Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:enyands wrote:"Employees involved in the purchase of fuel, which makes up 40 per cent of the airline’s direct costs, preferred the most expensive pricing formula available." linkEven my grandmother can tell me this is wrong what management did. Nguze knew this and he didn't do anything to change it. Yeye si mweupe kama pamba That story is like a script to a horror movie!!! Matafakas are buying fuel at $80 a barrel??? Almost three times the market price (at one point)?? Yet fuel accounts for their biggest expense!? 40%!! Paying the highest prices for fuel in Nairobi than ALL the other airlines and it is their hub, they buy in bulk etc. etc. Bloody matafakas!!!! pole sana. good times are coming Pole sana to who @Obiero?? You should be telling yourself pole. We are all collectively sad for you!! We are about to organise inter denominational prayers for you. Jikaze ndugu! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 14,069 Location: nairobi
Kausha wrote:Obiero you are either a publicist for KQ or are an insider at KQ. You lack objectivity sir. The level of theft in there is shocking. I mean for Deloitte to pick such glaring theft and Deloitte is never diligent things must be very ugly. Still can't understand how KQ was trading at Dubai Bank!! With all due respect.The hedges as any decent analyst thought all along were never hedges but schemes to collect brokes on the hefty fuel tab. They can't be on 7ur losing streak and do nothing about it. @Kausha u must have picked the dialogue from the middle. trace back a few posts and you will see that I kashifud the Dubai bank link. plus on this very thread I wondered why KQ has accounts at 13 Kenyan banks.. The company was ill run by Naikuni & CO KQ ABP 4.26
obiero wrote:Kausha wrote:Obiero you are either a publicist for KQ or are an insider at KQ. You lack objectivity sir. The level of theft in there is shocking. I mean for Deloitte to pick such glaring theft and Deloitte is never diligent things must be very ugly. Still can't understand how KQ was trading at Dubai Bank!! With all due respect.The hedges as any decent analyst thought all along were never hedges but schemes to collect brokes on the hefty fuel tab. They can't be on 7ur losing streak and do nothing about it. @Kausha u must have picked the dialogue from the middle. trace back a few posts and you will see that I kashifud the Dubai bank link. plus on this very thread I wondered why KQ has accounts at 13 Kenyan banks.. The company was ill run by Naikuni & CO @obiero let it be said here that kyq is undergoing cannibalisation under schemes well thought out by the very able men and women who are meant to be the stewards. why for a million time, sell prime property, lease pilots together with top notch planes to:- 1. service thieving schemes, den of vipers, 2. service life threatening fuel hedges, damn them, 2. payoff unsustainable employment salaries, my gosh so stinking, 3. pay hotel fees from freight cancellations, yeak- that gachungua must be missing it more than kyq, 4. pay for services at a premium......... is likening kyqs moves to one selling off ancestral family land to pay up rents in arrears for gachungua's hse rent not a perfect match analogy. fake decisions with fake pple, pple with interesting IQ scores. someone new to any organisation must sanctions a systems and operations audit to access the effectiveness and efficiency or lack of the same before sitting down to dream and particularly in case of distressed orgn. yawa, is our boss so much full of inertia that he is barely reacting save for pro acting, probably to save his master's faces? so saddening that he found a few can of worms multiplied them to many and are fighting back while purporting to open them. before I could see mawingu. now I see nothing. ,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
@Obiero I agree, picked the convo midway. Shocked KQ banked at Dubai Bank
Boris Boyka wrote:stockshunter wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:kenya airways, time to sell? @obiero are you adding it to your list as Nyaikuni is burning ppls fingers? proverbs 24:7 a wise man changes his mind, a fool does not. I like another version of the same; Only a fool doesn't change his mind. @stockshunter I need obiero to support his statement based on short and long terms,is it for a lower re entry? + those who got it at "higher" prices... throw back KQ ABP 4.26
obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt KQ ABP 4.26
Rank: Member Joined: 5/29/2016 Posts: 898 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt @Kausha, well said. @obiero, nothing like being set up to fail. He was either deliberately covering up the mess for his predecessor or he is totally clueless and also corrupt. Who between Naikuni and Ngunze have a better management oriented education/experience in respect to the recent revelations? If Ngunze had an interest in saving KQ he should have commissioned an audit as @Kausha puts it immediately when he was confirmed as the MD & CEO. I wonder if the auditors looked into how the fuel hedges and loan taken to purchase the 10 Embraer jets were procured.
ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt @Kausha, well said. @obiero, nothing like being set up to fail. He was either deliberately covering up the mess for his predecessor or he is totally clueless and also corrupt. Who between Naikuni and Ngunze have a better management oriented education/experience in respect to the recent revelations? If Ngunze had an interest in saving KQ he should have commissioned an audit as @Kausha puts it immediately when he was confirmed as the MD & CEO. I wonder if the auditors looked into how the fuel hedges and loan taken to purchase the 10 Embraer jets were procured. the audit could not have been ordered by ngunze himself but the board which was not fully constituted after exit of mwaniki late last year KQ ABP 4.26
Rank: Member Joined: 5/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Kayole
obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:stockshunter wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:kenya airways, time to sell? @obiero are you adding it to your list as Nyaikuni is burning ppls fingers? proverbs 24:7 a wise man changes his mind, a fool does not. I like another version of the same; Only a fool doesn't change his mind. @stockshunter I need obiero to support his statement based on short and long terms,is it for a lower re entry? + those who got it at "higher" prices... throw back good strategy in general KEGN, KPLC, KQ, SCOM
mkate_nusu wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:stockshunter wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:kenya airways, time to sell? @obiero are you adding it to your list as Nyaikuni is burning ppls fingers? proverbs 24:7 a wise man changes his mind, a fool does not. I like another version of the same; Only a fool doesn't change his mind. @stockshunter I need obiero to support his statement based on short and long terms,is it for a lower re entry? + those who got it at "higher" prices... throw back good strategy in general I sold a few months ago at circa 5bob. Been buying in sub 4bob KQ ABP 4.26
obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt @Kausha, well said. @obiero, nothing like being set up to fail. He was either deliberately covering up the mess for his predecessor or he is totally clueless and also corrupt. Who between Naikuni and Ngunze have a better management oriented education/experience in respect to the recent revelations? If Ngunze had an interest in saving KQ he should have commissioned an audit as @Kausha puts it immediately when he was confirmed as the MD & CEO. I wonder if the auditors looked into how the fuel hedges and loan taken to purchase the 10 Embraer jets were procured. the audit could not have been ordered by ngunze himself but the board which was not fully constituted after exit of mwaniki late last year @Obiero, I will refer you to what I said before here. The responsibility rest at those who are in the office daily or those who are there once in a blue moon? Ngunze served under Mwaniki for sometime. Read the below article by Carol Musyoka, I think it was posted here sometimes back. http://www.businessdaily...0/-/odx65e/-/index.html
ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt @Kausha, well said. @obiero, nothing like being set up to fail. He was either deliberately covering up the mess for his predecessor or he is totally clueless and also corrupt. Who between Naikuni and Ngunze have a better management oriented education/experience in respect to the recent revelations? If Ngunze had an interest in saving KQ he should have commissioned an audit as @Kausha puts it immediately when he was confirmed as the MD & CEO. I wonder if the auditors looked into how the fuel hedges and loan taken to purchase the 10 Embraer jets were procured. the audit could not have been ordered by ngunze himself but the board which was not fully constituted after exit of mwaniki late last year @Obiero, I will refer you to what I said before here. The responsibility rest at those who are in the office daily or those who are there once in a blue moon? Ngunze served under Mwaniki for sometime. Read the below article by Carol Musyoka, I think it was posted here sometimes back. http://www.businessdaily...0/-/odx65e/-/index.html
what are the credentials of musyoka. which school did she attend, which board has she sat on KQ ABP 4.26
that's a good post by musyoka sir obiero. Skewed management is the real evil in corporate sector. fat cats. imagine if sir nguze was on the front positioning thieving hands how for K's sake would u have known a shit over it ,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,298 Location: Nairobi
Asked @obiero : "what are the credentials of musyoka. which school did she attend, which board has she sat on" Cornell (Masters in Law) She was the youngest (32) Executive/Corporate Director of Barclays at one time. Was Citibank Kenya’s corporate manager. She has been on the boards of Barclays Kenya, BOC, TransCentury. On the board of EABL & BAT. Chairperson of the Business Registration Service Board. Board of Trustees of SOS Children’s Villages http://carolmusyoka.com/profile/
https://ke.linkedin.com/in/carol-musyoka-a6024652
Carol Musyoka has over 10 years of financial leadership experience working in Kenya and the United States. She has extensive deal origination, negotiation, structuring and execution experience, having been involved in several landmark corporate finance transactions in Kenya. Carol has had significant executive director experience from her role as the Corporate Director, Barclays Bank Kenya as well as the Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of K-Rep Bank. She currently sits on the boards of Trans-Century Ltd. and British American Tobacco Ltd both of which are Nairobi Stock Exchange listed companies. She also sits on the Board of Trustees of SOS Children’s Villages. She has previously served on, and retired from, the boards of the NSE listed BOC Gases, Enablis East Africa (sponsored by the Canadian International Development Agency), Institute of Economic Affairs, Opportunity Kenya and the African Legal Support Facility of the African Development Bank. Carol serves as adjunct faculty at the Strathmore Business School where she is currently the course leader on their flagship Effective Director corporate governance program. She also lectures on several other executive programs at the School. Carol has also been a co-facilitator on Fast Forward, a local leadership development program that provides “Leadership Unusual” insights to Chief Executive Officers and C-Suite Management of leading Kenyan companies (www.sunwords.com). On an international level, Carol is part of the Durham, North Carolina based Duke Corporate Education (Duke CE) faculty and is involved in providing leadership deliveries for some of their global clients. Carol has also provided strategic leadership training to clients of CapitalPlus Exchange, a Chicago based organization that provides peer-learning events to small business banking financial institutions in Africa and Asia Carol is a recipient of the 2010 Eisenhower Fellowship for International Leadership Experience Founder and CEO Carol Musyoka Consulting January 2011 – Present (5 years 6 months) Chief Operating Officer K-Rep Bank Kenya 2008 – 2008 (less than a year) Corporate Director Barclays Bank Kenya 2005 – 2007 (2 years) Senior Relationship Manager Barclays Bank of Kenya 2003 – 2005 (2 years) Relationship Manager Citibank/Citigroup 1999 – 2002 (3 years) Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt @Kausha, well said. @obiero, nothing like being set up to fail. He was either deliberately covering up the mess for his predecessor or he is totally clueless and also corrupt. Who between Naikuni and Ngunze have a better management oriented education/experience in respect to the recent revelations? If Ngunze had an interest in saving KQ he should have commissioned an audit as @Kausha puts it immediately when he was confirmed as the MD & CEO. I wonder if the auditors looked into how the fuel hedges and loan taken to purchase the 10 Embraer jets were procured. the audit could not have been ordered by ngunze himself but the board which was not fully constituted after exit of mwaniki late last year @Obiero, I will refer you to what I said before here. The responsibility rest at those who are in the office daily or those who are there once in a blue moon? Ngunze served under Mwaniki for sometime. Read the below article by Carol Musyoka, I think it was posted here sometimes back. http://www.businessdaily...0/-/odx65e/-/index.html
what are the credentials of musyoka. which school did she attend, which board has she sat on @VituVingiSana, thanks for enlightening sir Obiero. Your boss cannot act as if he is trying to save KQ. Mckinsey should not have come in without a forensic audit. Some of the things being proposed by Mckinsey posted here are the very basic measures e.g. staff washrooms without tissue papers despite their hefty consultancy bill. The monster bleeding KQ internally is fuel procurement.Fuel contracts at outstations featured in the Mckinsey list but not at NBO, I believe one of them was at Mumbai station where a B777 was flying. If you pay for fuel at an exorbitant price out of your hub then again the uplift at the station back to the hub, how then will the airline survive? Your boss knew and still knows how the fuel procurement kickbacks are received and shared out. They mischievously inducted the E190s with the hope that its fuel efficiency will hide their dirty business. They also thought with the delivery of B787 and mass retirement of B767 and B777 their well calculated schemes will not be revealed. Reduction in capacity poses a challenge to revenue growth. There is no way KQ will surpass the 110B revenue without enough capacity. The results to be released on the last day of June will show an improvised loss position reduction due to proceeds from the sale of assets. You remember NBK results which the CEO touted as the best ever while even unrealized proceeds from sale of assets were recognised as income? Part of the assets sale proceeds will also tilt the 2016/2017 results for KQ then after that the loss position may remain. KQ with Ngunze has a long way out of the current situation. There is no quick fix. Someone already mentioned on here that it took Brian Davis 6 years to pull it out of bankruptcy.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:obiero wrote:all this is simple intellectual dialogue.. fact is, naikuni is rotten in that he is a dictator who does not consider anyones opinion. do wazuans know its hedging that mainly led to the huge losses and that this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers. his word is law and that is why he publicly undressed a senior manager over a rather petty issue. even the court's alluded to this fact when they reinstated the sacked workers. all in all, he has done fairly well but KQ will be much better without him @ Obiero " this company ordinarily should not report a loss since it is a monopoly in a regional hub frequented by many air travellers." True to it and I suspect cooking of figures amongst other things. before @guru says that kq is not a monopoly. the word has been used here loosely and not in its strict sense ngunze confessed to us about naikuni and how he ran KQ. why wasn't an audit conducted earlier. your guess is as good as mine. the former CEO set up ngunze for failure. specifically he ensured one of the csuites took over so that blame demarcation would be blurry. where did ngunze start failing will be a question that has no answer. I feel sorry for him since he is not intrinsically corrupt @Kausha, well said. @obiero, nothing like being set up to fail. He was either deliberately covering up the mess for his predecessor or he is totally clueless and also corrupt. Who between Naikuni and Ngunze have a better management oriented education/experience in respect to the recent revelations? If Ngunze had an interest in saving KQ he should have commissioned an audit as @Kausha puts it immediately when he was confirmed as the MD & CEO. I wonder if the auditors looked into how the fuel hedges and loan taken to purchase the 10 Embraer jets were procured. the audit could not have been ordered by ngunze himself but the board which was not fully constituted after exit of mwaniki late last year @Obiero, I will refer you to what I said before here. The responsibility rest at those who are in the office daily or those who are there once in a blue moon? Ngunze served under Mwaniki for sometime. Read the below article by Carol Musyoka, I think it was posted here sometimes back. http://www.businessdaily...0/-/odx65e/-/index.html
what are the credentials of musyoka. which school did she attend, which board has she sat on @VituVingiSana, thanks for enlightening sir Obiero. Your boss cannot act as if he is trying to save KQ. Mckinsey should not have come in without a forensic audit. Some of the things being proposed by Mckinsey posted here are the very basic measures. Fuel contracts at outstations featured in the Mckinsey list, I believe one of them was at Mumbai station where a B777 was flying. If you pay for fuel at an exorbitant price out of your hub then again the uplift at the station back to the hub, how then will the airline survive? Your boss knew and still knows how the fuel procurement kickbacks are received and shared out. They deliberately got rid of the B777, inducted the E190s with the hope that its fuel efficiency will hide their dirty business. They also thought with the delivery of B787 and mass retirement of B767 their well calculated schemes will not be revealed. Reduction in capacity poses a challenge to revenue growth. There is no way KQ will surpass the 110B revenue without enough capacity. The results to be released on the last day of June will show an improvised loss position reduction due to proceeds from the sale of assets. You remember NBK results which the CEO touted as the best ever while even unrealized proceeds from sale of assets were recognised as income? Part of the assets sale proceeds will also tilt the 2016/2017 results for KQ then after that the loss position may remain. KQ with Ngunze has a long way out of the current situation. There is no quick fix. Someone already mentioned on here that it took Brian Davis 6 years to pull it out of bankruptcy. Mwambie sasa. @obiero akiambiwa kitu asikii. John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
VituVingiSana wrote:Asked @obiero : "what are the credentials of musyoka. which school did she attend, which board has she sat on" Cornell (Masters in Law) She was the youngest (32) Executive/Corporate Director of Barclays at one time. Was Citibank Kenya’s corporate manager. She has been on the boards of Barclays Kenya, BOC, TransCentury. On the board of EABL & BAT. Chairperson of the Business Registration Service Board. Board of Trustees of SOS Children’s Villages http://carolmusyoka.com/profile/
Carol Musyoka has over 10 years of financial leadership experience working in Kenya and the United States. She has extensive deal origination, negotiation, structuring and execution experience, having been involved in several landmark corporate finance transactions in Kenya. Carol has had significant executive director experience from her role as the Corporate Director, Barclays Bank Kenya as well as the Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of K-Rep Bank. She currently sits on the boards of Trans-Century Ltd. and British American Tobacco Ltd both of which are Nairobi Stock Exchange listed companies. She also sits on the Board of Trustees of SOS Children’s Villages. She has previously served on, and retired from, the boards of the NSE listed BOC Gases, Enablis East Africa (sponsored by the Canadian International Development Agency), Institute of Economic Affairs, Opportunity Kenya and the African Legal Support Facility of the African Development Bank. Carol serves as adjunct faculty at the Strathmore Business School where she is currently the course leader on their flagship Effective Director corporate governance program. She also lectures on several other executive programs at the School. Carol has also been a co-facilitator on Fast Forward, a local leadership development program that provides “Leadership Unusual” insights to Chief Executive Officers and C-Suite Management of leading Kenyan companies (www.sunwords.com). On an international level, Carol is part of the Durham, North Carolina based Duke Corporate Education (Duke CE) faculty and is involved in providing leadership deliveries for some of their global clients. Carol has also provided strategic leadership training to clients of CapitalPlus Exchange, a Chicago based organization that provides peer-learning events to small business banking financial institutions in Africa and Asia Carol is a recipient of the 2010 Eisenhower Fellowship for International Leadership Experience Founder and CEO Carol Musyoka Consulting January 2011 – Present (5 years 6 months) Chief Operating Officer K-Rep Bank Kenya 2008 – 2008 (less than a year) Corporate Director Barclays Bank Kenya 2005 – 2007 (2 years) Senior Relationship Manager Barclays Bank of Kenya 2003 – 2005 (2 years) Relationship Manager Citibank/Citigroup 1999 – 2002 (3 years) someone who sits on transcentury and britam can never advise me. even @vvs and @spikes have higher qualifications than that lady. akimye kimya KQ ABP 4.26
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,798 Location: NAIROBI
@Obiero I support you Board member in those two comapnies are of no consequence.What strategic advise have they offered to them. Transcentury is sinking. Same applies to Britam;the retained earnings are thinning out as to avoid share price from crushing after announcing the huge loss;they gave out a dividend. In Britam Benson Wairegi single handedly runs the company. In Transcentury the Kiuna's finished it Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Asked @obiero : "what are the credentials of musyoka. which school did she attend, which board has she sat on" Cornell (Masters in Law) She was the youngest (32) Executive/Corporate Director of Barclays at one time. Was Citibank Kenya’s corporate manager. She has been on the boards of Barclays Kenya, BOC, TransCentury. On the board of EABL & BAT. Chairperson of the Business Registration Service Board. Board of Trustees of SOS Children’s Villages http://carolmusyoka.com/profile/
Carol Musyoka has over 10 years of financial leadership experience working in Kenya and the United States. She has extensive deal origination, negotiation, structuring and execution experience, having been involved in several landmark corporate finance transactions in Kenya. Carol has had significant executive director experience from her role as the Corporate Director, Barclays Bank Kenya as well as the Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of K-Rep Bank. She currently sits on the boards of Trans-Century Ltd. and British American Tobacco Ltd both of which are Nairobi Stock Exchange listed companies. She also sits on the Board of Trustees of SOS Children’s Villages. She has previously served on, and retired from, the boards of the NSE listed BOC Gases, Enablis East Africa (sponsored by the Canadian International Development Agency), Institute of Economic Affairs, Opportunity Kenya and the African Legal Support Facility of the African Development Bank. Carol serves as adjunct faculty at the Strathmore Business School where she is currently the course leader on their flagship Effective Director corporate governance program. She also lectures on several other executive programs at the School. Carol has also been a co-facilitator on Fast Forward, a local leadership development program that provides “Leadership Unusual” insights to Chief Executive Officers and C-Suite Management of leading Kenyan companies (www.sunwords.com). On an international level, Carol is part of the Durham, North Carolina based Duke Corporate Education (Duke CE) faculty and is involved in providing leadership deliveries for some of their global clients. Carol has also provided strategic leadership training to clients of CapitalPlus Exchange, a Chicago based organization that provides peer-learning events to small business banking financial institutions in Africa and Asia Carol is a recipient of the 2010 Eisenhower Fellowship for International Leadership Experience Founder and CEO Carol Musyoka Consulting January 2011 – Present (5 years 6 months) Chief Operating Officer K-Rep Bank Kenya 2008 – 2008 (less than a year) Corporate Director Barclays Bank Kenya 2005 – 2007 (2 years) Senior Relationship Manager Barclays Bank of Kenya 2003 – 2005 (2 years) Relationship Manager Citibank/Citigroup 1999 – 2002 (3 years) someone who sits on transcentury and britam can never advise me. even @vvs and @spikes have higher qualifications than that lady. akimye kimya She was never on the board of Britam. She was on the board of TransCentury but quit. She is on the board of EABL and BAT and both are profitable. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Ericsson wrote:@Obiero I support you Board member in those two comapnies are of no consequence.What strategic advise have they offered to them. Transcentury is sinking. Same applies to Britam;the retained earnings are thinning out as to avoid share price from crushing after announcing the huge loss;they gave out a dividend. In Britam Benson Wairegi single handedly runs the company. In Transcentury the Kiuna's finished it How does Britam come into the picture re: Carol Musyoka? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways...why ignore..