SGR Progress thus far
sitaki.kujulikana
#221 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 2:54:51 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
A decent read, clearing myths about load, speed etc.

http://www.economist.com...rc=scn/tw_ec/puffed_out

This is rubbish, including the last 3 articles they've posted

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting...not long to go to see if SGR was indeed a good idea or just a way of raising campaign funding.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Will only have visible impact if it transform road transport.

Cargo transport's impact will not be visible since many people rarely care how goods are moved.

If SGR is successful, impact will be immediate and visible: far fewer trucks on the road.

the microwave generation, instant gratification
#222 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 11:01:09 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
A decent read, clearing myths about load, speed etc.

http://www.economist.com...rc=scn/tw_ec/puffed_out

This is rubbish, including the last 3 articles they've posted

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting...not long to go to see if SGR was indeed a good idea or just a way of raising campaign funding.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Will only have visible impact if it transform road transport.

Cargo transport's impact will not be visible since many people rarely care how goods are moved.

If SGR is successful, impact will be immediate and visible: far fewer trucks on the road.

the microwave generation, instant gratification

After spending that kind of stupid money, gratification must be instant. Unless you're making excuses already?
#223 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 11:08:13 AM

The mistake Kenyans and Africans make is to build infrastructure for importing finished products rather than building infrastructure to move raw materials to factories and there afterfinished products to ports for exports
#224 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 11:31:48 AM

The mistake Kenyans and Africans make is to build infrastructure for importing finished products rather than building infrastructure to move raw materials to factories and there afterfinished products to ports for exports

Building regional import infrastructure does not negate the need to create export infrastructure.
#225 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 11:38:59 AM

Applause d'oh!
majimaji
#226 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 12:20:09 PM

Applause d'oh!

this is a lieShame on you I have never seen anywhere in Kenya that flow of goods is incoming(import) and no outgoing.
Thiong'o
#227 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 12:25:02 PM

#228 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 1:55:33 PM

Thiong'o wrote:
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-36468132

This is just regurgitated news. I think the quality of BBC/Aljazeera/CNN news reporting about Africa is really wanting.
#229 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 3:40:52 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-36468132

This is just regurgitated news. I think the quality of BBC/Aljazeera/CNN news reporting about Africa is really wanting.

You don't put your best resources to report on irrelevent places, its like having Christiane Amanpour cover stories about kiosk sales and management in Dandora.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
streetwise
#230 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 4:15:47 PM

I for one do not understand why everyone including BBC and some Kenyans think Kenya can only succeed in the absence of competition from the other countries. --- Scacity medality

I will be counted by saying bring it on we beat you as we did the last many years.

Why did the TZs , Ugandans beat us before even when our forefathers used to carry chicken on theirs head to Mombasa. The same will apply even now.

whiteowl
#231 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 9:22:47 AM

What's making this and other projects not make any economic sense is cost inflation by tenderpreneurs. If Thika road was done today,im sure it would cost more than 100B.
#232 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 9:43:49 AM

Taurrus wrote:
Been wondering the difference between the old and SGR lines,to my surprise its ONLY the width, damn!

Yep its "ONLY the width". Just like the difference between an old Bedford lorry and a brand new turbocharged Mercedes Actros is "ONLY the width".

sitaki.kujulikana
#233 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 1:20:07 PM

whiteowl wrote:
What's making this and other projects not make any economic sense is cost inflation by tenderpreneurs. If Thika road was done today,im sure it would cost more than 100B.

How, I thought the sgr is like 95% funded by the Chinese, and they have undertaken everything from the design to implementation, to supplying the trains, to building the stations, to operating the thing for the first 5 or so years and also knowledge transfer, kwani the guys from china have also become tender-preneurs? I understand huko guys face the firing squad.
#234 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 10:49:08 AM

kollabo
#235 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 11:46:38 AM

Cost of repossessing Land in Kenya is the main problem.
#236 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 11:55:28 AM

I was at the SGR section in Sultan Hamud, man si that thing looks uglish!

Its like a Great Wall of China exported to kenya.

Why did they have to raise the thing that high in its entire length? It has completely blocked the beautiful scenery from the Lunatic line plus along the Mombasa road (in sections they run parallel and close).

The community plus the wild animals have been separated by that ugly wall of earth soil, I managed to climb it and its almost 10 meters high.

To me they should have just let it lie on the level ground as the Lunatic line or the mombasa road and fence it all through with tunnels for wanjiku to pass with his/her cows.

And dont tell that the raised platform was meant to shieled animals coz I saw with my own eyes goats climbing the waals and eating the sweet grasses that have grown on the walls.

I like rails but this design HAPANA.

#237 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 1:28:38 PM

kollabo wrote:
Cost of repossessing Land in Kenya is the main problem.

Is this factual ama you are just guessing?

I thot the cost of land repossession was settled by the govt directly.

My educated guess is that wenye nchi have kulad upto 40% of the SGR costs. But, because we are getting the railway line, is ok.
#238 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 1:30:36 PM

Why did they have to raise the thing that high in its entire length? It has completely blocked the beautiful scenery from the Lunatic line plus along the Mombasa road (in sections they run parallel and close).

The community plus the wild animals have been separated by that ugly wall of earth soil, I managed to climb it and its almost 10 meters high.

To me they should have just let it lie on the level ground as the Lunatic line or the mombasa road and fence it all through with tunnels for wanjiku to pass with his/her cows.

And dont tell that the raised platform was meant to shieled animals coz I saw with my own eyes goats climbing the waals and eating the sweet grasses that have grown on the walls.

@impunity, do you have an idea why the ground was raised. I am sure there must be a reason.
#239 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 2:17:37 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

@impunity, do you have an idea why the ground was raised. I am sure there must be a reason.

Some Jubilee Neanderthal told me it was raised in order to avoid hitting wild animals and people with their domestic animals crossing.
But I saw women dangling on their heads, bags while climbing up the 10 meter column.

Its ugly, I usually see it on TV and I all along thought it was for some specific sections, like areas prone to floods etc, but kumbe its for the entire length.

No wonder the exhobitant cost.

In Europe and even China by the way, rails are only raised in populated town areas and over swampy areas..the entire tracks in the bunduz is usually fenced for a higher speed line.

If the elevation was meant to thwart animals and people from crossing the line then it has failed, THIE UKIAMAGA style.

#240 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2016 2:21:42 PM

By the way the rail lines which are usually entiley elevated are the Bullet Lines...doing speeds in the order of 350km...why elevate a line which will struggle to maintain a meager 80km/h on a straight stretch?

Mark you the Lunatic Line, designed in 1890s can accomodate speeds of up to 72km/h on safe stretches.

These are the results you get when you put a @Maina to decide a railway matters...pesa tu, people who have never boarded a train in their life are the MDs of the same.

What do u expect?