the rest is worth only 6/-?

Spikes
#5154 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 7:55:46 AM

Nope to 20/-... coz at that price I will pull all stops out to buy!
KQ has 6 billion+ in cash (14/- in cash)... So the rest is worth only 6/-?

@obiero explain. Wanjiko wants to know what you mean from the archives.
ArrestedDev
#5155 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 1:29:56 PM

Food for thought.

Curiously, people are buying the shares at Sh4 each on the Nairobi Securities Exchange. As for me; you would have to bribe me with Sh25 per unit for me to accept them! Anyone buying these shares is either a genius who knows something that the rest of us don’t, or a reckless person who doesn’t know what they are doing.

In 12 months from March 31, 2016, Kenya Airways expects to receive a total of Sh29.7 billion and to pay out Sh73.5 billion. Therefore, it needs to look for Sh43.6 billion just to survive up to March 31, next year. Looking a little deeper, we find that, if the company shuts down, it won’t even have enough cash to refund customers for tickets sold in advance!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...23980-3t25t8z/index.html
#5156 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 2:45:28 PM

[quote=ArrestedDev]Food for thought.

Curiously, people are buying the shares at Sh4 each on the Nairobi Securities Exchange. As for me; you would have to bribe me with Sh25 per unit for me to accept them! Anyone buying these shares is either a genius who knows something that the rest of us don’t, or a reckless person who doesn’t know what they are doing.

In 12 months from March 31, 2016, Kenya Airways expects to receive a total of Sh29.7 billion and to pay out Sh73.5 billion. Therefore, it needs to look for Sh43.6 billion just to survive up to March 31, next year. Looking a little deeper, we find that, if the company shuts down, it won’t even have enough cash to refund customers for tickets sold in advance!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...3980-3t25t8z/index.html[/quote]

Bulls eye, but NSE is sleeping on its job and won't suspend KQ until its planes are seized by creditors.
ArrestedDev
#5157 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 3:09:20 PM

Bulls eye, but NSE is sleeping on its job and won't suspend KQ until its planes are seized by creditors.

Drastic steps need to be taken. Unfortunately, the ones in charge are clueless and they are buying hogwash from the CEO. The Company is totally insolvent. The operating profit to be reported in the half year results will still be wiped out by the hedging losses and finance costs. The only thing that will prop up the half year results are the proceeds from the sale of assets. I am very sure Ngunze deliberately dragged the receipt of the proceeds in order to shore up the half year results to fool us.
Spikes
#5158 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 3:16:35 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:

Drastic steps need to be taken. Unfortunately, the ones in charge are clueless and they are buying hogwash from the CEO. The Company is totally insolvent. The operating profit to be reported in the half year results will still be wiped out by the hedging losses and finance costs. The only thing that will prop up the half year results are the proceeds from the sale of assets. I am very sure Ngunze deliberately dragged the receipt of the proceeds in order to shore up the half year results to fool us.

Applause Applause Applause standing ovation!
Ebenyo
#5159 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 5:06:46 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...3980-3t25t8z/index.html[/quote

This is not the pride of africa any longer.Its now the shame of africa.

Towards the goal of financial freedom
#5160 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2016 6:52:15 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

http://www.nation.co.ke/...3980-3t25t8z/index.html[/quote

This is not the pride of africa any longer.Its now the shame of africa.

I will keep quiet for now.. Media on a paid trip to kill KQ turnaround efforts