Thiong'o wrote:thuks wrote:[quote=newfarer]www.nation.co.ke/oped/Opinion/-/440808/3224408/-/awohgm/-/index.html
From now on, we should just whine and mourn as we look around for a place to dump the sgr.
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-36468132[/quote]
I have a few points
point no. 1In my short life in this beautiful world, i have come to appreciate that there is a big difference between saying and doing...yaani kuna tofauti kubwa sana baina ya kusema na kutenda. Tanzania have said they will build SGR. Kenya is 80% done with phase 1. i.e., as of today June 8 2016 Tanzania/Rwanda wanasema watajenga (no body knows when they will start building), ilhali serikali ya Kenya tayari wamekamilisha asilimia themanini ya phase1 (Mombasa- Nairobi).
Point no. 2Trucks on Mombasa-Malaba highway will still be in business since SGR cannot handle all the business in Mombasa.Hata lunatic express will still be in business once SGR is up and running.
point no. 3Both Dar and Mombasa ports desperately need an an efficient outlet of cargo. Both need SGR.There is nothing wrong with Tanzania building theirs. Indeed once they build theirs, it will complement Kenya's SGR with possible linkages to Tanga and Arusha. In the same breadth, do wazuans know that most cargo for Arusha and Moshi passes via Mombasa? Do Wazuans know that there is a proposal to build a dry port in Voi to serve Arusha and North Tanzania? Can wazuans recall Mheshimiwa Pombe and Mheshimiwa Uhuru opening Taveta one-stop border post and H.E. Pombe's committment to build dual carriage from Arusha to Taveta?
In short, SGR is a game changer. The biggest investment ever made in EAC...ever. The biggest infrastructural development done in Sub-saharan Africa minus South Africa ever. Wazungus are worried and very jealous. China has taken over in their once beloved Kenya. China has taken over Ethiopia. Ethiopia is buiding the largest hydro-power dam in the World...The whole world. A wise wazuan should not get worried about TZ and Rwanda's or Ethiopia's progress. A wise wazuan should know that Kenya is not left behind in this progress. Tanzania and (you guessed right) China want to build the biggest port on the East Coast of Africa. Bigger than Durban....so expect more propaganda and nay talk from the likes of BBC, CNN, CORD, Newyork times etc
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money