wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

Rwanda dumps Kenya SGR route for Tanzania
Jitahidi
#21 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 11:19:45 AM

President Kagame wondered why Uganda was giving priority to developing an SGR connection to South Sudan, which is yet to become an EAC member, at the expense of Kigali, which has all along been proactive in promoting the regional project.

“The thinking was that in both economic and financial terms, because of the challenging terrain south of Bihanga and distance to Mirama hills, Uganda would be required to shoulder a bigger financial burden than Rwanda to develop this connection and yet at the end of the day we would have to share Rwanda bound traffic with Tanzania,” said an official familiar with the deal.
Link http://www.theeastafrica...4/-/h70khiz/-/index.html
kayhara
#22 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 12:28:44 PM

kiash wrote:
I support UG and Rwanda, just seen the idiots are plucking the rail out. No one can stand that madness....Let them use TZ for reliability

By the way does the SGR pass through Kibera ama anywhere near Kibera? What we might hear next is Mu7 doing the Kagame in SGR and that would leave Kenya with a railway bill from Mbasa to Malaba.

Uganda is one leg out of the SGR, now Uhuru should see it makes no sense to extend it past Nairobi.
Uganda and Rwanda always get screwed by using Mombasa port from port delays, strikes, traffic jams o the roadblocks, weigh bridges especially now at Gilgil, bad roads(see mariakani-Voi road, cars have been using a diversion for one and a half years now)
Everyone has been making excuses for Uhuru, firts he is stressed by ICC, then the new constitution, then Dark forces, then Ruto ICC,now that all that is over and still o effort is seen from them points to incompetence, just politicking and Uhuru trying to milk the ICC victory felt bad when he tried to squeeze more during Lucy's burial
To Each His Own
sitaki.kujulikana
#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 1:05:45 PM

kayhara wrote:
kiash wrote:
I support UG and Rwanda, just seen the idiots are plucking the rail out. No one can stand that madness....Let them use TZ for reliability

By the way does the SGR pass through Kibera ama anywhere near Kibera? What we might hear next is Mu7 doing the Kagame in SGR and that would leave Kenya with a railway bill from Mbasa to Malaba.

Uganda is one leg out of the SGR, now Uhuru should see it makes no sense to extend it past Nairobi.
Uganda and Rwanda always get screwed by using Mombasa port from port delays, strikes, traffic jams o the roadblocks, weigh bridges especially now at Gilgil, bad roads(see mariakani-Voi road, cars have been using a diversion for one and a half years now)
Everyone has been making excuses for Uhuru, firts he is stressed by ICC, then the new constitution, then Dark forces, then Ruto ICC,now that all that is over and still o effort is seen from them points to incompetence, just politicking and Uhuru trying to milk the ICC victory felt bad when he tried to squeeze more during Lucy's burial

tz is worse when it comes to port delays, traffic jams and general efficiency, actually its faster to ship stuff through kenya to rwanda than via tz despite the latter being a shorter distance.
what kills kenya is politics, we politic 24/7, add to that the tribal tension and our neighbors are getting tired of us.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 1:51:27 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
kayhara wrote:
kiash wrote:

tz is worse when it comes to port delays, traffic jams and general efficiency, actually its faster to ship stuff through kenya to rwanda than via tz despite the latter being a shorter distance.
what kills kenya is politics, we politic 24/7, add to that the tribal tension and our neighbors are getting tired of us.

I believe in the policy of "following the money". at the end of the day... UG and Rwanda have found that "wanabakisha kitu" once they ship through TZ... so it's up to us to ask ourselves... where did we go wrong? Let me tell you - a business man will always run a comparative co-processor at the back of his head. if he ships it through kenya and the cost of the good is higher than that of the good shipped through TZ.. he will chose TZ.... coz if he does not... his competitors will ship through the TZ and kill him in his business so 'ANAVUTA KWAKE'. I suggest we do the same.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 2:53:55 PM

[quote=Jitahidi]President Kagame wondered why Uganda was giving priority to developing an SGR connection to South Sudan, which is yet to become an EAC member, at the expense of Kigali, which has all along been proactive in promoting the regional project.

“The thinking was that in both economic and financial terms, because of the challenging terrain south of Bihanga and distance to Mirama hills, Uganda would be required to shoulder a bigger financial burden than Rwanda to develop this connection and yet at the end of the day we would have to share Rwanda bound traffic with Tanzania,” said an official familiar with the deal.
Link http://www.theeastafrica.../-/h70khiz/-/index.html[/quote]

Everyone other than @Jitahidi has turned this small bump into a grand pity party.

The truth is that UG has refused to prioritize the Railway line btn Kigali and Kampala, leaving Rwanda to huff and puff due to the snub. Off course here, we think its always about us.

I could be wrong but I think there is no railway line btn Rwanda and TZ? so why abandon a ready line to chase dreams.

Anyway, the SGR will be fully utilized serving Kenya (I read somewhere it will increase cargo capacity by only 30%), we don't even need Rwanda and UG cargo.

Ug and Rwanda will also still use the Mombasa port for the bulk of their goods coz Tanzanians are notoriously inefficient when it comes to service.

PS. Uhuru had better wake up and catch with Magufuli, I do believe Rwanda and Ug are just opting to work with a more committed business oriented leader. They will offcourse invite our back slapping happy go lucky leader for parties and inaugrations as usual.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 3:33:32 PM

I don't even know why Kenya was ever an option for Rwanda. Just looking at the map, Kigali to Tanga is 1347 km while Kigali to Mombasa through Uganda is 1658 km. The Tanzania route is not only 300 km shorter but it goes straight from Rwanda to Tanzania while the Kenya route has to go through Uganda thus crossing 2 boundaries.

I think it is very quite myopic to think we are losing anything to Tanzania when it comes to infrastructure development. This region is still a jungle with such poor infrastructure that it needs as many as can be developed. Let there be ports in Mtwara, Daresalaam, Tanga, Mombasa, Lamu, Kismayu, Mogadishu, Djibouti and Railways linking them to inland cities of Addis, Juba, Bangui, Kinshasa, Lubumbashi, Lusaka and all the way west to Luanda Angola, Libreville Gabon and Doula Cameroon.
sitaki.kujulikana
#27 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 3:51:15 PM

I don't even know why Kenya was ever an option for Rwanda. Just looking at the map, Kigali to Tanga is 1347 km while Kigali to Mombasa through Uganda is 1658 km. The Tanzania route is not only 300 km shorter but it goes straight from Rwanda to Tanzania while the Kenya route has to go through Uganda thus crossing 2 boundaries.

I think it is very quite myopic to think we are losing anything to Tanzania when it comes to infrastructure development. This region is still a jungle with such poor infrastructure that it needs as many as can be developed. Let there be ports in Mtwara, Daresalaam, Tanga, Mombasa, Lamu, Kismayu, Mogadishu, Djibouti and Railways linking them to inland cities of Addis, Juba, Bangui, Kinshasa, Lubumbashi, Lusaka and all the way west to Luanda Angola, Libreville Gabon and Doula Cameroon.

perfect, I think we, me included are just being typical kenyans, selfish to the core, after-all we are used to the eating mentality if I cant have it then no one should, and when I get it then only I should benefit.

Totally agree, a well developed and properly linked region will do good to all, actually if the 2 sgr are linked and results in me traveling from Nairobi to Dar to Kigali via Kampala and finish up in Mombasa in couple of days would be great.
Risasi Sufuri
#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 3:53:08 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
kayhara wrote:
kiash wrote:

Spot on....
Alba
#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2016 8:12:22 PM

In past years, Tanzania's infrastructure was so bad that choosing between the two countries was a no brainer regardless of the distance. The perception now is that Tanzania are solving their problems and thus have a better future. So if you are making a major long term capital investment, Tanzania is a better bet.

Kenya on the other hand is still mired self inflicted problems like corruption, insecurity, traffic, tribal tension etc. All these are driven by our tribal voting. As Kenyans we have decided not to hold elected leaders accountable for anything. So these elected leaders are not inclined to solve real problems. Their job is to build and maintain tribal blocs. Thus the perception amongst potential investors is that Tanzania and Ethiopia are the wave of the future and Kenya will soon be old news.

Instead of engaging in an honest discussion on why Tanzania is catching up with Kenya on issues like tourism, infrastructure, industrial output etc, the tribal sycophants have chosen to blame everything on their favourite boogeyman.
kollabo
#30 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 10:42:24 AM

Taurrus
#31 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 12:49:31 PM

Nasikia hii SGR ni kama hii ninino ingine wanapanua kidogo tuu!
innairobi
#32 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 2:32:29 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
[quote=Jitahidi]President Kagame wondered why Uganda was giving priority to developing an SGR connection to South Sudan, which is yet to become an EAC member, at the expense of Kigali, which has all along been proactive in promoting the regional project.

Link http://www.theeastafrica.../-/h70khiz/-/index.html[/quote]

Everyone other than @Jitahidi has turned this small bump into a grand pity party.

The truth is that UG has refused to prioritize the Railway line btn Kigali and Kampala, leaving Rwanda to huff and puff due to the snub. Off course here, we think its always about us.

I could be wrong but I think there is no railway line btn Rwanda and TZ? so why abandon a ready line to chase dreams.

Anyway, the SGR will be fully utilized serving Kenya (I read somewhere it will increase cargo capacity by only 30%), we don't even need Rwanda and UG cargo.

Ug and Rwanda will also still use the Mombasa port for the bulk of their goods coz Tanzanians are notoriously inefficient when it comes to service.

PS. Uhuru had better wake up and catch with Magufuli, I do believe Rwanda and Ug are just opting to work with a more committed business oriented leader. They will offcourse invite our back slapping happy go lucky leader for parties and inaugrations as usual.

well said Obi. for the past decade or more, the majority of rwanda's cargo already passes through tanzania. despite that, the gap in cargo volumes between mombasa and dar ports has only continued to grow. mombasa is leaving dar even further behind. rwanda is just 1% of mombasa cargo and will never be a game-changing customer of mombasa no matter how many SGRs from mombasa to kigali we build. we have to avoid jumping at every half-baked, semi-researched news headline and drawing apocalyptic conclusions from here to jupiter lol.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
innairobi
#33 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 2:48:11 PM

a mostly junk article from jaindi which is sad since he is considered one of kenya's better journalists. for example,

"In terms of the volumes of traded goods on the Northern Corridor, Rwanda represents only 8 per cent compared to 39 per cent for Uganda."

since when was rwanda responsible for 8% of cargo through the northern corridor? and uganda 39%? rwanda would be lucky to surpass 1%.

"We decided to experiment with an experienced private international port operator working at very high standards of efficiency. However, tenderpreneurs scuttled everything, the upshot of which was that we have now handed the facility to the Kenya Ports Authority."

for several years now the container port at dar es salaam is run by hph, possibly the largest port operator on the planet. they dont come more international than that. yet dar is still less efficient than the kpa-operated mombasa. africans have such an inferiority complex even on mundane stuff we can easily do ourselves. instead, we are hyper-excited to have some third-rate mzungu running it just so we can show we have now gone international lol.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 3:07:20 PM

Alba wrote:

All these are driven by our tribal voting. As Kenyans we have decided not to hold elected leaders accountable for anything. So these elected leaders are not inclined to solve real problems. Their job is to build and maintain tribal blocs.

Applause Applause Applause right on cue! like clock work! I was wondering when you would show up.
sitaki.kujulikana
#35 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 3:08:32 PM

innairobi wrote:

a mostly junk article from jaindi which is sad since he is considered one of kenya's better journalists. for example,

"In terms of the volumes of traded goods on the Northern Corridor, Rwanda represents only 8 per cent compared to 39 per cent for Uganda."

since when was rwanda responsible for 8% of cargo through the northern corridor? and uganda 39%? rwanda would be lucky to surpass 1%.

"We decided to experiment with an experienced private international port operator working at very high standards of efficiency. However, tenderpreneurs scuttled everything, the upshot of which was that we have now handed the facility to the Kenya Ports Authority."

for several years now the container port at dar es salaam is run by hph, possibly the largest port operator on the planet. they dont come more international than that. yet dar is still less efficient than the kpa-operated mombasa. africans have such an inferiority complex even on mundane stuff we can easily do ourselves. instead, we are hyper-excited to have some third-rate mzungu running it just so we can show we have now gone international lol.

Laughing out loudly but in honesty is there a 'best/better journalist in kenya'
#36 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 5:51:56 PM

innairobi wrote:

Well said
#37 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 7:03:08 PM

theEastAfrican wrote:
Kenya is mulling terminating the standard gauge railway (SGR) in Naivasha or Kisumu after Rwanda pulled out of the flagship infrastructure project on the Northern Corridor................................................Uganda, which is the top transit destination of Mombasa port cargo, has not build even as single inch of its section of SGR, putting pressure on Rwanda instead.

#38 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 8:07:53 PM

theEastAfrican wrote:
Kenya is mulling terminating the standard gauge railway (SGR) in Naivasha or Kisumu after Rwanda pulled out of the flagship infrastructure project on the Northern Corridor................................................Uganda, which is the top transit destination of Mombasa port cargo, has not build even as single inch of its section of SGR, putting pressure on Rwanda instead.

That will be a stupid move, unless of course we are planning to use ships to ship goods to UG and DRC, It's better if it terminates at either Busia or Malaba
#39 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 8:13:41 PM

theEastAfrican wrote:

That will be a stupid move, unless of course we are planning to use ships to ship goods to UG and DRC, It's better if it terminates at either Busia or Malaba

Yes, thats the plan, transport cargo by ship to Rwanda since M7 is not committed to build his section of the Rail
Taurrus
#40 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2016 8:56:12 PM

Why not terminate it at Turkana?