2022 elections
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
chemirocha wrote:Impunity wrote:chemirocha wrote:Tokyo wrote:Democracy should be redefined so that Voting be a restricted affair. Clueless masses privilege of voting must be restricted Yeah, because that works so well in China Very true in China and most of the so called Tigers. Hakuna WHOLESALE demoncrazy huko. If you cant comprehend simple basic matters then you are not allowed near a voting booth. In fact those countries are run like Big corporates, only people who can think forward are allowed to vote. Who said the majority are always right? CRAP! I was being sarcastic about China. The members of the politburo are answerable only towards themselves. The rule of the mob that is democracy is a much better system of governance. Please take the sentence below to the Chinese EXIM bank: >>>Democrazy cannot work for a developing country like Kenya and Saos Sudan, countries full of nincompoops and bootlickers...guys who want to amasse weolth for the sake of it by looting national treasury<<<Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Rahatupu wrote:Impunity wrote:chemirocha wrote:Tokyo wrote:Democracy should be redefined so that Voting be a restricted affair. Clueless masses privilege of voting must be restricted Yeah, because that works so well in China Very true in China and most of the so called Tigers. Hakuna WHOLESALE demoncrazy huko. If you cant comprehend simple basic matters then you are not allowed near a voting booth. In fact those countries are run like Big corporates, only people who can think forward are allowed to vote. Who said the majority are always right? CRAP! I remember some NGO fronting for prisoners right to vote, Mutual Kilonzo opposed this. The another was canvassing for the mentally handicapped to vote esp after 2010 promulgation. Ask yourself, if only reasonable people could be allowed to vote in Rarieda, where do you think that constituency would be now under the guidance of @Tuju? Even the idea of mobile clinics that @mama ohuru is dangling around was realized by @Tuju a decade ago! Ponder that. But give thanks and praises to demon-crazy which entertain dunderheads to vote, sijui universal sufferage (pun)! Think about those respectable senior citizens being driven to polling stations aboard boda boda and then ask to tick "kando ya picha ya @baba", what value are they adding in the system if not tyranny of numbers? How do you identify "reasonable people".Moreover reasonable is subjective depending on your class status and education background If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
In Japan , you can't just wake up and be eligible to vote. You must be "invited " by the government. That invitation is only to a tax payer without any pending criminal conviction work to prosper
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
Impunity wrote:chemirocha wrote:Impunity wrote:chemirocha wrote:Tokyo wrote:Democracy should be redefined so that Voting be a restricted affair. Clueless masses privilege of voting must be restricted Yeah, because that works so well in China Very true in China and most of the so called Tigers. Hakuna WHOLESALE demoncrazy huko. If you cant comprehend simple basic matters then you are not allowed near a voting booth. In fact those countries are run like Big corporates, only people who can think forward are allowed to vote. Who said the majority are always right? CRAP! I was being sarcastic about China. The members of the politburo are answerable only towards themselves. The rule of the mob that is democracy is a much better system of governance. Please take the sentence below to the Chinese EXIM bank: >>>Democrazy cannot work for a developing country like Kenya and Saos Sudan, countries full of nincompoops and bootlickers...guys who want to amasse weolth for the sake of it by looting national treasury<<< What an absurd statement. How can wananchi expect good leadership when we keep voting in the same jokers?
Swenani wrote:Impunity wrote:Rahatupu wrote:Impunity wrote:chemirocha wrote:Tokyo wrote:Democracy should be redefined so that Voting be a restricted affair. Clueless masses privilege of voting must be restricted Yeah, because that works so well in China Very true in China and most of the so called Tigers. Hakuna WHOLESALE demoncrazy huko. If you cant comprehend simple basic matters then you are not allowed near a voting booth. In fact those countries are run like Big corporates, only people who can think forward are allowed to vote. Who said the majority are always right? CRAP! I remember some NGO fronting for prisoners right to vote, Mutual Kilonzo opposed this. The another was canvassing for the mentally handicapped to vote esp after 2010 promulgation. Ask yourself, if only reasonable people could be allowed to vote in Rarieda, where do you think that constituency would be now under the guidance of @Tuju? Even the idea of mobile clinics that @mama ohuru is dangling around was realized by @Tuju a decade ago! Ponder that. But give thanks and praises to demon-crazy which entertain dunderheads to vote, sijui universal sufferage (pun)! Think about those respectable senior citizens being driven to polling stations aboard boda boda and then ask to tick "kando ya picha ya @baba", what value are they adding in the system if not tyranny of numbers? How do you identify "reasonable people".Moreover reasonable is subjective depending on your class status and education background A person like you will be a perfect datam for unreasonable person! Anything like you will be immediately classified "unreasonable", anything better than you will be banked as "reasonable". Very easy, you see. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
from a philosophical perspective - my take has always been , everyone should vote (forced to vote!). my belief is that regardless of stature and education you have a voice and my mentor in this line of work once wrote Quote:The history of democracy throughout the world has never yet produced a perfect election. There are always those who will do everything possible to win, from corrupting the voter register to vote buying and intimidation to trying to influence the vote count and reporting. And there are those who will blame everybody and everything except themselves when they lose. Every election has its stories of success and its stories of challenge and difficulty. But the democratic process remains the most equitable approach to choosing those who will govern.
Election Day is still the one day when we strive to give equal voice to every eligible voter; the day when the woman working in the market stall has as much of a say as any wealthy banker, and the illiterate menial laborer has a voice that speaks as eloquently as any university professor. It is our shared responsibility to strive for processes and systems that ensure that every voter is given the opportunity to make their will known, and that every vote is counted. that quote concisely put to words my ideals on elections and voting. democracy is an ideal... one that feed's back! it's not about economics but one about the voice of each human being. That is why we have elections. if you think people are illiterate and cannot be trusted with the decision - increase their literacy. the process generally makes people better other than setting a qualification bar that disqualifies people. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:from a philosophical perspective - my take has always been , everyone should vote (forced to vote!). my belief is that regardless of stature and education you have a voice and my mentor in this line of work once wrote Quote:The history of democracy throughout the world has never yet produced a perfect election. There are always those who will do everything possible to win, from corrupting the voter register to vote buying and intimidation to trying to influence the vote count and reporting. And there are those who will blame everybody and everything except themselves when they lose. Every election has its stories of success and its stories of challenge and difficulty. But the democratic process remains the most equitable approach to choosing those who will govern.
Election Day is still the one day when we strive to give equal voice to every eligible voter; the day when the woman working in the market stall has as much of a say as any wealthy banker, and the illiterate menial laborer has a voice that speaks as eloquently as any university professor. It is our shared responsibility to strive for processes and systems that ensure that every voter is given the opportunity to make their will known, and that every vote is counted. that quote concisely put to words my ideals on elections and voting. democracy is an ideal... one that feed's back! it's not about economics but one about the voice of each human being. That is why we have elections. if you think people are illiterate and cannot be trusted with the decision - increase their literacy. the process generally makes people better other than setting a qualification bar that disqualifies people. And thats why Democrazy can only work in developed countries literacy iko yuu...for us neanderthals, we need some serious *ss kicking for the time being! Its the bitter truth. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:masukuma wrote:from a philosophical perspective - my take has always been , everyone should vote (forced to vote!). my belief is that regardless of stature and education you have a voice and my mentor in this line of work once wrote Quote:The history of democracy throughout the world has never yet produced a perfect election. There are always those who will do everything possible to win, from corrupting the voter register to vote buying and intimidation to trying to influence the vote count and reporting. And there are those who will blame everybody and everything except themselves when they lose. Every election has its stories of success and its stories of challenge and difficulty. But the democratic process remains the most equitable approach to choosing those who will govern.
Election Day is still the one day when we strive to give equal voice to every eligible voter; the day when the woman working in the market stall has as much of a say as any wealthy banker, and the illiterate menial laborer has a voice that speaks as eloquently as any university professor. It is our shared responsibility to strive for processes and systems that ensure that every voter is given the opportunity to make their will known, and that every vote is counted. that quote concisely put to words my ideals on elections and voting. democracy is an ideal... one that feed's back! it's not about economics but one about the voice of each human being. That is why we have elections. if you think people are illiterate and cannot be trusted with the decision - increase their literacy. the process generally makes people better other than setting a qualification bar that disqualifies people. And thats why Democrazy can only work in developed countries literacy iko yuu...for us neanderthals, we need some serious *ss kicking for the time being! Its the bitter truth. who says it's not working? and again who says "it's working in majuu"?. From where I stand "working" is a continuum. You need to learn to separate a number of things: 1) democracy <--- voice 2) freedom <--- doing what you want 3) modernity <--- kuchanuka 4) prosperity they are related but they are not always dependent on each other. China is a prosperous modern nation. Kenya is a free and democratic country. The US is a democratic, free, modern and prosperous country. Of course again each of those words is a continuum. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:from a philosophical perspective - my take has always been , everyone should vote (forced to vote!). my belief is that regardless of stature and education you have a voice and my mentor in this line of work once wrote Quote:The history of democracy throughout the world has never yet produced a perfect election. There are always those who will do everything possible to win, from corrupting the voter register to vote buying and intimidation to trying to influence the vote count and reporting. And there are those who will blame everybody and everything except themselves when they lose. Every election has its stories of success and its stories of challenge and difficulty. But the democratic process remains the most equitable approach to choosing those who will govern.
Election Day is still the one day when we strive to give equal voice to every eligible voter; the day when the woman working in the market stall has as much of a say as any wealthy banker, and the illiterate menial laborer has a voice that speaks as eloquently as any university professor. It is our shared responsibility to strive for processes and systems that ensure that every voter is given the opportunity to make their will known, and that every vote is counted. that quote concisely put to words my ideals on elections and voting. democracy is an ideal... one that feed's back! it's not about economics but one about the voice of each human being. That is why we have elections. if you think people are illiterate and cannot be trusted with the decision - increase their literacy. the process generally makes people better other than setting a qualification bar that disqualifies people. This opinion is biased considering the work you do for a living.  ION,there are illiterate Kenyans who are more informed when it comes to voting than the literate Wazuans here who have increased literacy but still vote along tribal lines. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
What I would have loved to see here is an intelligent comparison of the two systems.
I am thinking Hongkong with its 1600-member election commitee that chooses the chief executive. And India which offers the perfect case study of universal suffrage at work.
Hongkong ticks all the right boxes of human aspirations, India, well.... The less said the better.
I strongly feel if you put together simon gicharu, vimal shah, delmonte boss, a representative from njenga karume family and Dr.patrick Njoroge. These five men can get you a better governor for kiambu county than the voters ever will.
FRM2011 wrote:What I would have loved to see here is an intelligent comparison of the two systems.
I am thinking Hongkong with its 1600-member election commitee that chooses the chief executive. And India which offers the perfect case study of universal suffrage at work.
Hongkong ticks all the right boxes of human aspirations, India, well.... The less said the better.
I strongly feel if you put together simon gicharu, vimal shah, delmonte boss, a representative from njenga karume family and Dr.patrick Njoroge. These five men can get you a better governor for kiambu county than the voters ever will. I think culture also plays a big role Do you think Mwau,kabogo,vimal,Chandria would make an optimal decision for this country? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
@FRM2011 - Democracy is not a prerequisite to modernity, freedom or even prosperity. Democracy is about THE VOICE!! Democracy is actually to me a dispute resolution mechanism. a way to share the cake so to speak. a way to NOT GO TO WAR! not a way to prosper. SA was prosperous for years and it was far from being democratic. Private companies are some of the most prosperous creations of human beings - they don't waste, they ensure that they get everything from their workers e.t.c. but representation is not that way. @Swenani - I think i have said it over and over and over again here... your voice is yours. so this is how the process goes... a random kenyan gets to 18 years old we say.. hey... this guy is now a "grown up". we give him/her an ID we tell them... "if you screw up - we will throw you in the slammer", "you can go and work anywhere in the country", "you can marry whomever you want (and wants you back)"" and "YOU CAN VOTE!". To me Voting is a choice as sacred as marriage... YOU GET TO DECIDE WHAT'S BEST FOR YOU! you don't marry to get rich.. (ok not all of us), you don't marry to be modern... YOU MARRY BECAUSE YOU WANT TO GET MARRIED. You decide who you want to marry and that is your choice. We can make fun of your choice (right to speech does not guarantee the right to be taken seriously)... but it's your choice. If we don't want a person to marry because of money WE EDUCATE THEM. We show them an unhappy couple that did something that silly... we don't say.. hey... you won't marry... until we decide that you are marrying the right person... The right to bear children as well... We educate them and tell them... well if you decide to have 10 kids and is as dry as a bone and ask - do you want to be like that? Then let them be! WHO THE HELL DO WE THINK WE ARE TO DECIDE FOR A GROWNUP? A PERSON WHO FEEDS THEMSELVES, HAS A CHOICE TO MARRY AND EVEN DECIDE THE NUMBER OF CHILDREN THEY WANT? you educate them and after doing that they decide on their own. Everyone has a story and thus the feedback loop I have been taking about... Going to school does not mean educated - it means literacy! education is experiences... experiences can only come when people are dipped in certain contexts. No textbook will drive ethnicity out of you... it's context that does that. You see something and say.. Huh!... it makes you think! So where I differ with most of you is the shortcut! We say - hey we have a bunch of persons who have only vegetated in their communes for years and believe luos cook in the basins they bathe in. These guys are "educated" since they went to dedan kimathi primary, dedan kimathi secondary and dedan kimathi university. they have never been outside dedan kimathi zone so all the narratives they know are narratives given to them since they were young... the brain is a creature of repeatition. so if you don't want people to make tribal decisions - dip them in contexts that make them question their preaffirmed positions. They think... Huh!! which luos are these I was being told about then? and slowly we have a better society... Democracy works with an EDUCATED AND PREFERABLY LITERATE society tuwache shortcuts! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Meanwhile, Itumbi says what they are thinking: Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:Meanwhile, Itumbi says what they are thinking:
Kizungu ni ngumu - you know the word "rig" has several official meanings i.e. Quote: 1 : to fit out (as a ship) with rigging 2 : clothe, dress —usually used with out 3 : to furnish with special gear : equip 4 a : to put in condition or position for use : adjust, arrange <a car rigged for manual control> b : construct <rig up a temporary shelter>
Africans have added a 5th meaning to the official list of definitions. i.e. STEAL!! rigging in an election contest is 'construct'... i.e. this election was 'rigged' means it was setup! preset.... either from candidate nomination to prevent candidates from showing up. or VR - ensuring that some certain people don't register effectively e.t.c. You can rig technology i.e. set it up! network it, configure it - how is it going to work? e.t.c. so that it works as planned without surprises on election day. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Meanwhile, Itumbi says what they are thinking:
Kizungu ni ngumu - you know the word "rig" has several official meanings i.e. Quote: 1 : to fit out (as a ship) with rigging 2 : clothe, dress —usually used with out 3 : to furnish with special gear : equip 4 a : to put in condition or position for use : adjust, arrange <a car rigged for manual control> b : construct <rig up a temporary shelter>
Africans have added a 5th meaning to the official list of definitions. i.e. STEAL!! rigging in an election contest is 'construct'... i.e. this election was 'rigged' means it was setup! preset.... either from candidate nomination to prevent candidates from showing up. or VR - ensuring that some certain people don't register effectively e.t.c. You can rig technology i.e. set it up! network it, configure it - how is it going to work? e.t.c. so that it works as planned without surprises on election day. Do you genuinely think @Itumbi had any of these definitions in mind in that sentence Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Othelo wrote:masukuma wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Meanwhile, Itumbi says what they are thinking:
Africans have added a 5th meaning to the official list of definitions. i.e. STEAL!! rigging in an election contest is 'construct'... i.e. this election was 'rigged' means it was setup! preset.... either from candidate nomination to prevent candidates from showing up. or VR - ensuring that some certain people don't register effectively e.t.c. You can rig technology i.e. set it up! network it, configure it - how is it going to work? e.t.c. so that it works as planned without surprises on election day. Do you genuinely think @Itumbi had any of these definitions in mind in that sentence unlike most people - his command of english is not bad. just listen to all his talks. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Othelo wrote:masukuma wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Meanwhile, Itumbi says what they are thinking:
Africans have added a 5th meaning to the official list of definitions. i.e. STEAL!! rigging in an election contest is 'construct'... i.e. this election was 'rigged' means it was setup! preset.... either from candidate nomination to prevent candidates from showing up. or VR - ensuring that some certain people don't register effectively e.t.c. You can rig technology i.e. set it up! network it, configure it - how is it going to work? e.t.c. so that it works as planned without surprises on election day. Do you genuinely think @Itumbi had any of these definitions in mind in that sentence unlike most people - his command of english is not bad. just listen to all his talks. At least it will be done effectively.... I would however like to hear what he answered when he was asked …. do the what?? Why was that cut out?? The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
@ZZE123 context matters, when someone slices off context it normally ends up creating a narrative of their choosing and this is mostly that is done maliciously - remember the brexit drama? "the English FRANTICALLY GOOGLING 'WHAT IS THE EU?'"? after polling?With the support of graphs like these  with labels such as Quote:Searches for "what is the eu" and "what is brexit" spiked in the U.K. after polls closed. to enforce the narrative? but compared to something the English really like doing "talk about the weather"  The spike was infinitesimal (at it's spike it was 1000 people out of country of 64 million). Context matters! when All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:@ZZE123 context matters, when someone slices off context it normally ends up creating a narrative of their choosing and this is mostly that is done maliciously - remember the brexit drama? "the English FRANTICALLY GOOGLING 'WHAT IS THE EU?'"? after polling?With the support of graphs like these  with labels such as Quote:Searches for "what is the eu" and "what is brexit" spiked in the U.K. after polls closed. to enforce the narrative? but compared to something the English really like doing "talk about the weather"  The spike was infinitesimal (at it's spike it was 1000 people out of country of 64 million). Context matters! when @Masukuma so these graphs represent the possibility of rigging ama?? The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
2022 elections