5 Pages<12345>
SportPesa sponsors Hull City in record deal
#41 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:18:54 AM

Could "we" be washing someone's money? #JustWonderingWithCampaignsComingSoon
kimanimsc
#42 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:22:41 AM

The Director of the new platform “SportPesa” is Gerasim Nikolov. He is “one of the main organizers of credit card draining in the world, according to experts from the National Security Agency (DANS),” the journalist Slavi Angelov from “24 Hours” daily claims in his investigation. His report was aired on the “On Target” broadcast of the public TV BNT1 in June 2014
#43 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:22:50 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Don't get the rationale, what is the business case for sponsoring an anonymous English club, Kenyans will still focus on their Arsenal/Man-U slave masters. Can Sportspesa compete with the Russian oligarchs and the ME petro-dollars

Why not throw all that money at KPL, get it more organized, buy equity in many of the struggling sides and wait to reap rewards in future. Its the longer harder road to take but has the highest upside.

For crying out loud, roll out a Diamond league styled athletics comp in Kenya or Africa, take it to all the major towns/cities and see yourself hitting it big.

I could go on all day about the sporting opportunities I see in Kenya that this guys have ignored

Do kenyans even bother to go watch those athletics competition when they are held in the various parts of the country, or even those volleyball competitions, despite both being successful sports regionally and internationally for Kenya.
Leave alone everyone else, how many parents attend their kids sporting events, like those high school games.

Kenya hakuna sporting opportunities, we just love our booze and politics.

Recently during the Olympics Qualification in Eldoret, the stadium was full to the brim.

#44 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:50:02 AM

Could "we" be washing someone's money? #JustWonderingWithCampaignsComingSoon

I once asked the same question

So I just noticed this pattern - it goes back as far back as the 90s when I was 'conscious'

The 1992 election
So in the early 90s there was this pyramid scheme called TOTO KWA TOTO. this must have been like 1990 OR 1991 labda Guka remembers it. There was another one but I have forgotten the name.

The 1997 Election
I was locked up in a boarding secondary school between 94-97 so I cannot remember any thing between this period

The 2002 Election
in 2000-2001 something called Mullah or Mulla showed up (the 700 bob one). I saw another called Supernova - but this failed to make inroads like Mullah.

The 2007 Election
In 2005-2006, the likes of Deci and Sasanet kicked in.

The 2013 Election
in 2011-2013, we couldn't breath because of all these shortcodes on TV for betting. I remember buying DSTV because these things became too mush!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

2017 Election
now... akina sportpesa and lotto! I took a look at yesterdays nation newspaper and on the sports section there were 3 betting schemes!!
I think this is how they are raising money for the 2017 elections...

is it me or is there a pattern?

But was dismissed as being "it's me".

Anyway - I personally have issues with "betting". it could cloud my judgement. However, sports betting is not a productive industry. Not really seeing how our "export" will work. but hey... I am no expert. Let's see how this spans.
#45 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 10:08:00 AM

kimanimsc wrote:
The Director of the new platform “SportPesa” is Gerasim Nikolov. He is “one of the main organizers of credit card draining in the world, according to experts from the National Security Agency (DANS),” the journalist Slavi Angelov from “24 Hours” daily claims in his investigation. His report was aired on the “On Target” broadcast of the public TV BNT1 in June 2014

d'oh! Sad
#46 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 10:34:27 AM

kimanimsc wrote:

d'oh! Sad

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You thought this was a Kenyan idea smile
mkeiy
#47 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 11:21:07 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Rollins wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Don't get the rationale, what is the business case for sponsoring an anonymous English club, Kenyans will still focus on their Arsenal/Man-U slave masters. Can Sportspesa compete with the Russian oligarchs and the ME petro-dollars

Why not throw all that money at KPL, get it more organized, buy equity in many of the struggling sides and wait to reap rewards in future. Its the longer harder road to take but has the highest upside.

For crying out loud, roll out a Diamond league styled athletics comp in Kenya or Africa, take it to all the major towns/cities and see yourself hitting it big.

I could go on all day about the sporting opportunities I see in Kenya that this guys have ignored

Do kenyans even bother to go watch those athletics competition when they are held in the various parts of the country, or even those volleyball competitions, despite both being successful sports regionally and internationally for Kenya.
Leave alone everyone else, how many parents attend their kids sporting events, like those high school games.

Last I checked the athletics meets are very popular. You can actually have a very successful circuit in Kenya.

Very true @Obi. Kenyans love athletics and will throng those stadias. They just need to give it some glamour so that those 'fellows' who attend Masaku 7s without any clue on matters rugby can attend...

And the Volleyball meets have very many fans as well...You enjoy the game as you also kula na macho....

that's prison vs pipeline

Why don't you post photos of the Kenya volleyball queens at Kasarani Gym.

Infact I have never heard of Hull city despite them being in the EPL (Ok I don't watch EPL)so other than they being in the EPL they are no names.

SportPesa is looking at the world out there. Their focus in sponsoring Hull City is to be visible wherever Hull City will be watched.

After which they will roll out their betting platform to other markets/countries/continents. It's marketing and it has worked for other small brands before, after which they became world brands.

If Kenya is making them all that money, imagine what richer markets will do.

Pesa umulikwa na pesa!
sitaki.kujulikana
#48 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 12:02:43 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
On Hull's website, wazungu are annoyed beyond words on being sponsored by an African betting company. let them accept and move on smile

Laughing out loudly funny people, they are annoyed at receiving cash, but one can understand them they feel bad receiving cash from rural poor peasants who skip a meal to send some sms in the hope of being lifted out of poverty.

Africa rising jo!

Soon we will have Sportpesa English Premier League smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly especially considering the direction barclays is moving to
sitaki.kujulikana
#49 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 12:08:00 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Rollins wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Last I checked the athletics meets are very popular. You can actually have a very successful circuit in Kenya.

Very true @Obi. Kenyans love athletics and will throng those stadias. They just need to give it some glamour so that those 'fellows' who attend Masaku 7s without any clue on matters rugby can attend...

And the Volleyball meets have very many fans as well...You enjoy the game as you also kula na macho....

Infact I have never heard of Hull city despite them being in the EPL (Ok I don't watch EPL)so other than they being in the EPL they are no names.

I am talking about the club games, the backbone of sports if we can't pull crowds to go watch two of the best women volleyball teams in africa then its very hard to have a self sustaining industry in the same.
International events pull crowds, but remember much of that cash goes to the national federations, in the west even darts events between clubs pull big crowds, hata gmes like handball.
hapa kenya guys would rather fill up stadiums to listen to politics than go watch two of the best teams in the region sweating it out.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 2:04:57 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Rollins wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I am talking about the club games, the backbone of sports if we can't pull crowds to go watch two of the best women volleyball teams in africa then its very hard to have a self sustaining industry in the same.
International events pull crowds, but remember much of that cash goes to the national federations, in the west even darts events between clubs pull big crowds, hata gmes like handball.
hapa kenya guys would rather fill up stadiums to listen to politics than go watch two of the best teams in the region sweating it out.

I don't know which teams are in this picture you posted but I am 100% sure those are not our topflight volleyball teams. They look to me like high school teams or maybe club teams in the early 90's. Even the uniform they are wearing is outdated and not in sync with what club players wear in Kenya, I have atleast seen Kenya prisons and pipeline play and they were totally different from the photo you have there.

You don't have to win an argument by lying you know?

@Washiku, please post for this chap real photos of Kenya volleyball club matches
sitaki.kujulikana
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 4:08:58 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Rollins wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I don't know which teams are in this picture you posted but I am 100% sure those are not our topflight volleyball teams. They look to me like high school teams or maybe club teams in the early 90's. Even the uniform they are wearing is outdated and not in sync with what club players wear in Kenya, I have atleast seen Kenya prisons and pipeline play and they were totally different from the photo you have there.

You don't have to win an argument by lying you know?

@Washiku, please post for this chap real photos of Kenya volleyball club matches

sawa boss, hata hizi utasema are not real smile

#52 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 4:37:52 PM

[quote=Othelo][quote=gadj]
but you guys only made money from obscure sports like Tennis. Kabumbu ilikuwa inawanyosha!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Does money won betting some obscure sport become any less? or if i may ask, kuna pesa Kamau na pesa Njoroge?smile .Back to obscure sports!Laughing out loudly
#53 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 4:59:36 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Recently during the Olympics Qualification in Eldoret, the stadium was full to the brim.

Thats a very BIG stadium, for real.

#54 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 5:02:32 PM

but you guys only made money from obscure sports like Tennis. Kabumbu ilikuwa inawanyosha!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Does money won betting some obscure sport become any less? or if i may ask, kuna pesa Kamau na pesa Njoroge?smile .Back to obscure sports!Laughing out loudly

Guka karibu huku. I was all alone taking all the matusi on behalf of #team betting. smile smile smile
#55 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 5:11:38 PM

@Jaduong,

Can't understand why we are concerned how the owners of SP are going to spend their dough.....i mean, this would have me worried if they'd bought my granny to go play for Hullsmile ....Now, go there and have a feel of my obscure picks for late evening and let's make obscure moneyLaughing out loudly . Sumptuous games and good luck!
#56 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 6:41:37 PM

Guka karibu huku. I was all alone taking all the matusi on behalf of #team betting. smile smile smile

sio matusi... read again what i wrote. first it was a question - why people are silent huko alternative investments
i was told it was because it was off season
I asked off season? coz kabumbu was out of season and i knew kabumbu chomad a few fingers huko but "obscure" sports like tennis are the ones that gave akina njunge money.
more power to team betting - siwezi bet in something I cannot add value in. but more power to you guys. at a macro level it's not a productive economic activity but who cares - kila mtu ajipange... more power to you!
#57 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 6:44:42 PM

gadj wrote:

sio matusi... read again what i wrote. first it was a question - why people are silent huko alternative investments
i was told it was because it was off season
I asked off season? coz kabumbu was out of season and i knew kabumbu chomad a few fingers huko but "obscure" sports like tennis are the ones that gave akina njunge money.
more power to team betting - siwezi bet in something I cannot add value in. but more power to you guys. at a macro level it's not a productive economic activity but who cares - kila mtu ajipange... more power to you!

Kama hii sio matusi then, plus cheering squad >>>>>>>>>>>

[quote=murchr][quote=masukuma]a fool and his money are soon parted. i think it's foolish to bet but it's also foolish to sponsor hull city with proceedings from betting in africa. sponsoring africans redistributes it back to the economy you are raiding in the 1st place. hata ikiibiwa... bado iko hapa kenya. someone will buy a house... buy a car... promote some local business. ikienda Hull city watasema asante sana and forget about you. Even with Aid, the donor insists that you use a company from their country and if you don't pick say an american for a USAID RFP for some amounts you need to justify why you are not. Vuta pande yako. i think the move is naive but who am I to advice people on how best to burn their cash. Tukusanye nyingi tupatie Safaricom waende watafute ka-club spain wawapatie.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Pewa supu on my account.

#58 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 6:48:47 PM

repeat smile
Alba
#59 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 7:46:19 PM

People will watch athletics if entry is free.And again they thy will only watch major events like the trials. Nevertheless the crowd in Eldoret was of impressive size.

The problem with other sports in my opinion is that they are dominated by corporate teams that people cannot relate to. I mean who supports Tusker or Ushuru or the various sugar teams.

On the other hand, grassroots football is very popular. What I wish sportpesa would do is organize a tournament pitting various counties against each other. People will come to root for their county.

And in Nairobi, everytime a tournament pitting various neighbourhoods against each other is played, the crowds are much bigger than KPL. E.g. a game between Jericho All stars vs kariobangi Sharks will draw much bigger crowds than Tusker vs Sofapaka.

Also believe it or not, schools football draws crowds that KPL teams can only dream of. See below. People up country walk incredible distances go watch popular school teams. Kenyan marketers just haven't figured out how to monetize that passion.

Mike Ock
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2016 12:38:33 AM

It seems wazuans are experts on stocks, but when it comes to dirty business mko nje kidogo. Sportpesa is a perfect avenue for money laundering, and UK is the money laundering capital of the world. Do some research on the main Sportpesa directors, Guerrassim Nikolov, Mario Nikolov and Slavi Binev. You will be shocked beyond words. Bandit economy through and through this Kenya. I wouldn't be surprised if the Hull sponsorship was a front excuse for the directors to travel freely to the City of London tax haven. That's the only explanation that makes sense to me.