NMG Closes Broadcast Stations
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 9:47:53 AM

#2 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 9:51:41 AM

G.O.S.H!

#3 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 10:01:26 AM

yes have seen memo going round, woii pole kwa those affected
#thinking of barclays retrenchmentcover
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 2:40:27 PM

In broadcasting hakuna kitu kama strong TV/Radio station it will be about segmentation i.e KTN news, bamba sport Inooro etc .Print will also eventually die .Royal media and guys at lion place are the only people currently making the right moves when it comes to media.
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 5:12:06 PM

madollar wrote:
In broadcasting hakuna kitu kama strong TV/Radio station it will be about segmentation i.e KTN news, bamba sport Inooro etc .Print will also eventually die .Royal media and guys at lion place are the only people currently making the right moves when it comes to media.

I did not know there's such an animal known as 'Day 2 Journalism'. I will purpose to NOT partake.

Agreed @madollar Citizen and KissFM just did not leave space. Before even talking of KTN and their Radio Maisha.

moneydust
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2016 6:59:22 PM

madollar wrote:

True, they were very slow, and still are in recognising the goldmine that is vernacular radio.
RMS beats them 50 nil.The new strategy leaves them with newspaper as the main cash cow followed by Tv .I bet somewhere down the line, this strategy will be dumped and radio brought back on board.
#7 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 4:49:07 AM

madollar wrote:

I beg to differ, print will not die. Strategy is KEY. They just need to be creative. Muganda has looked and the numbers and he can see clearly radio and QTV are not making him money, so why keep swimming in the red ocean? The big sharks in radio are known, if Macharia tried to copy Kiss fm or Nation, he'd be the one downsizing now. Fact is Qfm was created to counter Radio Citizen and Jambo...a clear lack of creativity (kiosk mentality) by management. There's enough to go around for everyone they just need to cut out their niche and excite the market.

Apart from listening to Radio in the car, where else do you get to sit and indulge in radio?

Now as they move to the digital jungle, they need to loose that person who was posting on their facebook page. The digital readers have a short attention span, no one wants to read 3 paragraphs of a FB post. 2 retweeting yesterdays news is not keeping people up to date, tweet the current information....that is what is news.
#8 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 8:33:52 AM

Murchr please remember the conversation we had a few years ago. I told you they would die. Now they think having that website is just great. They have no idea what is coming.

kollabo
#9 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 11:53:20 AM

"The Jubilee government is hostile to the media..........Some of the destructive policies implemented under CS Matiang'i and Info Secretary Ezekiel Mutua involved slashing government advertising in newspapers" - Mutuma Mathiu

This must be the dumbest Editor in Chief in this country.
#10 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 12:44:26 PM

kollabo wrote:
"The Jubilee government is hostile to the media..........Some of the destructive policies implemented under CS Matiang'i and Info Secretary Ezekiel Mutua involved slashing government advertising in newspapers" - Mutuma Mathiu

This must be the dumbest Editor in Chief in this country.

So in short, our media houses are surviving on govt adverts....if this is the case, can they be independent?
Mike Ock
#11 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 1:24:21 PM

moneydust wrote:
madollar wrote:

True, they were very slow, and still are in recognising the goldmine that is vernacular radio.
RMS beats them 50 nil.The new strategy leaves them with newspaper as the main cash cow followed by Tv .I bet somewhere down the line, this strategy will be dumped and radio brought back on board.

Vernacular isn't a gold mine as such like you say. It's just a great way of getting numbers, but it's not all that in terms of segmentation. There are very few advertisers looking for a certain tribe in particular. The holy grail of broadcast in Kenya is the so-called 'aspirational' audience, also known as 'wannabes.' The Capital FM type of listener. These guys buy into new ideas like nobodys business and that was who Nation was aiming for with easy FM. They tried for over 10 years to crack the market, it didn't work, bahati mbaya, and they've chosen to accept and move on.

So in short, our media houses are surviving on govt adverts....if this is the case, can they be independent?

All major newspapers(Nation, Standard, Star) have government as their biggest client, hence are the most useless sources of news. Ata afadhali Nairobian, which relies on subscription revenue for money.
#12 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 2:05:56 PM

Murchr please remember the conversation we had a few years ago. I told you they would die. Now they think having that website is just great. They have no idea what is coming.

We were on the same side of the court back then. I dont think we have the full picture yet. Alot of shake up is coming ..... keep watching
streetwise
#13 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2016 2:54:46 PM

Have you seen the people free daily, this is the way to go.

Print media for sell will die

Who has the data we analyse
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2016 11:16:15 PM

#15 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2016 11:50:33 PM

Ok

Let me start by saying that at 11:41 pm I'm not sober. Whatever I say after this in because I'm drunk and I really I'm lying.

Then let me continue by saying that even if you see me cursing murchr on wazua, there are few me I respect on this forum...He's number 1.

Now let me go to the story of this thread.

It was about NMG dying...

Let me be very caterorical here...NMG shall die if they still think that print media shall work in the future.

But NMG is not a print media company..
They are an information company.

If they continue in print they shall die. And that was our conversation with murchr.

Then murchr had to make a decision to bring up Caroline Mutoko with her wisdom

Let us take stock of her wisdom

1. Maina Kageni
2. The Star
3. Mpasho

Like seriously?

Mpasho?

They even had a guy who was fired coz he talked on his phone how he's love to f*** Mutoko.

Let us be honest here and serious about media.

I hate Kenyan media editors. If Larry Madowo is an editor, I wonder what happened to the children of Hillay Ngweno and the weekly review.

Caroline Mutoko here is pretending that Radio Africa is hot.

It isn't...Never will be.

After all Mpasho is like vera sidika's panties

oh vera sidika has brown panties...some f***ed sijui who.

Listen Carol, you are someone I want my daughters to believe in...Lakini hii ni upus.

Radio Africa should die like kesho..Like die...Upus united

Carol the media changed....Agreed.

But changing media is not that difficult...

All these rally mandows have been trying to compete with you...The least common denominator.

I'm sure actually 100% sure that a session between me and murchr shall garner more viewers than your upus media..

Imagine

Murchr vs Alma on Radio...Hio kelele of Radio Africa is dead.

Terrible terrible murchr like seriously, this is your hero?

#16 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2016 11:59:18 PM

i had to edit this crap i wrote. sue happy, they are

all i can is radio africa is not the moral upbringing i want for my kids.

#17 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2016 12:36:18 AM

Wacha wivu, this woman has a point tho its not in depth as we have discussed here in wazua previously. NMG did the right thing by pulling the plug on Radio and QTV. If it wasn't making money, then there was no need of throwing good money on it.

NMG will grow if they remain the information hub. They have to differentiate themselves distinctly. And this is the beginning. Kill what is not making money and nurture/water what is. Madowo is crap truth be said, but he entertains generation xoxo - Our days Jimmy Gathu did it for us.

Even cable tv is dying - DSTV and other subscription channels will be killed by the internet.

Wachana na Caro. She knows her niche and she's made it there. You dont belong to kina mpasho news dont even click those sites
#18 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2016 9:44:03 AM

streetwise wrote:

Masukuma should have it, He has numbers/data for everything under the sun
#19 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2016 11:34:30 AM

streetwise wrote:

At some point in the future news will be 99% consumed online the sooner companies think of a paywall the better for them.Newyork times is already doing it after a few articles subscription lazima for NMG this could be one avenue to bring in more revenue given the readership it commands .
Anti_Burglar
#20 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2016 11:51:11 AM

I think I heard Caroline Mutoko saying it was brave for NMG to keep the radio alive for 18 years in various names Nation, Easy and back to Nation, yet it was not making money.

If it were others, she would have blasted them for not seeing the obvious writing on the wall for 18 years!

Hypocrite! Liar!

LiarLiar Liar Liar