wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

why do brilliant minds accept govt jobs ?
#21 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 2:45:00 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Allowances and job security........my peers working at the lands get paid allowances of 11k per day for nights spent out of Nairobi.............averagely 7 days a week wako field!!!! not bad your young professionals

so they are permanently in the field, why pay the allowance? smile
#22 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 2:05:48 PM

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, I resurrect this thread in light of the kenya pipeline MD hiring debacle.

As expected, with keter as cs, the main qualification was always going to be tribe, home county and family connection in that order.

Now the chairman of kpc is investment banking guru John Ngumi. He has been the brains behind every syndicated loan in the country. He is the father of structured refinancing. Someone once told me that his bonus is usually so huge it's paid quarterly by his employer.

And he is just sitting there with tribal kingpins who are only interested in milking the parastatal.

Am assuming he doesn't need more money than he is making at stanbic.

Why not walk away while you still have some dignity left. Ama all of us are looking for an opportunity to dip our fingers in the till.
#23 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 2:22:16 PM

Now the chairman of kpc is investment banking guru John Ngumi. Am assuming he doesn't need more money than he is making at stanbic.

He left the bank mid last year to start his own outfit ..... consultancy. Wonder how he is fairing?
#24 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 4:14:58 PM

Now the chairman of kpc is investment banking guru John Ngumi. Am assuming he doesn't need more money than he is making at stanbic.

He left the bank mid last year to start his own outfit ..... consultancy. Wonder how he is fairing?

Thanks for the update. Didn't know he left. Kpc is where serious money is made. Before him was a highly connected power broker from Nyeri called wamahiu. Was taken to nock where they unleashed those shenanigans of firing the MD. Yaani ni kama tulirogwa.
#25 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 4:40:07 PM

Thanks for the update. Didn't know he left. Kpc is where serious money is made. Before him was a highly connected power broker from Nyeri called wamahiu. Was taken to nock where they unleashed those shenanigans of firing the MD. Yaani ni kama tulirogwa.

Who is the current KWS Director-General and what was he doing previously? Sometimes you cannot understand some of these career moves....
Um Sayala
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 10:34:37 AM

'Why do brilliant minds accept govt jobs"
As a young graduate I once asked my uncle why he was working with the govt 'while there was more money in private sector', according to me then.

My uncle didnt answer me that day, but a month later a friend of his visited us in Nrbi from Tz. The friend, an Ectrical Engineer had taken up a job with an international company and was posted in Tz. After they chatted the evening away, I still felt the Tz guy was doing much better.

But 18 yrs down the line, Ive learn't not only thro the uncle( Who is a Mechanical Eng)but also others that in Kenya, govt is the best employer cz your 'hard work' and 'brilliance' pay more than the same qualities would give you in private sector.

For in this country a govt employee with a gross pay of 50k, for example, would build flats within a record time, cz he works hard and salary is not the only source of income.
Ni hayo tu
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#27 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2016 1:26:08 PM

I have been toying with this question in my mind over and over.

You are a brilliant chap, at the pinnacle of your professional path, and then you take up a govt job that undoes all you have built over the years. Examples may suffice.

Amos wako was an internationally recognized lawyer who once served as UN special rapporteur for east Timor. Joined moi's govt and the rest is history. Dr. Wilfred Koinange of goldenberg and that other Harvard educated economist who received a msomo from justice bosire during the goldenberg inquiry.

My question is based on the assumption that when you take up a govt job, you are being set up to fail.

I can understand prof githu muigai wanting to serve nyumba, but what about Philip Kinisu? He knows for sure he is being set up to fail. After working on your professional reputation for all these years, why risk it all with a govt job ? Is it worth it ? And poor Nzioka Waita ?

And my second question, why not try to stand out and leave a mark and a legacy ?

Two names here. Brig. Boinett and former CGS Daudi Tonje. Moi must have thought these were fellow tribesmen but each left a mark that changed the institutions they headed for ever. They refused to swim with the tribal tide and thought about posterity and future generations. After the 2002 elections, the clowns from the MoPW refused to build a dias that would accomondate kibaki's wheelchair. Brig. Boinett supervised the construction and made it clear to Moi, he had to respect the people's will.

Uhuru has one in the name of CBK gov Dr. Patrick Njoroge.

Funny enough, I don't remember any name that stood out during kibaki's reign. Arguably our greatest president ever.

Turns out Philip Kinisu is not only a well respected auditor but a tenderpreneur par excellence. DN headline today.

Yaani a tenderpreneur is our anti-corruption chief ! Smh...
#28 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2016 1:34:26 PM

I have been toying with this question in my mind over and over.

You are a brilliant chap, at the pinnacle of your professional path, and then you take up a govt job that undoes all you have built over the years. Examples may suffice.

Amos wako was an internationally recognized lawyer who once served as UN special rapporteur for east Timor. Joined moi's govt and the rest is history. Dr. Wilfred Koinange of goldenberg and that other Harvard educated economist who received a msomo from justice bosire during the goldenberg inquiry.

My question is based on the assumption that when you take up a govt job, you are being set up to fail.

I can understand prof githu muigai wanting to serve nyumba, but what about Philip Kinisu? He knows for sure he is being set up to fail. After working on your professional reputation for all these years, why risk it all with a govt job ? Is it worth it ? And poor Nzioka Waita ?

And my second question, why not try to stand out and leave a mark and a legacy ?

Two names here. Brig. Boinett and former CGS Daudi Tonje. Moi must have thought these were fellow tribesmen but each left a mark that changed the institutions they headed for ever. They refused to swim with the tribal tide and thought about posterity and future generations. After the 2002 elections, the clowns from the MoPW refused to build a dias that would accomondate kibaki's wheelchair. Brig. Boinett supervised the construction and made it clear to Moi, he had to respect the people's will.

Uhuru has one in the name of CBK gov Dr. Patrick Njoroge.

Funny enough, I don't remember any name that stood out during kibaki's reign. Arguably our greatest president ever.

Turns out Philip Kinisu is not only a well respected auditor but a tenderpreneur par excellence. DN headline today.

Yaani a tenderpreneur is our anti-corruption chief ! Smh...

Sad story kabisa...
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 8:23:35 AM

GetIT411:
NGO linked to EACC boss Philip Kinisu under probe over suspected money laundering, diversion of aid involving over Sh5b. www.capitalfm.co.ke
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 10:21:07 AM

The truth about the EACC boss Philip Kinisu and the NGO whose board he chairs will eventually come out.

It started with a gun attack at his office shortly after he took over and it has now come to use of some elements in civil society as well as the Fourth Estate.

Corruption is fighting back. Read through the lines.

Link - http://www.standardmedia...-eacc-boss-philip-kinisu
marex
#31 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 12:35:20 PM

But we also have dumb mind too, like Francis Mejja of NTSA, who was calling for banning of whatsapp groups
The way I am
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 1:28:06 PM

[quote=ecstacy]The truth about the EACC boss Philip Kinisu and the NGO whose board he chairs will eventually come out.

It started with a gun attack at his office shortly after he took over and it has now come to use of some elements in civil society as well as the Fourth Estate.

Link - http://www.standardmedia...eacc-boss-philip-kinisu[/quote]

Corruption fighting back ???? Really ? Mr.Kinisu is a tenderpreneur. Did you see his companies have been paid hundreds of millions by NYS and MoH ?

Have you ever tried to bid for govt tenders ? You stand zero chance of success. And yet our EACC chairman gets them easily and owns a five storey building along argwings kodhek rd.

He got the EACC job not because of his experience as an auditor but because he is one of them. "Them" here referring to the hyenas whose job is to suck this country dry.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 10:19:57 PM

[quote=ecstacy]The truth about the EACC boss Philip Kinisu and the NGO whose board he chairs will eventually come out.

Corruption fighting back ???? Really ? Mr.Kinisu is a tenderpreneur. Did you see his companies have been paid hundreds of millions by NYS and MoH ?

Have you ever tried to bid for govt tenders ? You stand zero chance of success. And yet our EACC chairman gets them easily and owns a five storey building along argwings kodhek rd.

He got the EACC job not because of his experience as an auditor but because he is one of them. "Them" here referring to the hyenas whose job is to suck this country dry.

Please acquaint yourself with Philip Kinisu's history. Other than your speculation, any evidence of impropriety in the family company winning any of those tenders?
#34 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 10:27:31 PM

Kinisu’s survival will hinge on the dexterity of his political footwork

"Mr Philip Kinisu assumed the helm of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Authority in January this year with solid credentials.

A former head of African business for PricewaterhouseCoopers, the largest professional services firm in the world, and a man with a wealth of experience and training in forensic auditing, his appointment generated high public expectation.

Unlike his predecessors, he is a fairly wealthy individual, his flagship an expansive property complex in the Hurlingham area by the name Kones Heights.

When I engaged him in a one-on-one conversation in April, this year, he came through as a man who had weighed the risks and challenges of the office carefully, especially the politics, the fiefdoms within the organisation itself, and the need to restore clear lines of command within the country’s epic anti-corruption agency.

He gave me fresh insights into the problems at EACC and lamented about lack of capacity in investigating complex transactions, about the backlog of corruption complaints, and what needed to be done to clear the backlog cases. He had fresh ideas on how he intended to promote closer cooperation and information sharing between the EACC and other investigating and auditing bodies.

When we parted company, I made a mental note: his biggest mistake was to assume that his appointing authorities had indeed been serious about fighting grand corruption when they gave him the job.

When we appoint a new anti-graft czar, especially a person like Kinisu who has had a long career working for reputable international institutions, our true intention is merely to hoodwink our friends and allies in the West and to present an appearance of genuine commitment to fighting graft.

Secondly, I was also left with the distinct impression that the man had underestimated the tenacity of powerful insiders within EACC itself. Corruption is all about a network of operatives sharing rewards and risks with corrupt outsiders.

The reason the turnover of anti-corruption czars in this country has been high is because grand corruption is practised by networks of operatives with high stakes in keeping corruption hidden, operatives who will go to great lengths to freeze out critics and whistleblowers.

Two years ago, the machinations of these networks played out in a vicious battle for control of the EACC that pitted its former chairman, Mr Mumo Matemu, and his team of commissioners on one hand, and members of the secretariat on the other. That battle ended up in the exit of all the commissioners, setting the stage for the appointment of Kinisu and a new crop of commissioners.

Later, it was to emerge that contrary to the popular wisdom of that time, Matemu and commissioners Irene Keino and Jane Onsongo had not left office voluntarily, they had actually been forced out of office through hostile machinations by powerful politicians working in cahoots with their allies from within the EACC’s secretariat.

Right now, Kinisu finds himself completely cornered, facing investigations on issues which, although still unproven, have given his enemies fodder to start pressing for his exit.

He will have to display a great deal of dexterity in his political footwork to win the battle.

In the coming days, we are going to be taken through the all too familiar game. It will start with orchestrated choruses calling on the man to “step aside” to make way for investigations.

Once—and if—he accepts to step aside, powerful individuals will then send emissaries to give him an ultimatum: resign or face investigations, which will never end.

When the mission is accomplished, the stage will then have been set for another round for a search for a new chairman for the EACC. This boring ritual is how the EACC remains completely exposed as an institution that has long lost its independence from the Executive.

In his defence, Kinisu has said that the conflict of interest charge against him cannot stand because all the contracts between Esaki and the National Youth Service were won and performed prior to his appointment as chair of the EACC.

He says the money laundering allegations against APCRH, the NGO that he chairs have never even been disclosed to the organisation.

He laments how barely a month after he was appointed, a high calibre gun fitted with a silencer was fired into his private office; how he, at one time, discovered that he had been under illegal surveillance.

His attempt to conduct life-style audits of EACC staff through vetting was blocked. Who cares?"

Link - http://mobile.nation.co....1/-/5bd70tz/-/index.html
#35 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 12:45:22 PM

Please acquaint yourself with Philip Kinisu's history. Other than your speculation, any evidence of impropriety in the family company winning any of those tenders?

@ecstasy, turns out your guy lied about the alleged assassination attempt. The bullet was rusted which means it was placed there. It can only be fired from a pistol not a high calibre weapon as he had alleged. The building was not even occupied at the time the bullet was found.

Just who is this guy ? Coz he is a perfect FIT for Jubilee's lootocracy.
#36 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 2:08:00 PM

@ecstasy, turns out your guy lied about the alleged assassination attempt. The bullet was rusted which means it was placed there. It can only be fired from a pistol not a high calibre weapon as he had alleged. The building was not even occupied at the time the bullet was found.

Information source?
#37 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 2:18:42 PM

Information source?

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/p12i8jz/-/index.html
#38 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 3:49:10 PM

Information source?

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/p12i8jz/-/index.html

OKEI
Alba
#39 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 4:14:06 PM

The top government officials during the Kenyatta and Moi eras have left wealth that is measured in billions of shillings that their children legit and illegitimate) and their grand kids are now fighting over.

See Samuel Gichuru's 20 billion empire

With the Uhuruto govt keeping the pace with free for all corruption, it stands to reason that many brilliant minds want to work for gova. Clearly you can build a much bigger empire in government

On top of corruption, the Kenya govt has seen it fit to pay useless people like IEBC commissioners and constitutional reform commissioners far more than people like Doctors who have life saving skills. In fact they get paid more than the president of the United states !

Due to our twisted priorities, it stands to reason again that the most brilliant minds will skip the private sector or personal business to work for gova.

Why toil to open your business that can create jobs when you can build a financial empire in govt with much less effort?
#40 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2016 5:15:27 PM

The lesson from this EACC Chairman Kinisu saga is do NOT do ANY private business (however legal) with government, directly or INDIRECTLY, while EACC Chairman.