wazua Fri, Apr 26, 2024

High Cost of Projects Slowly Killing Kenyan Dream
limanika
#1 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 11:18:11 AM

That the high cost of projects in Kenya is likely to kill the Kenyan dream heading into the future is a question of when not if- that's if we keep burying our heads in the sand..e.g, the main reason why Rwanda and ug & Ss are reportedly pulling out of SGR is that they re simply unable to finance their portion of SGR...china's insistence that they use same contractor and same terms as keñya will just drive them away sooner than later. By the way its not a joke about changing geopolitics. ION ug is pulling out of somalia, anyone know the reason?,çoz changing realignmeants show ug will be less dependeñt on northern route heading into the future hence no major interests to secure the same. When we said cost of SGR is inflated, gok turned a deaf ear. Now, the high cost of projects- coz of financing kickbacks, campaigns and all thàt, likely to kill kenyan dream. IMHO, Kenya should ask china to let ug n rwanda source financiers and contractor for their portion of SGR otherwise we're done
popat
#2 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 11:25:34 AM

limanika wrote:
That the high cost of projects in Kenya is likely to kill the Kenyan dream heading into the future is a question of when not if- that's if we keep burying our heads in the sand..e.g, the main reason why Rwanda and ug & Ss are reportedly pulling out of SGR is that they re simply unable to finance their portion of SGR...china's insistence that they use same contractor and same terms as keñya will just drive them away sooner than later. By the way its not a joke about changing geopolitics. ION ug is pulling out of somalia, anyone know the reason?,çoz changing realignmeants show ug will be less dependeñt on northern route heading into the future hence no major interests to secure the same. When we said cost of SGR is inflated, gok turned a deaf ear. Now, the high cost of projects- coz of financing kickbacks, campaigns and all thàt, likely to kill kenyan dream. IMHO, Kenya should ask china to let ug n rwanda source financiers and contractor for their portion of SGR otherwise we're done
Substantiate your allegation.weka link hapa.
limanika
#3 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 11:50:00 AM

popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

Rink? It's all over mainstream media
#4 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 12:01:10 PM

the eating is being done by 'you know who'smile
#5 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 8:12:39 PM

limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

Boss, wacha reli ifike. Wachaneni kulalamika as if you are the one funding it. Kwani how much taxes have you paid since you were born?
Plimsoul
#6 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 8:27:25 PM

limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

Boss, wacha reli ifike. Wachaneni kulalamika as if you are the one funding it. Kwani how much taxes have you paid since you were born?

@limanika Don't let sparkly discourage you. The govt has no money of it's own. It belongs to citizens and they have every right to question how it's spent. Keep it up.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 9:38:10 AM

Plimsoul wrote:
limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

@limanika Don't let sparkly discourage you. The govt has no money of it's own. It belongs to citizens and they have every right to question how it's spent. Keep it up.

Posting wild allegations disguised as authoritative opinion nkt. Treasury publishes budget estimates to last coin. They have also published debt sustainability reports. Budget estimates are scrutinized and passed by Parliament. Parliament approves the debt ceiling. Parliament approves budget appropriations. Office of Budget Controller makes sure money is spent for the right reasons. Auditor General provides audit oversight for all Gov levels. Private citizens are invited to make their presentations at all PFM levels.

If @limanika has credible concerns, he should quote numbers and even make his presentations to Treasury and Parliament.
enyands
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 9:46:59 AM

Plimsoul wrote:
limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

Posting wild allegations disguised as authoritative opinion nkt. Treasury publishes budget estimates to last coin. They have also published debt sustainability reports. Budget estimates are scrutinized and passed by Parliament. Parliament approves the debt ceiling. Parliament approves budget appropriations. Office of Budget Controller makes sure money is spent for the right reasons. Auditor General provides audit oversight for all Gov levels. Private citizens are invited to make their presentations at all PFM levels.

If @limanika has credible concerns, he should quote numbers and even make his presentations to Treasury and Parliament.

This is like a dream to me sparkly .

1 Sparkly are you talking of kenya ama majuu.the things you are saying is just hypothetical speaking but not practical in any african country honestly

2 PAC was compromised and they were busted being corrupt by their own committee members . Do you trust any info or decision made by those guys apart from adding their salaries

I see the swelling interest of debt we have to pay and Ericsson mentioned about it .261 billion interest on loans and 250 repayment .NOTE interest is higher than repayment .I don't know what kind of negotiation was this

At the end of the day we will pay all this money ..na wacha nisikie mtu anasema bei ya bidhaa imeanza kwenda juu ..
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 11:06:07 AM

Nah, Ug. is not pulling out of Som. coz of 'changing realignments that show Ug will be less dependent on northern route'

Note UG went into Som in 2007 way before launch of Kenya's V2030 of which SGR is a flagship project in 2008.

Pia, UG n Burundi are in Som coz of USD/EUROs/ to raise their country profile plus additionally for M7, military adventurism which he loves

Total will fund Ug's SGR portion through Tanga.

So M7 would pull out if EU pulled the plug on AMISOM funding in Som.

#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 11:19:17 AM

enyands wrote:
Plimsoul wrote:
limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

1 Sparkly are you talking of kenya ama majuu.the things you are saying is just hypothetical speaking but not practical in any african country honestly

2 PAC was compromised and they were busted being corrupt by their own committee members . Do you trust any info or decision made by those guys apart from adding their salaries

I see the swelling interest of debt we have to pay and Ericsson mentioned about it .261 billion interest on loans and 250 repayment .NOTE interest is higher than repayment .I don't know what kind of negotiation was this

At the end of the day we will pay all this money ..na wacha nisikie mtu anasema bei ya bidhaa imeanza kwenda juu ..

By brother @enyands some people are net consumers of taxes yet are the loudest critics of how their money is being spent.

Let's do the math for @lima. GOK will spend 2.2T for a population of 44m. that's 55k per person.

Will his investments in active business or passive investment instruments contribute 55k or more to the exchequer?If not, he is a net consumer of taxes.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 4:46:39 PM

limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

Terrible, terrible attitude!!!

I don't know how anyone would reason like this unless they are part of the eating committee!!!

NB: I wanted to use a terrible name in place of "committee"! Free free to replace it with an appropriate word!!!
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 4:49:44 PM

Plimsoul wrote:
limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

This is theoretical bullshit!t at best!!!

The level of corruption is so high it can make you puke!!!

Are you trying to tell us there is no corruption in Kenya because of all these things/people you have mentioned??? Where do you live???
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 4:58:15 PM

enyands wrote:
Plimsoul wrote:
limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

Some people cannot be helped!!! This government is taxing anything and everything to raise money for all sorts of things - debt repayments, over priced projects, financing corruption (ultimately - it is our taxes being stolen!!)

The fellows are taxing water and juice at beer rates (za kitambo). Ati you are taxing soda to make people live healthy lives then you tax mineral water and fresh juice!!! Ati you are slapping a tax of 7/= per litre of kerosene to "stop adulteration of fuel".... What kind of nonsense is that!!??
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 5:15:53 PM

enyands wrote:
Plimsoul wrote:
limanika wrote:
popat wrote:
limanika wrote:

By brother @enyands some people are net consumers of taxes yet are the loudest critics of how their money is being spent.

Let's do the math for @lima. GOK will spend 2.2T for a population of 44m. that's 55k per person.

Will his investments in active business or passive investment instruments contribute 55k or more to the exchequer?If not, he is a net consumer of taxes.

Laughing out loudly I see you are fed up.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 6:41:49 PM

But on a serious note, the costing in this country is a mess!!!

I heard about a 17 km bypass to complete the circuit around Nairobi. The damn thing is supposed to cost like 20 Billion. I was like, what the f@*k!!?? More than a Billion per kilometre!? Even the 10 lane Thika Road was costing like half Billion per kilometre. Hii bypass inatumia more than a Billion per kilometre inajengwa na nini???
enyands
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 7:33:56 PM

I heard about a 17 km bypass to complete the circuit around Nairobi. The damn thing is supposed to cost like 20 Billion. I was like, what the f@*k!!?? More than a Billion per kilometre!? Even the 10 lane Thika Road was costing like half Billion per kilometre. Hii bypass inatumia more than a Billion per kilometre inajengwa na nini???

I came across this article from NHTA
well it says alot and I'll leave it here

How Much Does It Cost to Build a Mile of Road?

There is no single answer to this question. Construction costs per mile of road depend on location, terrain, type of construction, number of lanes, lane width, durability, number of bridges, etc. It costs more to build a new road than to rehabilitate a road or add lanes. Roads cost more to build in urban areas than in rural areas. Roads in mountainous terrain are more expensive to build than roads on flat land.
Nonetheless, some states have developed cost models to guide planning for their highway construction programs. These models give a ballpark figure for various kinds of highway improvements. The following are some examples:

Construct a new 2-lane undivided road – about $2 million(ksh200m) to $3(ksh300m) million per mile (1.7km)in rural areas, about $3 million to $5 million in urban areas.
Construct a new 4-lane highway — $4 million to $6 million per mile in rural and suburban areas, $8 million to $10 million per mile in urban areas.
Construct a new 6-lane Interstate highway – about $7 million per mile in rural areas, $11 million or more per mile in urban areas.
Mill and resurface a 4-lane road – about $1.25 million per mile.
Expand an Interstate Highway from four lanes to six lanes – about $4 million per mile.

The Florida Department of Transportation has published its generic cost per mile information for 2013 online. The Arkansas Highway Department’s estimated cost per mile for 2013 is available online.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2016 11:56:53 PM

C&P wrote:
If you read the above statement well it indicates as follows:
The Ksh17.3 entails cost of feasibility studies, Designs.
Construction of a four lane highway measuring 16.5Km,

Construction of service roads on both sides totalling 17.37Km and Construction of four (4) interchanges and Bypasses.

Kindly note this is an EPC project, ( Engineering Procurement Concept) that means the agreement entails all costs including resettlement and compensation. Let's get the facts right.

I think to put it in perspective we need to think of the final cost of the 2km road from Bomas to KWS; it must have been over 3 billion. Factoring that land compensation was only at the interchange, its easy to draw parallels. I do not think there is enough road reserve to construct a dual road here never minding the fact that there will be four interchanges and service roads all through. Wangige bus terminus is part of the project, so is some soundproofing at Ndenderu

#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 12:13:19 AM

^^ @Maichblack and @limanika learn from @murchr and quote sources and figures.
innairobi
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 1:40:47 AM

uganda is not moving to tanzania. people, cargo through mombasa and dar es salaam including breakdown by country as well as annual growth has been public information for the last gazillion years. if uganda was moving to dar es salaam, they wouldnt even need to wait for a railway. road traffic would already have relocated like yesterday.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
innairobi
#20 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2016 1:43:37 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Nah, Ug. is not pulling out of Som. coz of 'changing realignments that show Ug will be less dependent on northern route'

Note UG went into Som in 2007 way before launch of Kenya's V2030 of which SGR is a flagship project in 2008.

Pia, UG n Burundi are in Som coz of USD/EUROs/ to raise their country profile plus additionally for M7, military adventurism which he loves

Total will fund Ug's SGR portion through Tanga.

So M7 would pull out if EU pulled the plug on AMISOM funding in Som.

Total funding SGR from Tanga to Kampala? where did you get that information from? Total's Global CEO would be instantly fired from his job if that happened.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.