#201 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 8:53:28 PM

Taurrus wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
Been wondering the difference between the old and SGR lines,to my surprise its ONLY the width, damn!

yes, plus of more importance is that the current sgr line being laid can accommodate higher speeds than the older one.

And higher load capacity

Higher speeds yes,load capacity not quite.

In general, the narrower the gage the more the restrictions while the broader the gauge the more the capacity. Metre Gauge allows 47 Kg load per metre of rail while Standard Gauge allows 60 Kg load per metre of rail.

That's why america changed their gauges from sgr to broad gauge.

If thats the case then,why build a new line instead of widening the old?Sad

The technology is different from that of 1800s. Plus the old one can/will be used interchangeably. They tried to rehabilitate but wezi wa scrap metal were always plucking making it expensive. Wacha tuone wakiiba concrete. Just a question, where would you widen it in Kibera?
chemirocha
#202 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 9:17:42 PM

Taurrus wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
Been wondering the difference between the old and SGR lines,to my surprise its ONLY the width, damn!

yes, plus of more importance is that the current sgr line being laid can accommodate higher speeds than the older one.

And higher load capacity

In general, the narrower the gage the more the restrictions while the broader the gauge the more the capacity. Metre Gauge allows 47 Kg load per metre of rail while Standard Gauge allows 60 Kg load per metre of rail.

The cost of building a new track is cheaper than upgrading the existing infrastructure. If I remember correctly that was determined in the feasibility study.
Taurrus
#203 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 9:54:41 PM

Taurrus wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:

And higher load capacity

The technology is different from that of 1800s. Plus the old one can/will be used interchangeably. They tried to rehabilitate but wezi wa scrap metal were always plucking making it expensive. Wacha tuone wakiiba concrete. Just a question, where would you widen it in Kibera?

You know what? if we get somebody like late michuki kibera is sorted for good!
sitaki.kujulikana
#204 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 10:08:51 PM

Taurrus wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:

And higher load capacity

One of the biggest problems with the old line is the speed it can accommodate, too many sharp corners and slopes, in the 1800's 30-40 kph was high speed.
#205 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 10:11:17 PM

A decent read, clearing myths about load, speed etc.

http://www.economist.com...src=scn/tw_ec/puffed_out
Thitifini
#206 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2016 10:11:49 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Taurrus wrote:

And higher load capacity

One of the biggest problems with the old line is the speed it can accommodate, too many sharp corners and slopes, in the 1800's 30-40 kph was high speed.

Point on!

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#207 Posted : Sunday, June 05, 2016 1:37:32 AM

http://www.economist.com...rc=scn/tw_ec/puffed_out

This is rubbish, including the last 3 articles they've posted
kiash
#208 Posted : Sunday, June 05, 2016 8:07:32 PM

[/quote]

How come no CS says i will copy Michuki? seems this guy is still remembered by many in Kenya today.

"Kaba gukua ngumo iture"
Taurrus
#209 Posted : Sunday, June 05, 2016 10:32:28 PM

kiash wrote:

How come no CS says i will copy Michuki? seems this guy is still remembered by many in Kenya today.

"Kaba gukua ngumo iture"[/quote]
Can't evev recognize one in a mat!smile
#210 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 6:49:34 AM

Have shared the article with a retired KR engineer and he says the article is credible though imeongezwa chumvi kidogo.
#211 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 7:48:08 AM

Have shared the article with a retired KR engineer and he says the article is credible though imeongezwa chumvi kidogo.

He is retired Laughing out loudly
#212 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 8:13:33 AM

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting...not long to go to see if SGR was indeed a good idea or just a way of raising campaign funding.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
thuks
#213 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 9:13:19 AM

No comment
I care!
#214 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 10:44:18 AM

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting...not long to go to see if SGR was indeed a good idea or just a way of raising campaign funding.

Will only have visible impact if it transform road transport.

Cargo transport's impact will not be visible since many people rarely care how goods are moved.
sitaki.kujulikana
#215 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 10:52:24 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Cargo transport's impact will not be visible since many people rarely care how goods are moved.

I think if you look at the project as a whole, it has been of some benefit, employment provided, opening up areas that were closed up, would not be surprised to see a few new commercial areas cropping up along the new line.
One also has to look at the funding, it was only 5% funded by the gok, the rest is a loan from china.
#216 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 10:54:43 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Exporters and importers are very quiet. No one is pushing the government to expedite completion of the project.

Seriously,who are real beneficiaries of SGR?
#217 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 11:01:45 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Exporters and importers are very quiet. No one is pushing the government to expedite completion of the project.

Tenderprenuers especially jamaa wa mkono amejipanga smile
gmg
#218 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 11:46:52 AM

I remember when Thika road was being done still some analyst said it does not offer value for money. and there was thatthread in Wazua. In our personal lives if u opt to put up a residential house pple will tell you that you should have done an apartment if you put up an apartment pple will say you should have started with a residential hse(home) in short pple will criticise when you do something whether correct or wrong. Pple will only be quite if you do nothing.
#219 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 11:54:48 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

If SGR is successful, impact will be immediate and visible: far fewer trucks on the road.

sqft
#220 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2016 1:21:46 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Because the project is on course and will be completed before the due date.

The real beneficiaries of SGR are the local mwananchi since cost of imported goods will go down. Meaning your kimbo (palm oil), sugar, beer (hops&barley), cement (clinker), rice etc will be cheaper. Tea, coffee, macadamia etc farmers and exporters will earn more due to reduces export cost. Road accidents and road wear and tear will be reduced, and corruption and time wastage will go down since gridlocks at mariakani and other weigh bridges will go down.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.