I really would like to know the thinking behind the suggested ICT bill coming up in a parliament near you.
Ati we have a board of gov't appointees, old geezers, and guys who have never seen a laptop deciding who can and should not practise as an IT professional. Worse, they don't even say what IT professional means.
To say that I'm mad is an understatement. First we had the security bill, now we have a bill that states that if you don't have a license from the gov't you can not do anything IT related.
Yaani even the current CS does not have sort of license of whatever kind to practise with this ambigous radioactive law.
Worse, Bill Gates having not cleared university would never have started Microsoft. That other fellow from Apple would not have existed. Paypal, Tesla, yaani even Uber would need their owners to be licensed by the gov't of Kenya.
Let me say this with fear, this law is worse than the security law. Simply because it shall effectively kill any innovation from the young guys and gals coding in the cyber. They won't be allowed to get jobs unless they have a license. What?!!!
Ati you get a degree from a university in Kenya where the lecturer does not even own a laptop.
Madness I tell you madness.
I'm saying this knowing fully well that I qualify based on the draft. Actually more qualified with legit papers from international bodies than the fellows who came with this one.
But never ever in my career have I ever been asked for my license, my papers etc worldwide. I have never even considered that as a reason to hire anyone.
Hii ni Kenya tu.