wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Help Me Stop Safaricom.....
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 11:56:09 AM

SPAAAMMM!

If you are like me, you hate being disturbed just because you have a phone line. These phones are meant to communicate not allow makanga behavior even at 10pm in your house

Since I know a few of you are geeks lets help get rid of some of safaricom junk alerts that are trully the epitome of annoyance

1. Your usage today is 2.00ksh. Spend 88 ksh more and get story moja

First I don't need to know how broke I am and its clogging my mulika muizi to death....

Someone needs to tell these companies that I'm not using their service for free. I'm paying for use...So I don't expect to see any advertising on my phone especially from them.

Spamming customers ain't cool...God is watching that one coz the CCK or whatever they call themselves are compromised to say the least.

How can we stop that silly message

2. Notifying All Your Enemies You are Alive

I don't know who came up with this one....I turn off my phone so that I'm not disturbed. Trust me, I sometimes shut it off for days..

Then when I turn it on, all of a sudden the people I did not want to talk to are calling me one after another...Apparently safcom goes around sending muchene that the fellow is back online, call him now!

This alert is a major invasion of privacy..I did not tell safaricom to become my secretary telling people when my phone is on or off....

How to stop that illegal messaging

Taurrus
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 1:01:32 PM

I can feel you Mr. Alma,that mucene must stop! tuko na madeni nyingi!
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 1:07:19 PM

You have a choice to move to another service provider ama?
#4 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 1:15:23 PM

Taurrus wrote:
I can feel you Mr. Alma,that mucene must stop! tuko na madeni nyingi!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kweli kabisa...They should just call it the madeni alert

mteja aliya na deni yako amepatikana sabina joy. Mpigie simu mara hii kabla hajamaliza pesa.

That alert to be honest is a true invasion of privacy.

Othelo, I've actually changed my phone. Don't bother looking for it.

It may come to a surprise to you but there are those of us on this earth who are not all that excited about this digital stuff.

We prefer to talk to people when we want to talk to them. Not when Safaricom wants them to call us.

grolut
#5 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 3:23:38 PM

SPAAAMMM! Then when I turn it on, all of a sudden the people I did not want to talk to are calling me one after another...Apparently safcom goes around sending muchene that the fellow is back online, call him now!

In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#6 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 4:17:30 PM

Under T&C who does the sim card belong to?Is it you or scom?
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 5:24:44 PM

Maka, when it comes to spam trust me an the expert here.

First of all your argument is mute since safcom doesn't own those lines...They are licensed by the gov't to run those lines....That's why they are fighting portability of the phone line.

But even if we go with your argument, the mere fact that I use under license safaricom's property does not ipso facto mean that I must be spammed to death by them.

This particular argument has been thrown out internationally and that's the reason we have "do not call lists" worldwide.

Unless there's an emergency or a legal reason, safcom has no right to tell anyone on this earth whether or not I'm using the mitambo...

Their advertising on my phone line is also not acceptable.

There you go maka. Instead of lawyering up for thugs and crooks why don't you do us a favor and come up with a major case that changes the face of Kenya for once....smile

Still looking for the shortcode to block all advertising and notifications on my line. I'm sure its there somewhere.

#8 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 7:24:52 PM

First of all your argument is mute since safcom doesn't own those lines...They are licensed by the gov't to run those lines....That's why they are fighting portability of the phone line.

But even if we go with your argument, the mere fact that I use under license safaricom's property does not ipso facto mean that I must be spammed to death by them.

This particular argument has been thrown out internationally and that's the reason we have "do not call lists" worldwide.

Unless there's an emergency or a legal reason, safcom has no right to tell anyone on this earth whether or not I'm using the mitambo...

There you go maka. Instead of lawyering up for thugs and crooks why don't you do us a favor and come up with a major case that changes the face of Kenya for once....smile

Still looking for the shortcode to block all advertising and notifications on my line. I'm sure its there somewhere.

LOL was just asking coz a while back was told a story about MJ during one of his routine CSAs walk about....
#9 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2016 10:02:50 PM

LOL was just asking coz a while back was told a story about MJ during one of his routine CSAs walk about....

MJ was a a depressed fellow from day 1...Having to start a company that no one funded in a cubicle at longonot place...

He's still running the show....

That doesn't mean that these people can just go around sending private info to thugs in Kamiti....Yaani the thug shall know when I'm on the phone or not....

Things like call forwarding, call messaging are mandatory online...It's only in Kenya when a thief shall know I've turned my phone on and call me....This needs to stop...

I'm talking to the judges in the courts coz I know you maka are too busy....That's why we are wondering why Omtata seems to be sharper than Kenyan lawyers.

This Safaricom bullshit has to stop....It's too dangerous especially for men like me with like one, two, ok, 5 ndogo ndogos and 100 creditors....

Haki Bob Collymore, stop this nonsense..Someone shall die shortly coz of that silly notification that helps no one and has no legal standing anywhere on this earth......

I know he read that....He says he reads stuff. Other than making money for safcom, surely....what does telling people that your phone is on have to do with good governance?

Taurrus
#10 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 10:49:19 AM

MJ was a a depressed fellow from day 1...Having to start a company that no one funded in a cubicle at longonot place...

He's still running the show....

That doesn't mean that these people can just go around sending private info to thugs in Kamiti....Yaani the thug shall know when I'm on the phone or not....

Things like call forwarding, call messaging are mandatory online...It's only in Kenya when a thief shall know I've turned my phone on and call me....This needs to stop...

I'm talking to the judges in the courts coz I know you maka are too busy....That's why we are wondering why Omtata seems to be sharper than Kenyan lawyers.

This Safaricom bullshit has to stop....It's too dangerous especially for men like me with like one, two, ok, 5 ndogo ndogos and 100 creditors....

Haki Bob Collymore, stop this nonsense..Someone shall die shortly coz of that silly notification that helps no one and has no legal standing anywhere on this earth......

I know he read that....He says he reads stuff. Other than making money for safcom, surely....what does telling people that your phone is on have to do with good governance?

Smart guy this one!Applause
#11 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 11:35:19 AM

Hi Alma, lets start with Number 2.

https://www.facebook.com...posts/10154245346435084

Safaricom Limited Hi, please note to activate the service dial **62*0722199199# OK. and to deactivate dial ##62#OK. Also note you can also divert using the handset feature by diverting calls to number 0722199199. ^DO
#12 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 11:54:34 AM

Aha...Now for Issue number 1, wamesema:

Hi, these alerts are for the Storo bonus service; to stop them you'd need to unsubscribe from receiving the bonus via *460#. ^AK
chris79
#13 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 3:35:56 PM

SPAAAMMM!

If you are like me, you hate being disturbed just because you have a phone line. These phones are meant to communicate not allow makanga behavior even at 10pm in your house

Since I know a few of you are geeks lets help get rid of some of safaricom junk alerts that are trully the epitome of annoyance

1. Your usage today is 2.00ksh. Spend 88 ksh more and get story moja

First I don't need to know how broke I am and its clogging my mulika muizi to death....

Someone needs to tell these companies that I'm not using their service for free. I'm paying for use...So I don't expect to see any advertising on my phone especially from them.

Spamming customers ain't cool...God is watching that one coz the CCK or whatever they call themselves are compromised to say the least.

How can we stop that silly message

2. Notifying All Your Enemies You are Alive

I don't know who came up with this one....I turn off my phone so that I'm not disturbed. Trust me, I sometimes shut it off for days..

Then when I turn it on, all of a sudden the people I did not want to talk to are calling me one after another...Apparently safcom goes around sending muchene that the fellow is back online, call him now!

This alert is a major invasion of privacy..I did not tell safaricom to become my secretary telling people when my phone is on or off....

How to stop that illegal messaging

To deactivate the caller notifier service dial *100# then select 3 for products & services, 98 for more and 13 for caller notify service. There you can choose to specify which numbers you DO NOT wish to be notified when your phone is switched on OR you can choose to deactivate the service completely.

For the Storo bonus deactivation, dial *460# and select 4 for unsubscribe.
#14 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2016 5:59:00 PM

chris79 wrote:

To deactivate the caller notifier service dial *100# then select 3 for products & services, 98 for more and 13 for caller notify service. There you can choose to specify which numbers you DO NOT wish to be notified when your phone is switched on OR you can choose to deactivate the service completely.

Asanda zana
#15 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 8:50:21 AM

chris79 wrote:

Asanda zana

#16 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:19:37 AM

chris79 wrote:

Asanda zana

So the person who started this thread, the self proclaimed IT guru, couldn't figure this out?
#17 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:21:23 AM

chris79 wrote:

Asanda zana

So the person who started this thread, the self proclaimed IT guru, couldn't figure this out?

#18 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 11:48:52 AM

chris79 wrote:

Asanda zana

Chris79 thank you very much. I knew it was hidden somewhere....Now I can breath easily.

As for Hardwood, what the hell is IT?

I know reading and writing are the new skills for young people to learn in Kenya, but surely, where did you see anyone proclaming themselves to be in IT?

eishh...Just saved your ass here and you can't even say thank you....d'oh! d'oh!

Chief Guest
#19 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 5:16:01 PM

chris79 wrote:

Asanda zana

Chris79 thank you very much. I knew it was hidden somewhere....Now I can breath easily.

As for Hardwood, what the hell is IT?

I know reading and writing are the new skills for young people to learn in Kenya, but surely, where did you see anyone proclaming themselves to be in IT?

eishh...Just saved your ass here and you can't even say thank you....d'oh! d'oh!

Hi Alma,that's good of you to have said thank you smile
Illmatic