wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

75 Pages«<5455565758>»
Kengen success
mkate_nusu
#551 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 1:15:33 AM

guru267 wrote:
Debt is a beautiful thing when return on assets exceeds the interest paid on debt...

Debt is also cheaper than equity in the long run as equity cannot be redeemed...

With Kengen's asset base we should be seeing at least KES 20Bn PAT.. So waiting for that potential to be unlocked should be rewarding.

I think the new Company's Act does [or will] allow for share buybacks. So yes, equity can be redeemed. Some firms issue/d Preference Equity/Shares. These too can be redeemed.

well said chief. in my short time at wazua I realize anyone can throw around some fancy terminologies and expect all the people to be fooled
KEGN, KPLC, KQ, SCOM
enyands
#552 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 1:35:03 AM

mkate_nusu wrote:
guru267 wrote:
Debt is a beautiful thing when return on assets exceeds the interest paid on debt...

Debt is also cheaper than equity in the long run as equity cannot be redeemed...

With Kengen's asset base we should be seeing at least KES 20Bn PAT.. So waiting for that potential to be unlocked should be rewarding.

I think the new Company's Act does [or will] allow for share buybacks. So yes, equity can be redeemed. Some firms issue/d Preference Equity/Shares. These too can be redeemed.

well said chief. in my short time at wazua I realize anyone can throw around some fancy terminologies and expect all the people to be fooled

This is just funny
#553 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 7:06:05 AM

guru267 wrote:

Really?
#554 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 7:32:33 AM

guru267 wrote:

Really?
No. Not really.
http://www.businessdaily...60/-/le989b/-/index.html
muandiwambeu
#555 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 8:51:57 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Massive debt with the promise of higher revenues and in turn profits. Thats always the plan, it's a risk, one thing goes wrong and the interest payments eat you alive. Debt is good, but too much will kill you, ask KQ

I echo your thoughts @aguy. I find growth of wealth through equity more palatable, any day. the risks are way too low. dissolution/ liquidation or hostile take over hence loss of business but at premium on your capital. debt poses all above and at pricey interests that must be paid.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#556 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 9:20:07 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Massive debt with the promise of higher revenues and in turn profits. Thats always the plan, it's a risk, one thing goes wrong and the interest payments eat you alive. Debt is good, but too much will kill you, ask KQ

I echo your thoughts @aguy. I find growth of wealth through equity more palatable, any day. the risks are way too low. dissolution/ liquidation or hostile take over hence loss of business but at premium on your capital. debt poses all above and at pricey interests that must be paid.
Not if the firm is TransCentury. http://www.businessdaily...08/-/yoviea/-/index.html
Aguytrying
#557 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 10:26:56 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
[quote=guru267]Debt is a beautiful thing when return on assets exceeds the interest paid on debt...

Not if the firm is TransCentury. http://www.businessdaily...8/-/yoviea/-/index.html[/quote]

Thank you. transcentury, KQ, KK and ARM are good examples of what Large large debt can do to a company. One thing goes wrong and the pack of cards comes crumbling down. even Kenol kobil was in the mix but has managed to claw itself out. Manageable debt is good. But when i hear a company is planning to take on 200bn to 1 trillion in debt to grow its assets. i RUN for the hills.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#558 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 10:40:46 AM

@Aguy - Though TCL screwed over their Bondholders. The announcement today, also captured by BD, seems to indicate they paid the Bondholders, after 5 years, just 5% of their investment... in shares not cash!

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/yoviea/-/index.html[
Aguytrying
#559 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 11:15:05 AM

@Aguy - Though TCL screwed over their Bondholders. The announcement today, also captured by BD, seems to indicate they paid the Bondholders, after 5 years, just 5% of their investment... in shares not cash!

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/yoviea/-/index.html[

This is a comedy, well know the cast hopefully
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Ericsson
#560 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2016 11:50:03 AM

Jameni hii ni thread ya KENGEN
maneno ya TCL iko in another topic/thread
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
75 Pages«<5455565758>»