wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Vitz, Platz, Funcargo, RunX, Alex
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 9:28:41 AM

Right, have you noticed that drivers of all the above models generally have major issues with the highway code?

The exhibit great difficulty in keeping to their lanes on the highway, negotiating a junction, going round a roundabout, changing lanes, speed judgement (ie going slow when speed is required and vice versa), starting on a hill, stopping in the most bizarre places, exiting Westgate Mall without paying/validating their parking tickets, overlapping, generally being a real nuisance on the roads!!!

How can this be? Does this mean that drivers with pecular weaknessess all buy the same cars??

This is a case study for Toyota and our very own National Bureau of Stats!

tuvok
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 9:54:13 AM

I would say that the above bad driving habits are exhibited by a majority of drivers ;)

But the case study should be interesting and conducted ;)

#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 12:21:47 PM

@kulahepi, my main beef is wth GK drivers, private taxis including teh yellow ones or with yellow line. mats we got used even if it gives way voluntarily you get very very suspicicous of the driver's intentions - but the GKs and private taxis...nktest!!
brav
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 1:16:57 PM

@eathappiness
For one, this tu-cars are very small and annoying, I've never encountered a funcargo driver with bad manner though lakini Vitz? especially iwe inaendeshwa na a woman dere...?
:bad news

BTW why is it that women take soo much offence in even giving you "line" when you want even to join a road ata kwa jam ngai fafa afadhali agonge gari iliyo mbele yake.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 1:34:54 PM

I have observed that Merc drivers are the most courteous on the road. I have observed this over time. Most of the times I am at a junction the driver who will let me through is driving a Merc. Anyone observed the same?
Marty
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 2:27:42 PM

@Ali,

Very true, and most of the merc drivers have achieved, so no much hurry like subaru drivers......mostly young dudes who love speeds...
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Jangwa la Jangili
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 2:45:49 PM

Hilarious but very true. The other day on my way to Meru and a guy (maybe a chic?) in a new RunX is doing some sort of road test by trying to overtake a hundred cars at full speed just when we are approaching the peak of an ascent. Was just praying the jinga doesn't meet with those miraa pickups and pulls the rest of us into his suicidal s**t.

Ongeza Fielders/NZEs kwa hiyo list.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 5:02:22 PM

Ive noted GK cars have cooled off recently, ever since the MPigs have been "relegated" to Passats, they seem to have been given a reality check.

Taxis are pathetic. NZE and Fielder, not so bad, but there is a new breed on the roads I have noticed recently.....Nissan Xtrail
JkMwatha
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 10:31:33 PM

brav wrote:

BTW why is it that women take soo much offence in even giving you "line" when you want even to join a road ata kwa jam ngai fafa afadhali agonge gari iliyo mbele yake.

Very true.

Sigiriri
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:15:32 AM

My very honest opinion is that these toy drivers seem to have something to prove and second and most important - there is this thing in their minds that they dont think their cars are expe to fix. Most pple dont buy these cars because they like or love them, but coz they are cheap. If you dont really value ur car as Merc, Audi, BMW, VX and others with 'significant' vehicles do, then you dont think twice about throwing the wheels all over the place with reckless abandon.

Msee wa Benz anapenda gari yake - mosmos, easy does it, no dents - ikigongwa anauza - their insurance excess might be 200K! hehe, platz - 15K..so repairs aren't that interesting either.

Drive with care and if you drive one of these toys, change attitude bwana.
brav
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:36:50 AM

I was chatting with a buddy who has a new subaru impreza? a brand new one, a KBH but full of dents and different shades of grey, mlango ni darker metalic grey, the wing is metalic lighter grey,ile part mahali ya mlango wa petrol a different metalic grey etc infact inakaa kama chameleon, and I joked about it and he confirmed to me that anataka igongwe gongwe then aipeleke inyoroshwe yote. so its true some people just dont value their cars.
brav
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:44:07 AM

Speaking of GK's those ma GK prados. eish, kwani zote ni za flying squad or security detail? not only do they harras their way but they'll even jump out to harass. I remember an incident one wanted to get into the tuskys buru parking through the exit. then on the way out was a tour van. the guy in the prado start hooting to be given way. yet there was a queue waitng behind the van to exit. then they come out to harass the dere and the paged mama. was like WTF?
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 2:22:20 PM

Well,i've always wondered..but now that you guys have discussed it,it kind of makes sense. Gari ndogo=driver with issues. And the most courteous drivers are not only Merc deres,but anybody driving a serious car. If they misbehave,you can always bet that's an employed driver and never the owner of the expensive ride! While i dont mean to hate on the ladies..they seldom give way,kwanza to a fellow lady?even if you just want to cross over to the opposite direction and she's stuck in traffic..hawezi wacha upite. just like matatu drivers. GK and Taxi drivers are the worst ever,the Govt should construct private lanes,just for them to go misbehave and express their arrogance wakiwa peke yao.
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 2:54:28 PM

soon everyone will be driving the so called small cars, with an efficient transport network thanks to the Chinese the guzzlers will be left for the minority..the 5% who have money security.
Cardinal
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 2:59:01 PM

Its very true that Lady drivers darely give way, i guess it because they take it as a form of harrassment or what.They simply cannot.

I once saw a lady driving a UN vehicle along Jogoo Road hitting another car just because a Matatu Driver wanted to overlap her.I wonder was it really worth it?
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 22, 2010 4:05:22 PM

even those morning yellow-line taxi deres on nbi streets who park across 2 or more parking spaces while talking & playing kameme at full blast with car doors open also need 2 style up
#17 Posted : Friday, April 23, 2010 7:24:07 AM

Very good observation right thurr, kularaha! These toy cars' drivers have major issues. even my 6 year old son knows vitz drivers are very rude on the road! The other forgotten group is the Duet, starlet(kwanza the very old ones) and the March. It is even worse if it is a man who is driving these cars! I bet it has to do with egos...

Have you ever noted that if a guy is driving a car, and i mean a CAR (not vitz) and happens to be handsome, a woman will insist on giving him way? So check yourself in the mirror or check out your car if you women dont give you way (am kidding!)
brav
#18 Posted : Friday, April 23, 2010 7:41:33 AM

Laughing out loudly Weee wendz unawii niuwee uria ndi muthakaa mariigaga kuhee raini nikii? Laughing out loudly

#19 Posted : Friday, April 23, 2010 8:01:14 AM

I forgot to add that its important that you are alone... or with another handsome guy..... LOOOL!

@Brav
Ngai fafa, onawe matikuheaga raini? nokorwo mama bravlet akoragwo hoo! kana utwaraga kaduet hahahahahahaha!!!
#20 Posted : Friday, April 23, 2010 9:02:51 AM

Its true!! I have had many ladies give me way....and a nice smile to boot....there are times Im tempted to wink!