SGR Progress thus far
Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Kijana, quit making an ass of yourself now. The more you post, the more i am convinced, you have never been anywhere near an engineering class. Just quit. By Wednesday, nobody will remember your ignorance....unless of course, you remind us again. Mzee, Do you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasa to Nairobi? Yes or No.
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient So if you want to carry heavy loads in a rail line you just need to raise up and up? Siwangeijenga huko kwa cloud 9? By the way have been close the completed secfctions of the SGR? You will see sections raised between 5-10m mostly by what is our terms iscalld embankment. Now the question is this: WHY EMBANK IT FOR THE ENTIRE 450km on sections which are literally unihabited flatland? I sincerely hope that if you hold a title of engineer wewe ni fundi wa mitambo KBC as in sound engineer or the person fixing cameras on tripods coz kama haukuelewa that simple explanation, you are on another level. We are not that thick here, hio reli imeinuliwa kwasababy ya wanyama. And the simple rules of physics had to be followed. Animal Corridor iko Tsavo - where did you get to? Voi? Tsavo stretches from Samburu up to Kibwezi. About 200+ Kms the next one is just b4 Athi river "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e]@Impunity, (1) On the foreground are the concrete structures/pillars for suspending the SGR over the Tsavo and over rivers etc... (2) On the background are what are called embankment (compacted murram)... .[/b][/color] Suppose there is no "embankment" (1) and the train is approaching the elevates(2)?. What is the train supposed to do?.Jump? is it not clear then that the "embankments are a means to the overpasses while maintaining a reasonable/design gradient?.......Wacha kujifanya ng'ombe kijana.Utakamuliwa na nani? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e]@Impunity, (1) On the foreground are the concrete structures/pillars for suspending the SGR over the Tsavo and over rivers etc... (2) On the background are what are called embankment (compacted murram)... .[/b][/color] Suppose there is no "embankment" (1) and the train is approaching the elevates(2)?. What is the train supposed to do?.Jump? is it not clear then that the "embankments are a means to the overpasses while maintaining a reasonable/design gradient?.......Wacha kujifanya ng'ombe kijana.Utakamuliwa na nani? So we all agree the "elevates" are in Tsavo, then the embankment are a means to the elevates/overpass. Why has the embankments continue all the way to Athi River? Then in Athi River there is another overpass then more embankments mpaka Syokimau Nairobi station? My question is very simple, even a class 7 Homescience pupil will agree that you dont a whole 450km to descend a 10m cliff/elevate. My question still remain, why did the designers elevate the railway above the ground between 5m to 10m the entire length...a whole 500km for a train struggling to maintain 80km/h speed?Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Kijana, quit making an ass of yourself now. The more you post, the more i am convinced, you have never been anywhere near an engineering class. Just quit. By Wednesday, nobody will remember your ignorance....unless of course, you remind us again. Mzee, Do you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasa to Nairobi? Yes or No.
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient So if you want to carry heavy loads in a rail line you just need to raise up and up? Siwangeijenga huko kwa cloud 9? By the way have been close the completed secfctions of the SGR? You will see sections raised between 5-10m mostly by what is our terms iscalld embankment. Now the question is this: WHY EMBANK IT FOR THE ENTIRE 450km on sections which are literally unihabited flatland? I sincerely hope that if you hold a title of engineer wewe ni fundi wa mitambo KBC as in sound engineer or the person fixing cameras on tripods coz kama haukuelewa that simple explanation, you are on another level. We are not that thick here, hio reli imeinuliwa kwasababy ya wanyama. And the simple rules of physics had to be followed. Animal Corridor iko Tsavo - where did you get to? Voi? Tsavo stretches from Samburu up to Kibwezi. About 200+ Kms the next one is just b4 Athi river Take time and visit the site first, at this rate it will a waste trying to explain anything SGR to you. You still believe one of the reason the entire track is elevated 10m is coz this will enable it carry heavier loads...abject stupidy! By the way come to think of it,the elevation (by compacting soil) in the Tsavo will only prevent larger animals like Elephants, Girrafe etc from closing...anything in the size of hyena,cheetah,dik dik etc will easily climb the 10m walls...including human beings. But what gain is there for elevating it in the sparsley populated areas devoid of appreciable wildlife like the Yatta plateau? What gain? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@Guka, You dont belong to shouting matches,you belong to giving us wisdom.Hii maneno wachana nayo,with due respect to both of you. Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
I do believe @impunity is an Engineer and a good one at that, anyone reading this thread and following a history of his none sexist posting would know that. Its unfortunate that him and Guka don't mix coz I happen to think the @Guka is also very knowledgeable on matters Engineering and manufacturing if I remember correctly. There must be some good reason why the Chinese elevated the railway, we don't know and we should may be research. This reminds me of road building, the chinese use soil while our Kenyan contractors try and crush stones, we know whic roads last longer. P.S. I am not sure where exactly the wildlife corridor is at along Nairobi Mombasa Road, I thought it was just a short span past Voi (towards Mombasa) the rest of the road hamna crossing ya animals between Tsavo East & West. I 'm I right? "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient So if you want to carry heavy loads in a rail line you just need to raise up and up? Siwangeijenga huko kwa cloud 9? By the way have been close the completed secfctions of the SGR? You will see sections raised between 5-10m mostly by what is our terms iscalld embankment. Now the question is this: WHY EMBANK IT FOR THE ENTIRE 450km on sections which are literally unihabited flatland? I sincerely hope that if you hold a title of engineer wewe ni fundi wa mitambo KBC as in sound engineer or the person fixing cameras on tripods coz kama haukuelewa that simple explanation, you are on another level. We are not that thick here, hio reli imeinuliwa kwasababy ya wanyama. And the simple rules of physics had to be followed. Animal Corridor iko Tsavo - where did you get to? Voi? Tsavo stretches from Samburu up to Kibwezi. About 200+ Kms the next one is just b4 Athi river Take time and visit the site first, at this rate it will a waste trying to explain anything SGR to you. You still believe one of the reason the entire track is elevated 10m is coz this will enable it carry heavier loads...abject stupidy! By the way come to think of it,the elevation (by compacting soil) in the Tsavo will only prevent larger animals like Elephants, Girrafe etc from closing...anything in the size of hyena,cheetah,dik dik etc will easily climb the 10m walls...including human beings. But what gain is there for elevating it in the sparsley populated areas devoid of appreciable wildlife like the Yatta plateau? What gain? I have been there, and if the engineers on site figured that an elevation is best why should you a useless fella argue with it? They can elevate it everywhere, kwani wewe tu ndio utalipia? Sit down and watch it as it happens. Mombasa West Is this your problem? Huku ndio ulifika? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
THE ENTIRE 500KM IS ELEVATED, TAKE THIS TO CBK.A few sections are elevated using the white (no pun for white elephants) concrete beams, but the rest are on a raised platform made from compacted soil/murram, as high as 10m in some sections. Elevating the entire length is very expensive (ata kama mchanga ni free) and we must get the reson why they decided on that, plus its an ugly "greatwall" sepataing two sides of a quiet countryside. Try driving on sections parallel to th SGR and you will be treated to a compacted wall on one side of your view, the entire journey until a point of deviation. Those of us who occasionaly use the LUNATIC LINE to Mombasa will agree with me that the once lavish and beautiful Savannah view is greatly obstracted. If they thought elevating it will prevent wild animals and walevi from crossing the line then they failed...they will need a nother 50 billion shillings to fence it. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
in all seriousness I thought @impunity is an accountant
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:in all seriousness I thought @impunity is an accountant Stop insulting bean counters! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
Looks like its elevated everywhere "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
Looks like its elevated everywhere I think @Swenani is asking about the bridges, kuna elevation ya bridges that is mostly where he is asking, lakini kuna elevation ingine ya mchanga or hardcore whatever they are using, I am sure the real engineers had many reasons for that, but one I know of is flooding and of course trying to keep the line as level as possible to enable greater speeds. and
Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
THE ENTIRE 500KM IS ELEVATED, TAKE THIS TO CBK.A few sections are elevated using the white (no pun for white elephants) concrete beams, but the rest are on a raised platform made from compacted soil/murram, as high as 10m in some sections. Elevating the entire length is very expensive (ata kama mchanga ni free) and we must get the reson why they decided on that, plus its an ugly "greatwall" sepataing two sides of a quiet countryside. Try driving on sections parallel to th SGR and you will be treated to a compacted wall on one side of your view, the entire journey until a point of deviation. Those of us who occasionaly use the LUNATIC LINE to Mombasa will agree with me that the once lavish and beautiful Savannah view is greatly obstracted. If they thought elevating it will prevent wild animals and walevi from crossing the line then they failed...they will need a nother 50 billion shillings to fence it. how do you fence off the entire line, that sounds absurd, do you have any precedence of such happening.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
Looks like its elevated everywhere I think @Swenani is asking about the bridges, kuna elevation ya bridges that is mostly where he is asking, lakini kuna elevation ingine ya mchanga or hardcore whatever they are using, I am sure the real engineers had many reasons for that, but one I know of is flooding and of course trying to keep the line as level as possible to enable greater speeds. and Kwingine ni flat kama hii Lakini welder alifika Sultan akaona kwote kuko elevated. Huyo injinia ata hajui slope/gradient maana yake ni nini kwa reli. Ata reli ya kitambo inaonekana "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
THE ENTIRE 500KM IS ELEVATED, TAKE THIS TO CBK.A few sections are elevated using the white (no pun for white elephants) concrete beams, but the rest are on a raised platform made from compacted soil/murram, as high as 10m in some sections. Elevating the entire length is very expensive (ata kama mchanga ni free) and we must get the reson why they decided on that, plus its an ugly "greatwall" sepataing two sides of a quiet countryside. Try driving on sections parallel to th SGR and you will be treated to a compacted wall on one side of your view, the entire journey until a point of deviation. Those of us who occasionaly use the LUNATIC LINE to Mombasa will agree with me that the once lavish and beautiful Savannah view is greatly obstracted. If they thought elevating it will prevent wild animals and walevi from crossing the line then they failed...they will need a nother 50 billion shillings to fence it. how do you fence off the entire line, that sounds absurd, do you have any precedence of such happening. Most of Europe in areas inhabitted and with lots of movement of being and wild animals. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
THE ENTIRE 500KM IS ELEVATED, TAKE THIS TO CBK.A few sections are elevated using the white (no pun for white elephants) concrete beams, but the rest are on a raised platform made from compacted soil/murram, as high as 10m in some sections. Elevating the entire length is very expensive (ata kama mchanga ni free) and we must get the reson why they decided on that, plus its an ugly "greatwall" sepataing two sides of a quiet countryside. Try driving on sections parallel to th SGR and you will be treated to a compacted wall on one side of your view, the entire journey until a point of deviation. Those of us who occasionaly use the LUNATIC LINE to Mombasa will agree with me that the once lavish and beautiful Savannah view is greatly obstracted. If they thought elevating it will prevent wild animals and walevi from crossing the line then they failed...they will need a nother 50 billion shillings to fence it. how do you fence off the entire line, that sounds absurd, do you have any precedence of such happening. Most of Europe in areas inhabitted and with lots of movement of being and wild animals. wacha I first image google european rail lines in inhabited areas. hata kenya we do not fence
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Mimi nko na swali mbiri pekee yake 1. Is it true that the whole Msa-Nairobi section is elevated(485Kms) 2. if true, why is the whole section elevated unlike only elevating where there is a wildlife corridor, dense population, rivers, road crossing, valleys, hills etc?
THE ENTIRE 500KM IS ELEVATED, TAKE THIS TO CBK.A few sections are elevated using the white (no pun for white elephants) concrete beams, but the rest are on a raised platform made from compacted soil/murram, as high as 10m in some sections. Elevating the entire length is very expensive (ata kama mchanga ni free) and we must get the reson why they decided on that, plus its an ugly "greatwall" sepataing two sides of a quiet countryside. Try driving on sections parallel to th SGR and you will be treated to a compacted wall on one side of your view, the entire journey until a point of deviation. Those of us who occasionaly use the LUNATIC LINE to Mombasa will agree with me that the once lavish and beautiful Savannah view is greatly obstracted. If they thought elevating it will prevent wild animals and walevi from crossing the line then they failed...they will need a nother 50 billion shillings to fence it. how do you fence off the entire line, that sounds absurd, do you have any precedence of such happening. Most of Europe in areas inhabitted and with lots of movement of being and wild animals. wacha I first image google european rail lines in inhabited areas. hata kenya we do not fence There is a train and a tram...then we have light rail and heavy rail, then finally we have high speed train and "normal" speed train. We also have bullet trains, there is also maglev trains and adhesion trains. Google hizo terms zote kwanza then come we talk about fencing. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Maglev!!...Scaring/bombarding Wazuans with strange vocabularies and referring to google does not change one fact. Someone here is a quack (google "engineer") Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
kaka2za wrote:murchr wrote:This is rubbish, including the last 3 articles they've posted Have shared the article with a retired KR engineer and he says the article is credible though imeongezwa chumvi kidogo. Point of correction though,the Kenya's old gauge is not 1,067mm, but meter gauge. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
SGR Progress thus far