SGR Progress thus far
Rank: Elder You have been a member since:: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,328 Location: Masada
nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:kayhara wrote:By the way come to think about it the MD of KR has maybe never used a train, but same way,the MD of Kenyatta has never been treated there etc. And even that MD of RVR who was picked from some MED Supplier firm to come and manage railways...total blonde!!! quote: Quote:The Kenya-Uganda railway concessionaire picked on Ex-General Electric general manager in charge of Health Care for East Africa, Isaiah Otieno Okoth to the Group as CEO. . How can such a person run a railway? Pure Lunatics at the helm. Probably the only thing him and that @Maina guy at KR knows about trains is the Dandora commuter junk, and they also see it on TV just like many dumb Kenyans do. They know not that between 60s and mid 80s, Kenya and ZIM had the best run Railway in Africa,South of Sahara and North of Limpopo. They dont know you could board a Lunatic express from Nairobi to Mombasa, have 3 course dinner, drink in a pub-on-rail, sleep for 8 hours on white linen, sh*t on western style loos, make babies while a board a Kenya train. Total Blondes running the railway in Kenya, plus an *sshole government to boot. Mr. Okoth has a good cv, with an engineering background from Germany - at least I know him and hopefully he will do a good job. No need to bad mouth him before the project is even finished - lets wait and see how beneficial it will be - only time will tell. Your @Okoth with a BIG CV is running RVR and not SGR...you are just like them, you dont know the difference...very blonde indeed. Written CVs dont work, its the proven experience in a similar filed that counts. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder You have been a member since:: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,328 Location: Masada
With your SENILE balls you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasda to Nairobi, ama umechange mind yako? Rudi jesso!!! I am still SEARCHING and RE-SEARCHING. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Kijana, quit making an ass of yourself now. The more you post, the more i am convinced, you have never been anywhere near an engineering class. Just quit. By Wednesday, nobody will remember your ignorance....unless of course, you remind us again. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Did the building of the reli transfer to Kenyans? I thought CRBC was in charge of design and engineering? We were told that they did the design, did the engineering, supplied most of the raw material and now they will manage and run it for at lest 5 years. So why all the bile on Maina and Otieno Okoth? Did you apply for their positions and missed out? My bile is for those people who have zilch interest or knowhow in matters rails being picked by cronies to run the firms/projects. Whenever they open their mouths on TV explaining anything railway you can clearly see ZERO passion. No interest, no experience, no nothing...as in very empty speeches. Whether @Okoth or @Maina, zote are dimwits in railway matters. And there is another nut heading transport department, sijui he is called @Nyakera, completely clueless in railway knowledge...just handpicked by @Uhuru. He cannot answer simple question as to whether the washrooms in the pax cabins will have a drop-type loo or the vacuum type...he looks miseable to the world. And by the way the we were promised brand new pax wagons but let me tell you something? They are refurbishing used Chinese wagons...a new wagon should cost Kes. 300M, I bet a refurbished one will cost Kes. 10 Million...and you know who takes the balance. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Kijana, quit making an ass of yourself now. The more you post, the more i am convinced, you have never been anywhere near an engineering class. Just quit. By Wednesday, nobody will remember your ignorance....unless of course, you remind us again. Mzee, Do you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasa to Nairobi? Yes or No.
Thanks.Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Impunity wrote:nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:kayhara wrote:By the way come to think about it the MD of KR has maybe never used a train, but same way,the MD of Kenyatta has never been treated there etc. And even that MD of RVR who was picked from some MED Supplier firm to come and manage railways...total blonde!!! quote: Quote:The Kenya-Uganda railway concessionaire picked on Ex-General Electric general manager in charge of Health Care for East Africa, Isaiah Otieno Okoth to the Group as CEO. . How can such a person run a railway? Pure Lunatics at the helm. Probably the only thing him and that @Maina guy at KR knows about trains is the Dandora commuter junk, and they also see it on TV just like many dumb Kenyans do. They know not that between 60s and mid 80s, Kenya and ZIM had the best run Railway in Africa,South of Sahara and North of Limpopo. They dont know you could board a Lunatic express from Nairobi to Mombasa, have 3 course dinner, drink in a pub-on-rail, sleep for 8 hours on white linen, sh*t on western style loos, make babies while a board a Kenya train. Total Blondes running the railway in Kenya, plus an *sshole government to boot. Mr. Okoth has a good cv, with an engineering background from Germany - at least I know him and hopefully he will do a good job. No need to bad mouth him before the project is even finished - lets wait and see how beneficial it will be - only time will tell. Your @Okoth with a BIG CV is running RVR and not SGR...you are just like them, you dont know the difference...very blonde indeed. Written CVs dont work, its the proven experience in a similar filed that counts. My bad then, I thought the management of the sgr will revert to kr after the initial 5 years when the Chinese will be running it - but I don't know I am the blonde here.
Yes and no. Meanwhile,read my post again and watch that video allover.if you can't get,you can't be helped,son. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Kijana, quit making an ass of yourself now. The more you post, the more i am convinced, you have never been anywhere near an engineering class. Just quit. By Wednesday, nobody will remember your ignorance....unless of course, you remind us again. Mzee, Do you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasa to Nairobi? Yes or No.
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:kayhara wrote:By the way come to think about it the MD of KR has maybe never used a train, but same way,the MD of Kenyatta has never been treated there etc. And even that MD of RVR who was picked from some MED Supplier firm to come and manage railways...total blonde!!! quote: Quote:The Kenya-Uganda railway concessionaire picked on Ex-General Electric general manager in charge of Health Care for East Africa, Isaiah Otieno Okoth to the Group as CEO. . How can such a person run a railway? Pure Lunatics at the helm. Probably the only thing him and that @Maina guy at KR knows about trains is the Dandora commuter junk, and they also see it on TV just like many dumb Kenyans do. They know not that between 60s and mid 80s, Kenya and ZIM had the best run Railway in Africa,South of Sahara and North of Limpopo. They dont know you could board a Lunatic express from Nairobi to Mombasa, have 3 course dinner, drink in a pub-on-rail, sleep for 8 hours on white linen, sh*t on western style loos, make babies while a board a Kenya train. Total Blondes running the railway in Kenya, plus an *sshole government to boot. Mr. Okoth has a good cv, with an engineering background from Germany - at least I know him and hopefully he will do a good job. No need to bad mouth him before the project is even finished - lets wait and see how beneficial it will be - only time will tell. Your @Okoth with a BIG CV is running RVR and not SGR...you are just like them, you dont know the difference...very blonde indeed. Written CVs dont work, its the proven experience in a similar filed that counts. My bad then, I thought the management of the sgr will revert to kr after the initial 5 years when the Chinese will be running it - but I don't know I am the blonde here. RVR manages the current train service, on who will manage the new line, hiyo haijulikani.
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient kwani @impunity is not
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient kwani @impunity is not When your heart is full of bile you lick honey and say its not sweet, iko na pilipili Life is an endless adventure
@Muchr, The animals corridors were actually identified by experts from KWS. It should be noted that, where the headroom seems extra high,they considered the tallest giraffes in the land. They can pass under the line with enough headroom to spare. In other areas where elevation has no underpass other than tunnels to allow free flow of storm water, this is done to mitigate the line being covered by soil caused by erosion (common in Amboseli/Tsavo). When all this is done, the engineers go ahead and consider the line gradient, which must be as gentle as possible. Plants for landscaping are also put into consideration.As an example, you cannot "import" grass from Mogotio and go plant it along the line in Makueni. That, I leave to ecologists here to explain....and so, a lot of thinking must have gone into the whole design.I doubt the syllabus of that funny college where our resident welder was,covered 1% of that Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:Yes and no. Meanwhile,read my post again and watch that video allover.if you can't get,you can't be helped,son. Mzee, Do you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasa to Nairobi?
Yes or No.Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:nakujua wrote:Impunity wrote:kayhara wrote:By the way come to think about it the MD of KR has maybe never used a train, but same way,the MD of Kenyatta has never been treated there etc. And even that MD of RVR who was picked from some MED Supplier firm to come and manage railways...total blonde!!! quote: Quote:The Kenya-Uganda railway concessionaire picked on Ex-General Electric general manager in charge of Health Care for East Africa, Isaiah Otieno Okoth to the Group as CEO. . How can such a person run a railway? Pure Lunatics at the helm. Probably the only thing him and that @Maina guy at KR knows about trains is the Dandora commuter junk, and they also see it on TV just like many dumb Kenyans do. They know not that between 60s and mid 80s, Kenya and ZIM had the best run Railway in Africa,South of Sahara and North of Limpopo. They dont know you could board a Lunatic express from Nairobi to Mombasa, have 3 course dinner, drink in a pub-on-rail, sleep for 8 hours on white linen, sh*t on western style loos, make babies while a board a Kenya train. Total Blondes running the railway in Kenya, plus an *sshole government to boot. Mr. Okoth has a good cv, with an engineering background from Germany - at least I know him and hopefully he will do a good job. No need to bad mouth him before the project is even finished - lets wait and see how beneficial it will be - only time will tell. Your @Okoth with a BIG CV is running RVR and not SGR...you are just like them, you dont know the difference...very blonde indeed. Written CVs dont work, its the proven experience in a similar filed that counts. My bad then, I thought the management of the sgr will revert to kr after the initial 5 years when the Chinese will be running it - but I don't know I am the blonde here. We have KR, RVR and SGR... The two blonde gents I am talking about up there are heading KR and RVR. KR is up there, the other two are one level below. So chances that you are a blonde is up there. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Njung'e wrote:@Muchr, The animals corridors were actually identified by experts from KWS. It should be noted that, where the headroom seems extra high,they considered the tallest giraffes in the land. They can pass under the line with enough headroom to spare. In other areas where elevation has no underpass other than tunnels to allow free flow of storm water, this is done to mitigate the line being covered by soil caused by erosion (common in Amboseli/Tsavo). When all this is done, the engineers go ahead and consider the line gradient, which must be as gentle as possible. Plants for landscaping are also put into consideration.As an example, you cannot "import" grass from Mogotio and go plant it along the line in Makueni. That, I leave to ecologists here to explain....and so, a lot of thinking must have gone into the whole design.I doubt the syllabus of that funny college where our resident welder was,covered 1% of that Your thick head cannot answer a simple question. Yes or No. The animal corridor is some 50km in the Tsavo (give or take)...so why has the line been elevated the entire remaining 450km? Do we have Girrafes in Syokimau where the line is still elevated as it terminates in the Nairobi Station? I think you are just a thick *ss 'ol who will not reason. Eti it was elevated 10m to allow Girrafes to pass through (right), then the gradient could not just fall like that so the line remains elevated mpkaka Nairobi? (McKende ya mbusi). The Beyer-Peacock's Garratt steam locomotive (the mountain class) made in 1950s could effortlessly climb one of the steepest rail incline in the commonwealth, the Kikuyu escarpment (from Munyu to Lari)...then your thinned brain believes a modern Diesel-Electric loco made in 21st century, turbo-charged with multi-stage intercoolers will need an entire 450km or so to climb a 10m height? How thick can you be? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Njung'e wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=Impunity]
Thanks. Guka's response makes sence ---- part of that rail is a corridor for some citizens who live in parks (the habitats of Tsavo) from east to west and so it was raised to accomodate those. Once raised physics dictates that it cant just be a steep slope down. 1 Reason being this rail will be transporting heavy cargo. Am sure seasoned engineers would explain more about the gradient So if you want to carry heavy loads in a rail line you just need to raise up and up? Siwangeijenga huko kwa cloud 9? By the way have been close the completed secfctions of the SGR? You will see sections raised between 5-10m mostly by what is our terms iscalld embankment. Now the question is this: WHY EMBANK IT FOR THE ENTIRE 450km on sections which are literally unihabited flatland? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@Impunity, You are only a specialist in bile and abuses. I am not surprised now, that you can't even tell the difference between elevations and embankments...eti the line in embanked for 450Kms??. SMH . Quit young man.QUIT PLIZ!!. Enough of your ignorance. I digress! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
So we can conclude that we don't know why the line was elevated by 10 metres for 450 KM's. The cost of piling soil 10 metres high for 500 KMs has to be extremely high. I hope there is a good reason for it My theory is that the line will at some point accomodate high speed trains and they need it very visible to people. Or its cheaper to elevate than to fence off. By the way I think the wildlife corridor is after Voi and in that place the railway line is off the ground for a very long distance. Its also off the ground when approaching Athi River. By the way for those who have not seen the line, it looks to my laymans eye as some piece of incredible engineering, as impressive as Thika road was then. I am very impressed with the effort and the speed of execution of the Chinese. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Njung'e wrote:@Impunity, You are only a specialist in bile and abuses. I am not surprised now, that you can't even tell the difference between elevations and embankments...eti the line in embanked for 450Kms??. SMH . Quit young man.QUIT PLIZ!!. Enough of your ignorance. I digress! @Mr.Bar Soap, listen, have you seen the section of the SGR at Sultan Hamud? Have you seen the sections in Tsavo or closer home in Athi River? What do we call the process of compaction of soil/murram to create a platform of say 5m and then build a road or rail on top of it? Is the resulting railway refered to as elevated? Ama elevation to you is only when concrete structures are used to suspend the rail ala bridges? See the picture below: (1) On the foreground are the concrete structures/pillars for suspending the SGR over the Tsavo and over rivers etc... (2) On the background are what are called embankment (compacted murram)... Item (1) and (2) above result in elevated railways (please google "elevate" for more explanation) Now my question is this: Why was the entire 450km of the 500km SGR rail raised the style of item (2) above? Hiyo ndio swali, wachana na mambo ya sijui bile, sijui sabuni, sijui hand job...naah! Do you still hold that the SGR is elevated the entire 500km (or 450km) length in order to enable the train to climb from Mombasa to Nairobi?
Yes or No.Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:So we can conclude that we don't know why the line was elevated by 10 metres for 450 KM's. The cost of piling soild 10 metres high for 500 KMs has to be extremely high. I hope there is a good reason for it
My theory is that the line will at some point accomodate high speed trains and they need it very visible to people. Or its cheaper to elevate than to fence off.
By the way I think the wildlife corridor is after Voi and in that place the railway line is off the ground for a very long distance.
Its also off the ground when approaching Athi River.
By the way for those who have not seen the line, it looks to my laymans eye as some piece of incredible engineering, as impressive as Thika road was then. I am very impressed with the effort and the speed of execution of the Chinese. @Obi, the speed of job execution is above average, I must agree. I hope the quality will hold. In my welding classes (as Mr. Bar Soap like to call me) I have seen that rail are elevated for specific reasons and not just for aesthetic. Railways are elevated in populated areas where the getting the wayleave will be expensive and involve IDP. Again eletaion is made in order to enable the railway to run in a generally straight line for high speeds in populated areas. Also elevation is made to avoid hitting wild animals and also to descend gradually steep inclines. But why do u elevate a railway line for example in Yatta plateau? The place is so flat, so vast, not populated, no wild animal bigger than a squirrel? If they elevated the line in the Yatta plateau of Ukambani in order to avoid people crossing the line then they have failed. I saw with my own eyes people including women and shudren climbing the 10m "piled soil" to cross on the eother side...I also saw goats sitting pretty on the tracks, 10m high. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
SGR Progress thus far