wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

Leather Tanning
msotoville
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 17, 2010 4:30:29 PM

Hiya Fellaz,

I'm new to Wazua; do you gurus mind helping a rookie out?

I've been toying with the idea of starting a leather tanning business; I'll start small, sana sana as a supplier, then work my way up the food chain to value addition.

This is strictly "toe-in-the-water" so if there are any veterans out there with pointers and advice, I'm all ears.

Gracias!
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
#2 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 8:10:16 AM

ati msotovile?!lets hope leather tanning will be the vehicle move you to sonkoville!

why choose leather tanning? is my qstn.
I once appraised a loan facility for a co. dealing in this and it was not a good account. The co. dealt with producing blue leather for export. the industry is so susceptible to shocks (eg drought), supplies & payments so erratic. international prices also not that great. suppliers were there nt paid in time, payment delays as well.
So you are proposing to be a supplier to such a co.- what is ur comfort level about the prospects of this industry in view of my
my 2 cents above?
Chaka
#3 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 9:25:55 AM

@msoto,
Has environmental impact assesment been done i.e have you been cleared by NEMA?
msotoville
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 7:25:48 PM

Sorry for taking ever so long to respond, guys.

@ intelligensia:
My idea is a bit loco - I'm thinking vertical/horizontal integration with my focus on goats, i.e., buy them, slaughter them on order and process their hides.

There's a new environmentally-friendly process developed in Mexico; it's slightly more expensive but at least it will keep NEMA off my back. Plus I have the two profit centres - goat meat and leather.

Start-up costs aren't that hefty and I project ROI in maybe 8-10 months (on stock) and 24 - 30 months on land and fixtures.
Project will be financed purely by savings.

@Chaka
I discovered a new tanning method from Mexico - the resultant waste is easily biodegradable and isn't as foul smelling as the kawa process. NEMA will be a breeze!
maia
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 29, 2010 1:15:39 PM

before you commit your money to this biz. check out whats happening to the leather industry in Ethiopia in the link below and the competion they are facing from China. All the best
whttp://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/ep...at_and_Luxuries_Leather/
msotoville
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 29, 2010 7:53:23 PM

@maia

Boss, this is Kenya. Bwana send me a link with text and graphics bila video or podcasts. My net link can hardly handle email.

BTW, I did a ka-small market research in EA with Kenyan hawkers and vendors in Uganda. The going rate for leather belts is 650-750/-, 350-450/- wholesale, and they are fast movers.

Generally, the accessories market for COMESA's bourgeois is sawa, even with the Chinese wreaking havoc.

Anywayz, send any info you got, it will help plenty with the SWOT analysis.

Thanks.