wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
SportPesa sponsors Hull City in record deal
#21 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 3:12:11 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
On Hull's website, wazungu are annoyed beyond words on being sponsored by an African betting company. let them accept and move on smile

Laughing out loudly funny people, they are annoyed at receiving cash, but one can understand them they feel bad receiving cash from rural poor peasants who skip a meal to send some sms in the hope of being lifted out of poverty.

Africa rising jo!
#22 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 3:14:11 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
On Hull's website, wazungu are annoyed beyond words on being sponsored by an African betting company. let them accept and move on smile

Laughing out loudly funny people, they are annoyed at receiving cash, but one can understand them they feel bad receiving cash from rural poor peasants who skip a meal to send some sms in the hope of being lifted out of poverty.

Africa rising jo!

Soon we will have Sportpesa English Premier League smile
Alba
#23 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 3:57:22 PM

I wish they would sponsor a mitaani / grassroots football tournament like sakata ball.
#24 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 4:07:13 PM

sasa mambo ni brexit... they will take what they get. pesa haina race... it's just money... ya makaa ni pesa... ya kuuza software ama ku-bet ni pesa. watulie na wakule pole pole.
#25 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 4:09:21 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Rollins wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Don't get the rationale, what is the business case for sponsoring an anonymous English club, Kenyans will still focus on their Arsenal/Man-U slave masters. Can Sportspesa compete with the Russian oligarchs and the ME petro-dollars

Why not throw all that money at KPL, get it more organized, buy equity in many of the struggling sides and wait to reap rewards in future. Its the longer harder road to take but has the highest upside.

For crying out loud, roll out a Diamond league styled athletics comp in Kenya or Africa, take it to all the major towns/cities and see yourself hitting it big.

I could go on all day about the sporting opportunities I see in Kenya that this guys have ignored

Do kenyans even bother to go watch those athletics competition when they are held in the various parts of the country, or even those volleyball competitions, despite both being successful sports regionally and internationally for Kenya.
Leave alone everyone else, how many parents attend their kids sporting events, like those high school games.

Kenya hakuna sporting opportunities, we just love our booze and politics.

Last I checked the athletics meets are very popular. You can actually have a very successful circuit in Kenya.

Very true @Obi. Kenyans love athletics and will throng those stadias. They just need to give it some glamour so that those 'fellows' who attend Masaku 7s without any clue on matters rugby can attend...

And the Volleyball meets have very many fans as well...You enjoy the game as you also kula na macho....

that's prison vs pipeline

Why don't you post photos of the Kenya volleyball queens at Kasarani Gym.

Infact I have never heard of Hull city despite them being in the EPL (Ok I don't watch EPL)so other than they being in the EPL they are no names.
#26 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 4:46:56 PM

@Obi been discussing that with some of my pals...the problem with Kenyan football is the corruption give any Kenyan team 500 mio you see how guys will kill each other and very little will go to the players and football development...Athletics yes make it big and invite akina Bolt et al to grace it....@Alba your thoughts?seen you peeping
#27 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 4:54:36 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Rollins wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Don't get the rationale, what is the business case for sponsoring an anonymous English club, Kenyans will still focus on their Arsenal/Man-U slave masters. Can Sportspesa compete with the Russian oligarchs and the ME petro-dollars

Why not throw all that money at KPL, get it more organized, buy equity in many of the struggling sides and wait to reap rewards in future. Its the longer harder road to take but has the highest upside.

For crying out loud, roll out a Diamond league styled athletics comp in Kenya or Africa, take it to all the major towns/cities and see yourself hitting it big.

I could go on all day about the sporting opportunities I see in Kenya that this guys have ignored

Do kenyans even bother to go watch those athletics competition when they are held in the various parts of the country, or even those volleyball competitions, despite both being successful sports regionally and internationally for Kenya.
Leave alone everyone else, how many parents attend their kids sporting events, like those high school games.

Kenya hakuna sporting opportunities, we just love our booze and politics.

Last I checked the athletics meets are very popular. You can actually have a very successful circuit in Kenya.

Very true @Obi. Kenyans love athletics and will throng those stadias. They just need to give it some glamour so that those 'fellows' who attend Masaku 7s without any clue on matters rugby can attend...

And the Volleyball meets have very many fans as well...You enjoy the game as you also kula na macho....

that's prison vs pipeline

I cant eat the above types with my own eyes!

I cant eat the below anyday!
Camel toe nayo.
Drool Drool

#28 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 6:10:06 PM

@Obi been discussing that with some of my pals...the problem with Kenyan football is the corruption give any Kenyan team 500 mio you see how guys will kill each other and very little will go to the players and football development...Athletics yes make it big and invite akina Bolt et al to grace it....@Alba your thoughts?seen you peeping

To support Kenyan football you don't only have to sponsor tournaments........ buy full kits for thousands of players old and small in all counties, lease/buy football grounds and brand them sport pesa, open football academies, so many things can be done with those pounds!
If i were competitors like akina mcheza i would milk this story mpaka sportpesa warudishe pesa nyumbani coz i don't see how wazungus will leave akina bet365 to place their bets in sport pesa if at all that's the expansion they're looking at.

Ukimalizana na footbal, kuna volleyball, hockey, rugby, golf, taekwondo, chess, scrabble the list is endless

Someone explain to me the ROI for sport pesa please!

#29 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 6:33:09 PM

Kratos wrote:

To support Kenyan football you don't only have to sponsor tournaments........ buy full kits for thousands of players old and small in all counties, lease/buy football grounds and brand them sport pesa, open football academies, so many things can be done with those pounds!
If i were competitors like akina mcheza i would milk this story mpaka sportpesa warudishe pesa nyumbani coz i don't see how wazungus will leave akina bet365 to place their bets in sport pesa if at all that's the expansion they're looking at.

Ukimalizana na footbal, kuna volleyball, hockey, rugby, golf, taekwondo, chess, scrabble the list is endless

Someone explain to me the ROI for sport pesa please!

Why not? When someone is betting does it matter whether the co if from the US, Swiss, Hong kong, China, Mongolia, Cayman islands or KE? What matters are the winnings. Sportpesa plans to expand worldwide and this deal will give them global exposure, audience and customers. Soon they will be making billions per day. They are the next bet365. #ThinkBIG
#30 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 10:45:21 PM

a fool and his money are soon parted. i think it's foolish to bet but it's also foolish to sponsor hull city with proceedings from betting in africa. sponsoring africans redistributes it back to the economy you are raiding in the 1st place. hata ikiibiwa... bado iko hapa kenya. someone will buy a house... buy a car... promote some local business. ikienda Hull city watasema asante sana and forget about you. Even with Aid, the donor insists that you use a company from their country and if you don't pick say an american for a USAID RFP for some amounts you need to justify why you are not. Vuta pande yako. i think the move is naive but who am I to advice people on how best to burn their cash. Tukusanye nyingi tupatie Safaricom waende watafute ka-club spain wawapatie.
#31 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:10:18 PM

a fool and his money are soon parted. i think it's foolish to bet but it's also foolish to sponsor hull city with proceedings from betting in africa. sponsoring africans redistributes it back to the economy you are raiding in the 1st place. hata ikiibiwa... bado iko hapa kenya. someone will buy a house... buy a car... promote some local business. ikienda Hull city watasema asante sana and forget about you. Even with Aid, the donor insists that you use a company from their country and if you don't pick say an american for a USAID RFP for some amounts you need to justify why you are not. Vuta pande yako. i think the move is naive but who am I to advice people on how best to burn their cash. Tukusanye nyingi tupatie Safaricom waende watafute ka-club spain wawapatie.

A Kenyan company goes international and this is all you can say? If they can make millions from "poor" kenyans to enable them sponsor a premier league team, you can imagine the money they will make now that they have gone global and targeting an international market. And all this money will end up here in kenya, in their pockets, and invested in Kenya, as they dish some scraps to Hull city for marketing. This was a very smart move. I know even the govt is excited due to the expected forex inflows.

I am very sure you would be singing a different song if the "african" who pulled this move was a mzungu from South Africa. You would be praising "his vision of riding on the global popularity of the premier league to boost his business".
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 12:27:14 AM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Pewa supu on my account.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 6:38:20 AM

This is FDI the African way. We can't set up factories in their countries but we can invest in services using tech. Let wazungu bet through mpesa. Next I hope Sportspesa goes to China and India.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 6:47:17 AM

spot on. and to get the betting license in kenya, if i remember right, a given percentage of the revenue must go to the community or something like that - that is why you see betting firms in kenya 'advertising'/'investing' so much on things like sports - those 'sponsoring' of the kenyan league, gor mahia etc are not 'voluntary'. i wonder what the law says of these foreign deal. and wonder too how they get money out of the country (there is that story about the ownership). kra and their accountants must be busy.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 8:02:51 AM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Pewa supu on my account.

Very true, tell them kabisa smile smile smile
kayhara
#36 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 8:22:43 AM

Not much of a football fan, but I don't know any Hull fan in Kenya, I don't know how sponsoring works, I think it's supposed to market the sponsor, so who is sportpesa marketing to in UK?
The deal is for 3 seasons, Kenyans being Kenyan what if they abandon betting like they did with quails? will sportpesa have o payup?
Anyway hio besha ni mingi kupelekea wazungu, AND WHO OWNS SPORTPESA?
To Each His Own
#37 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 8:51:56 AM

Why aren't people seeing the big picture? I think we have begged so much from mzungu that we can't comprehend any other kind of relationship existing between him and us.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...9810-ki35kcz/index.html

SportPesa Chief Executive Officer Ronald Karauri said: “This is a big milestone for SportPesa as it marks the scaling of a Kenyan brand into the global market.

"The SportPesa platform will now be available in the United Kingdom and later in the year present in several African countries. One year from now we will have [a] presence in at least four continents.

The partnership with Hull City comes after what is seen as a vicious expansionist strategy by the bookmakers, which has seen them enter into other deals with the Kenya Rugby Union (Sh607 million), Kenyan Premier League (Sh450 million), Gor Mahia (Sh325 million) and AFC Leopards (Sh225 million), among others.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 8:55:46 AM

kayhara wrote:

Not much of a football fan, but I don't know any Hull fan in Kenya, I don't know how sponsoring works, I think it's supposed to market the sponsor, so who is sportpesa marketing to in UK?
The deal is for 3 seasons, Kenyans being Kenyan what if they abandon betting like they did with quails? will sportpesa have o payup?

This betting craze will be the mother of all quails.

#39 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 8:58:39 AM

kayhara wrote:

Sportspesa must be owned by some mzungu, that would explain the move to sponsor some Hull City.

In the 2000's Dick Evans and his Flower farm Homegrown quietly sponsored an English Rugby Side (name escapes me) for years, paying minimum wages to workers.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2016 9:18:45 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Sportspesa must be owned by some mzungu, that would explain the move to sponsor some Hull City.

In the 2000's Dick Evans and his Flower farm Homegrown quietly sponsored an English Rugby Side (name escapes me) for years, paying minimum wages to workers.

Sportpesa has some Hungarian connection.